Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 31 May 2017

Our references: 8740-T66-201513028, 8740-R28-201513010, 8740-B38-201507849, 8740-B38-201600023

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE:  Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-177 – Regulatory framework for wholesale mobile wireless services – Follow-up process to finalize GSM-based wholesale roaming services proposed tariffs for the National Wireless Carriers – Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and additional information with respect to second round of requests for information associated with costing and rates

Dear Madam, Sir:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and for further responses to interrogatories, dated 4 April 2017, related to the setting of rates for wholesale roaming services proposed by the National Wireless Carriers.Footnote1

On 18 April 2017, Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile), Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of Videotron s.e.n.c. (Videotron) and Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) filed submissions requesting disclosure of certain information for which confidentiality had been claimed and for further responses to interrogatories.

These requests concerned the responses, dated 4 April 2017, of the National Wireless Carriers to interrogatories posed to them on 20 December 2016.

On 28 April 2017 the National Wireless Carriers responded to these requests for disclosure and further information.

Commission staff notes that requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

With respect to requests for further responses to interrogatories, the requirements of section 76 of the Rules of Procedure apply. The merits of arguments both for and against the filing of further responses are taken into account, as well as the general principles enunciated by the Commission in past proceedings. The major consideration is the relevance of the information requested to the matter at issue. The availability of the information requested is also a factor, which is balanced against the relevance of the information. If the provision of the information sought would require an effort disproportionate to the probative value of the information itself, further responses will not be required. Another factor considered is the extent to which an interrogatory answer is responsive to the interrogatory as it was originally asked. Generally, parties are not required to provide further responses to requests for further information from a party that did not ask the original interrogatory.

Commission staff has reviewed the requests filed by Freedom Mobile, Eastlink, Videotron and Ice Wireless, along with responses submitted by the National Wireless Carriers and considers that additional disclosure and further responses are necessary in order for parties to be able to intervene meaningfully and for the Commission to obtain a comprehensive record.

Based on the review of the requests and responses, Commission staff considers that the parties listed in the Attachment are to disclose and to provide further response to the specified information on the public record, or file it with the Commission, as the case may be, by 14 June 2017.

Commission staff expects that after the request for further information and public disclosure are completed, further process will be set out to continue reviewing the costing and rates for the wholesale wireless roaming tariffs.

Parties are asked to serve all other parties with any documents filed in this proceeding, and to send an electronic copy directly to the following Commission staff:

Lyne Renaud, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
Lloyd, William,William.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Parties are reminded that, if a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunication Sector

c.c.: Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, (819) 953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, CRTC, (819) 997-4654, william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Attach (2)

Distribution list:
Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; Nathan Jarrett, Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron s.e.n.c., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Globalive Wireless Management Corp., lisajackson@globalive.com;
Freedom Mobile Inc., Ed Antecol, EAntecol@FreedomMobile.ca
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
MTS Inc., regulatory@mts.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. regulatory@cnoc.ca
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) lawford@piac.ca
Corridor Communications, Inc. amirb@corp.cciwireless.ca
Benjamin Klass, benjiklass@hotmail.com
Vaxination Informatique, jfmezei@vaxination.ca


ATTACHMENT 1/2

DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION DESIGNATED AS CONFIDENTIAL

Bell Mobility

  1. Bell Mobility (CRTC) 20Dec16-3(a) TN1B & 2: Bell Mobility is to disclose on the public record the first 10 words and the last 9 words of the confidential section on page 7 of 22 of its response filed in confidence.
  2. Bell Mobility (CRTC) 20Dec16-5 TN1B & 2: Bell Mobility is to disclose on the public record the column Spectrum and Other Licenses in Note 14 b) Intangible Assets – Bell Mobility Segment in the Attachment to its revised response.

Rogers

  1. Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-3b: Rogers is to disclose on the public record the confidential information in the response to request for information Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-3b.
  2. Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-9c: Rogers is to disclose on the public record the confidential information in the response to request for information Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-9c.

FURTHER RESPONSES TO INTERROGATORIES

TELUS

  1. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-3(c) : TELUS is to provide a response to:
    1. For all existing wireless facilities included in the cost study, provide the Net Book Value (NBV) and the corresponding depreciation and amortization at end-of-year 2015, and associated remaining life estimates (this should not be the proposed life estimate for wireless facilities) in Table 1 in Attachment 2 (add lines as necessary to include all existing wireless facilities). Further, provide the supporting documentation that explains how the NBV, the corresponding depreciation and amortization, and the associated remaining life estimates were estimated. If the requested information is not available on an individual wireless equipment basis, provide the same information on an aggregated basis, as available.
  2. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-3(e): TELUS is to provide a revised cost study reflecting the following changes in assumptions:
    1. Replace the capital cash flow and the associated life estimate at the start of the cost study for each of the existing facilities in the cost model with the associated NBV value and remaining life estimate provided in Table 2 in Attachment 2.
    2. Replace the Spectrum capital cash flow at the start of the cost study with the value provided in the column titled “Present Worth of the remaining value of spectrum asset” in the table provided in the response to CRTC 17Jun16-1. With respect to capital characteristics, assume rectangular survivor curve patterns and no capital increase factors (CIFs) and productivity improvement factors (PIFs).

    If the information is not available at the disaggregated level, provide the revised cost study using the most available and reliable data, at the aggregated level, for TELUS’ wireless facilities.

  3. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-1: TELUS is to provide an updated response including:
    1. Revised cost and rates in $/Megabytes (MB) for data, $/minute for voice, and $/text for SMS using the economic parameters provided in current Appendix V of the company’s Economic Studies Manual, and that it incorporates the responses to all requested interrogatories, where applicable, using the format of the tables used to provide:
      1. Price Floor Test - Total Present Worth of Revenues and Cost within Study Period,
      2. Price Floor Test - Revenues and Costs per Megabytes, per minute and per Text Message,
      3. Demand Estimate over the study period including the start study demand and
      4. Detailed Summary of Costs Causal to Service and Demand respectively.
    2. for each year of the revised cost study in response to a) above, the capital cash flows for all wireless facilities associated with the RAN, Backhaul, and Core Network.
    3. a copy of the updated economic model (including all associated files required to run the model) that incorporates the responses to all requested interrogatories, where applicable.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2017

Nos références : 8740-T66-201513028, 8740-R28-201513010, 8740-B38-201507849, 8740-B38-201600023

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 – Cadre de réglementation régissant les services sans-fil mobiles de gros – Processus de suivi afin de finaliser les tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros de type GSM pour les entreprises de services sans fil nationales – Demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés confidentiels et demandes de réponses supplémentaires à des demandes de renseignements portant sur l’établissement des coûts et les tarifs.

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente lettre porte sur les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés confidentiels et les demandes de réponses supplémentaires aux demandes de renseignements, datées du 4 avril 2017, portant sur l’établissement des coûts relatifs aux tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros proposés par les fournisseurs de services sans fil nationauxNote de bas de page1.

Le 18 avril 2017, Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile), Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom de EastLink (EastLink), Québecor Média inc. au nom de Vidéotron S.E.N.C (Videotron) et Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) ont déposé des demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements ayant fait l’objet d’une demande de traitement confidentiel et de réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements.

Ces demandes concernaient les réponses datées du 4 avril 2017, des entreprises nationales de services sans fil aux demandes de renseignements qui leur avaient été communiquées le 20 décembre 2016.

Le 28 avril 2017, les entreprises de services sans fil nationales ont répondu à ces demandes de divulgation et de renseignements complémentaires.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées en fonction des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Dans le cas de chaque demande, on cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels, aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. On détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation desdits renseignements. Dans le cadre de cette évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte de nombreux facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance des renseignements, afin d’obtenir un dossier plus complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

En ce qui a trait aux demandes de réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements, les exigences énoncées à l’article 76 des Règles s’appliquent. Le Conseil a soupesé le bien-fondé de tous les arguments favorables et défavorables au dépôt de réponses complémentaires, en plus de tenir compte des principes généraux qu’il a énoncés dans le cadre d’instances antérieures. La pertinence des renseignements demandés par rapport à la question à l’étude constitue la principale considération. La disponibilité des renseignements demandés est également un facteur à prendre en compte; elle est évaluée par rapport à la pertinence des renseignements. Si la fourniture des renseignements demandés nécessitait des efforts démesurés par rapport à la valeur probante de l’information proprement dite, des réponses complémentaires ne seraient pas exigées. Entre également en ligne de compte la mesure dans laquelle la réponse à la demande de renseignements correspond bien à la demande initiale. En général, le Conseil n’exige pas des parties qu’elles fournissent des réponses aux demandes de renseignements complémentaires d’une partie si cette dernière n’est pas l’auteur de la demande de renseignements initiale.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les demandes déposées par Freedom Mobile, Eastlink, Vidéotron et Ice Wireless, ainsi que les réponses présentées par les entreprises nationales de services sans fil et estime qu’une divulgation supplémentaire et des réponses complémentaires sont requises pour que les parties puissent intervenir de façon valable et que le Conseil puisse avoir un dossier exhaustif.

En se fondant sur l’examen des demandes et des réponses, le Conseil est d’avis que les parties nommées dans la pièce jointe doivent divulguer et fournir des réponses complémentaires aux renseignements précisés et les verser dans le dossier public, ou les déposer devant le Conseil, le cas échéant, d’ici le 14 juin 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce qu’une fois les demandes de renseignements supplémentaires et de divulgation traitées, on établisse un processus pour poursuivre l’examen des coûts et des tarifs des services d’itinérance sans fil de gros.

Les parties doivent signifier copie aux autres parties de tous documents déposés dans le cadre de l’instance et en envoyer une copie électronique directement aux membres suivants du personnel du Conseil :

Lyne Renaud, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
Lloyd, William, William.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé au plus tard à une date précise, nous vous rappelons qu’il doit être effectivement reçu et non pas simplement envoyé à cette date.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.: Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, (819) 953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, CRTC, (819) 997-4654, william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

p. j. (2)

Liste de distribution

Bell Mobilité Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; Nathan Jarrett, Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron s.e.n.c., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Globalive Wireless Management Corp., lisajackson@globalive.com;
Freedom Mobile Inc., Ed Antecol, EAntecol@FreedomMobile.ca
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
MTS Inc., regulatory@mts.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens Inc. regulatory@cnoc.ca
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC) lawford@piac.ca
Corridor Communications, Inc. amirb@corp.cciwireless.ca
Benjamin Klass, benjiklass@hotmail.com
Vaxination Informatique, jfmezei@vaxination.ca


PIÈCE JOINTE 1/2

DIVULGATION DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DÉSIGNÉS COMME CONFIDENTIELS

Bell Mobilité

  1. Bell Mobilité (CRTC) 20Dec16-3 (a) AMT 1B et 2 : Bell Mobilité doit divulguer pour le dossier public, les dix premiers mots et les neuf derniers mots de la section confidentielle à la page 7 (sur 22) de sa réponse déposée à titre confidentiel.
  2. Bell Mobilité (CRTC) 20Dec16-5AMT 1B et 2 : Bell Mobilité doit divulguer pour le dossier public, la colonne Utilisation du spectre et autres licences de la Note 14 b) Actifs incorporels – Segment Bell Mobilité dans la pièce jointe de sa réponse révisée.

Rogers

  1. Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-3b : Rogers doit divulguer pour le dossier public les renseignements confidentiels de la réponse à la demande de renseignements Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-3b.
  2. Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-9c : Rogers doit divulguer pour le dossier public les renseignements confidentiels de la réponse à la demande de renseignements Rogers (CRTC) 20Dec16-9c.

RÉPONSES COMPLÉMENTAIRES À DES DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

TELUS

  1. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-3 (c) : TELUS doit fournir :
    1. Pour toutes les installations sans fil inclues dans l’étude de coûts : la valeur comptable nette (VCN), la dépréciation et l’amortissement à la fin de l’année 2015 et la durée de vie restante (il ne s’agit pas de la durée de vie proposée des installations sans fil) au Tableau 1 dans la pièce jointe 2 (ajouter des lignes si nécessaire). De plus, fournir les documents d’appui pour expliquer comment la VCN, la dépréciation et l’amortissement et la durée de vie restante ont été évalués. Si les renseignements demandés ne sont pas disponibles pour chaque installation sans fil individuelle, fournir les mêmes renseignements de façon regroupée.
  2. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-3(e) : TELUS doit fournir une étude de coûts révisée qui reflète les modifications dans les hypothèses :
    1. Remplacer le flux monétaire et l’estimation de durée de vie, au début de l’étude de coûts de chaque installation existante du modèle de coûts, par la VCN connexe et l’estimation de la durée de vie restante fournie dans le Tableau 2 de la pièce jointe 2.
    2. Remplacer le flux monétaire lié au spectre au début de l’étude de coûts par la valeur inscrite dans la colonne « Present Worth of the remaining value of spectrum asset » (valeur restante du spectre) du tableau fourni dans la réponse au CRTC 17Jun16-1. Au sujet des caractéristiques, partez du principe que les schémas de courbes de survie sont rectangulaires et qu’il n’y a pas de facteurs d’augmentation des coûts en immobilisations (FACI) et de facteurs d’amélioration de la productivité (FAP).

      Si les renseignements ne sont pas disponibles de façon distincte, fournissez une étude de coûts révisée faites à partir des données disponibles les plus fiables, groupées, des installations sans fil de    TELUS.

  3. TELUS(CRTC) 20Dec16-1 : TELUS doit fournir une réponse à jour qui comprend :
    1. a) Les coûts et les tarifs révisés en dollars ($)/Mega-octet (Mo) pour les données, dollars ($)/minute pour la voie et dollars ($)/texte pour SMS en utilisant les paramètres économiques fournis à l’Annexe V du manuel d’études économiques de la compagnie, en intégrant les réponses à l’ensemble des questions, le cas échéant, dans le même format des tableaux utilisés pour fournir : 
      1. Test du prix plancher — Valeur actualisée totale des revenus et des coûts durant la période d’étude
      2. Test du prix plancher — Revenus et coûts par mégaoctet, par minute et par message texte
      3. Estimation de la demande au cours de la période d’étude, y compris la demande de l’étude initiale
      4. Résumé détaillé des coûts causals associés au service et à la demande respectivement.
    2. pour chaque année de l’étude de coût révisée en a), le flux de monétaire des installations sans fil avec le RAN, le raccordement et le réseau central.
    3. le modèle économique actualisé qui intègre les réponses à l’ensemble des questions, le cas échéant, ainsi que les fichiers nécessaires à l’exécution du modèle.
Date de modification :