ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Our reference.: 8663-C12-201108754

Ottawa, 16 April 2012


Serge Désy
President and CEO
Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec
2750, Chemin Vallée
St-Alexis-des-Monts, QC J0K 1V0

Jonathan Holmes
Executive Director
Ontario Telecommunications Association
29 Peevers Cres.
Newmarket, ON L3Y 7T5

Dear Sirs:

RE: Review of regulatory framework for the small incumbent local exchange carriers and related matters, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348, as amended by Telecom Notices of Consultation 2011-348-1, 348-2, and 348-3 (NoC 2011-348)

Commission staff acknowledges receipt of a letter dated 4 April 2012 from the Association des Companies de Téléphone du Québec and the Ontario Telecommunications Association (ACTQ/OTA) regarding the above-noted proceeding.  In that letter, ACTQ/OTA stated that they would not be filing responses, which were due on 4 April 2012, to the requests for information from the Commission and interested parties.  

Commission staff also acknowledges receipt of a letter date 16 April 2012 from the ACTQ/OTA, in which they stated their intention to file an application for leave to appeal ACTQ/OTA – Application to stay certain portions of Telecom Regulatory Policy 2011-291 and related matters,Telecom Decision CRTC 2012-188, with the Federal Court of Appeal.

Commission staff notes that the ACTQ/OTA member companies (listed in Attachment 1) have to this point declined to participate in this proceeding. Further, the Commission staff notes that the ACTQ/OTA and their members also did not adhere to the schedule set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348-3, since they did not file their proposals and responses to requests for information by the Commission by 22 February 2012.  

Commission staff advises that the proceeding established pursuant to NoC 2011-348 is continuing on the schedule set out in NoC 2011-348-3 and, notwithstanding the decision of the ACTQ/OTA and any of its members to not provide the requested information or file submissions in this proceeding, a Commission decision may be issued based on the record of this proceeding as filed.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by:

John Macri
Telecommunications Policy

cc: William Lloyd, CRTC, (819) 997-4654,

Parties to Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348

Distribution List:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; 

Attachment 1

Members of the Ontario Telecommunications Association

Brooke Telecom Co‑operative Ltd.
Bruce Telecom
CityWest Telephone Corporation
Cochrane Telecom Services
Dryden Municipal Telephone System
Execulink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communications Co‑operative Limited
Hay Communications Co‑operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co‑operative Limited
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Co. Ltd.
Mornington Communications Co‑operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.
Nexicom Telephones Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd.
NRTC Communications
Quadro Communications Co‑operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Tuckersmith Communications Co‑operative Limited
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
WTC Communications

Members of the Association des Companies de Téléphone du Québec

La Cie de Téléphone de Courcelles Inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de St-Victor
La Compagnie de Téléphone Upton Inc.
Le Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.
Sogetel inc.
Téléphone Guèvremont inc.
Téléphone Milot inc.

Date modified: