Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to John Lawford (PIAC)

Ottawa, 9 June 2017

Our reference: 8640-B2-201602326, 8640-B2-201601253, 8640-B2-201606245, 8640-B2-201606534, 8640-T66-201608606, 8638-T66-201607433, 1011-NOC2016-0333, 8640-T66-201608408, 8663-P8-201607186, 1011-NOC2016-0192, 1011-NOC2016-0431, 1011-NOC2016-0116 and 1101-NOC2016-0293

BY EMAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director & General Counsel, PIAC
One Nicholas Street, suite 1204
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 7B7
Email: jlawford@piac.ca  

RE: Status of Counsel to the Public Interest Advocacy Centre for Costs Purposes

Dear Mr. Lawford,

The Commission is in receipt of several applications for costs from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) that include claims for legal fees for legal counsel and/or articling students at the rates established for external legal services. Specifically, the Commission has received costs applications for participation in the following proceedings:

The purpose of this letter is to request additional information from PIAC regarding the status of the following claimants for costs purposes in the above mentioned costs applications.

In light of the number of applications involved, and the fact that the same issue arises in all of these applications, Commission staff considers that it would be most efficient for PIAC to provide a single response that will be added to the public record of each of the above listed proceedings.

1. John Lawford’s Status

On 11 April 2017, the Commission issued Telecom Order 2017-95, Determination of costs award with respect to the participation of the Affordable Access Coalition in the proceeding leading to Telecom Regulatory Policy 2016-496 (Telecom Order 2017-95). In this order, the Commission determined that Mr. Lawford reports to the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC) as “Practicing law – Employed”, which would appear to conflict with submissions made in the above applications that Mr. Lawford reports to LSUC as being in “Private Practice”.Footnote1

In light of this finding, PIAC is invited to make additional submissions regarding Mr. Lawford’s status with respect to PIAC’s participation in the above noted proceedings, in order to clarify this apparent inconsistency. As part of its submissions, PIAC is requested to confirm, with supporting documentation, Mr. Lawford’s status as reported to LSUC at the time each of the applicable costs applications was made.

2. Articling Student Status

Similarly, PIAC is invited to make submissions on the relationship between PIAC and the articling students for which it has requested costs in the above-noted proceedings. Specifically, please confirm the identity of the principal to each of the articling students listed in the costs applications in the above proceedings, as well as the principal’s status as reported to LSUC. For each articling student, please provide submissions as to whether the articling student performed any work for PIAC under the supervision of legal counsel other than the principal, and whether the articling students worked for any clients of the principal other than PIAC.

3. Departure from the Guidelines

Pursuant to the Guidelines for the Assessments of Costs (the Guidelines),Footnote2 it is open to applicants to provide brief written submissions showing cause why the Guidelines should be departed from. As the Commission noted in Telecom Order 2017-95, “it is open to claimants to (i) provide explanations in cases where they feel that a question does not address their particular circumstances, or (ii) request an exception to the Guidelines”.Footnote3

Assuming that Mr. Lawford’s status is “Practising Law – Employed”, as determined by the Commission in Telecom Order 2017-95, PIAC is invited to make brief submissions on why an exception to the Guidelines should be made in the determination of Mr. Lawford’s status for costs applications purposes and that he be treated as external counsel.

Similarly, assuming that the articling students’ status is internal, PIAC is invited to make brief submissions on why an exception to the Guidelines should be made in order that their status be treated as external.

Filing Information with the Commission

The requested information should be filed with the Commission by 19 June 2017. Any other party to the costs orders at issue may file a response by 29 June 2017. PIAC may reply to any comments by no later than 5 July 2017. All filings are to be served on all parties copied in the distribution list to this letter.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of each proceeding referenced in this letter.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact Allison McLean at 819-635-8099 or allison.mclean@crtc.gc.ca.  

Yours Sincerely,

[originally signed by]

Alastair Stewart
Senior Legal Counsel, Team Leader Telecom

c.c.: Allison McLean, CRTC, (819) 635-8099 allison.mclean@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à John Lawford (PIAC)

Ottawa, le 9 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8640-B2-201602326, 8640-B2-201601253, 8640-B2-201606245, 8640-B2-201606534, 8640-T66-201608606, 8638-T66-201607433, 1011-NOC2016-0333, 8640-T66-201608408, 8663-P8-201607186, 1011-NOC2016-0192, 1011-NOC2016-0431, 1011-NOC2016-0116 et 1101-NOC2016-0293

PAR COURRIEL

M. John Lawford

Directeur exécutif et avocat général, PIAC
1, rue Nicholas, bureau 1204
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1N 7B7
Courriel : jlawford@piac.ca

OBJET : Statut d’avocat du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public aux fins des coûts

Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu plusieurs demandes d’adjudication de frais du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC) qui renferment des réclamations de frais juridiques pour les services d’un avocat ou de stagiaires en droit aux taux établis pour des services juridiques externes. Plus précisément, le Conseil a reçu des demandes d’adjudication de frais pour la participation aux instances suivantes :

La présente vise à obtenir du PIAC des renseignements supplémentaires sur le statut des réclamants indiqués ci-après aux fins de réclamation des frais figurant dans les demandes d’adjudication de frais susmentionnées.

Étant donné le nombre de demandes visées et le fait que pour chacune d’elle la même question se pose, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il serait plus efficace que le PIAC fournisse une seule réponse qui sera versée au dossier public de chacune des instances susmentionnées.

1. Statut de John Lawford

Le 11 avril 2017, le Conseil a publié l’ordonnance de télécom 2017-95, Demande d’attribution de frais concernant la participation de l’Affordable Access Coalition à l’instance ayant mené à la politique réglementaire de télécom 2016-496 (Ordonnance de télécom 2017-95). Dans cette ordonnance, le Conseil a établi que M. Lawford était inscrit au Barreau du Haut-Canada en tant qu’« employé pratiquant le droit », ce qui semble s’opposer aux observations formulées dans les demandes ci-dessus selon lesquelles M. Lawford est inscrit au Barreau du Haut-Canada et qu’il exerce en « pratique privée ».Note de bas de page1

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil invite le PIAC à présenter d’autres observations quant au statut de M. Lawford en ce qui concerne la participation du PIAC aux instances susmentionnées, et ce, afin de faire la lumière sur cette apparente incohérence. Dans le cadre de ses observations, PIAC doit confirmer, au moyen de documents justificatifs, le statut de M. Lawford déclaré au Barreau du Haut-Canada au moment où chacune des demandes d’adjudication de frais a été soumise.

2. Statut des stagiaires en droit

Dans le même ordre d’idées, le personnel du Conseil invite le PIAC à formuler des observations sur le lien entre le PIAC et les stagiaires en droit pour lesquels il a demandé l’adjudication de frais concernant les instances susmentionnées. Plus précisément, e personnel du Conseil lui demande de confirmer l’identité du responsable de stage de chacun des stagiaires en droit dont le nom figure dans les demandes d’adjudication de frais liées aux instances ci-dessus ainsi que le statut du responsable de stage en question ayant été déclaré au Barreau du Haut-Canada. Pour chacun des stagiaires en droit, il convient d’indiquer si le stagiaire en question a travaillé pour le PIAC sous la supervision d’un avocat autre que le responsable de stage et s’il a travaillé pour l’un des clients de ce responsable, autre que le PIAC.

3. Dérogation des Lignes directrices

Conformément aux Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation des demandes d’attribution de frais (les Lignes directrices),Note de bas de page2 il appartient aux demandeurs de fournir de brèves observations justifiant une dérogation à ces Lignes directrices. Comme le Conseil l’a indiqué dans la décision de télécom 2017-95, « Il est possible pour les demandeurs : i) de fournir des explications s’ils estiment qu’une question ne s’applique pas précisément dans leur cas ou ii) de demander une exemption aux Lignes directrices. »Note de bas de page3

En supposant que M. Lawford est inscrit comme « employé pratiquant le droit », tel qu’en a déterminé le Conseil dans la décision de télécom 2017-95, le personnel du Conseil invite PIAC à présenter de brèves observations justifiant une dérogation aux Lignes directrices dans la détermination du statut de M. Lawford aux fins des demandes d’adjudication de frais et qu’il soit traité comme un avocat externe.

Dans le même ordre d’idées, en supposant que le statut des stagiaires en droit est interne, le personnel du Conseil invite le PIAC à présenter de brèves observations justifiant une dérogation aux Lignes directrices dans la détermination du statut des stagiaires en droit comme étant externe.

Dépôt de renseignements auprès du Conseil

Les renseignements demandés doivent être soumis au Conseil d’ici le 19 juin 2017. Toute autre partie visée par les ordonnances de frais en cause peut soumettre une réponse d’ici le 29 juin 2017. Le PIAC pourra répondre à toute observation au plus tard le 5 juillet 2017. Les soumissions doivent être signifiées en copie à l’ensemble des parties figurant dans les listes de diffusion de la présente.

Une copie de cette lettre et toute la correspondance connexe seront versées au dossier public de chacune des instances mentionnées dans la présente.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Allison McLean, au numéro 819-635-8099, ou à l’adresse allison.mclean@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

[Original signé par]

Alastair Stewart
Conseiller juridique principal, Chef d’équipe télécom

c. c. Allison McLean, CRTC, (819) 635-8099 allison.mclean@crtc.gc.ca

Listes de diffusion