Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Susan Wheeler (Rogers Broadcasting Limited)

Ottawa, 17 October 2017

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Broadcasting Limited
333 Bloor Street East, 6th floor
Toronto, ON
M4W 1G9

BY EMAIL: susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Re: Application 2017-0975-0, a Part I application by Unifor for an expedited public hearing into the alleged breach by Rogers Broadcasting Limited (Rogers) of conditions of its OMNI stations, and for a mandatory order requiring its compliance and Application 2017-0977-6, a Part I Application by CSALC and UARR concerning Rogers’s alleged breach of conditions of licence for OMNI Regional

Dear Ms. Wheeler:

The Commission received an application dated 2 October 2017 from Unifor requesting that the Commission make a determination as to whether Rogers’ discretionary service, OMNI Regional, is in non-compliance with its condition of licence 11, as set out in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-152 (CoL 11), specifically as it relates to the production of Chinese-language news programming. Additionally, the Commission received an application dated 10 October 2017 by the Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic (CSALC) and Urban Alliance on Race Relations (UARR) on the same matter.

Procedural Requests

As a part of both applications, Unifor and CSALC/UARR have made procedural requests asking the Commission to call Rogers to an expedited public hearing to inquire into its compliance with CoL 11. Unifor made an additional procedural request to permit parties to cross-examine Rogers at this hearing.

In order to complete the record, Rogers may file a response to these requests, limiting its response to these procedural requests. Rogers shall serve its response on Unifor and on CSALC/UARR, and file its response with the Commission by no later than October 25 2017. In the event that Unifor and CSALC/UARR wish to file a reply, they shall limit their reply to these procedural requests. Such a reply shall be served on Rogers and filed with the Commission by no later than October 27 2017.

All documents must be filed with the Commission by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey). A copy of those documents must also be sent to the following e-mail address: patrick.pilon@crtc.gc.ca.

Please note that any documents filed in relation to these procedural requests will be posted on the Commission’s website and will be added to the publicly accessible file of the applications submitted by Unifor (application number 2017-0975-0) and CSALC/UARR (application number 2017-0977-6).

Until such time as the Commission renders a decision with respect to the Unifor and UARR procedural requests, both applications will continue to be processed under Part 1 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure. As such, the 30 day intervention period and the 10 day reply period allotted for each of these applications will still apply.

Should you need further information concerning this request for information, please do not hesitate to contact Patrick Pilon by e-mail or by telephone at 819-639-3197.

Best regards,

(Original signed by)

Sheehan Carter,
A/Director General
Television Policy and Applications

CC:        Howard Law, Unifor, howard.law@unifor.org
Angelo Contarin, Unifor 723M, angeloc@unifor723m.org
Stephen Hawkins, Unifor 830M, president@unifor830m.ca
Jesse Kugler, CaleyWray, kuglerj@caleywray.com
Avvy Go, CSALC, goa@lao.on.ca
Nigel Barriffe, UARR, nigel@urbanalliance.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du procédurale adressée à Susan Wheeler (Rogers Broadcasting Limited)

Ottawa, le 17 octobre 2017

Mme Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Médias
Rogers Broadcasting Limited
333, rue Bloor Est, 6e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M4W 1G9

PAR COURRIEL : susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Demande 2017-0975-0; demande en vertu de la partie 1 par Unifor pour une audience publique accélérée concernant la violation alléguée par Rogers Broadcasting Limited (Rogers) des conditions de ses stations OMNI, et pour une ordonnance exécutoire exigeant la conformité à ces conditions et demande 2017-0977-6; demande en vertu de la partie 1 par la CSALC et l’UARR concernant la violation alléguée par Rogers des conditions de licence d’OMNI Regional

Madame Wheeler,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande datée du 2 octobre 2017 d’Unifor qui demande au Conseil de rendre une décision, à savoir si le service facultatif de Rogers, OMNI Regional, est en situation de non-conformité avec sa condition de licence 11, comme il est énoncé dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-152 (CdL 11), plus précisément en ce qui a trait à la réalisation d’émissions de nouvelles en langue chinoise. De plus, le Conseil a reçu une demande, en date du 10 octobre 2017, de la Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic (CSALC) et de l’Urban Alliance on Race Relations (UARR) sur le même sujet.

Requêtes procédurales

Dans le cadre des deux demandes, Unifor, la CSALC et l’UARR ont présenté des requêtes procédurales demandant au Conseil de convoquer Rogers à une audience publique accélérée afin de l’interroger au sujet de sa conformité à la CdL 11. Unifor a présenté une autre requête procédurale pour permettre aux parties de contre-interroger Rogers à cette audience.

Afin de compléter le dossier, Rogers peut déposer une réponse à ces requêtes en se limitant aux requêtes procédurales. Rogers doit signifier sa réponse à Unifor, à la CSALC et à l’UARR, et déposer sa réponse auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 25 octobre 2017. Si Unifor, la CSALC et l’UARR souhaitent déposer une réplique, elles doivent se limiter aux requêtes procédurales. Cette réplique sera signifiée à Rogers et déposée auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 27 octobre 2017.

Tous les documents doivent être déposés auprès du Conseil en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou Clé GC) ». Une copie de ces documents doit aussi être envoyée à l’adresse courriel suivante : patrick.pilon@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez prendre note que tous les documents déposés dans le cadre de ces requêtes procédurales seront affichés sur le site Web du Conseil, et qu’ils seront versés au dossier public des demandes présentées par Unifor (demande numéro 2017-0975-0) et par la CSALC et l’UARR (demande numéro 2017-0977-6).

Jusqu'à ce que le Conseil rende une décision concernant les requêtes procédurales d’Unifor et de l’UARR, le traitement des deux demandes se poursuivra conformément à la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure. Par conséquent, la période d’intervention de 30 jours et la période de réplique de 10 jours prévues pour chacune de ces demandes continueront de s’appliquer.

Pour obtenir des précisions au sujet de cette demande de renseignements, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Patrick Pilon, par courriel ou par téléphone au 819-639-3197.

Cordialement,

(Original signé par)

Sheehan Carter,
Directeur général par intérim
Politiques et demandes relatives à la télévision

c.c. :      Howard Law, Unifor, howard.law@unifor.org
Angelo Contarin, Unifor 723M, angeloc@unifor723m.org
Stephen Hawkins, Unifor 830M, president@unifor830m.ca
Jesse Kugler, CaleyWray, kuglerj@caleywray.com
Avvy Go, CSALC, goa@lao.on.ca
Nigel Barriffe, UARR, nigel@urbanalliance.ca

Date de modification :