Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Jean-Paul Rubens (Telecommunications Simplicom inc.)

Ottawa, 20 January 2017

Our reference:  8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Mr. Jean-Paul Rubens
President
Telecommunications Simplicom inc.
1430 Blvd St-Martin Quest
Laval, Québec H7S 1M9
info@simplicom.ca

RE: Telecommunications Simplicom Inc.– Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Mr. Rubens:

On 5 December 2016, Telecommunications Simplicom Inc. (Simplicom), filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service.

This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Simplicom, including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Simplicom meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote 1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote 2.

However, while Commission staff notes that as of the date of this letter Simplicom is registered with the Commission, it does not have a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence, which is a regulatory requirement associated with the provision of services such as those offered by Simplicom. Please send the required documentation to register for a BITS license by February 2, 2017. Following is a link that will provide information on how to obtain a BITS license.   http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/comm/telecom/international.htm

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

[1] Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers, Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-21,
4 April 2005 (Telecom Decision 2005-21).

[2] Follow-up to Emergency services obligations for local VoIP service providers, Decision 2005-21 - Customer notification requirements, Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-61, 20 October 2005 (Telecom Decision 2005-61).

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Jean-Paul Rubens (Telecommunications Simplicom inc.)

Ottawa, le 20 janvier 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Jean-Paul Rubens
Président
Telecommunications Simplicom inc.
1430, boul. St-Martin Ouest
Laval (Québec) H7S 1M9
info@simplicom.ca

Objet : Telecommunications Simplicom Inc. – Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service 9-1-1

Monsieur,

Le 5 décembre 2016, Telecommunications Simplicom Inc. (Simplicom), a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux.

La présente vise à vous informer que, d’après les renseignements fournis par Simplicom, y compris le nom du fournisseur du service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est convaincu que Simplicom remplit ses obligations relativement à la fourniture du service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP. Le personnel du Conseil estime aussi que les libellés d’avis aux consommateurs proposés, soumis par l’entreprise à un examen du Conseil respectent les directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page 1 et dans la décision de télécom 2005-61Note de bas de page 2.

Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, Simplicom est inscrite auprès du Conseil, mais qu’elle n’a pas de licence de Services de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB), précisant que détenir une telle licence est une exigence pour la prestation de services comme ceux qu’offre Simplicom. Veuillez faire parvenir, d’ici le 2 février 2017, la documentation pour vous inscrire en vue d’obtenir une licence de STIB. Voici un lien où vous trouverez de l’information sur la manière d’obtenir une licence de STIB.   https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/comm/telecom/international.htm

La compagnie est responsable de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 à ses clients et d’aviser les clients par écrit de toute limite à ce service. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre. La compagnie est également responsable de respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires actuelles en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence STIB et son inscription.

Enfin, la compagnie doit se tenir au courant des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/index.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :