Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Gary Birch (Neil Squire Society)

Gatineau, 4 December 2017

Our Reference: 8638-T102-201607657 and 4754-574

DELIVERED BY EMAIL

Gary Birch
Executive Director
Neil Squire Society
400 – 3999 Henning Drive
Burnaby, BC V5C 6P9
Canada
Email: garyb@neilsquire.ca

RE: Application for costs award by the Neil Squire Society with respect to its participation in the proceeding that led to Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-252, TELUS Communications Company – Show cause proceeding concerning the use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities

Dear Mr. Birch:

On 6 February 2017, the Neil Squire Society (NSS) filed an application for final costs with respect to its participation in the proceeding that led to Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-252, TELUS Communications Company – Show cause proceeding concerning the use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities (the proceeding).

The purpose of this letter is to request additional information relating to the NSS’s application for final costs. Commission staff therefore requests the NSS to provide the following information:

  1. Service on Other Parties

    Pursuant to section 66(3) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure), a costs applicant must serve the application on all other parties. It appears that your application may not have been served. By way of the present letter, therefore, all parties to the proceeding are provided with notice of the claim for costs, which is posted on the Commission’s websiteunder the “Costs” link associated with the above-noted file number.

    Pursuant to section 67 of the Rules of Procedure, potential costs respondents have ten days from the date the application is filed to file an answer to the application. In order to give potential costs respondents a fair opportunity to respond to the application and the additional information you will provide, the period for filing a response is extended until 15 January 2018 (10 days). The NSS may reply to any comments no later than 26 January 2018 (10 days). All filings are to be copied on all persons copied with this letter.

  2. Criteria for an Award of Final Costs

    Pursuant to section 68 of the Rules of Procedure, the Commission determines whether to award final costs on the basis of the following criteria:

    1. whether the applicant had, or was the representative of a group or a class of subscribers that had, an interest in the outcome of the proceeding;
    2. the extent to which the applicant assisted the Commission in developing a better understanding of the matters that were considered; and
    3. whether the applicant participated in the proceeding in a responsible way.

    Accordingly, please provide detailed submissions as to how the applicant meets each one of the three criteria for an award of costs.

    In making submissions in relation to the first criterion, Commission staff requests that the NSS clearly and specifically describe the group it purports to represent and how it determined that the position put forward in the proceeding reflected the interests of that group or class of subscribers, consistent with the guidance issued by the Commission in Telecom Information Bulletin 2016-188, Guidance for costs award applicants regarding representation of a group or a class of subscribers.

  3. Appropriate Costs Respondent(s)

    Pursuant to section 66(1)(b) of the Rules of Procedure, applicants must identify the respondents that should pay the costs. Commission staff requests that the NSS make submissions on the appropriate costs respondent(s).

  4. Cost’s Form III

    As part of the application filed, the NSS filed one Form III, for both Gary Birch and Harry Lew, however, that form only identifies the employment status, years of practice, and appropriate rate for one consultant. Commission staff therefore requests that the NSS file one Form III per claimant (e.g. one Form III for Gary Birch and another one for Harry Lew) and identify the employment status, years of practice, and appropriate rate of each claimant on the appropriate form, along with the total hours each consultant is claiming.

  5. Cost’s Form V

    According to the Guidelines for the Assessment of Costs, as set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2010-963, an applicant shall file a summary of the total fees and disbursements claimed as prescribed in Form V. Commission staff requests that the NSS provide a completed Form V.

Filing Information with the Commission

The information requested above is to be filed with the Commission by 15 December 2017 (10 days).

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at (819) 639-4716 or ricardo.wicker@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours Sincerely,

original signed by

Ricardo Wicker
Student-at-Law

cc:

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Gary Birch (Société Neil Squire)

Gatineau, le 4 décembre 2017

Nos références : 8638-T102-201607657 et 4754-574

PAR COURRIEL

Gary Birch
Directeur exécutif,
Société Neil Squire
400 — 3999, promenade Henning
Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique) V5C 6P9
Canada
Courriel : garyb@neilsquire.ca

OBJET : Demande d’attribution de frais de la Société Neil Squire pour sa participation à l’instance ayant mené à la décision de télécom CRTC 2017-252, la Société TELUS Communications — Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report en vue d’améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication

M. Birch,

Le 6 février 2017, la Société Neil Squire (SNS) a présenté une demande d’attribution de frais définitifs pour sa participation à l’instance ayant mené à la Décision de télécom CRTC 2017-252, Société TELUS Communications – Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report en vue d’améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication (l’instance).

La présente lettre vise à obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur la demande d’attribution de frais définitifs de la SNS. Le personnel du Conseil demande à la SNS de fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. Signification aux autres parties

    En vertu du paragraphe 66(3) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes   (les Règles de procédure), le demandeur doit signifier la demande à toutes les autres parties. Il semble que votre demande n'ait pas été signifiée aux autres parties. Donc, par la présente, un préavis est donné à toutes les parties à l’instance du dépôt de la demande d’attribution de frais et celle-ci apparait sur le site Web du Conseil sous le lien « Frais » lié au numéro de dossier susmentionné.

    Conformément à l’article 67 des Règles de procédure, les intimées potentielles peuvent déposer une réponse dans les dix jours suivants le jour du dépôt de la demande. Afin de permettre aux intimées potentielles d’avoir une juste possibilité de répondre, le délai pour déposer une réponse est prolongé jusqu’au 15 janvier 2018 (10 jours). La SNS pourra répliquer aux observations éventuelles au plus tard le 26 janvier 2018 (10 jours). Tous les dépôts doivent être fournis à toutes les personnes dont le nom figure en copie conforme sur la présente lettre.

  2. Critères d’attribution de frais définitifs

    En vertu de l'article 68 des Règles de procédure, le Conseil détermine s'il convient d'attribuer des frais définitifs en fonction des critères suivants :

    1. le fait que le dénouement de l’instance revêtait un intérêt pour le demandeur ou pour le groupe ou la catégorie d’abonnés qu’il représentait;
    2. la mesure dans laquelle le demandeur a aidé le Conseil à mieux comprendre les questions qui ont été examinées;
    3. le fait que le demandeur a participé à l’instance de manière responsable.

    Par conséquent, veuillez fournir des observations détaillées sur la façon dont le demandeur respecte chaque critère d’attribution de frais définitifs.

    Dans les observations en lien avec le premier critère, le personnel du Conseil demande que la SNS identifie clairement et précisément le groupe qu’elle prétend représenter et qu’elle explique comment elle a déterminé que la position qu’elle avance représente les intérêts de ce groupe ou de cette catégorie d’abonnés, conformément aux directives énoncées par le Conseil dans le Bulletin d'information de télécom CRTC 2016-188, Directives à l’intention des demandeurs d’attribution de frais concernant la représentation d’un groupe ou d’une catégorie d’abonnés.

  3. Intimées appropriées

    Conformément à l’alinéa 66(1)b) des Règles de procédure, dans une demande d’attribution de frais, les intimées qui devraient assumer les frais doivent être identifiées. Le personnel du Conseil demande que la SNS présente ses observations quant aux intimées responsables du paiement.

  4. Formulaire III

    Dans le cadre de la demande déposée, la SNS a présenté un formulaire III, pour Gary Birch et Harry Lew. Toutefois, ce formulaire n’indique que le statut d’emploi, les années de pratique et le tarif d’un seul conseiller. Le personnel du Conseil demande donc que la SNS dépose un formulaire III par demandeur (soit un formulaire III pour Gary Birch et un autre pour Harry Lew) et qu’elle indique le statut d’emploi, les années de pratique et le tarif pour chaque demandeur sur le formulaire pertinent, en plus des heures que chaque conseiller réclame.

  5. Formulaire V

    Selon les Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation des demandes d’attribution de frais expliquées dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom 2010-963, un demandeur doit déposer un sommaire de l’ensemble des honoraires et des débours réclamés, tel qu’il est exigé dans le formulaire V. Le personnel du Conseil demande que la SNS présente un formulaire V rempli.

Dépôt de renseignements auprès du Conseil

Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être déposés devant le Conseil au plus tard le 15 décembre 2017 (10 jours).

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi (819) 639-4716 ou à l’adresse ricardo.wicker@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Ricardo Wicker
Stagiaire en droit

cc :

Date de modification :