Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 10 December 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0098

To: Distribution List

BY EMAIL

RE: Applications for costs awards in the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-98

Dear Madam, Sir,

Between 9 November 2018 and 23 November 2018, six applications for costs awards were received in respect of the above-noted proceeding.

The purpose of this letter is to establish additional procedure in respect of these applications, as set out in greater detail below.

Requests for Information

Commission staff has attached requests for information to this letter in an Appendix. Costs applicants may provide their responses to the questions relevant to their applications, as indicated in the Appendix, by 17 December 2018.

Any potential costs respondent or other party may file comments on these responses by 20 December 2018.

Costs applicants may file a final reply by 10 January 2019.Footnote1

Procedural Request

On 5 December 2018, the Manitoba Coalition (comprised of the Manitoba Branch of the Consumers’ Association of Canada and the Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg), filed a procedural request in its application for costs seeking leave to file reply comments to the answers of Bell Mobility and Telus Communications Inc. (TCI)

In the circumstances, the Manitoba Coalition will have the opportunity to include any reply comments concerning the answers of Bell Mobility and TCI in its final reply of 10 January 2019.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

All correspondence filed with the Commission as a result of this letter is to be served on all parties to the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

original signed by

Adam Balkovec,
Legal Counsel

Distribution List:

Costs Applicants

jlawford@piac.ca; dbrady@piac.ca;
execdir@frpc.net; ckhoo@cynthiakhoo.ca;
kadil@legaid.mb.ca; gloria@cacmanitoba.ca; bywil@pilc.mb.ca;
tisrael@cippic.ca; regulatory@openmedia.org;
lisa@deafwireless.ca; jbby@mac.com
ffolino@cad.ca

Potential Costs Respondents and Others

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com;
regulatory@sjrb.ca;
document.control@sasktel.com;
regulatory@icewireless.ca;
cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
regulatory@ssimicro.com;           
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Vicky.Eatrides@canada.ca


APPENDIX:

Question for all costs applicants

On 28 November 2018, the Commission published Telecom Order 2018-437, Telecom Order 2018-438 and Telecom Decision 2018-439.

In its determinations, the Commission noted that it is generally open to a costs applicant to choose the manner in which they (i) demonstrate that they represent a group or class of subscribers that has an interest in a proceeding; and (ii) wish to make submissions to assist the Commission in developing a better understanding of the matters under consideration. 

The Commission reiterated that undertaking surveys is simply one of many potential methods of achieving these ends and that, in all cases, a costs applicant must ensure that the total amount of costs incurred is necessary and reasonable in the particular circumstances.

These circumstances may include, among other things, the scope and complexity of the proceeding, the value of the costs applicant’s contribution, and any accessibility considerations. Further, the Commission may refer to the claims of other costs applicants or of the same applicant is previous proceedings, where appropriate.

If you choose, please address the Commission’s determinations in these matters insofar as they may apply to the costs you have claimed in the present proceeding.

Question for Deaf Wireless Canada Committee

In your application for costs you have included a disbursement in the amount of $6,778.48, described as an “Administration fee” (please refer to page 52 of your application). Please describe the nature of this fee in greater detail and address why it should be considered a necessary and reasonable expense.

Question for Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic and OpenMedia

In your application for costs you have included time sheets for six in-house OpenMedia analysts; however costs only appear to be claimed in respect of five analysts. Please address this apparent discrepancy.

Question for Manitoba Coalition

In your application you have claimed disbursements (please refer to Exhibit A of your application), including the following:

Please describe the nature of these disbursements in greater detail and address why they should be considered necessary and reasonable expenses with references, where appropriate, to the Commission’s Guidelines for the Assessment of Costs in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2010-963.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 10 décembre 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0098

À : Liste de distribution

PAR COURRIEL

Objet : Demandes d’attribution de frais à l’instance amorcée par l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-98

Madame, Monsieur,

Du 9 novembre 2018 au 23 novembre 2018, six demandes d’attribution de frais ont été reçues concernant l’instance mentionnée en objet.

Le but de la présente lettre est d’établir une procédure supplémentaire relativement à ces demandes, laquelle est définie plus en détail ci-dessous.

Demandes de renseignements

Le personnel du Conseil a joint les demandes de renseignements à cette lettre dans l’annexe. Les demandeurs peuvent fournir leurs réponses aux questions pertinentes à leurs demandes, comme il est indiqué dans l’annexe, au plus tard le 17 décembre 2018.

Tout intimé éventuel ou autre partie peut déposer des observations concernant ces réponses au plus tard le 20 décembre 2018.

Les demandeurs peuvent déposer leurs observations finales au plus tard le 10 janvier 2019.) Note de bas de page1

Requête procédurale

Le 5 décembre 2018, la Manitoba Coalition (composée du chapitre du Manitoba de l’Association des consommateurs du Canada et de l’Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg) a déposé une requête procédurale dans le cadre de sa demande d’attribution de frais pour être autorisée à soumettre des observations en réplique aux réponses de Bell Mobilité et de TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS).

Dans les circonstances, la Manitoba Coalition aura la possibilité d’inclure des observations en réplique aux réponses de Bell Mobilité et de TELUS dans ses observations finales du 10 janvier 2019.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit en expliquer en détail les raisons, tout en précisant les motifs pour lesquels la divulgation de ceux-ci ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Tous les éléments de correspondance déposés devant le Conseil en raison de la présente doivent être signifiés à toutes les parties de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

original signé par

Adam Balkovec,
Conseiller juridique

Liste de distribution :

Demandeurs

jlawford@piac.ca; dbrady@piac.ca;
execdir@frpc.net; ckhoo@cynthiakhoo.ca;
kadil@legaid.mb.ca; gloria@cacmanitoba.ca; bywil@pilc.mb.ca;
tisrael@cippic.ca; regulatory@openmedia.org;
lisa@deafwireless.ca; jbby@mac.com
ffolino@cad.ca

Intimés éventuels et autres parties

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com;
regulatory@sjrb.ca;
document.control@sasktel.com;
regulatory@icewireless.ca;
cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
regulatory@ssimicro.com;           
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Vicky.Eatrides@canada.ca


ANNEXE

Question à tous les demandeurs

Le 28 novembre 2018, le Conseil a publié l’ordonnance de télécom 2018-437, l’ordonnance de télécom 2018-438 et la décision de télécom 2018-439.

Dans ses déterminations, le Conseil a fait remarquer qu’il laisse généralement le demandeur choisir la façon dont (i) il démontre qu’il représente un groupe ou une catégorie d’abonnés pour laquelle l’instance revête un intérêt; et (ii) il souhaite présenter des mémoires pour aider le Conseil à mieux comprendre les questions examinées. 

Le Conseil a réaffirmé que les sondages sont simplement une de nombreuses méthodes possibles pour arriver aux fins attendues et que, dans tous les cas, le demandeur doit s’assurer que le montant total des frais engagés est nécessaire et raisonnable dans les circonstances données.

Ces circonstances peuvent comprendre, entre autres, la portée et la complexité de l’instance, la valeur de la contribution du demandeur et les considérations en matière d’accessibilité. De plus, le Conseil peut considérer les réclamations d’autres demandeurs ou du même demandeur à des instances précédentes, s’il y a lieu.

Si vous le souhaitez, veuillez répondre aux déterminations du Conseil à ce sujet, tant qu’elles s’appliquent aux frais que vous avez réclamés dans le cadre de la présente instance.

Question pour le Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds

Dans votre demande d’attribution de frais, vous avez indiqué une dépense de 6 778,48 $ à titre de « frais de gestion » (veuillez vous reporter à la page 52 de votre demande). Veuillez décrire la nature de cette dépense en détail et justifier la ou les raisons pour lesquels elle devrait être considérée comme une dépense nécessaire et raisonnable.

Question pour la Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’Internet du Canada Samuelson-Glushko et OpenMedia

Dans votre demande d’attribution de frais, vous avez fourni les feuilles de temps de six analystes internes d’OpenMedia, mais les frais semblent seulement être réclamés pour cinq analystes. Veuillez expliquer cette divergence.

Question pour la Manitoba Coalition

Dans votre demande, vous avez réclamé une dépense (veuillez vous reporter à la pièce A de votre demande) qui comprend les frais suivants :

Veuillez décrire la nature de cette dépense en détail et justifier la ou les raisons pour lesquels elle devrait être considérée comme une dépense nécessaire et raisonnable. Incluez des renvois, le cas échéant, aux Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation des demandes d’attribution de frais du Conseil, disponibles dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2010-963.

Date de modification :