Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 6 February 2017

Our reference:  8660-C12-201000116, 757523, 761047 and 761528

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

RE: Bell Canada - Retail Quality of Service Indicators Reports - Pursuant to Decision 2008-105, and complaints regarding the community of St. Charles, Ontario

Dear Mr. Gauvin:

On 22 December 2016, Bell Canada submitted a report titled Quality of Service (Q of S) Retail Indicators – Exception Reporting.Footnote1 In the Attachment explaining results for Indicator 2.2B – Repair Appointment Met – Rural, the company stated that the indicator fell below standard during the period of August – November 2016, due to higher than expected load volumes related to weather and current process. The company also explained that tickets that are referred and require a different skilled technician such as Cable or Central Office technician require more time to complete. In the included action plan, the company submitted that process enhancements will be delivered in Q1 2017 to identify these customers faster and use all available capacity to meet commitments to customers.

On 26 January 2017, Bell Canada submitted its Retail Q of S Report for 4rd Quarter 2016. The report shows that Indicator 2.2B fell below standard for 5 consecutive months – from August to December 2016. It also showed that for Indicator 2.1B – Out-of-Service Trouble Reports Cleared Within 48 Hours – Rural, the company fell significantly below standard for December 2016.

Separately, the Commission has received complaints from members of the community of St. Charles, Ontario regarding the quality of land line telephone service and their inability to reach 9-1-1 service.

The Commission also received inquiries from Ms. Rebecca MacNeil, Senior Assistant to Marc Serré (Member of Parliament for Nickel Belt– Greater Sudbury) regarding these complaints and requesting the Commission’s intervention for their resolution. The MP’s office noted that the community has expressed safety concerns about their land lines which they claim have been unreliable over the last several years.

In January 2017, Commission staff requested responses from Bell Canada regarding these complaints. Bell Canada’s response to one of these complaints suggests that the problems are related to telephone service, and not with the 9-1-1 network.

In recent communications with you regarding these complaints, you have indicated that Bell Canada technicians had replaced a portion of telephone cable that served the community in an attempt to improve telephone service and resolve intermittent problems. You also indicated that, through continuous monitoring, it was determined that the problems had not been resolved, and that Bell Canada technicians were still actively trying to find the root cause of the service problems to repair them.

Commission staff notes the below standard indicators in the Q of S reports, the complaints from the community of St. Charles, Ontario, and the need for more than one technician to resolve the St. Charles service problems. Commission staff would like to understand whether similar problems are occurring in other rural areas. To better understand the situation, Commission staff requests the following information, by 20 February 2016:

  1. For each month from July to December 2016, a list of the top 5 exchanges that have contributed the most to lowering the level for indicator 2.1B.
  2. For each month from July to December 2016, a list of the top 5 exchanges that have contributed the most to lowering the level for indicator 2.2B.
  3. For each of the exchanges identified in 1) and 2) provide the number of residential primary exchange service (PES) and business PES customers.
  4. For each of the exchanges identified in 1) above, for each month from July to December 2016, provide
    1. Number of telephone service complaints, for each of residential and business PES;
    2. the total of out-of-service trouble reports;
    3. the total of out-of-service trouble reports cleared within 48 hours;
  5. For each of the exchanges identified in 2) above, for each month from July to December 2016, provide
    1. Number of telephone service complaints, for each of residential and business PES;
    2. the number of repair appointments made; and
    3. the number of repair appointments met.
  6. If the St. Charles exchange is not included in the list of exchanges in 1) or 2) above, provide the same information for the St. Charles exchange as for 3), 4), and 5) above. In addition, for the St. Charles exchange provide
    1. A map of the exchange;
    2. Number of telephone service complaints for each month from January to June 2016, and for each month in 2015, broken down by residential and business PES;
  7. Provide a description of the process enhancements referenced in the 22 December 2016 exception report and an update on their implementation.
  8. With respect to the community of St. Charles, provide an update with regards to whether the intermittent service problems have been resolved, indicating what activities have been completed and what activities remain to be completed, including timeframes and how this is being communicated to the community.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c: Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, (819) 934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 6 février 2017

Notre référence : 8660-C12-201000116, 757523, 761047 and 761528

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Avocat principal
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage.
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Bell Canada – Rapports sur les indicateurs de la qualité du service de détail – Conformément à la décision 2008-105 et aux plaintes concernant la communauté de St. Charles, en Ontario

Monsieur Gauvin,

Le 22 décembre 2016, Bell Canada a soumis un rapport intitulé Indicateurs de la qualité du service (QS) de détail – Rapport d’exception.Note de bas de page1 Dans le document joint présentant les résultats pour l’indicateur 2.2B, Rendez-vous de réparation respectés – Zone rurale, l’entreprise a indiqué que les résultats pour cet indicateur ont chuté sous la norme pour la période d’août à novembre 2016 en raison des volumes de demande plus nombreux que prévu découlant du mauvais temps et du processus actuel. L’entreprise a également indiqué que les dossiers acheminés qui nécessitent un technicien qualifié d’un autre service, par exemple du câble ou du bureau central, prennent plus de temps à régler. Dans le plan d’action fourni, l’entreprise a indiqué que des améliorations seront apportées au processus lors du T1 de 2017 afin de cibler ces clients plus rapidement et d’utiliser toute la capacité disponible pour respecter les engagements envers les clients.

Le 26 janvier 2017, Bell Canada a présenté son rapport de QS de détail pour le quatrième trimestre de 2016. Le rapport indique que l’indicateur 2.2B s’est retrouvé sous la norme pendant cinq mois consécutifs, d’août à décembre 2016. Il indique également que l’indicateur 2.1B, Rapports de dérangements (pannes) réglés en moins de 48 heures – Zone rurale, a chuté bien en dessous des normes lors du mois de décembre 2016.

Parallèlement, le Conseil a reçu des plaintes de membres de la communauté de St. Charles, en Ontario, concernant la qualité du service de téléphonie filaire et leur incapacité à communiquer avec le service 9-1-1.

Le Conseil a également reçu des demandes de la part de Mme Rebecca Macneil, adjointe en chef de Marc Serré, député de Nickel Belt-Grand Sudbury, concernant ces plaintes et demande l’intervention de la Commission pour leur résolution. Le bureau du député a souligné que la communauté a exprimé des inquiétudes de sécurité au sujet de ses lignes téléphoniques filaires, qui sont peu fiables depuis plusieurs années selon elle.

En janvier 2017, le personnel de la Commission a demandé des réponses à Bell Canada au sujet de ces plaintes. La réponse de Bell Canada au sujet d’une de ces plaintes laisse croire que les problèmes découlent du service téléphonique et non du réseau 9-1-1.

Lors de récentes communications avec vous au sujet de ces plaintes, vous avez indiqué que des techniciens de Bell Canada ont remplacé une section du câble téléphonique qui dessert la communauté pour tenter d’améliorer le service téléphonique et de résoudre les problèmes intermittents. Vous avez également indiqué qu’il avait été déterminé au moyen d’un suivi continu que le problème n’avait pas été résolu et que des techniciens de Bell Canada recherchaient activement la cause fondamentale des problèmes de services pour résoudre ces derniers.

Le personnel de la Commission a remarqué les indicateurs inférieurs aux normes dans les rapports de QS, les plaintes déposées par la communauté de St. Charles, en Ontario, et la nécessité que plus d’un technicien soit affecté à résoudre les problèmes de service à St. Charles. Le personnel de la Commission désire savoir si des problèmes semblables sont présents dans d’autres zones rurales. Pour mieux comprendre la situation, le personnel de la Commission demande à recevoir les renseignements suivants d’ici le 20 février 2016 :

  1. Une liste des cinq centraux ayant le plus fortement contribué à la baisse de l’indicateur 2.1B pour chaque mois de juillet à décembre 2016.
  2. Une liste des cinq centraux ayant le plus fortement contribué la baisse de l’indicateur 2.2B pour chaque mois de juillet à décembre 2016.
  3. Fournir le nombre de clients du service local de base résidentiel et du service local de base commercial pour chacun des centraux indiqués aux listes 1) et 2).
  4. Pour chacun des centraux indiqués au point 1) et pour chaque mois de juillet à décembre 2016, veuillez fournir
    1. le nombre de plaintes au sujet du service téléphonique pour chaque service local de base résidentiel et commercial;
    2. le nombre total de rapports de dérangement (pannes);
    3. le nombre total de rapports de dérangement (pannes) réglés en moins de 48 heures
  5. Pour chacun des centraux indiqués au point 2) et pour chaque mois de juillet à décembre 2016, veuillez fournir
    1. le nombre de plaintes au sujet du service téléphonique pour chaque service local de base résidentiel et commercial;
    2. le nombre de rendez-vous de réparation pris;
    3. le nombre de rendez-vous de réparation respectés.
  6. Si le central de St. Charles n’est pas compris dans la liste de centraux aux points 1) et 2) précédents, veuillez fournir les mêmes renseignements qu’aux points 3), 4) et 5) précédents pour le central de St. Charles. Veuillez également fournir ce qui suit relativement au central de St. Charles
    1. un plan du central;
    2. le nombre de plaintes concernant le service téléphonique pour chaque mois de janvier à juin 2016 et chaque mois de l’année 2015, réparti entre le service local de base résidentiel et le service local de base commercial
  7. Veuillez fournir une description des améliorations de processus mentionnées dans le rapport d’exception du 22 décembre 2016 et un suivi de leur mise en œuvre.
  8. En ce qui concerne la communauté de St. Charles, veuillez fournir une mise à jour concernant la résolution des problèmes de service intermittents précisant les mesures appliquées et celles qui restent à mettre en œuvre ainsi que les échéanciers et la manière dont ces renseignements sont communiqués à la communauté.

Veuillez agréer Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par :

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, (819) 934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :