Fostering competition in the Internet services market

The CRTC sets wholesale rates to facilitate greater competition between Internet services providers and to promote innovative broadband services and affordable prices for Canadians. You can choose to buy Internet services from independent service providers, or large cable or telephone companies. In most areas of Canada, there are enough of these companiesFootnote 1 to ensure competition, innovation and options for retail Internet services. As a result, the CRTC does not regulate retail Internet service prices, except for Northwestel’s operating territory.

In 2013, the CRTC found that there was limited competition for certain residential and business Internet services offered by Northwestel in its operating territory. The CRTC decided that it would regulate, on an exceptional basis, Northwestel’s rates for these services.

To foster competition at the wholesale level, the CRTC requires that large companies sell access to their networks under specific terms and conditions. Service providers use this access, with their own networks, to offer Internet and other services to their own retail customers. In other words, independent service providers are wholesale customers of large cable and telephone companies.

The CRTC sets the rates at which telephone and cable companies may charge their wholesale clients. The rates are based on the costs that the large cable and telephone companies incur to provide the wholesale service, and include a reasonable markup.

On August 15, 2019, the CRTC set final wholesale rates that will facilitate greater competition and promote innovative broadband services and affordable prices for consumers.

Read more about our role in internet pricing.

Internet data pricing practices

Following a public consultation on differential pricing practices related to Internet data plans, the CRTC strengthened its commitment to net neutrality, consumer choice and free exchange of ideas by citizens. We believe that all Internet data should be treated equally and that no advantage or disadvantage should be given to any content, content creator or customer due to these practices. Learn more about differential pricing and net neutrality.

Date modified:

Favoriser la concurrence sur le marché des services Internet

Le CRTC établit les tarifs de gros afin de favoriser une concurrence accrue entre les fournisseurs de services Internet, et de promouvoir des services à large bande novateurs et des prix abordables pour les Canadiens. Dans la plupart des régions du Canada, il y a suffisamment d’entreprisesNote de bas de page 1 pour garantir une concurrence, l’innovation ainsi que l’offre d’options d’achat pour ce qui est des services Internet de détail. Par conséquent, le CRTC ne réglemente pas les prix de détail des services Internet, sauf dans le territoire desservi par Norouestel.

En 2013, le CRTC a conclu qu’il y avait une concurrence limitée pour ce qui est de certains services Internet de résidence et d’affaires offerts par Norouestel dans le territoire de desserte de celle-ci. Le CRTC a donc décidé qu’il réglementerait, à titre exceptionnel, les tarifs de Norouestel pour ces services.

Afin de promouvoir la concurrence au niveau des services de gros, le CRTC exige que les grandes entreprises vendent l’accès à leurs réseaux en vertu de modalités précises. Les fournisseurs de services utilisent cet accès, associé à leurs propres réseaux, pour offrir des services Internet et d’autres services à leur propre clientèle de détail. Autrement dit, les fournisseurs de services indépendants sont des clients de gros des grandes entreprises de câblodistribution et de téléphonie.

Le CRTC fixe les tarifs que les entreprises de câblodistribution et de téléphonie peuvent demander à leur clientèle de gros. Les tarifs sont basés sur les coûts que les grandes entreprises de câblodistribution et de téléphonie engagent pour fournir le service de gros, y compris une majoration raisonnable.

Le 15 août 2019, le CRTC a établi des tarifs de gros définitifs qui donneront lieu à une concurrence accrue et permettront de promouvoir des services à large bande novateurs ainsi que des tarifs abordables pour les consommateurs.

En savoir plus sur notre rôle dans la tarification de l'Internet.

Pratiques de tarification liées aux données Internet

Après sa consultation au sujet des pratiques de différenciation des prix reliées aux forfaits de données Internet, le CRTC a consolidé son engagement envers la neutralité du Net, le libre-choix des consommateurs et le libre échange d'idées par les citoyens. Nous croyons que toute donnée Internet devrait être traitée de façon équitable et qu’aucun avantage ou désavantage ne devrait être accordé à quelconque contenu, créateur de contenu ou consommateur à cause de ces pratiques. Informez-vous au sujet de la différenciation des prix et de la neutralité du net.

Date de modification :