Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 3 February 2017

Our references:  8661-C12-201509663

8740-B2-201700055
8740-C6-201700097
8740-R28-201700071
8740-V3-201700063

BY EMAIL

To Distribution List

Re: Follow-up to Telecom Decision 2016-379 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over fibre-to-the premises access facilities (CRTC files 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071 and 8740-V3-201700063) – CNOC request for an extension to file interventions

The Commission is in receipt of a letter filed on 25 January 2017 by the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) requesting an extension to the thirty-day deadline to file interventions on the tariff notices and regulatory economic cost studies for disaggregated wholesale high-speed access services filed by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), and Quebecor Media Inc. on behalf of Videotron GP (Videotron). Concurrently, CNOC filed a letter requesting disclosure of certain information and the provision of additional information from Bell Canada, Cogeco, RCCI and Videotron.

In its extension letter, CNOC requested that the Commission extend the intervention deadline to no sooner than thirty days after the disclosure and provision of additional information resulting from CNOC’s request. Alternatively, CNOC requested that the intervention deadline be extended thirty days from the date of its procedural request, January 25, 2017.

CNOC submitted that the disclosure of the requested information and provision of additional information is necessary to allow interested parties to scrutinize the cost studies and submit meaningful interventions. CNOC submitted that the extension of the intervention date would be procedurally efficient as each interested party would be able to provide a single comprehensive intervention. Further, the extension would provide parties the necessary time to fully address the complex, voluminous cost studies.

In a letter dated 27 January 2017, TELUS Communications Company supported CNOC’s request for an extension of the intervention deadline to thirty days from 25 January 2017.

Commission staff is of the view that an extension of the date for filing interventions is appropriate. At the same time, in accordance with the CRTC Rules of Procedures, parties affected by CNOC’s request for the disclosure of certain information and provision of additional information may file a reply with the Commission within 10 days after the day on which the request was filed, and must serve the reply on the requesting party. Accordingly, any responses to CNOC’s requests are to be filed on or before 6 February 2017.

A procedural letter setting out process for the filing of comments and replies will be issued after responses to rulings on CNOC’s requests for disclosure of certain information and provision of additional information have been filed.

Please contact Tom Vilmansen  (tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 997-9253 or me (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819)-953-5414 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunication Sector

DISTRIBUTION LIST

james.e.dingwell@yahoo.com ; nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ;  cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@allstream.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; panter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jfleger@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.caregulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conmseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 3 février 2017

Nos références :  8661-C12-201509663

8740-B2-201700055
8740-C6-201700097
8740-R28-201700071
8740-V3-201700063

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Suivi de la décision de télécom 2016-379 – Mise en place d’un service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d’installations d’accès de fibre optique (dossiers CRTC 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071 et 8740-V3-201700063) – demande de report de la date limite du CORC pour présenter des interventions

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc. (CORC) présentée le 25 janvier 2017 qui demande une prorogation du délai de trente jours pour présenter des interventions sur les avis de modification tarifaire et les études de coûts économiques réglementaires concernant le service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé déposées par Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et Québecor Média Inc. au nom de Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron). En parallèle, le CORC a déposé une lettre réclamant la divulgation de certains renseignements et la transmission de renseignements supplémentaires de la part de Bell Canada, Cogeco, RCCI et Vidéotron.

Dans sa lettre de prorogation, le CORC demande au Conseil de reporter la date limite pour déposer des interventions à au moins trente jours suivant la divulgation et la transmission des renseignements supplémentaires qu’il lui demande. Sinon, le CORC demande que la date limite pour déposer des interventions soit reportée à trente jours suivant la date de sa requête procédurale, soit le 25 janvier 2017.

Le CORC affirme que la divulgation des renseignements demandés et la transmission de renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour permettre aux parties intéressées d’examiner minutieusement les études de coûts et de déposer des interventions pertinentes. Le CORC soutient que le report de la date limite pour déposer des interventions serait efficace sur le plan procédural puisque chaque partie intéressée serait ainsi en mesure de fournir une seule intervention complète. De plus, le report de la date limite donnerait aux parties le temps nécessaire pour examiner entièrement les études de coûts complexes et volumineuses.

Dans une lettre datée du 27 janvier 2017, la Société TELUS Communications a appuyé la demande du CORC que la date limite pour déposer des interventions soit reportée à trente jours suivant le 25 janvier 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu’une prorogation du délai pour présenter des interventions est appropriée. Par contre, conformément aux Règles de procédure du CRTC, les parties touchées par la demande du CORC concernant la divulgation de certains renseignements et la transmission de renseignements supplémentaires peuvent déposer une réplique auprès du Conseil dans les dix jours suivant la date à laquelle la demande a été présentée et elles doivent signifier la réplique à la partie requérante. Par conséquent, toutes les réponses aux demandes du CORC doivent être soumises au plus tard le 6 février 2017.

Une lettre de procédure expliquant le processus pour déposer des observations et des répliques sera envoyée après la présentation des réponses au sujet des décisions relatives aux demandes du CORC concernant la divulgation de certains renseignements et la transmission de renseignements supplémentaires.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la présente lettre, veuillez communiquer avec Tom Vilmansen (tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca), au 819-997-9253, ou avec moi (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca), au 819-953-5414.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ;  cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.caregulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :