Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 16 December 2016

Our references: 8740-B2-201606873, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-20161026

BY EMAIL

Re: Information Associated with the Implementation of Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396

To Distribution List:

In Telecom Decision 2016-117Footnote1, the Commission directed all wholesale high-speed access (HSA) service providers to file new tariff applications for bandedFootnote2 non-legacy aggregated wholesale HSA service speeds, reflecting the Commission’s determinations set out in that decision. The Commission also directed wholesale HSA service providers that use the capacity based billing (CBB) modelFootnote3 to file their updated monthly capacity rate per 100 megabits per second (Mbps).

The Commission received tariff applicationsFootnote4, dated 30 June 2016, from Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco); MTS Inc. (MTS); Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of Videotron G.P. (Videotron); Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI); Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel); Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw); and TELUS Communications Company (TCC).Footnote5 Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), was granted an extension and filed its application on 9 September 2016.

In Telecom Order 2016-396Footnote6 and Telecom Order 2016-448Footnote7, the Commission revised the proposed rates filed by the wholesale HSA service providers. The Commission expressed concern that certain wholesale HSA service providers did not provide sufficient costing details in their studies, did not conduct their cost studies in accordance with Phase II costing principles, as detailed in their Regulatory Economic Studies Manuals (the Manual), and/or did not justify any departures from the principles and methodologies set out in the Manual and past Commission determinations. Revised rates were approved on an interim basis.

In order for the Commission to approve the wholesale HSA service tariff applications on a final basis, it is necessary for the companies to re-file cost studies in the context of their related tariff applications. Such cost studies must:

  1. Abide by the principles and methodologies outlined in the ManualsFootnote8.
  2. Abide by previous applicable Commission determinations as they relate to the wholesale HSA services.
  3. Include all the information in the prescribed format as identified in the Commission staff letter dated March 31, 2016 titled “Re: Information Associated with the Implementation of Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117”.
  4. In addition, the filing of information in the context of the tariff applications, including in the cost studies, should be consistent with the confidentiality guidelines set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592Footnote9

A company request for deviation from a past Commission determination that would be captured in items 1 through 4 above is to reflect the cost impact of such a deviation in a separate cost study that highlights the proposed revision(s), including a detailed rationale and supporting evidence.

In the absence of supporting rationale and evidence for proposed cost study inputs, Commission staff will be guided by the Commission’s adjustments identified in Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396.

Wholesale HSA service providers are reminded to provide an electronic copy (i.e., Excel spreadsheets which include all formulas and linkages) of the cost model. This cost model should not include hard coded numbers that are not supported by either an internal/external reference, explanation or other supporting rationale. The populated model should include all the associated linked spreadsheet files that contain supporting data used to develop the costs. Additionally, a brief description of the input data variables, the vintage of the input data, modelling assumptions with supporting rationale, and any other pertinent costing details should be provided.

Along with the requirement to file revised cost studies, the attachment to this letter contains requests for information that address specific issues. Such information will allow the Commission to generate a fulsome record.

The timelines associated with the review of the tariff applications are as follows:

It is Commission staff’s intention to provide further process information either in the 7 April 2017 determination or shortly thereafter by separate letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Attach. (2):  Distribution List
Detailed Cost Information Requirements

DISTRIBUTION LIST

Doug Thurston, CRTC, doug.thurston@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Bell Canada:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@allstream.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Partnership: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca ;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;

Detailed Cost Information Requirements

Request for information to Bell Canada

  1. Refer to Bell Canada’s letter, dated 30 June 2016, titled, “Associated with Bell Canada Tariff Notice 7504 – Revisions to GAS-FTTN Service Pursuant to Decision 2016-117”. In Section C, Bell Canada submits that due to the low demand in the Atlantic serving area for residential 15 Mbps asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) access – fibre-to-the-node (FTTN) service and business 13 Mbps ADSL access – FTTN service, and with consideration to the cost, time, and resources required to develop updated costs, a revised cost study is not required in this instance. Accordingly, Bell Canada proposed no change to the existing rates. Bell Canada indicated that the Commission, in TRP 2015-326Footnote10, addressed the question of whether in some circumstances it would be reasonable to waive the requirement to file a cost study.

    Commission staff notes Bell Canada’s request to make no change to the rates for the two ADSL-FTTN services in Atlantic Canada, and has reviewed the issues raised by Bell Canada with respect to demand for the services, TRP 2015-326, and the effort associated with the preparation of regulatory material.

    As an alternative to filing an updated cost study for the two ADSL-FTTN services in Atlantic Canada:

    1. Comment on the possibility to apply the same percentage change adjustments reflected in the rates (access and usage) for its similar-speed Bell Ontario and Quebec GAS - FTTN service to the two ADSL access - FTTN services in Atlantic Canada, including all necessary supporting rationale.
    2. If the cost adjustment proposal provided in 1a) above is not acceptable to the company, propose an alternate method that would reflect the cost changes experienced since the current rates were approved with supporting rationale.

    In the absence of alternatives provided in 1a) and 1b), the company is to provide an updated cost study and propose rates for the residential 15 Mbps ADSL access – FTTN service and business 13 Mbps ADSL access – FTTN service.

Request for information to Telus Quebec

  1. Explain with supporting rationale why the company has not filed a tariff application for non-legacy aggregated HSA service speeds pursuant to the speed-matching requirement set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-632Footnote11.
  2. Explain with supporting rationale why the company has not filed a tariff application for non-legacy aggregated HSA service speeds in accordance with Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117.
  3. Refer to your website, which indicates that the following retail internet speeds are offered: Optik Internet 25, 50, 100, and 250 Mbps. Describe these services – including a description of the facilities used to provision the services to the end-users. Further, explain with supporting rationale why existing regulatory requirements do not trigger the filing of company tariff applications associated with the wholesale provisioning of these services.

Request for information to all cable companies

  1. Confirm whether your company has currently deployed, or is planning to deploy within the proposed study period, Data Over Cable Service Interface Specification (DOCSIS) 3.1. If not, explain why not with supporting rationale. If so, provide the company’s rollout plan from DOCSIS 3.0 to DOCSIS 3.1. Further, explain how the transition from DOCSIS 3.0 to DOCSIS 3.1 has been reflected in the cost study.
  2. Similar to question 15 submitted by the companiesFootnote12 on 2009-07-17 and addressed to the large cable companies in the context of the proceeding initiated by Notice of Consultation 2009-261Footnote13, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/PartVII/eng/2009/8663/c12_200907321.htm#a2c Document: 1244792.zip, provide, with respect to your most common configuration of downstream and upstream capacity, within the proposed study period:
    1. the bandwidth (in megahertz [MHz]) of channels used for voice;
    2. the bandwidth (in Mbps) for these voice channels;
    3. the bandwidth (in MHz) of channels used for Internet;
    4. the bandwidth (in Mbps) for these Internet channels;
    5. the bandwidth (in MHz) of channels used for data, other than Internet;
    6. the bandwidth (in Mbps) for these data, other than Internet, RF channels;
    7. the bandwidth (in MHz) of channels used for video; and
    8. the bandwidth (in Mbps) for these video channels.

    In responding to this request for information, the companies are to provide the relevant information separately for downstream and upstream capacity.

  3. Confirm whether the company has a Converged Cable Access Platform (CCAP) device in-service today. If not, explain why not with supporting rationale. If so, provide an updated cost study to remove all cable modem termination system, and edge quadrature amplitude modulation equipment costs and replace those costs with CCAP equipment costs.
  4. Refer to the Cisco document titled “Cable Access Technologies” found at the following website,   http://docwiki.cisco.com/wiki/Cable_Access_Technologies#Table:_Nominal_DOCSIS_Downstream_Data_Rates_in_6-MHz_Channel. The table titled “Nominal DOCSIS Downstream Data Rates in 6-MHz Channel” identifies a total data rate of 42.9 Mbps (42.88 Mbps) and an effective data rate of 38 Mbps. If the company is not using one of these Mbps values, explain why not with supporting rationale.
  5. In Order CRTC 2000-789Footnote14, the Commission found it appropriate to use a rate of $0.152 as a proxy for the incremental cost of the capacity of a cable carrier channel. Public Notice CRTC 1997-35Footnote15 had established the $0.152Footnote16 per-subscriber monthly rate for access by exempt programming undertakings to cable undertakings’ channel capacity, based on a 56-channel facility.

    In the cost studies filed on 30 June 2016 and 9 September 2016, the companies proposed to assign a cost of $0.152 per subscriber per channel per month.

    Prior to Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117, the cost of $0.152 per subscriber per channel per month was not a major cost factor as the number of channels dedicated to the high-speed access service was significantly lower than the number proposed in the current tariff applications. As the number of channels dedicated to the high-speed access service increase, concerns arise as to whether the use of this cost, established in 1997, remains appropriate for the purposes of populating the cost studies under consideration.

    Commission staff considers that the methodology proposed by the cable companies, in their tariff notices, may not lead to just and reasonable rates considering the vintage of the data used to develop the proxy cost and the increase in the number of channels dedicated to the high-speed access service since 1996.

    1. Identify, with respect to your most common configuration, the number of  downstream and upstream channels per node (identified separately) your company uses today:
      1. for voice;
      2. for Internet;
      3. for data, other than Internet; and
      4. for video
    2. If the response to a) above is higher than 56 channels in total:
      1. Explain with supporting rationale why the approach of using $0.152 as a proxy for the incremental cost of a cable carrier channel continues to be appropriate.
      2. Provide the company’s view of modifying the proxy cost of $0.152 by using the revised cost formula (shown below) to calculate the revised incremental cost per channel. 

        Revised cost per channel = $0.152 multiplied by the ratio of 56 channels over the total number of channels provided in response to a) above

      3. If the adjustment provided in ii) is not acceptable to the company, then the company may:
        1. propose an alternate proxy method, with supporting rationale;
        2. estimate the incremental cost of a cable carrier channel per high-speed access subscriber based on the principles and methodologies set out in the Manual along with a full description and justification of the manner in which the costs were estimated.
      4. Include in your cost study the company’s response to either 9 b) ii or 9 b) iii, as appropriate.
Date modified:

Télécom lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 16 décembre 2016

Nos références : 8740-B2-201606873, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-20161026

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Information associée à la mise en œuvre de la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-396

Dans la décision de télécom 2016-117Note de bas de page1, le Conseil enjoint à tous les fournisseurs de services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros de déposer de nouvelles demandes tarifaires pour certaines tranchesNote de bas de page2 de vitesses des services AHV de gros groupés non traditionnels, reflétant les conclusions rendues par le Conseil dans cette décision. Le Conseil a également enjoint aux fournisseurs du service AHV de gros qui utilisent le modèle de facturation en fonction de la capacité (FFC)Note de bas de page3 de déposer leur tarif mensuel du service offert par tranche de capacité de 100 mégabits par seconde (Mb/s).

Le Conseil a reçu des demandes tarifairesNote de bas de page4 datées du 30 juin 2016 de : Bell Canada; Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco); MTS inc. (MTS); Québecor Média inc., au nom de Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron); Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI); Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel); Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw); et la Société TELUS Communications (STC)Note de bas de page5. Bragg Communications Incorporated, exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), a obtenu une prolongation et a déposé sa demande le 9 septembre 2016.

Dans les ordonnances de télécom 2016-396Note de bas de page6 et 2016-448Note de bas de page7, le Conseil a modifié les tarifs proposés par les fournisseurs de services AHV de gros. Le Conseil a exprimé sa préoccupation à l’égard du fait que certains fournisseurs de services AHV de gros ne fournissaient pas des renseignements suffisants sur l’établissement des coûts, n’avaient pas élaboré leurs études de coûts conformément aux principes d’établissement des coûts de la Phase II (décrits dans leurs manuels d’études économiques réglementaires) ou ne justifiaient pas leurs écarts par rapport aux principes et méthodes énoncés dans leur manuel ou les décisions du Conseil. Les tarifs ont été approuvés de façon provisoire.

Pour que le Conseil approuve définitivement une demande de modification tarifaire de services AHV de gros, il est nécessaire que les entreprises déposent à nouveau une étude de coûts dans le cadre de leur demande tarifaire connexe. Cette étude de coûts doit :

  1. être conforme aux principes et méthodes énoncés dans les manuelsNote de bas de page8;
  2. être conforme aux décisions antérieures du Conseil portant sur les services AHV de gros;
  3. inclure, sous la forme prescrite, tous les renseignements énoncés dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 31 mars 2016, intitulée « Objet : Information liée à la mise en œuvre de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117 ».
  4. De plus, le dépôt des renseignements des demandes tarifaires, incluant les études de coûts, doivent être conformes aux lignes directrices en matière confidentialité énoncées dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592Note de bas de page9

Une demande d’écart par rapport à une décision antérieure du Conseil qui serait saisie aux points 1 à 4 ci-dessus doit faire état des répercussions en matière de coûts d’un tel écart dans une étude de coûts distincte qui présente la (les) révision(s) proposée(s), avec justification détaillée et preuves à l’appui.

En l’absence de justification et de preuves à l’appui des intrants proposés dans l’étude de coûts, le personnel du Conseil sera guidé par les rajustements du Conseil énoncés dans l’Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2016-396.

À titre de rappel, les fournisseurs de services AHV de gros doivent remettre séparément une copie électronique du modèle de coûts utilisé (c.-à-d. les feuilles de calcul Excel comportant toutes les formules de calcul et les liens). Ce modèle de coûts ne doit pas comporter de nombres encodés qui ne sont pas accompagnés d’un renvoi interne ou externe, d’une explication ou d’une autre justification. Le modèle rempli doit indiquer toutes les feuilles de calcul qui s’y rapportent contenant les données ayant servi au calcul des coûts. L’entreprise doit également présenter une brève description des variables relatives aux données à saisir, du millésime des données à saisir et des hypothèses de modélisation (avec justification à l’appui), ainsi que tout autre renseignement pertinent en matière d’établissement de coûts.

Outre la demande de dépôt d’une étude de coûts révisée, la présente lettre est accompagnée de demandes de renseignements précises. Ces renseignements permettront au Conseil d’établir un  dossier exhaustif.

Les échéanciers liés à l’examen des demandes tarifaires sont les suivants :

Il est de l’intention du personnel du Conseil à fournir d’autres renseignements sur le processus soit dans sa détermination du 7 avril 2017 ou après par le biais d’une lettre séparée.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts,
Secteur des télécommunications

Pièces jointes (2) :   Liste de distribution
Exigences détaillées sur les renseignements liés aux coûts

LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

Doug Thurston, CRTC, doug.thurston@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Bell Canada : bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc. : regulatory@mts.ca;
Allstream : regulatory@allstream.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications : document.control@sasktel.com;
Société TELUS Communications : regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Câble inc. : telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Québecor Média inc. (Vidéotron) : regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Partnership : barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P. : Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens, inc. : regulatory@cnoc.ca;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. : regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique : jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc. : george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan : steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry : metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze : marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek : regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink : Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law : ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limitée : regulatory@distributel.ca.

Exigences détaillées sur les renseignements liés aux coûts

Demande de renseignements à Bell Canada

  1. Se reporter à la lettre de Bell Canada, datée du 30 juin 2016, « Au sujet de l’Avis de modification tarifaire 7504 de Bell Canada – Révisions au SAP-FTTN en vertu de la décision 2016-117 ». Dans la section C, Bell Canada fait valoir qu’une étude de coûts révisée n’est pas requise dans la présente instance, en raison de la faible demande résidentielle de services d’accès par ligne numérique à paires asymétriques (LNPA) basés sur la technologie de la fibre jusqu’au nœud (FTTN) à 15 Mb/s, ainsi que de la faible demande de services d’accès LNPA-FTTN commercial à 13 Mb/s, et ce, en prenant en considération les coûts, le temps et les ressources requis pour la mise à jour des coûts. Par conséquent, Bell Canada n’a proposé aucun changement aux tarifs actuels. Bell Canada a notamment souligné le fait que le Conseil, dans la PRT 2015-326Note de bas de page10, a traité la question à savoir si une exonération de l’exigence d’étude de coûts est raisonnable dans certaines circonstances.

    Le personnel du Conseil constate la demande de Bell Canada de n’apporter aucun changement aux tarifs des deux services LNPA-FTTN dans le Canada atlantique, et a examiné les préoccupations soulevées par Bell Canada en ce qui concerne la demande relative à ces services, la PRT 2015-326, et l’effort nécessaire à la préparation des documents réglementaires.

    Comme solution de rechange à la présentation d’une étude de coûts mise à jour pour les deux services LNPA-FTTN dans le Canada atlantique :

    1. Commenter sur la possibilité d’appliquer pour le Canada atlantique les mêmes pourcentages de modification tarifaire (accès et utilisation) que pour ses deux services LNPA-FTTN à débits similaires en Ontario et au Québec.
    2. Si la proposition de rajustement des coûts fournie à la section 1a) ci-dessus n’est pas acceptable pour l’entreprise, proposer une autre méthode qui permettrait de tenir compte des changements de coûts observés, puisque les tarifs actuels ont été approuvés avec justification.

    En l’absence d’alternative à la section 1a) et  1b), l’entreprise doit fournir une étude de coûts à jour ainsi que les tarifs proposés pour les services LNPA-FTTN résidentiels à 15 Mb/s et commerciaux à 13 Mb/s.

Demande de renseignements à Telus Québec

  1. Fournir les motifs pour lesquels l’entreprise n’a pas déposé de demande tarifaire pour certaines vitesses de services AHV groupés non traditionnels, demande qu’elle devait présenter conformément aux exigences relatives à une vitesse équivalente établies dans la PRT 2010-632Note de bas de page11.
  2. Fournir les motifs pour lesquels l’entreprise n’a pas déposé de demande tarifaire pour certaines vitesses de services AHV groupés non traditionnels, comme l’exige la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117.
  3. Se reporter au site Web de l’entreprise, où les vitesses de services Internet de détail suivantes sont offertes : services Internet Optik 25, 50, 100 et 250 Mb/s. Décrire ces services, en fournissant des détails sur les installations utilisées pour assurer leur prestation aux utilisateurs finaux.

    Aussi, expliquer, avec justification à l’appui, pourquoi les exigences réglementaires actuelles n’obligent pas le dépôt des demandes tarifaires relatives à la prestation de ces services en gros.

Demande de renseignements à toutes les entreprises de câblodistribution

  1. Confirmer si votre entreprise a procédé à la mise en application, ou prévoit le faire au cours de la période d’étude proposée, de la norme d’interface de service de données sur câble (DOCSIS) 3.1. Dans la négative, expliquer pourquoi et justifier la réponse. Le cas échéant, fournir le plan de déploiement de l’entreprise pour le passage de DOCSIS 3.0 à DOCSIS 3.1. En outre, expliquer comment l’étude de coûts reflète la transition de DOCSIS 3.0 à DOCSIS 3.1.
  2. Comme pour la question 15 soumise par les compagniesNote de bas de page12 le 17 juillet 2009 aux grandes sociétés de câblodistribution dans le contexte de l’instance initiée par l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2009-261Note de bas de page13, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/partvii/fra/2009/8663/c12_200907321.htm#f2c (Document : 1244792.zip), fournir, en fonction de votre configuration principale, votre capacité de débit en amont et en aval, et ce, dans les délais de la période d’étude proposée :
    1. bande passante (en mégahertz [MHz]) des voies utilisées pour les services de téléphonie;
    2. bande passante (en Mb/s) de ces voies utilisées pour les services de téléphonie;
    3. bande passante (en MHz) des voies utilisées pour les services Internet;
    4. bande passante (en Mb/s) de ces voies utilisées pour les services Internet;
    5. bande passante (en MHz) des voies utilisées pour les données, autres que les services Internet;
    6. bande passante (en Mb/s) de ces voies RF utilisées pour les données, autres que les services Internet;
    7. bande passante (en MHz) des voies utilisées pour les services de vidéo;
    8. bande passante (en Mb/s) des voies utilisées pour ces services de vidéo.

    Les compagnies doivent fournir les renseignements pertinents pour la capacité en amont et la capacité en aval séparément.

  3. Confirmer si la compagnie dispose d’une plateforme convergente d’accès au câble (CCAP) actuellement en service. Dans la négative, expliquer pourquoi et justifier la réponse. Dans l’affirmative, fournir une étude de coûts mise à jour pour dans laquelle les coûts de tout système de terminaison par modem câble et de toute technologie de modulation d’amplitude en quadrature sont remplacés par ceux de l’équipement de CCAP.
  4. Se reporter au document de Cisco intitulé « Cable Access Technologies » à l’adresse suivante : http://docwiki.cisco.com/wiki/Cable_Access_Technologies#Table:_Nominal_DOCSIS_Downstream_Data_Rates_in_6-MHz_Channel. Le tableau intitulé « Nominal DOCSIS Downstream Data Rates in 6-MHz Channel » détermine un débit binaire total de 42,9 Mb/s (42,88 Mb/s) et un débit effectif de 38 Mb/s. Si l’entreprise ne se sert pas de ces niveaux de débit, expliquer pourquoi, avec justification à l’appui.
  5. Dans l’Ordonnance CRTC 2000-789Note de bas de page14, le Conseil estimait qu’il convenait d’utiliser un tarif de 0,152 $ comme substitut pour le coût différentiel de la capacité d’une voie d’une entreprise de câblodistribution. L’Avis public CRTC 1997-35Note de bas de page15 avait établi un tarif de 0,152 $Note de bas de page16 par abonné par mois pour l’accès, par des entreprises de programmation exemptées, à la capacité de transmission d’entreprises de télédistribution, en fonction d’une capacité de transmission de 56 voies.

Dans les études de coûts déposées le 30 juin 2016 et le 9 septembre 2016, les entreprises proposaient d’attribuer un coût de 0,152 $ par abonné par voie par mois.

Avant la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117, le coût de 0,152 $ par abonné par voie par mois ne constituait pas un facteur de coût important, puisque le nombre de voies consacrées au service d’accès haute vitesse était considérablement moindre que le nombre proposé dans les demandes tarifaires actuelles. À mesure qu’augmente le nombre de voies consacrées au service d’accès haute vitesse, des préoccupations surgissent quant à la pertinence de ce coût, établi en 1997, pour remplir l’objectif d’alimenter les études de coûts examinées.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la méthodologie proposée par les entreprises de câblodistribution dans leurs avis de modification tarifaire pourrait ne pas entraîner des tarifs justes et raisonnables compte tenu de la période de collecte des données utilisées pour établir le coût de substitution et l’augmentation du nombre de voies consacrées au service d’accès haute vitesse depuis 1996.

  1. Indiquer, en ce qui a trait à votre configuration la plus courante, le nombre de voies en amont et en aval par nœud (répertoriés séparément) utilisées par votre entreprise à l’heure actuelle :
    1. pour la voix;
    2. pour Internet;
    3. pour les données autres qu’Internet;
    4. pour les services de vidéo.
  2. Si la réponse à a) est plus de 56 voies au total :
    1. Expliquer, avec justification à l’appui, pourquoi l’approche consistant à appliquer le coût de 0,152 $ comme substitut pour le coût différentiel d’une voie d’une entreprise de câblodistribution resterait adéquate.
    2. Donner l’opinion de l’entreprise sur l’idée de modifier le coût de substitution de 0,152 $ en se servant de la formule d’établissement du coût révisée (ci-après) pour calculer le nouveau coût différentiel par voie.

      Coût révisé par voie = 0,152 $, multiplié par le ratio de 56 voies divisé par le nombre total de voies indiqué en réponse à la question a) ci-dessus.

    3. Si le rajustement proposé à ii) est inacceptable pour l’entreprise, alors elle peut :
      1. proposer une autre méthode de calcul du substitut, avec justification à l’appui;
      2. estimer le coût différentiel d’une voie d’une entreprise de câblodistribution par abonné au service d’accès haute vitesse, d’après les principes et la méthodologie établis dans le manuel, avec une description et une justification complètes de la façon dont les coûts ont été estimés.
    4. Inclure dans votre étude de coûts la réponse de l’entreprise à 9)b)ii) ou à 9)b)iii), selon le cas qui s’applique.
Date de modification :