Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Thomas Stoke (WebLAN Systems)

Ottawa, 25 April 2017

Our reference:  8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

WebLAN Systems
Thomas Stoke
Suite 105
200 Country Hills Landing NW
Calgary, AB T3K 5P3
thomas@weblan.ca

Subject: WebLAN Systems – Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

To whom it may concern:

On 6 March 2017, 556203 Alberta Inc. (operating as WebLAN Systems), filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service.

This is to advise you that based on the information provided by WebLAN Systems, including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that WebLAN Systems meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote2 .

However, Commission staff notes that as of the date of this letter WebLAN Systems is not registered with the Commission as a reseller of telecommunication services, nor does it have a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence, both of which are regulatory requirements associated with the provision of services such as those offered by WebLAN Systems.

Please send the required documentation to register as a reseller of telecommunication services and to obtain a BITS license. Following is a link that will provide information on registering as a reseller and how to obtain a BITS license. https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/comm/telecom/respnon.htm

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations.

The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter or by the date the company begins offering service to consumers. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Thomas Stoke (WebLAN Systems)

Ottawa, le 25 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

WebLAN Systems
Thomas Stoke
Bureau 105
200 Country Hills Landing N.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)  T3K 5P3
thomas@weblan.ca

OBJET: WebLAN Systems – obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service d’urgence 9-1-1

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 6 mars 2017, 556203 Alberta inc. (exerçant ses activités sous le nom de WebLAN Systems) a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux.

La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par WebLAN Systems, y compris le nom de son fournisseur du service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que WebLAN Systems respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la Décision de télécom 2005-21Footnote1 et la Décision de télécom 2005-61.Footnote2

Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, WebLAN Systems n’est pas inscrite comme revendeur de services de télécommunication auprès du Conseil et n’a pas de licence de Services de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB), précisant qu’il s’agit d’exigences pour la prestation de services comme ceux qu’offre WebLAN Systems.

Veuillez faire parvenir la documentation requise pour vous inscrire comme revendeur de services de télécommunication et obtenir une licence de STIB. Voici un lien où vous trouverez de l’information sur l’inscription comme revendeur et la manière d’obtenir une licence de STIB : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/comm/telecom/respnon.htm.

La compagnie doit continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et aviser les clients de toute limite du service.

Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas de nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. Il incombe également à la compagnie de respecter les exigences réglementaires actuelles en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence de STIB et son inscription.

Enfin, la compagnie doit rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/index.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :