Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution list

Ottawa, 13 October 2017

Our reference:  8740-B2-201606873, 8740-B2-201703447, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 88740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE:   Follow-up to Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396 and Telecom Order CRTC 2016-448 – Request to extend process deadlines and clarify process

Dear Madams/Sirs:

The Commission received a letter, dated 6 October 2017, from Bell Canada requesting to extend the process deadline set out in the Commission staff letter, dated 17 August 2017, for the tariff applications related to the aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services. Specifically, Bell Canada requested that the Commission extend the reply deadline from 16 October to 30 October 2017. Bell Canada submitted that its extension request is reasonable given the number of issues raised and the extensive set of comments filed by Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) on the aggregated and disaggregated wholesale HSA service tariff filings.

The Commission is in receipt of letters, dated 10 October 2017, from Cogeco Communications Inc., Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of Videotron G.P., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), TELUS Communications Company (TCC), supporting Bell Canada’s extension request, and from CNOC, which did not oppose Bell Canada’s extension request.

In its letter, dated 10 October 2017, CNOC did not take a position on Bell Canada’s extension request, but requested that the Commission provide clarification regarding whether any party may file reply comments to the interventions filed on 22 September 2017. CNOC submitted that procedural fairness requires that any party be allowed to file reply comments. By letter, dated 11 October 2017, TCC opposed CNOC’s request that any party should have the right of reply and provided its reasons for limiting the right of reply to applicants. By letter, dated 12 October 2017, CNOC provided its response to TCC’s arguments and reiterated its request that the Commission clarify that any party be allowed to file reply comments.
With respect to Bell Canada’s extension request, Commission staff considers that, in the circumstances, a two week extension to the reply comments is reasonable as it will allow for adequate time to provide fulsome responses to the numerous issues that have been raised.

With respect to CNOC’s request for clarification, Commission staff notes that in the letter, dated 1 August 2017, which established procedural timelines for the tariff filings under consideration, there was an inadvertent error stating that any party may file a reply, which was corrected in the Commission staff letter, dated 17 August 2017.

In addition, Commission staff notes that the established rules of practice and procedure allow any interested person with an opportunity to comment on an application. An intervention may be filed by someone who supports the application as it may be filed by someone that opposes an application. The fact that an intervenor has taken a position that is not supported by another intervenor does not result in the need to provide the latter with a right of reply. Procedural fairness requires that persons with an interest in a proceeding are provided with an opportunity to properly acquaint themselves with the issues under consideration and make their position known on these issues. The procedures set out in the Commission’s rules of practice and procedure, as applied to the individual tariff applications under consideration, properly provide all interested persons with this opportunity.

The Commission is in receipt of a letter, dated 11 October 2017, from CNOC requesting that the Commission direct RCCI to provide additional information on its proposed cost adjustments and set a process for comment and reply to comment. 

Commission staff considers that RCCI’s proposed cost adjustments will be addressed in the upcoming request for information process. Parties will have the opportunity to file comments on the matter in that process.

Commission staff hereby informs all interested persons that the procedural date for the filing of reply comments regarding the tariff applications related to aggregated wholesale HSA services (outlined above and listed in the attachment) is modified as follows:

A Commission staff letter providing additional information on process concerning requests for information will be sent out in due course.

Please contact Abderrahman El Fatihi (Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-3662 or myself (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-5414 should you have any questions in regards to this letter.
Sincerely,

Original signed by Tom Vilmansen for

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Distribution List

Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Bell Canada:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret: nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca ;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;

Bell Canada TN 7504: 8740-B2-201606873 - Aggregated wholesale HSA Service - Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

Bell Canada TN 7533: 8740-B2-201703447 - Aggregated wholesale HSA Service - Fibre to the Node (FTTN) - Bonded Access

Bell MTS TN 778/778A: 8740-M59-201606980 - Aggregated wholesale HSA Service - Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

TCC TN 512: 8740-T66-201606815 - Aggregated wholesale HSA Service - Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

SaskTel TN 329, 329/A: 8740-S22-201606823 - Aggregated wholesale HSA Service - Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

Cogeco TN 52, 52/A: 8740-C6-201606831 - Aggregated Third Party Internet Access (TPIA) services

RCCI TN 45, 45/A: 8740-R28-201606808 - Aggregated Third Party Internet Access (TPIA) services

Videotron TN 52, 52/A: 8740-V3-201606849 - Aggregated Third Party Internet Access (TPIA) services

Eastlink TN 37, 37/A: 8740-E17-201610262 - Aggregated Third Party Internet Access (TPIA) services

Shaw TN 26, 26/A: 8740-S9-201606790 - Aggregated Third Party Internet Access (TPIA) services

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 13 octobre 2017

Notre référence : 8740-B2-201606873, 8740-B2-201703447, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Suivi des ordonnances de télécom CRTC 2016-396 et CRTC 2016-448 – Demande de prolongation des délais associés à la procédure et de clarification de la procédure

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre datée du 6 octobre 2017 de Bell Canada dans laquelle la compagnie demande que le délai associé à la procédure fixé par le personnel du Conseil, dans une lettre datée du 17 août 2017, soit prolongé pour les demandes de modification tarifaire relatives aux services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros groupés. Plus précisément, Bell Canada demande que le Conseil reporte le délai des répliques du 16 octobre au 30 octobre 2017. Bell Canada soutient que sa demande de prolongation est raisonnable compte tenu du nombre de questions soulevées et du nombre considérable d’observations déposées par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) au sujet des dépôts de tarifs concernant les services d’AHV de gros groupés et dégroupés.

Le Conseil a reçu des lettres, en date du 10 octobre 2017, de Cogeco Communications Inc., de Québecor Média inc., au nom de Vidéotron, S.E.N.C., de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et de la Société TELUS Communications (STC) qui appuient la demande de prolongation de Bell Canada, et du CORC qui ne s’oppose pas à cette demande de Bell Canada.

Dans sa lettre datée du 10 octobre 2017, le CORC n’a pas pris position quant à la demande de prolongation de Bell Canada, mais a demandé que le Conseil fournisse des précisions, à savoir si toute partie peut déposer des observations en réplique aux interventions déposées le 22 septembre 2017. Le CORC soutient que l’équité procédurale exige que toute partie soit autorisée à déposer des observations en réplique. Dans une lettre datée du 11 octobre 2017, la STC s’est opposée à la demande du CORC que toute partie devait avoir le droit de réplique et a exposé ses raisons pour limiter le droit de réplique aux demandeurs. Dans une lettre datée du 12 octobre 2017, le CORC a fourni sa réponse aux arguments avancés par la STC dans le cadre d’un processus distinct, et il a réitéré sa demande que le Conseil précise que toute partie soit autorisée à déposer des observations en réplique.

En ce qui a trait à la demande de prolongation de Bell Canada, le personnel du Conseil estime que, dans les circonstances, un report de deux semaines pour les observations de réplique est raisonnable, car il laissera suffisamment de temps pour fournir des réponses exhaustives aux nombreuses questions qui ont été soulevées.

En ce qui a trait à la demande de précisions du CORC, le personnel du Conseil souligne que dans la lettre datée du 1er août 2017, qui établissait le calendrier de la procédure pour les dépôts tarifaires à l’étude, il y avait une erreur indiquant que toute partie pouvait déposer une réponse; le personnel du Conseil a corrigé cette erreur dans une lettre datée du 17 août 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil souligne également que les règles de pratique et de procédure établies permettent à toute personne intéressée de formuler des commentaires concernant une demande. Une intervention peut être déposée par une personne qui appuie la demande comme elle peut être faite par une personne qui s’oppose à une demande. Le fait qu’un intervenant a pris une position qui n’est pas soutenue par un autre intervenant ne signifie pas qu’il est nécessaire d’accorder à ce dernier un droit de réplique. L’équité procédurale exige que les personnes manifestant un intérêt pour une instance aient la possibilité de bien se renseigner sur les questions à l’étude et de faire connaître leur position sur celles-ci. Les procédures énoncées dans les règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil, qui sont appliquées aux demandes tarifaires individuelles à l’étude, offrent cette possibilité de façon convenable à toutes les personnes intéressées.

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre du CORC, en date du 11 octobre 2017, qui demande que le Conseil ordonne à RCCI de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires sur ses rajustements de coûts proposés et qu’il établisse une procédure aux fins d’observations et de répliques aux observations.

Le personnel du Conseil estime que les rajustements de coûts proposés par RCCI seront abordés prochainement dans le cadre d’un processus de demande de renseignements. Les parties auront alors la possibilité de déposer des observations sur cette question dans le cadre de ce processus.
Le personnel du Conseil informe donc les personnes intéressées que la date de dépôt d’interventions et d’observations en réplique concernant les demandes tarifaires relatives aux services AHV de gros groupés (susmentionnés et qui figurent à la pièce jointe) est modifiée comme suit :

Une lettre du Conseil contenant d’autres renseignements sur la procédure relative aux demandes de renseignements sera envoyée en temps utile.

Veuillez communiquer avec Abderrahman El Fatihi (Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca) au (819) 953‑3662 ou moi-même (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) au (819) 953-5414, si vous avez des questions au sujet de la présente lettre.
Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
La directrice,

Original signé par Tom Vilmansen pour

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. : Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca

 

Liste de distribution

Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada : bell.regulatory@bell.ca
MTS Inc. : regulatory@mts.ca
Zayo Canada Inc. : regulatory@zayo.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com
Société TELUS Communications : regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Cogeco Cable Inc. : telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Québecor Média inc. (Vidéotron) : regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. : barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com
Nathan Jarret : nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Cablesystems G.P. : Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Réglementation CORC : regulatory@cnoc.ca
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. : regulatory@teksavvy.com
Vaxination Informatique : jfmezei@vaxination.ca
VMedia Inc. : george.burger@vmedia.ca
Steve Sorochan : steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Darren Parberry : metisbus@yahoo.ca
Marcus Schultze : marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com
Kathleen Turnsek : regulatory@vianet.ca
Eastlink : Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Tacit Law : ctacit@tacitlaw.com
Distributel Communications Limited : regulatory@distributel.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

AMT 7504 de Bell Canada : 8740-B2-201606873 – Service AHV de gros groupé – Fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN)

AMT 7533 de Bell Canada : 8740-B2-201703447 – Service AHV de gros groupé – Fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN) – Accès jumelé

AMT 778/778A de Bell MTS : 8740-M59-201606980 – Service AHV de gros groupé – Fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN)

AMT 512 de la STC : 8740-T66-201606815 – Service AHV de gros groupé – Fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN)

AMT 329, 329/A de SaskTel : 8740-S22-201606823 – Service AHV de gros groupé – Fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN)

AMT 52, 52/A de Cogeco : 8740-C6-201606831 – Services d’accès Internet de tiers (AIT) groupés

AMT 45, 45/A de RCCI : 8740-R28-201606808 – Services d’accès Internet de tiers (AIT) groupés

AMT 52, 52/A de Vidéotron : 8740-V3-201606849 – Services d’accès Internet de tiers (AIT) groupés

AMT 37, 37/A d’Eastlink : 8740-E17-201610262 – Services d’accès Internet de tiers (AIT) groupés

AMT 26, 26/A de Shaw : 8740-S9-201606790 – Services d’accès Internet de tiers (AIT) groupés

Date de modification :