Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 11 October 2018

Our references:  8740-B2-201606873, 8740-B2-201703447, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Dear Mr. Gauvin:

RE:   Commission determination regarding disclosure of financial impact information

By letter dated 10 August 2018, Bell Canada requested a Commission determination regarding the public disclosure of the alleged financial impact resulting from various cost adjustments to services, in response to requests for information in the tariff proceeding for aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services initiated by Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396 Footnote1 and Telecom Order CRTC 2016-448 Footnote2 The information in question was provided in confidence in paragraph 61 Footnote3 of the cover letter to Bell Canada’s responses to requests for information dated 18 May 2018.

Requests for disclosure of the above noted information were filed on 8 June 2018 by the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) and the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC). Among other arguments, CNOC submitted that the financial impact information should be disclosed since the calculation relies on the annual wholesale demand forecasts, which must be disclosed pursuant to existing disclosure guidelines Footnote4 , while PIAC submitted that disclosure would allow public assessment of whether consumers would be better off with lower rates.

Bell Canada submitted that disclosure of the information would encourage its wholesale customers to speculate as to the potential credit they may receive and estimate the market share and credits due to their competitors. This may allow its wholesale customers insight into the confidential off-tariff arrangements that other wholesale customers may have secured, thereby prejudicing the company’s financial position and negatively affecting contractual negotiations with its wholesale customers.

Bell Canada also stated that should the Commission view that public disclosure was warranted, it was prepared to instead withdraw the entire sentence containing the confidential figure and thus have it not form part of the evidentiary record.

On 17 August 2018, CNOC responded that individual wholesale customers will not be able to estimate how much of the company’s wholesale business they represent given that not all wholesale customers have access to off-tariff rates. Furthermore, CNOC objected to Bell Canada’s proposal to withdraw the information if it does not obtain a Commission determination that it deems satisfactory, as withdrawal would reduce the quality and extent of information available on the record of the relevant proceedings.

On 20 August 2018, Bell Canada submitted that the quality and extent of information placed on the record of a proceeding will be enhanced if an applicant a) knows that its confidential information may be withdrawn, rather than publicly disclosed against its wishes, b) is able to provide the fullest evidence it can to support its position, without prospect of forceful disclosure of its confidential information, and c) can choose to release the information on the public record if, in the applicant’s view,  harm of public disclosure is more than offset by the evidentiary impact of the previously confidential evidence.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

In determining whether disclosure of information properly designated as confidential is in the public interest, the Commission must consider whether its disclosure would likely result in specific direct harm and whether that harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure

Footnote5

In assessing whether the disclosure of the financial impact information at issue would result in specific direct harm as described by Bell Canada, the Commission considers that the absence of detailed off-tariff rate and demand information used to calculate the financial impact makes it impossible for any wholesale customer to gain insight into the confidential off-tariff arrangements that other wholesale customers may have secured. In addition, any assessment of market share and potential rebates would, in absence of information as to the off-tariff rates and counts of subscribers and usage by wholesale customers, be highly speculative.

In light of the above, the Commission is not persuaded that any specific direct harm would likely result from disclosure of the information. Accordingly, the Commission denies Bell Canada’s request for confidentiality.

With regards to Bell Canada’s request to withdraw the financial impact information if its request for confidentiality is rejected, the Commission highlights that, in light of its powers under section 37 of the Telecommunications Act, it is the Commission that determines that information is needed or relevant to a given proceeding.  As such, the matter to be determined is whether the Commission should exercise its discretion and permit Bell Canada to remove the impugned information from the relevant records.  In this regard, the Commission notes that the financial dollar impact was voluntarily provided by Bell Canada rather than in response to a specific Commission question. Moreover, since the record provided by Bell Canada already discloses the order of magnitude of investments in question (i.e., reference to its $100M fibre deployment in Oshawa), this information is sufficient for parties to get an approximate measure of the financial impact. Therefore, the Commission considers that there is no need to retain the impugned information on the record of the relevant proceedings.

In the circumstances and in light of the reasons set out above, Commission considers it appropriate to allow Bell Canada to remove the impugned data and make the resulting changes to the paragraph in its cover letter.

Bell Canada is to file its revised submission forthwith, serving copies to the Commission and all parties of the proceeding.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Distribution List
Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Matthew Alexander, CRTC, matthew.alexander@crtc.gc.ca;
Marc Pilon, CRTC, marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada: bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret: nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;
PIAC: jlawford@piac.ca;

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 11 octobre 2018

Nos références:  8740-B2-201606873, 8740-B2-201703447, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Avocat général adjoint
Bell Canada
19e étage
160, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Décision du Conseil quant à la divulgation des renseignements sur l’incidence financière

Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 10 août 2018, Bell Canada a demandé que le Conseil rende une décision quant à la divulgation de l’incidence financière alléguée des divers rajustements de coûts des services, en réponse aux demandes de renseignements dans l’instance tarifaire pour les services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros groupés amorcée par l’ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2016-396 Note de bas de page1 et l’ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2016-448 Note de bas de page2 . Les renseignements en question ont été fournis à titre confidentiel au paragraphe 61 Note de bas de page3 de la lettre d’accompagnement de Bell Canada datée du 18 mai 2018 en réponse aux demandes de renseignements.

Les demandes de divulgation des renseignements susmentionnées ont été déposées le 8 juin 2018 par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) et le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP). Le CORC a fait valoir, entre autres, que les renseignements sur l’incidence financière cumulative doivent être divulgués puisque le calcul repose sur les prévisions de la demande annuelle de services de gros, qui doivent être divulguées conformément aux lignes directrices actuelles sur la divulgation Note de bas de page4 . Le CDIP a fait valoir que la divulgation permettrait d’évaluer publiquement s’il serait préférable pour les clients que les tarifs soient moins élevés.

Bell Canada a précisé que la divulgation des renseignements pourrait encourager ses clients de services de gros à supposer du crédit potentiel qu’ils pourraient recevoir, et également estimer la part du marché et les crédits en raison de ses concurrents. Cela pourrait donner à ses clients de services de gros un aperçu des ententes hors tarifs confidentielles que les autres clients de services de gros pourraient avoir conclues et, par conséquent, porter atteinte à la situation financière de l’entreprise et avoir une incidence négative sur les négociations contractuelles avec ses clients de services de gros.

Bell Canada a également indiqué que si le Conseil estime qu’une divulgation est nécessaire, elle serait disposée à supprimer la phrase entière faisant mention des chiffres confidentiels, de sorte que ceux-ci ne soient pas inclus dans le dossier de la preuve.

Le 17 août 2018, le CORC a répondu que les clients individuels de services de gros ne seraient pas en mesure d’estimer la proportion des services de gros de l’entreprise qu’ils représentent, étant donné que certains clients de services de gros ont accès aux taux hors tarif. De plus, le CORC s’est opposé à la proposition de Bell Canada de retirer les renseignements si le Conseil ne prend pas une décision qu’elle juge satisfaisante, puisque le retrait réduirait la qualité et l’étendue des renseignements contenus dans le dossier des instances pertinentes.

Le 20 août 2018, Bell Canada a indiqué que la qualité et l’étendue des renseignements donnés dans le dossier d’une instance augmenteront si le demandeur a) sait que les renseignements confidentiels le concernant peuvent être retirés plutôt que divulgués publiquement contre son gré, b) est capable de fournir toutes les preuves possibles pour étayer sa position, sans craindre la divulgation des renseignements confidentiels le concernant, et c) peut choisir de rendre publics ces renseignements si, de son avis, le préjudice pouvant résulter de cette divulgation est plus que compensé par la portée de la preuve précédemment confidentielle.

Analyse et décision

Pour déterminer si la divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels est dans l’intérêt public, le Conseil doit examiner si la divulgation risque de causer directement un préjudice précis et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public Note de bas de page5 .

Pour établir si la divulgation des renseignements sur l’incidence financière en cause entraînerait directement un préjudice précis comme l’avance Bell Canada, le Conseil estime que l’absence de renseignements détaillés sur le taux hors tarif et les demandes ayant servi à calculer l’incidence financière cumulative rend impossible pour un client de services de gros d’avoir une quelconque idée des ententes hors tarifs confidentielles que d’autres clients de gros pourraient avoir conclues. De plus, en l’absence de renseignements sur le taux hors tarif, le nombre d’abonnés et l’utilisation par un client de gros, toute évaluation des parts du marché et des possibles remboursements serait hautement spéculative.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil n’est pas persuadé qu’un préjudice direct précis découlerait de la divulgation de l’information. Par conséquent, Conseil refuse la demande de confidentialité de Bell Canada.

En ce qui concerne la demande de Bell Canada de retirer les renseignements sur l’incidence financière si sa demande de confidentialité est rejetée, le Conseil souligne que, compte tenu de ses pouvoirs aux termes de l’article 37 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, il revient au Conseil de déterminer si les renseignements sont nécessaires ou pertinents dans le cadre d’une instance donnée. Par conséquent, il faut déterminer si le Conseil devrait exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et permettre à Bell Canada de retirer les renseignements contestés des dossiers pertinents. À cet égard, le Conseil fait remarquer que Bell Canada a volontairement fait mention de l’incidence financière plutôt qu’en réponse à une question précise du Conseil. De plus, le dossier fourni par Bell Canada fait déjà état de l’ampleur de ses investissements (en faisant référence à des investissements de 100 millions de dollars pour le déploiement de son réseau de fibre optique à Oshawa), permettant aux parties de connaître l’ampleur approximative de l’incidence financière. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de conserver les renseignements contestés au dossier des instances en question.

Dans les circonstances et compte tenu des raisons susmentionnées, le Conseil estime qu’il est approprié de permettre à Bell Canada de retirer les renseignements contestés et d’apporter les changements qui en résultent au paragraphe de sa lettre d’accompagnement.

Bell Canada doit déposer son mémoire révisé immédiatement, en envoyant des copies au Conseil et à toutes les parties à l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Liste de distribution
Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Matthew Alexander, CRTC, matthew.alexander@crtc.gc.ca;
Marc Pilon, CRTC, marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada : bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc. : regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc. : regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications : document.control@sasktel.com;
Société TELUS Communications : regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc. : telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Québecor Media Inc. (Vidéotron) : regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. : barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret : nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P. : Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory : regulatory@cnoc.ca;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. : regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique : jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc. : george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan : steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry : metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze : marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek : regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink : Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law : ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited : regulatory@distributel.ca;
CDIP : jlawford@piac.ca;

Date de modification :