Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Gurpal Singh Garcha

Ottawa, 7 April 2016

Gurpal Singh Garcha, President
89.3 Surrey City FM Ltd.
216 -12830 80th Ave
Surrey, BC
V3W 3A8

By e-mail: info@cityfm.ca

Re: VF2686 FM Surrey, BC (Tourist Information), Monitoring Report, Week 4-10 January 2016

Dear Mr. Garcha,

Thank you for providing the material requested in our letter of 24 December 2015 pertaining to the programming broadcast by your undertaking and the program schedule received on 14 January 2016.

We note that VF2686 started operating on 1 January 2016 and that you therefore provided the audio files for the week of 4-10 January 2016 instead of for the week of 13-19 December 2015.

However, we also note that there appears to be discrepancies between the programming schedule provided and the actual audio recordings for the week of 4-10 January 2016.

The Commission has reviewed the recordings which you provided of the programming broadcast on VF2686 during the week of 4 to 10 January 2016. Based on our review of the audio files for Monday 4 January 2016 to Wednesday 6 January 2016 and your program schedule for the week, it appears that the various programs on VF2686 contain programming that is inconsistent with paragraphs 4 and 7 of Broadcasting Order 2014-447.

  1. The programming provided by the undertaking consists of live or pre-recorded messages which provide the public with information about local traffic, weather and marine conditions, road and boating conditions, highway construction and closures, airport arrival and departure information, ferry and train schedules, current border crossing regulations and wait times, conditions on bridges and in mountain passes, advisories of approaching large vehicles (example: logging, construction, road maintenance and other large vehicles) and any other locally relevant information relating to attractions and events of interest to tourists.
  1. The undertaking does not broadcast programming that is religious or political in nature.

In particular, we note that the following programming appears to be in non-compliance with these provisions:

A detailed review of our analysis of the programming broadcast on Monday 4 to 7 January 2016 is attached at Appendix 1. Please note that all programming that appears to be non-compliant with paragraphs 4 and 7 is in red.

Please provide any comments on the Commission’s analysis of the recordings no later than 15 April 2016

We ask that you repeat the above information (as well as information in Appendix 1) and requests in your reply.

The Commission requires that documents be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page.   Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account”.).

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding. 

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have questions, please contact Catherine White at 819-997-4672 or by E-mail at catherine.white@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Joe Aguiar
Acting Director, Radio Policy and Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Gurpal Singh Garcha

Ottawa, le 7 avril 2016

Gurpal Singh Garcha, Président
89.3 Surrey City FM Ltd.
12830, 80e Avenue, bureau 216
Surrey (C.-B.)  V3W 3A8

Par courriel : info@cityfm.ca

Objet : VF2686 FM Surrey, BC (Information touristique), Rapport de surveillance, Semaine du 4 au 10 janvier 2016

Monsieur,

Nous avons bien reçu, le 14 janvier 2016, les renseignements demandés dans notre lettre du 24 décembre 2015 concernant la programmation diffusée par votre entreprise ainsi que la grille-horaire.

Nous constatons que VF2686 a lancé ses activités le 1er janvier 2016 et que vous avez donc fourni les fichiers audio pour la semaine du 4 au 10 janvier 2016 au lieu de la semaine du 13 au 19 décembre 2015.

Par contre, nous constatons des écarts apparents entre la grille-horaire et les enregistrements audio fournis pour la semaine du 4 au 10 janvier 2016.

Le Conseil a examiné les enregistrements de la programmation diffusés sur VF2686 au cours de la semaine susmentionnée. Selon notre examen des fichiers audio du lundi 4 janvier 2016 au mercredi 6 janvier 2016 et de votre grille-horaire pour la semaine, il semble que diverses émissions sur VF2686 contenaient de la programmation non conforme aux paragraphes 4 et 7 de l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2014-447.

  1. La programmation de l’entreprise se compose de messages en direct ou préenregistrés qui fournissent aux voyageurs des renseignements concernant la circulation locale, les conditions météorologiques et maritimes, l’état des routes et de la navigation, les travaux de construction et les fermetures de route, les arrivées et les départs aériens, l’horaire des traversiers et des trains, les règlements en vigueur aux postes frontaliers et les délais d’attente, l’état des ponts et des cols de montagne, les avis de circulation de gros véhicules reliés à la foresterie, à la construction ou à l’entretien des routes et toute autre information d’intérêt pour les touristes ou le grand public diffusée à titre gratuit sur divers attraits et événements touristiques.
  1. L’entreprise ne diffuse aucune programmation de nature religieuse ou politique.

En particulier, nous constatons que les programmations suivantes ne semblent pas respecter ces dispositions :

Un examen détaillé de la programmation diffusée du 4 au 7 janvier 2016 figure à l’annexe 1. Veuillez prendre note que la programmation qui semble ne pas être conforme aux paragraphes 4 et 7 est affichée en rouge.

Veuillez fournir vos observations concernant l’analyse par le Conseil des enregistrements, s’il y a lieu, au plus tard le 15 avril 2016.

Nous vous demandons également de répéter les renseignements ci-dessus (ainsi que ceux à l’annexe 1) et les demandes dans votre réponse.

Vous devez déposer vos documents en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) et remplir la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » ou la « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne de radiodiffusion » dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Je vous remercie de votre collaboration. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Catherine White au 819-997-4672 ou par courriel à catherine.white@crtc.gc.ca si vous avez des questions.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, nos sincères salutations.

Joe Aguiar
Directeur par intérim, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :