Broadband Fund
Maps of Areas to Enhance Broadband Access

The CRTC has created maps that indicate the areas without speeds of 50 Mbps download/10 Mbps upload for fixed broadband services; communities without high-capacity transport infrastructure; where homes or major roads are without LTE mobile wireless service; and satellite-dependent communities.

Areas that have access or partial access to speeds of 50/10 Mbps or LTE are not shown on the maps as they are not eligible for CRTC funding at this time.

For each call for applications for funding, a corresponding set of maps will be published consistent with the scope of the call. The data in the maps is as current as possible.

These maps are to be used for reference purposes only, as upgrades to broadband services or network facilities continue to occur.

Applicants should verify whether new broadband services or network facilities have been deployed since the CRTC’s data was collected, making a geographic area no longer eligible, or whether new projects are underway in the target areas or will be underway within the proposed project’s time frame.

Applicants should therefore conduct their own due diligence, through research of available broadband services or network facilities, and consultation with the relevant service providers and communities, to ensure that the geographic areas they are proposing to serve are eligible under the Broadband Fund.

Third-party information liability disclaimer

The information on this web page is based on data provided by external sources. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. For more information regarding broadband availability in a particular area in the maps, you may consult with the Canadian telecommunication service providers which are the sources of this information.

First Call for Applications: Eligible Areas

Map for Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut, and all satellite-dependent communitiesFootnote 1 in Canada

How to Use CartoVista

For applicants: please read the CartoVista instructions to help you fill out your application.

Map Legend:

  • Satellite-dependent communities
  • Communities without high-capacity transport
  • Inhabited areas without 50/10 Mbps fixed broadband access
  • Inhabited areas without LTE
  • Inhabited areas with neither 50/10 Mbps fixed broadband access nor LTE
  • Major roads without LTE
  • Population Centres
  • Help on how to use CartoVista Viewer

Important notes about the 2018 coverage map

  • The broadband access and transport coverage information has been collected by the CRTC through consultation with wireless and Internet service providers.
  • These maps are representative of fixed broadband, LTE mobile wireless, transport coverage, and satellite-dependent communities as of December 2018. The data was validated with transmission facilities owners in May 2019.
  • Areas represented by hexagons are inhabited areas, in which no household has access to 50/10 Mbps fixed broadband or mobile wireless LTE service. A major road is a road classified by Statistics Canada as having a street rank code of 1 (Trans-Canada highway), 2 (National highway system), or 3 (Major highways). Footnote 2
  • Communities without high-capacity transport are defined as small population centres with a population of fewer than 30,000 residents, located at least 2 km away from a transport point of presence with a minimum capacity of 1 Gbps.
  • Satellite-dependent communities are defined as communities that have no terrestrially-based telecommunications facilities for connection to the public switched telephone network and/or the Internet, and that rely on satellite transport to receive one or more telecommunications services (such as voice, wireless [both fixed and mobile], and Internet services).
  • Broadband coverage within a community will depend on its size, broadband network design, local topography and other factors. In some instances, Internet service providers will not be able to provide service to 100 percent of households within a community or hexagon designated as being able to receive 50/10 Mbps speeds or LTE coverage. The CRTC receives data from service providers and cannot guarantee that this information is accurate.
  • Population and dwellings counts are rounded up to the nearest whole unit.
  • Listed Internet service providers exclude direct-to-home satellite and dial-up Internet services providers.
  • Broadband speeds are based on advertised speeds as provided by Internet service providers.

Corrections post publication

June 25, 2019
  • Aishihik, YT appeared twice in the map as a community without high-capacity transport. The entry with community number 10028 was removed, and the entry with community number 50490 was retained.
  • The downloadable KML dataset was incomplete. It has been corrected to include the appropriate data.
  • A 2.57 cm road segment along the Alaska Highway was removed. It had a Statistics Canada road arc unique identifier (NGD_UID) of 4614872.

Next Call for Applications

Maps of eligible areas across Canada will be published with the next call for applications, based on data as of December 2018. These maps will replace the 2017 Maps below, which are representative of the coverage of fixed broadband and LTE mobile wireless service as of December 2017, and transport coverage as of August 2017.

These 2017 maps are to be used for information purposes only, as the broadband services and network availability may have changed in some of the areas identified.

Map Legend:

  • blue circles Communities without high-capacity transport
  • green hexagons Inhabited areas without 50/10 Mbps fixed broadband access
  • red hexagons Inhabited Areas without LTE
  • blue lines Major roads without LTE
  • orange areasPopulation centres
  • question mark Help on how to use CartoVista Viewer

Important notes about the 2017 coverage maps

  • The broadband access and transport coverage information has been collected by the CRTC and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada through consultation with wireless and Internet Service Providers.
  • These maps are representative of the coverage of fixed broadband and LTE mobile wireless service as of December 2017, and transport coverage as of August 2017.
  • Areas that are shown as hexagons are inhabited areas in which no household has access to 50/10 Mbps fixed broadband or mobile wireless LTE service. A major roadFootnote 1 is a road classified by Statistics Canada as having a street rank code of 1 (Trans-Canada highway), 2 (National highway system), or 3 (Major highways).
  • Communities without high-capacity transport are defined as small population centres with a population of fewer than 30,000 residents, located at least 2 km away from a transport point of presence with a minimum capacity of 1 Gbps.
  • Broadband coverage within a community will depend on its size, broadband network design, local topography and other factors. In some instances, Internet service providers will not be able to provide service to 100 percent of households within a community or hexagon designated as being able to receive 50/10 Mbps speeds or LTE coverage. The CRTC receives data from service providers and cannot guarantee that this information is accurate.
  • Population and dwellings counts are rounded up to the nearest whole unit.
  • Listed Internet service providers exclude direct-to-home satellite and dial-up Internet services providers.
  • Broadband speeds are based on advertised speeds as provided by Internet service providers.
Date modified:

Fonds pour la large bande
Cartes des zones pour améliorer l’accès à la large bande

Le CRTC a créé des cartes qui indiquent les régions qui n’ont pas accès à des vitesses de téléchargement de 50 Mbps et de téléversement de 10 Mbps pour les services à large bande fixe; les collectivités sans infrastructure de transport de grande capacité; et les endroits où les domiciles ou les routes principales sont sans LTE; et les collectivités dépendantes des satellites.

Les régions qui ont accès ou un accès partiel à des vitesses de 50/10 Mbps ou à la LTE ne sont pas indiquées sur les cartes car elles ne sont admissibles au financement du CRTC pour le moment.

Pour chaque appel de demandes de financement, un ensemble de cartes correspondantes à la portée de l’appel sera publié. Les données sur les cartes sont aussi actuelles que possible.

Ces cartes doivent uniquement être utilisées à titre informatif, car des mises à niveau des services à large bande ou des installations réseau continuent à se produire.

Les demandeurs devraient vérifier si de nouveaux services Internet à large bande ou de nouvelles installations réseau sont devenus disponibles depuis la collecte des données du CRTC, ou si de nouveaux projets sont en cours dans les régions visées ou le seront dans le délai imparti du projet proposé.

Les demandeurs doivent donc faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en cherchant des renseignements sur les services Internet à large bande disponibles ou les installations réseau et en consultant les fournisseurs de service Internet et les collectivités pertinents, afin de veiller à ce que les régions géographiques qu’ils proposent de desservir soient admissibles au Fonds pour la large bande.

Désistement de responsabilité concernant l’information provenant de tiers

L’information qui se trouve sur cette page Web est fondée sur les données fournies par des sources externes. Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes n’est pas responsable de la précision, de la fiabilité ou de l’actualité de l’information fournie par ces sources externes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant la disponibilité de la large bande dans une région en particulier sur les cartes, vous pouvez consulter les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication du Canada, qui sont les sources de cette information.

Premier appel de demandes : régions admissibles

Carte du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, du Nunavut et des collectivités dépendantes des satellitesNote de bas de page 1 au Canada.

Comment utiliser CartoVista

Pour les demandeurs: s’il vous plaît, veuillez lire le mode d’emploi de CartoVista afin de vous aider à remplir votre demande.

Légende :

  • Collectivités dépendantes des satellites
  • Collectivités sans transport haute capacité
  • Région habitées sans accès à un service à large bande fixe (50/10 Mbps)
  • Région habitées sans la LTE
  • Zones habitées sans accès au service fixe à large bande (50/10 Mbps) ni à la LTE
  • Routes principales sans la LTE
  • Centres de population
  • Aide pour utiliser le visualisateur CartoVista

Remarques importantes au sujet des cartes de couverture (2018)

  • L’information sur la couverture du transport et de l’accès à la large bande a été recueillie par le CRTC par le biais d’une consultation avec les fournisseurs de services Internet et sans fil.
  • Ces cartes représentent la couverture de la large bande fixe, du service sans fil mobile LTE, du transport et des collectivités dépendantes des satellites en décembre 2018. Les données ont été validées auprès des propriétaires d'installations de transmission en mai 2019.
  • Les régions représentées par des hexagones sont des régions habitées dans lesquelles aucun ménage ne possède un accès à un service à large bande fixe de 50/10 Mbps ou un service sans fil mobile LTE. Une route principaleNote de bas de page 2 est une route classée par Statistique Canada comme ayant un code de rang de rue de 1 (route transcanadienne), 2 (réseau routier national) ou 3 (route principale).
  • Une collectivité sans transport de haute capacité est définie comme étant un petit centre de population comptant moins de 30 000 habitants et situé à au moins deux kilomètres du point de présence de transport offrant un débit d’au moins 1 Gbps.
  • Les collectivités dépendantes des satellites sont définies comme des collectivités qui n’ont pas de connexion à des installations de télécommunications terrestres pour accéder au réseau téléphonique public commuté ou à Internet, et qui dépendent du transport par satellite pour recevoir un ou plusieurs services de télécommunication (services vocaux, sans fil [fixes, mobiles], Internet).
  • La couverture de la large bande au sein d’une collectivité dépendra de sa taille, de la conception du réseau à large bande, de la topographie locale et d’autres facteurs. Dans certains cas, les fournisseurs de services Internet ne pourront pas fournir un service à l’ensemble des ménages d’une collectivité ou d’un hexagone défini comme pouvant recevoir des vitesses de 50/10 Mbps ou une couverture LTE. Le CRTC reçoit des données des fournisseurs de service et ne peut pas garantir que ces renseignements sont exacts.
  • Les chiffres de population et des logements sont arrondis au nombre entier le plus proche.
  • La liste des fournisseurs de services Internet exclut les fournisseurs de services Internet par ligne commutée et par satellites de radiodiffusion directe.
  • Les vitesses de la large bande sont fondées sur les vitesses annoncées telles que fournies par les fournisseurs de services Internet.

Corrections après publication

Le 25 juin 2019
  • Aishihik, YT apparaissait deux fois sur la carte comme une collectivité sans transport haute vitesse. L’entrée avec le numéro de collectivité 10028 a été retirée et l’entrée avec le numéro de collectivité 50490 a été conservée.
  • L’ensemble de données KML était incomplet. Il a été corrigé pour inclure les données appropriées.
  • Un segment de route de 2,57cm sur l’autoroute de l’Alaska a été retiré. Ce segment avait un identificateur unique de l’arc de route par Statistique Canada (BNDG_IDU) de 4614872.

Le prochain appel de demandes

Les cartes des régions admissibles à travers le Canada seront publiées lors du prochain appel de demandes, en fonction des données de décembre 2018. Ces cartes remplaceront celles de 2017, ci-dessous, qui représentent la couverture de la large bande fixe et du service sans fil mobile LTE en décembre 2017, et la couverture du transport en août 2017.

Ces cartes de 2017 doivent être utilisées uniquement à titre informatif, car les services à large bande et la capacité du réseau peuvent avoir changé dans certaines des régions identifiées.

Légende :

  • cercles bleus Collectivités sans transport haute capacité
  • hexagones verts Région habitées sans accès à un service à large bande fixe (50/10 Mbps)
  • hexagones rouges Région habitées sans LTE
  • lignes bleues Routes principales sans LTE
  • régions oranges Centres de population
  • point d’interrogation Aide pour utiliser le visualisateur CartoVista

Remarques importantes concernant les cartes de couverture de 2017

  • L’information sur la couverture du transport et de l’accès à la large bande a été recueillie par le CRTC et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada par le biais d’une consultation avec les fournisseurs de services Internet.
  • Ces cartes représentent la couverture de la large bande et du service sans fil mobile LTE au 31 décembre 2017, et la couverture du transport au 31 août 2017.
  • Les régions représentées par des hexagones sont des régions habitées dans lesquelles aucun ménage n’a accès à un service sans fil mobile LTE ou à un service à large bande fixe de 50/10 Mbps. Une route principaleNote de bas de page 1 est une route classée par Statistique Canada comme ayant un code de rang de rue de 1 (route transcanadienne), 2 (réseau routier national) ou 3 (route principale).
  • Une collectivité sans transport de haute capacité est définie comme étant un petit centre de population comptant moins de 30 000 habitants et situé à au moins deux kilomètres du point de présence de transport ayant une capacité minimale d’au moins 1 Gbps.
  • La couverture de la large bande au sein d’une collectivité dépendra de sa taille, de la conception du réseau à large bande, de la topographie locale et d’autres facteurs. Dans certains cas, les fournisseurs de services Internet ne pourront pas fournir un service à l’ensemble des ménages d’une collectivité ou d’un hexagone défini comme pouvant recevoir des vitesses de 50/10 Mbps ou une couverture à LTE. Le CRTC reçoit des données des fournisseurs de service et ne peut pas garantir que ces renseignements sont exacts.
  • Les chiffres de population et des logements sont arrondis au nombre entier le plus proche.
  • La liste des fournisseurs de services Internet exclut les fournisseurs de services Internet par ligne commutée et par satellites de radiodiffusion directe.
  • Les vitesses de la large bande sont fondées sur les vitesses annoncées.
Date de modification :
Haut