Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 30 April 2018

Our references: 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-B2-201700542, 8740-B2-201703463, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-C6-201701392, 8740-R28-201700071, 8740-V3-201700063

BY EMAIL

To Distribution List:

Re: Procedural request to permit late intervention by PIAC in the Follow-up to Telecom Order CRTC 2016-379

The Commission is in receipt of a letter, dated 25 April 2018, from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), requesting permission to intervene in the above noted tariff-setting proceedings regarding disaggregated wholesale High Speed Access (HSA) services. PIAC submitted that consideration of public interest and fairness support varying the rules to permit PIAC to file a late intervention and requested that the Commission exercise its discretion to vary the rules to permit PIAC to file a late intervention.

The Commission is in receipt of a letter, dated 26 April 2018, from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), where RCCI objects to PIACs’ request. The Commission is also in receipt of a letter, dated 27 April 2018, from Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), where CNOC supports PIAC’s request.

Commission staff notes that PIAC’s request to intervene in this proceeding has not been filed in the normal comment period provided at the time of the filing of the various competitor tariffs. However, Commission staff also recognizes the valuable contribution of PIAC in regulatory proceedings. On the basis that the current review process to finalize the tariffs for the disaggregated wholesale services is well underway, and to ensure that established timelines will not be inherently delayed or that additional intervention would cause undue prejudice to other parties, comments from PIAC are to focus on issues that are addressed in the requests for information and are to be provided within established timelines.  

In the circumstance, Commission staff considers PIAC’s request to intervene acceptable. PIAC may file its replies to the responses to the requests for information and any subsequent process that the Commission may put in place in this proceeding.

Please contact Bill Lloyd (William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca) at 997-4654 or myself (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-5414 should you have any questions in regards to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

DISTRIBUTION LIST

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 30 avril 2018

Nos références : 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-B2-201700542, 8740-B2-201703463, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-C6-201701392, 8740-R28-201700071, 8740-V3-201700063

PAR COURRIEL

À la liste de distribution

Objet : Requête procédurale pour permettre l’intervention tardive du CDIP dans le suivi de l’ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2016-379

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre, datée du 25 avril 2018, envoyée par le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) pour demander la permission d’intervenir dans l’instance d’établissement des tarifs concernant les services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros dégroupés, mentionnée ci-dessus. Le CDIP a fait valoir que la prise en compte de l’intérêt public et de l’équité appuie la modification des règles pour permettre au CDIP de déposer une intervention tardive et a demandé que le Conseil exerce son pouvoir discrétionnaire pour modifier les règles de sorte à permettre au CDIP de déposer une intervention tardive.

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre, datée du 26 avril 2018, envoyée par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) pour s’opposer à la demande du CDIP. Le Conseil a aussi reçu une lettre, datée du 27 avril 2018, envoyée par le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. pour appuyer la demande du CDIP.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que la demande du CDIP pour intervenir dans cette instance n’a pas été déposé pendant la période de commentaires habituelle prévue au moment du dépôt des divers tarifs des concurrents. Néanmoins, le personnel du Conseil reconnaît aussi la précieuse contribution du CDIP dans les instances réglementaires. Étant donné que le processus d’examen actuel pour mettre au point les tarifs pour les services de gros dégroupés est déjà bien avancé, et pour veiller à ce que les échéanciers établis ne soient pas retardés et à ce qu’une intervention supplémentaire ne cause pas de préjudice indu aux autres parties, les commentaires du CDIP doivent mettre l’accent sur les questions abordées dans les demandes d’information et être soumis selon les échéanciers établis.

Dans les circonstances, le personnel du Conseil estime que la demande d’intervention soumise par le CDIP est acceptable. Le CDIP peut déposer ses répliques en réponse aux demandes d’information et à tout processus subséquent que le Conseil pourrait mettre en place dans le cadre de cette instance.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la présente lettre, veuillez communiquer avec Bill Lloyd (William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca) au 819-997-4654 ou avec moi-même (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) au 819-953-5414.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :