Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Alan Yong (Pure Channel Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 9 July 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0363

BY EMAIL

Alan Yong
Pure Channel Communications Inc.
#551, 130-8191 Westminster Hwy 
Richmond, BC, V6X 1A7 
info@purechannel.ca, sales@purechannel.ca

Subject: Your company’s mandatory participation in the CCTS

Dear Mr. Yong:

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) Footnote1 has been informed that Pure Channel Communications Inc. has failed to become a participant in the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-Television Services (CCTS) Footnote2 .

The CCTS provides a valuable service to Canadians, helping them resolve disputes with their Telecommunications Service Providers (TSPs). As such, the CRTC has determined that participation in the CCTS is mandatory for all TSPs, including resellers that provide services within the scope of the CCTS’ mandate. Over 300 TSPs, large and small, are participants in the CCTS.

Failure to participate in the CCTS is taken very seriously by the CRTC and may result in enforcement action being taken against non-compliant TSPs. In particular, the CRTC may begin the process to impose an administrative monetary penalty (AMP) on a non-compliant TSP following a referral from the CCTS. The enforcement process could result in AMPs of up to $50,000 being imposed on TSPs that failed to participate in the CCTS and up to $15,000 on its Director(s). See Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-5 for more details. 

Based on the information provided to the CRTC by the CCTS, Pure Channel Communications Inc. was required to become a participant in the CCTS by 28 April 2018 but has failed to do so. As a result, Pure Channel Communications Inc. could be found to be in violation of the Telecommunications Act because it had contravened the CRTC’s participation requirement. Appendix A provides more details concerning the requirement that Pure Channel Communications Inc. participate in the CCTS.

In order to avoid the CRTC taking further actions in response to failing to participate in the CCTS, Pure Channel Communications Inc. is required to become a participant in the CCTS and provide proof that it has done so (i.e., a copy of correspondence from the CCTS acknowledging your company’s participation) to the Chief Consumer Officer of the CRTC by 31 July 2018.

Should you have questions about registering as a participating TSP or the triggering complaint, you can contact Ms. Josée Thibault at the CCTS at 613-688-4752. If you have questions specific to the CRTC’s requirements concerning CCTS participation and the Telecommunications Act, you may contact Nanao Kachi, Director of Social and Consumer Policy, at 819-997-4700 or nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Shortliffe
Chief Consumer Officer and Executive Director
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

Appendix A – Details concerning the requirement that Pure Channel Communications Inc. participate in the CCTS

Mandatory participation in the CCTS has been in effect for the largest TSPs since December 2007. In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2011-46, the CRTC determined that all TSPs that offer services within the scope of the CCTS must become members of the CCTS within five days of the date that the CCTS notifies the TSP that the CCTS has received an in-scope complaint about it. 

The CCTS participation requirement was reaffirmed by the CRTC in Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy 2016-102. As per paragraph 45 of the CCTS review, the CRTC requires, pursuant to sections 24 and 24.1 of the Telecommunications Act, that as a condition of offering or providing telecommunication services:

For clarity, the term "person" includes every Canadian carrier and every person who is not a Canadian carrier, as defined in the Telecommunications Act.

Based on the information provided to the CRTC by the CCTS, Pure Channel Communications Inc. was required to become a participant in the CCTS by 28 April 2018 but has failed to comply with this requirement. Specifically the CCTS informed the CRTC that:

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Alan Yong (Pure Channel Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 9 juillet 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0363

PAR COURRIEL

Alan Yong
Pure Channel Communications Inc.
#551, 130-8191 Westminster Hwy 
Richmond, BC, V6X 1A7 
info@purechannel.ca, sales@purechannel.ca

La participation obligatoire de votre entreprise au CPRST

Monsieur,

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) Note de bas de page1 a été informé que Pure Channel Communications Inc. ne participe toujours pas à la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision (CPRST) Note de bas de page2 .

Le CPRST fournit un précieux service aux Canadiens en les aidant à régler leurs différends avec les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications (FST). Ainsi, le CRTC a déterminé que la participation au CPRST est obligatoire pour tous les FST, y compris les revendeurs, qui offrent des services relevant du mandat du CPRST. Plus de 300 FST, petits et grands, participent au CPRST.

Le CRTC prend très au sérieux les violations de l’obligation de participer au CPRST et peut aller jusqu’à prendre des mesures coercitives contre les FST contrevenants. En particulier, le CRTC peut entamer le processus d'imposition d'une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) sur un FST en non-conformité à la suite d’une référence du CPRST. Ce processus d'application de la loi pourrait entraîner l'imposition de SAP pouvant aller jusqu'à 50 000 $ aux FST qui n'ont pas participé au CPRST et jusqu'à 15 000 $ à leur(s) directeur(s). Voir l'avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-5 pour plus de détails.

Selon les renseignements fournis au CRTC par le CPRST, Pure Channel Communications Inc. devait commencer à participer au plus tard le 28 avril 2018, mais il a omis de le faire. Par conséquent, Pure Channel Communications Inc. pourrait être considéré en violation à la Loi sur les télécommunications parce qu'il contrevient à l'exigence de participation du CRTC. L'annexe A fourni plus de détails concernant l'exigence que Pure Channel Communications Inc. participe au CPRST.

Pour éviter que le CRTC prenne d’autres mesures concernant l’obligation de participer au CPRST, Pure Channel Communications Inc. doit devenir un fournisseur de services participant au CPRST et prouver qu’elle l’a fait (c.-à-d., en présentant une copie de la correspondance du CPRST reconnaissant la participation de votre entreprise) au dirigeant principal de la consommation du CRTC d’ici le 31 juillet 2018.

Si vous avez des questions sur l’inscription en tant que FST participant ou la plainte déposée, vous pouvez communiquer avec Mme Josée Thibault, du CPRST, au 613-688-4752. Si vous avez des questions propres aux exigences du CRTC concernant la participation au CPRST et la Loi sur les télécommunications, vous pouvez communiquer avec Nanao Kachi, directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs, au 819-997-4700 ou à l’adresse nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Dirigeant principal de la consommation et directeur exécutif
Consommation et Politique stratégique

Scott Shortliffe

Annexe A – Détails concernant l’exigence que Pure Channel Communications Inc. participe au CPRST

La participation au CPRST est obligatoire pour les plus grands FST depuis décembre 2007. Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2011-46, le CRTC a déterminé que tous les FST non membres qui offrent des services visés par le mandat du CPRST doivent y adhérer dans les cinq jours suivant la réception d’un avis du CPRST l’informant qu’il a reçu une plainte à son endroit. 

L’exigence de participation au CPRST a été réaffirmée par le CRTC dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2016-102. Comme il est énoncé au paragraphe 45 de l’examen du CPRST, en vertu des articles 24 et 24.1 de la Loi sur les télécommunications le CRTC exige comme condition pour offrir et fournir des services de télécommunication que :

Pour plus de clarté, le terme « personne » comprend toute entreprise canadienne et toute personne qui n’est pas une entreprise canadienne, comme il est défini dans la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Selon les renseignements fournis au CRTC par le CPRST, Pure Channel Communications Inc. devait devenir un fournisseur de services participant au plus tard le 28 avril 2018, mais il a omis de se conformer à cette exigence. Plus précisément, le CPRST a informé le CRTC :

Date de modification :