TV Access for People who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Closed Captioning

Closed captioning makes TV programs accessible for people who are deaf or hard of hearing by translating audio into text captions displayed on the screen. The captions also identify who is speaking and the emotions they are feeling, and include icons for elements such as music (♪♪).

You can access closed captioning by selecting the “CC” button on most TV remote controls manufactured after July 1993.

Why is closed captioning important?

Television plays an important role in shaping Canadian society. It is a primary source of news, entertainment, and sports programming, and plays a critical role in making Canadians aware of the wide range of ideas and perspectives that make up the rich fabric of our society. As a result, it is important to ensure that all Canadians can benefit from what TV has to offer.

Close captioning enables people who are deaf or hard of hearing to benefit from TV. It has the added benefits of being useful for people learning to read or speak a second language, and of enabling people to enjoy TV programming in restaurants, gyms, and other locations where the sound is often turned off.

The CRTC and closed captioning

Recognizing the importance of closed captioning, in 2007 the CRTC directed the broadcasting industry to establish two closed captioning working groups – one for the French-language television market, the other for the English-language market.

The groups included representatives from private and public television broadcasters, distributors, consumer and advocacy groups representing persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, and captioning providers.

Their task was to help the CRTC establish captioning quality standards that would become conditions of licence for broadcasters and would ensure consistent and reliable closed captioning quality throughout the Canadian broadcasting system.

Based on the groups’ work, the CRTC developed policies to establish:

  • The quality, and to a lesser extent the quantity, of closed captioning that must be maintained
  • Procedures for monitoring and reporting on captioning quality
  • A way for consumers to register complaints related to closed captioning

More recently, as a result of its Let’s Talk TV initiative, the CRTC also expressed the expectation that closed captioning will extend beyond traditional broadcasting platforms to include online broadcasting.

Quantity of closed captioning

When it comes to closed captioning quantity, the CRTC requires most broadcasters to:

  • Caption 100% of their programs over the broadcast day (from 6 AM to midnight)
  • Ensure that 100% of advertising, sponsorship messages, and promotional content is captioned (A condition of licence to be in effect by the 4th year of the current licence, which for many broadcasters was by September 2014)
  • Provide viewers with closed captioning for all programming aired overnight (from midnight to 6 AM) if captions are available

Quality of closed captioning

CRTC standards also regulate the accuracy of closed captioning, which is the level of exactness between captions and the audio content of a program. For pre-recorded programming, accuracy includes correct spelling.

For pre-recorded programs, broadcasters must target a captioning accuracy rate of 100%. For live programming, French-language captioning must target an accuracy rate of 85%, and English-language captioning 95%, with the difference related to differences in the closed-captioning techniques used in each market.

CRTC policies also address:

  • Minimizing caption lag time for pre-recorded and live programming
  • Correcting errors before re-broadcasting a program
  • Providing adequate on-screen information
  • Controlling various aspects of formatting, including the use of hyphens and, for French-language programming, chevrons
  • Ensuring the captioning of emergency alerts

Monitoring closed captioning

As part of the condition for their licences, the CRTC requires broadcasters to put in place a monitoring system to ensure that closed captioning is included in the broadcast signal and that captioning reaches the viewer in its original form.

The CRTC also requires broadcasters to monitor and report on closed captioning as follows:

  • At time of licence renewal, broadcasters must describe mechanisms and procedures they have developed to ensure the quality of closed captioning, including procedures to ensure that closed captioning is present throughout entire programs
  • Every month, broadcasters must calculate the captioning accuracy rate for two programs containing live content
  • Every two years, broadcasters must provide the CRTC with a report describing efforts to improve accuracy rates

Extending closed captioning to the online world

As a result of its Let’s Talk TV initiative, in 2015 the CRTC expressed the expectation that closed captioning will be extended beyond traditional broadcasting platforms to include online broadcasting.

To ensure that all Canadians are able to receive content in as complete a form as possible, even if that content is accessed online, the CRTC:

  • Expects that broadcasters will provide closed captioning of content made available online if that content had closed captioning in the traditional system
  • Requires broadcasters to report annually on the availability of closed captioning for their online content

Registering a complaint about closed captioning

To help ensure that broadcasters comply with its closed captioning standards, the CRTC accepts complaints about problems with closed captioning, and it can take action based on those complaints.

If the CRTC believes there is a compliance issue, it can request that a broadcaster submit its monthly accuracy rate calculations. If it appears there is repeated non-compliance with the closed captioning standards, the CRTC may impose additional monitoring requirements on a broadcaster.

All broadcasting complaints, including ones relating to closed-captioning, must be made in writing. For more information, see How to make a broadcasting complaint.

Related information

For more information about closed captioning and the CRTC, see:

Accès à la télévision pour les personnes sourdes ou malentendantes : le sous-titrage

Le sous-titrage, c’est-à-dire la traduction d’un contenu sonore par des sous-titres apparaissant à l’écran, permet aux personnes sourdes et malentendantes de suivre les émissions de télévision. En plus de rendre les mots prononcés, le sous-titrage donne l’identité de la personne qui parle, indique l’émotion qu’elle ressent et, au moyen d’icônes, mentionne la présence d’autres éléments, par exemple de la musique (♪♪).

On accède aux sous-titres par la touche « CC » sur la plupart des télécommandes de télévisions fabriquées après juillet 1993.

Pourquoi le sous-titrage est-il important?

La société canadienne est façonnée de façon non négligeable par la télévision. Celle-ci constitue une source fondamentale d’information, de divertissement et de sport. De plus, elle est l’une des principales voies par lesquelles les Canadiens prennent conscience de la vaste gamme d’idées et de points de vue qui composent notre riche tissu social. En conséquence, il est important de veiller à ce que tous les Canadiens puissent profiter de ce que la télévision a à offrir.

Le sous-titrage permet aux personnes sourdes ou malentendantes de profiter de la télévision. En plus, il est utile aux personnes qui apprennent à lire ou à parler une deuxième langue, et permet de regarder la télévision dans des endroits comme des restaurants, des salles de conditionnement physique, et autres endroits où le volume est souvent baissé.

Le CRTC et le sous-titrage

Reconnaissant l’importance du sous-titrage, le CRTC a, en 2007, demandé à l’industrie de la radiodiffusion de créer deux groupes de travail sur le sous-titrage – un pour le marché de la télévision de langue française, et l’autre pour le marché de la télévision de langue anglaise.

Ces groupes comprenaient des représentants des télédiffuseurs privés et publics, des distributeurs, des consommateurs, des groupes de défense des personnes sourdes et malentendantes ainsi que des fournisseurs de sous-titrage.

Leur tâche était d’aider le CRTC à établir des normes de qualité en matière de sous-titrage, normes qui deviendraient pour les télédiffuseurs des conditions de licence et qui assureraient une qualité de sous titrage uniforme et fiable dans l’ensemble du système canadien de radiodiffusion.

S’inspirant des travaux réalisés par ces groupes, le CRTC a élaboré des politiques visant à établir :

Plus récemment, à la suite de son initiative Parlons télé, le CRTC a fait état d’une attente que le sous titrage s’étende au-delà des plateformes de radiodiffusion traditionnelles et inclue la diffusion en ligne.

Quantité de sous-titrage

En matière de quantité de sous-titrage, le CRTC exige ce qui suit à la plupart des télédiffuseurs :

Qualité du sous-titrage

Les normes du CRTC régissent également la précision du sous-titrage, c’est-à-dire le degré de correspondance entre les sous-titres et le contenu audio d’une émission. En ce qui concerne les émissions présentées en différé, la précision inclut l’exactitude de l’orthographe.

En ce qui concerne les émissions préenregistrées, les télédiffuseurs doivent viser un taux d’exactitude de 100 %. Pour les émissions diffusées en direct, les sous-titres de langue française doivent viser un taux d’exactitude de 85 % alors que ce taux est de 95 % pour les sous-titres de langue anglaise, la différence résultant des disparités dans les techniques de sous-titrage utilisées pour chacun des marchés.

Les éléments suivants sont eux aussi traités dans les politiques du CRTC :

Surveillance du sous-titrage

Le CRTC inscrit comme condition de licence l’exigence que les télédiffuseurs mettent en place un système de surveillance dont le but est de vérifier que le sous-titrage est inclus dans le signal de radiodiffusion et que les sous-titres arrivent aux téléspectateurs dans leur forme originale.

Le CRTC exige également des télédiffuseurs qu’ils effectuent au sujet du sous-titrage la surveillance et les rapports suivants :

Étendre le sous-titrage au monde en ligne

À la suite de son initiative Parlons télé, le CRTC a, en 2015, fait état de l’attente que le sous titrage s’étende au-delà des plateformes de radiodiffusion traditionnelles et inclue la diffusion en ligne.

Afin que tous les Canadiens reçoivent un contenu dans sa forme la plus complète possible, même lorsqu’il s’agit de contenu en ligne, le CRTC :

Déposer une plainte au sujet du sous-titrage

Afin de s’assurer que les télédiffuseurs se conforment à ses normes de sous-titrage, le CRTC accueille les plaintes au sujet de problèmes au sous-titrage, et il peut prendre des mesures sur la base de ces plaintes.

Si le CRTC estime qu’il y a un problème de conformité, il peut demander à un télédiffuseur de soumettre ses calculs mensuels de taux de précision. Si la non-conformité aux normes de sous-titrage semble être répétée, le CRTC peut imposer au télédiffuseur des exigences de surveillance supplémentaires.

Toutes les plaintes relatives à la radiodiffusion, y compris celles qui ont trait au sous-titrage, doivent être faites par écrit. Pour en savoir plus, voir « Comment déposer une plainte relative à la radiodiffusion? ».

Documents connexes

Pour plus d’information sur le sous-titrage et le CRTC, consulter :

Date de modification :