Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Jean-Philippe Béïque and Kevin Goldstein (Ebox Inc. and Bell Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 1 November 2017

Our reference: 2017-0909-9

BY EMAIL

Mr. Jean-Philippe Béïque
Chief Executive Officer
Ebox Inc.
jp@ebox.ca

Mr. Kevin Goldstein
Vice President, Regulatory affairs
Bell Media Inc.
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Undue preference complaint by Ebox Inc. against Bell Media Inc. (2017-0909-9)

Dear Sirs:

An undue preference complaint has been filed by Ebox Inc. (Ebox), a new entrant in the broadcasting distribution market, against Bell Media Inc. (Bell). A number of procedural questions have been raised following the filing of documents in this matter.

In this letter, the Commission renders determinations on these questions and establishes the procedure to be followed in this case.

The application

On 22 September 2017, Ebox filed an application alleging undue preference against Bell, pursuant to section 11 of the Discretionary Services Regulations (the Regulations)This application was filed under part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure(the Rules). 

The application is being processed on an expedited basis, in light of Ebox’s arguments for urgency in this matter.

Documents filed

On 10 October 2017, pursuant to the established timelines, Bell filed its answer to the application. Among other things, Bell indicated that it has been, and remains, prepared to offer its services to Ebox on reasonable terms and conditions, and that it will insist that carriage negotiations are undertaken on that basis.

Concurrently, interventions were filed by:

On 11 October 2017, Bell asked the Commission for a right of reply to certain interventions. Bell is seeking the opportunity to respond directly to what Bell perceives to be incorrect statements and policy interpretations outlined in these interventions.

On 12 October 2017, Ebox asked the Commission to strike from the record, before any documents are placed on the public file, certain information that Ebox considers to be confidential contained in Bell and Corus’ submissions. Ebox argues that disclosure of this information would contravene the confidentiality agreements duly executed by Bell and Ebox and would have adverse consequences on Ebox and on the integrity of the Commission’s dispute resolution processes.

Ebox also asked the Commission to refuse Bell’s request for a right of reply and to extend the applicable timelines in this case, in order to allow six days for the applicant to file its reply in this proceeding.

On 12 October 2017, TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS) filed in an intervention, outside the expedited timelines set out in this case. On this same date, Bell filed a letter indicating that it objects to TELUS’ late filing being added to the file of this proceeding, on the basis that the onus is on interveners, in a part 1 proceeding, to review the Commission's website regularly to keep track of filing deadlines. 

On 13 October 2017, Bell filed a reply to Ebox’s submission regarding confidentiality. Bell argued that it did not disclose any specific information as to the various discussions and negotiations with Ebox, in terms of rates or offers exchanged. Bell argued that Ebox takes this position in order to limit the Commission's evaluation of relevant facts that would refute the undue preference allegation filed by Ebox. In this letter, Bell reiterated that it has been, and remains, prepared to offer its services to Ebox on reasonable terms and conditions.

On 17 October 2017, Corus filed a letter asking the Commission to reject Ebox’s procedural request and asking that Corus’ intervention be allowed on the public record of the proceeding, for the same reasons set out by Bell.

Decisions

Mandatory mediation

Upon review of the record thus far, the Commission notes that Bell indicates that it is prepared to offer its programming services to Ebox, as long as the terms and conditions for the distribution of its services are reasonable. On that basis, the Commission considers that the main question in this case is whether Bell is offering Ebox reasonable rates for the distribution of its programming services.

In this regard, the Commission has consistently encouraged parties to negotiate when it comes to matters related to wholesale rates.  Accordingly, the Commission requires that parties resume mediation, pursuant to section 14(2) of the Regulations and pursuant to condition no.16 of the Revised exemption order for terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings serving fewer than 20,000 subscribers, BRP 2015-543

In doing so, the Commission appoints Bernard Montigny, Senior Director, Dispute Resolution, as mediator in this file. Mediation will take place concurrently with the current undue preference proceeding.

The Commission notes that section 6 of the Wholesale Code (BRP 2015-438) sets out that a reasonable rate is one which is based on the fair market value of the service, and takes into consideration the following factors, where applicable:

  1. historical rates;
  2. penetration levels, volume discounts, and the packaging of the service;
  3. rates paid by unaffiliated BDUs for the programming service;
  4. rates paid for programming services of similar value to consumers, taking into consideration viewership;
  5. the number of subscribers that subscribe to a package in part or in whole due to the inclusion of the programming service in that package, taking into consideration viewership;
  6. the retail rate charged for the service on a stand-alone basis; and
  7. the retail rate for any packages in which the service is included.

Noting that Ebox’s distribution undertaking is not yet launched, the Commission considers, a priori, that factor c (rates paid by unaffiliated BDUs for the programming service) is highly probative in this case.

Right of reply to Bell

The Commission notes that, in the context of an allegation of undue preference, the onus is on the respondent to demonstrate that a preference or disadvantage is not undue. Since the burden of proof is reversed, the Commission considers that it is reasonable to afford Bell a right of reply to interveners, in order to have the opportunity to respond to arguments raised in their interventions. Ebox, as the applicant in this case, retains the right to file a final reply.

Confidentiality

Confidentiality is critical to the mediation process established by the Commission. It is safeguarded by a confidentiality agreement signed by the parties. Notably, information shared during mediation must remain confidential vis-a-vis the tribunal, which may be called upon to render determinations on the same issues within the context of a formal process. Accordingly, no information related to staff-assisted mediation, or to offers exchanged in the context of such mediation, can be disclosed by any party, whether filed on the public record or in confidence.

Based on the above, the Commission orders that the information identified by Ebox be struck from Bell’s answer and Corus’ intervention, as well as in the translation of Bell’s answer and Bell’s letter dated 13 October 2017, both of which contain some of the same statements.

Bell may, in the context of its reply, elaborate on its statement that it is prepared to offer its services to Ebox on reasonable terms and conditions, as long as such arguments are limited to terms and conditions that it is prepared to offer to Ebox, on a going forward basis, for the distribution of its services.

TELUS’ intervention

The Commission considers that a two-day delay is not unreasonable and that it is therefore appropriate to accept TELUS’ intervention in this case, noting that Ebox and Bell will have the opportunity to respond to it. 

Procedure to be followed

Parties must make themselves available for two consecutive days of mediation.  In this regard, Mr. Bernard Montigny’s staff will contact the parties to confirm dates.

By 3 November 2017, omitting all confidential information identified by Ebox:

By 8 November 2017, Bell may file a reply.

By 14 November 2017, Ebox may file a final reply.

Any documents filed with the Commission should be filed via the secure service “My CRTC Account (GCKey or Partner Log In)” using the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” on the web page and quoting the application number noted above.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date. In addition to filing with the Commission via My CRTC Account, all copies of submissions are to be sent to julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours Sincerely,

Scott Hutton
Acting Secretary General

c.c.: Sylvie Courtemanche, Corus Entertainment Inc.
Ann Mainville-Neeson, TELUS Communications Inc.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Jean-Philippe Béïque et Kevin Goldstein (Ebox Inc. et Bell Media Inc.)

Ottawa, le 1 novembre 2017

Notre référence : 2017-0909-9

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Jean-Philippe Béïque
Président-Directeur général
Ebox inc.
jp@ebox.ca

Monsieur Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président, affaires réglementaires
Bell Média inc.
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Plainte de préférence indue par Ebox inc. contre Bell Média inc. (2017-0909-9)

Messieurs :

Une plainte de préférence indue a été déposée de la part d’Ebox inc. (Ebox), une nouvelle venue dans le marché de la distribution de radiodiffusion, contre Bell Média inc. (Bell). Des questions procédurales ont été soulevées suite au dépôt de documents dans ce dossier.

Par la présente, le Conseil se prononce sur ces dernières et établit la procédure à suivre en l’espèce.

La demande

Le 22 septembre 2017, Ebox a déposé une demande alléguant une préférence indue contre Bell, conformément à l’article 11 du Règlement sur les services facultatifs (le Règlement).  Cette demande fut déposée en vertu de la partie 1 des Règles de pratiques et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles).

La demande présente est traitée par voie accélérée, à la lumière des arguments d’Ebox d’urgence dans ce dossier.

Documents déposés

Le 10 octobre 2017, conformément aux échéanciers mis en place, la réponse de Bell a été déposée. Parmi d’autres propos, Bell a indiqué qu’elle a été, et demeure, prête à offrir ses services à Ebox selon des modalités et conditions raisonnables, et qu’elle insistera sur le fait que les négociations de distribution soient entreprises sur cette base.

De façon concomitante, les interventions suivantes ont été déposées au dossier :

Le 11 octobre 2017, Bell a demandé au Conseil un droit de réplique à certaines interventions. Bell demande l’opportunité de répliquer à ce que Bell perçoit être des énoncés inexactes et à corriger l’interprétation faite par certains intervenants sur des questions d’ordre politique.

Le 12 octobre 2017, Ebox a demandé au Conseil d’exiger le retrait, avant tout versement au dossier public, de certaines informations qu’Ebox qualifie de confidentielles contenues dans les soumissions de Bell et de Corus. Ebox soutient que la divulgation de ces informations contrevient aux ententes de confidentialité dûment signées entre Bell et Ebox et aurait des conséquences préjudiciables autant pour Ebox que pour l’intégrité des processus de règlement de différend du CRTC.

Ebox demande aussi au Conseil de refuser la demande de droit de réplique faite par Bell et de reporter l’échéancier du processus, de sorte à accorder à la demanderesse six jours pour déposer sa réplique dans ce processus.

Le 12 octobre 2017, TELUS Communications inc. (TELUS) a déposé une intervention à l’extérieur des échéanciers prévus par le processus accéléré. Cette même date, Bell a déposé une lettre indiquant qu’elle s’oppose à l’intervention tardive déposée par TELUS, estimant que la responsabilité revient aux intervenants, dans un processus en vertu de la partie 1, de vérifier le site web du Conseil régulièrement afin de prendre connaissance des échéanciers prévus.

Le 13 octobre 2017, Bell a répliqué à la requête de confidentialité formulée par Ebox. Bell avance qu’elle n’a divulgué aucune information spécifique quant aux discussions et négociations avec Ebox, ni quant aux tarifs ou offres échangées. Bell soutient qu’Ebox prend cette position afin de limiter l’examen, par le Conseil, de faits pertinents qui réfutent l’allégation de préférence indue formulée par Ebox. Dans cette lettre, Bell réitère qu’elle a été, et demeure, prête à offrir ses services à Ebox selon des modalités et conditions raisonnables.

Le 17 octobre 2017, Corus a déposé une lettre, dans laquelle elle demande au Conseil de rejeter la demande procédurale d’Ebox et de permettre l’intervention de Corus au dossier public de l’instance, pour les même motifs qu’énoncés par Bell.

Décisions

Médiation obligatoire

Après examen du dossier jusqu’à présent, le Conseil note que Bell se dit prêt à offrir ses services de programmation à Ebox, en autant que les modalités et conditions pour la distribution de ses services par Ebox soient raisonnables.  Le Conseil estime que la question principale en l’espèce revient ainsi à savoir si Bell offre à Ebox des tarifs raisonnables pour la distribution de ses services de programmation.

En ce sens, le Conseil encourage habituellement la négociation quand il s’agit de questions de tarifs de gros.  Ainsi, le Conseil renvoie les parties en médiation, en vertu de l’article 14(2) du Règlement et en vertu de la condition no.16 de l’Ordonnance d’exemption relative aux entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion terrestres desservant moins de 20 000 abonnés, PRR CRTC 2015-543.

Ce faisant, le Conseil nomme Bernard Montigny, Directeur principal du Règlement des différends, à titre de médiateur dans ce dossier. La médiation aura lieu de façon concomitante avec l’instance déjà en cours concernant l’allégation de préférence indue. 

Le Conseil note que l’article 6 du Code sur la vente en gros (PRR 2015-438) précise qu’un tarif raisonnable est celui qui est fondé sur la juste valeur marchande d’un service, et tient compte des facteurs suivants, s'il y a lieu :

  1. l'évolution des tarifs dans le temps;
  2. le taux de pénétration, les remises sur la quantité et l'assemblage du service;
  3. les tarifs payés par les EDR non liées pour le service de programmation;
  4. les tarifs payés pour des services de programmation de valeur semblable aux yeux des consommateurs, en tenant compte des cotes d'écoute;
  5. le nombre d'abonnés qui s'abonnent à un forfait totalement ou partiellement en raison de la présence du service de programmation dans ce forfait, en tenant compte des cotes d'écoute;
  6. le tarif de détail exigé pour le service pris individuellement;
  7. le tarif de détail de tout forfait dans lequel le service est inclus.

Notant qu’Ebox n’est pas encore en opération, le Conseil est d’avis, à priori, que le facteur c (les tarifs payés par les EDR non liées pour les services de programmation) est d’une valeur très probante en l’espèce.

Droit de réplique à Bell

Le Conseil note que, dans le cas d’une allégation de préférence indue, il incombe à l’intimé de démontrer que la préférence ou le désavantage n’est pas indu.  Puisque le fardeau de la preuve est renversé, le Conseil estime qu’il est raisonnable d’accorder à Bell un droit de réplique aux intervenants afin de pouvoir répondre à certaines prétentions mises de l’avant dans leurs interventions.  Ebox, en tant que demanderesse, conserve son droit de déposer une réplique finale.

Confidentialité

La confidentialité est essentielle au processus de médiation mis en place par le Conseil. Elle est assurée par une entente de confidentialité signée par les parties. Les informations partagées lors d’une médiation doivent d’ailleurs demeurer confidentielles vis-à-vis le tribunal qui devra potentiellement se prononcer sur ces mêmes enjeux dans le cadre d’un processus formel. Par conséquent, aucun propos relatif à la médiation assistée par le personnel, ou aux offres déposées dans le contexte d’une telle médiation, ne doit être divulgué par aucune partie, ni au dossier public, ni sous pli de confidentialité.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil ordonne la rature des informations identifiées par Ebox dans la réponse de Bell et de l’intervention de Corus, ainsi que dans la traduction de la réponse de Bell et sa lettre du 13 octobre 2017, lesquels documents reprennent certains de ces mêmes propos.

Bell peut, dans le cadre de sa réplique, élaborer sur sa prétention qu’elle est prête à offrir ses services à Ebox selon des modalités et conditions raisonnables pourvu que ces arguments se limitent aux modalités ou conditions que Bell est prêt à offrir, à Ebox, en allant de l’avant, pour la distribution de ses services.

Intervention de TELUS

Le Conseil estime qu’un délai de deux jours n’est pas déraisonnable et qu’il convient donc accepter l’intervention de TELUS en l’espèce, en notant qu’Ebox et Bell auront l’opportunité d’y répondre.

Procédure à suivre

Les parties doivent se rendre disponibles pour deux jours consécutifs de médiation. À cette fin, le personnel de Me Bernard Montigny contactera les parties afin de confirmer les dates.

D’ici le 3 novembre 2017, omettant toute information confidentielle identifiée par Ebox :

D’ici le 8 novembre 2017, Bell peut déposer une réplique.

D’ici le 14 novembre 2017, Ebox peut déposer une réplique finale.

Tout dépôt de documents auprès du Conseil doit être fait en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaire de connexion ou CléGC) et en remplissant le document « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » situé sur la même page Web; il faut en outre indiquer le numéro de la demande qui figure en objet.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu et non pas seulement envoyé, au plus tard à cette date. En plus de déposer tous les documents en question auprès du Conseil en utilisant « Mon compte CRTC », il faut en envoyer une copie à l’adresse julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Une copie de cette lettre et toute la correspondance connexe seront versées au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

 

Scott Hutton
Secrétaire général par intérim

c.c. : Sylvie Courtemanche, Corus Entertainment inc.
Ann Mainville-Neeson, TELUS Communications inc.

Date de modification :