Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 5 January 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Chair, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino
President, Canadian Association of the Deaf/
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Dear Ms. Anderson-Kellett and Mr. Folino,

The present responds to the disagreement expressed in your 22 December 2016 email with the accommodation measures to be provided in the context of your participation in the forthcoming hearing associated with Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116.

In a letter dated 14 December 2016 we responded to an earlier correspondence dealing with this matter, in which you requested clarification as to why the Commission was not proposing to provide ASL and LSQ interpretive services, as well as English CART services throughout the duration of the hearing or ASL interpretive services for a three hour period on the day prior to your organizations’ scheduled appearance.  In that letter, we informed you that ASL interpretation and English CART services would be made available throughout the morning of 19 January 2017 thereby ensuring that interpretative services would be available for the duration of your presentation to the Commission as well as for all presentations preceding yours on that day.  We clarified that the primary purpose of the hearing was to allow all parties scheduled to appear to highlight those aspects of their written submissions which are felt most important and not to respond to statements made by other parties in their respective presentations.  As indicated in that correspondence, the procedures associated with the proceeding currently provide all parties with the opportunity to file written reply comments with the Commission.  The deadline to file such written reply comments has been set for 31 January 2017, 11 days following the close of the hearing.

We remain of the view that the interpretive services provided in conjunction with timely access to official transcripts made available to you in accessible format will ensure that you can equitably and effectively participate in all phases of the proceeding.

We would further reiterate that, as with all public interest organizations participating in proceedings initiated under the Telecommunications Act, applications can be made to recover reasonable costs that were necessarily incurred in the course of participation in such proceedings.  The criteria for an award of costs are set out in the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedures.Footnote 1

In your correspondence you refer to the Federal Court of Canada’s 2007 decision in Canadian Association of the Deaf v. Canada.  We have reviewed this decision, as well as other pertinent judicial decisions, and are of the view that the proposed measures are entirely consistent with the obligations which befall the Commission.  Interpretive services will be available to ensure that you can communicate directly with the Commission.  The provision of official transcripts and an opportunity to file written final reply comments 11 days following the conclusion of the hearing ensures that you can meaningfully participate and effectively communicate during each phase of the proceeding as required under law.

Should your organizations consider that more time is required in order to prepare your final written submissions, a request for an extension can be made. Such a request is to be filed with the Commission using the procedures set out in the Notice of Consultation initiating this proceeding and is to contain sufficient justification to allow the Commission to make an informed decision on the matter.

Sincerely,

Eric Bowles
Legal Counsel, Legal Sector
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Ottawa, ON, K1A 0N2
Tel.: 819-953-5204
eric.bowles@crtc.gc.ca

c.c.: Gary Malkowski, gmalkowski@chs.ca; James Roots, jroots@cad.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à diverse Parties

Ottawa, le 5 janvier 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Présidente
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino
Président
Canadian Association of the Deaf/
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Madame Anderson-Kellett,

Monsieur Folino,

La présente vise à répondre au désaccord exprimé dans votre courriel daté du 22 décembre 2016 quant aux mesures d'adaptation à fournir dans le contexte de votre participation à l'audience associée à Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116.

Dans une lettre à votre intention datée du 14 décembre 2016, nous avons répondu à une correspondance antérieure portant sur cette question. Dans cette correspondance, vous demandez pourquoi le Conseil ne propose pas d'offrir des services d'interprétation en ASL et en LSQ ainsi que des services de sous-titrage en temps réel en anglais durant toute l'audience et pourquoi il n’accepte pas de vous fournir des services d'interprétation en ASL pour une période de trois heures le jour précédant la comparution de vos organisations. Dans notre réponse, nous vous informons que les services d'interprétation en ASL et de sous-titrage en anglais en temps réel seraient offerts durant toute la matinée du 19 janvier 2017, et, ainsi, durant la totalité de votre présentation au Conseil et de celles qui la précéderont durant la journée. Nous expliquons que l'audience vise principalement à permettre à toutes les parties devant comparaître de souligner les éléments de leurs observations écrites qui sont les plus importants à leurs yeux et non pas à répondre aux déclarations faites par d'autres parties durant leurs comparution. Comme nous l'avons indiqué dans la lettre du 14 décembre, les procédures associées à l'instance offrent à toutes les parties l'occasion de déposer des réponses écrites auprès du Conseil. L'échéance pour le dépôt de ces réponses a été fixée au 31 janvier 2017, c'est à dire 11 jours après la clôture de l'audience.

Nous sommes toujours d'avis que les services d'interprétation offerts et l'accès opportun aux transcriptions officielles dans un format accessible garantiront que vous puissiez participer de manière équitable et efficace à toutes les étapes de l'instance.

Nous tenons également à réitérer que, comme toutes les organisations d'intérêt public qui participent à l'instance amorcée au titre de la Loi sur les télécommunications, vous pouvez présenter une demande de remboursement de frais que vous engagez relativement à votre participation pourvu que ces frais sont raisonnable et qu’ils ont été nécessairement encourus. Les critères applicables au remboursement des coûts sont établis dans le document Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC.Note de bas de page 1

Dans votre correspondance, vous mentionnez la décision Association des sourds du Canada c. Canada rendue par la Cour fédérale du Canada en 2007. Nous avons examiné cette décision, ainsi que d'autres décisions judiciaires pertinentes, et nous sommes d'avis que les mesures proposées sont entièrement conformes aux obligations qui incombent au Conseil. Des services d'interprétation seront offerts pour garantir que vous puissiez communiquer directement avec le Conseil et, en vous fournissant des transcriptions officielles et une occasion de déposer des réponses définitives dans les 11 jours suivant la conclusion de l'audience, le Conseil garantit que vous puissiez participer concrètement et communiquer efficacement durant chaque étape de l'instance, tel que l'exige la loi.

Si votre organisation juge qu'elle manquera de temps pour préparer ses observations écrites définitives, elle peut présenter une demande de prolongation. Une telle demande doit être présentée au Conseil conformément aux procédures établies dans l'Avis de consultation ayant servi à amorcer l'instance et doit contenir suffisamment de détails pour permettre au Conseil de prendre une décision éclairée.

Veuillez agréer, Madame Anderson-Kellet, Monsieur Folino, mes salutations distinguées,

Eric Bowles
Avocat, Services juridiques
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0N2
Tél. : 819-953-5204
eric.bowles@crtc.gc.ca

c. c. Gary Malkowski, gmalkowski@chs.ca; James Roots, jroots@cad.ca

Date de modification :