Telecom - Commission Letter addressed to Lixo Investments Limited

Ottawa, 10 August 2022

Our reference: 8622-R28-202105304

BY EMAIL AND COURIER

Lixo Investments Limited
Suite 33, 70 Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M5R 1B9
lixoproperties@gmail.com

Re:  Request for Information Regarding Telecom Decision 2022-148

On 8 June 2022, The Commission released Telecom Decision (TD) 2022-148, addressing Rogers Communications Canada Inc.’s (RCCI) Part 1 Application for access to 70 Yorkville Avenue in Toronto, Ontario, a multi-dwelling unit that is owned by Lixo Investments Limited (Lixo). The Commission approved RCCI’s request for timely access under reasonable terms and conditions to 70 Yorkville Avenue,Footnote1 and noted that it would impose conditions on telecommunications services providers currently serving the building in the case where access was not granted.
RCCI reported on 8th and 22nd of July 2022 that attempts to date to engage Lixo in negotiations to reach an access settlement agreement have been unsuccessful and it remains unable to gain access to 70 Yorkville Avenue to the extent outlined within the Decision. Pursuant to paragraph 63 of TD 2022-148, the conditions imposed on all local exchange carriers (LECs) and carrier Internet service providers (ISPs) are in effect.
Specifically, the conditions state that as of 8 July 2022, any LECs and carrier ISPs, which are already providing services to residential, retail, and commercial occupants of 70 Yorkville Avenue via copper wire and fibre, are no longer permitted to:

On 19 July 2022, Bell Canada, RCCI and Distributel Communications LimitedFootnote2 confirmed that they are abiding by the above conditions and restricting services to the occupants of 70 Yorkville Avenue. In addition, they have informed 70 Yorkville Avenue occupants of the restrictions that are in place as a result of RCCI still not having being granted access to your building.

The Commission also stated in TD 2022-148 that it will consider all regulatory options available to it if RCCI has not reported that it has received access at 45 days after publication.  This may include an order for all Canadian LECs and carrier ISPs to discontinue providing any telecommunications services at 70 Yorkville Avenue such as internet, telephone and wireless services to any of the residential, retail and commercial occupants of the building.

Subsection 37(2) Footnote3 of the Actprovides that the Commission may require a person, including property owners and managers, to file information or documents that the Commission considers necessary for administration of the Act. In order to assist the Commission in its enforcement of the Decision, you are requested to provide a response to the attached questions by 18 August 2022.

Your response to this request for information is to be served on all parties to this application, including interveners, by the specified deadlineFootnote4.

Lixo is reminded that nil responses and failing to provide complete responses to each question in this request for information will place you in contravention of the Act, and the Commission may consider enforcement action, including the imposition of administrative monetary penalties.Footnote5

In addition, pursuant to section 72.16 of the Act, Lixo is reminded that it is liable for a violation that is committed by an employee of the person acting in the course of the employee’s employment, or by an agent or mandatary of the person acting within the scope of the agent’s or mandatary’s authority.

As set out in section 39 of the Act, and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest must be provided, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. In addition to the confidential version, an abridged version of the document omitting only the confidential information must be filed or reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed must be provided.

Sincerely,

Original signed by
Phil Charron for

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c.:  Lixo Investments Limited, 70 Yorkville Avenue, Suite 33, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1B9
Peter Kovacs, RCCI, Peter.Kovacs@rci.rogers.com
Zack Ozani, RCCI, Zack.Ozani@rci.rogers.com
Pam Dinsmore, RCCI, Pam.Dinsmore@rci.rogers.com
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, Bell.Regulatory@bell.ca
Christopher Hickey, Distributel Communications Limited, Christopher.Hickey@distributel.ca
Michel Murray, CRTC, Michel.Murray@CRTC.gc.ca
Jane ven der Buhs, CRTC, Jane.venderBuhs@CRTC.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Request for Information
Nil responses or failing to provide complete responses to each of the following questions will place you in contravention of the Act, resulting in the possibility of enforcement actions, including administrative monetary penalties.

  1. Provide the names of all persons authorized by Lixo to respond to the Commission regarding Telecom Decision 2022-148.  Identify their position titles, mailing addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses.

 

  1. Provide the names of all of Lixo’s owners, directors and management team, including position titles, mailing addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses.
  1. Provide a complete list of the unit numbers within 70 Yorkville Avenue, Toronto, Ontario (the building) indicating the following information for each:
  1. Specify the unit numbers and other rooms within the building that are used by Lixo, any of its affiliates and/or employees and directors, including office spaces and other work areas used by employees and affiliates. 
  1. Specify the unit numbers and other rooms within the building that are used by the 70 Yorkville Avenue property management team, including office space and other work areas.
  1. In accordance with the procedures for filing confidential information, provide details regarding the Internet, telephone, wireless and security system services being provided to Lixo at 70 Yorkville Avenue and/or used at the building by Lixo’s employees, directors and/or property management team.  Include the following details:
  1. Other than Bell Canada, Distributel Communications Ltd. and RCCI, are you aware of any other telecommunications service providers providing services to occupants of 70 Yorkville Avenue? If yes, which telecommunications service providers are offering services to occupants of the building?
  1. The Commission directed RCCI, at paragraph 66 of Telecom Decision 2022-148, to inform the Commission of the state of its negotiations with Lixo, with reports to be filed at 30 and 45 days following the date of the Decision. 

RCCI provided its reports on 8th and 22nd of July 2022, serving copies on Lixo.  Copies of the reports are also accessible at the following link: https://applications.crtc.gc.caDocWebBroker/OpenDocument.aspx?Key=57159&Type=Application

  1. If Lixo has not granted RCCI access to its building at 70 Yorkville Avenue consistent with Telecom Decision 2022-148, does Lixo intend to allow access? On what date will this occur?

 

Date modified:

Télécom - Lettre du Conseil adressée à Lixo Investments Limited

Ottawa, le 10 août 2022

Notre référence : 8622-R28-202105304

PAR COURRIEL ET COURRIER

Lixo Investments Limited
70, avenue Yorkville, suite 33
Toronto (Ontario)  M5R 1B9
lixoproperties@gmail.com

Objet : Demande de renseignements concernant la décision de télécom 2022-148

Le 8 juin 2022, le Conseil a publié la décision de télécom (DT) 2022-148, qui traite de la demande présentée par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) en vertu de la partie 1, en vue d’obtenir l’accès au 70, avenue Yorkville, à Toronto (Ontario), un immeuble à logements multiples appartenant à Lixo Investments Limited (Lixo). Le Conseil a approuvé la demande de RCCI en vue d’obtenir l’accès au 70, avenue Yorkville en temps opportun et selon des modalités raisonnables Note de bas de page1, et a fait remarquer qu’il imposerait des conditions aux fournisseurs de services de télécommunication desservant actuellement l’immeuble dans le cas où l’accès ne serait pas accordé.
Les 8 et 22 juillet 2022, RCCI a indiqué que les tentatives faites à ce jour pour négocier avec Lixo afin de parvenir à un accord de règlement concernant l’accès ont été infructueuses et qu’elle demeure incapable d’obtenir l’accès au 70, avenue Yorkville dans la mesure décrite dans la décision. Conformément au paragraphe 63 de la DT 2022-148, les conditions imposées à toutes les entreprises de services locaux (ESL) et aux fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI) sont en vigueur.
Plus précisément, les conditions stipulent qu’à compter du 8 juillet 2022, les ESL et les entreprises FSI qui fournissent déjà des services aux occupants résidentiels, de détail et commerciaux du 70, avenue Yorkville au moyen de fils de cuivre et de fibre ne sont plus autorisées à :

Le 19 juillet 2022, Bell Canada, RCCI et Distributel Communications LimitedNote de bas de page2 ont confirmé qu’elles respectent les conditions susmentionnées et qu’elles restreignent les services aux occupants du 70, avenue Yorkville. En outre, elles ont informé le 70, avenue Yorkville des restrictions en vigueur du fait que RCCI n’a toujours pas obtenu l’accès à votre bâtiment.
Le Conseil a également indiqué dans la DT 2022-148 qu’il envisagera toutes les options réglementaires à sa disposition si RCCI n’a pas signalé qu’elle a reçu l’accès 45 jours après la publication. Il peut s’agir d’une ordonnance pour toutes les ESL et les entreprises FSI canadiennes de cesser de fournir des services de télécommunication au 70, avenue Yorkville, tels que des services Internet, téléphoniques et sans fil à tous les occupants résidentiels, de détail et commerciaux de l’immeuble.
Le paragraphe 37(2) Note de bas de page3 de la Loi prévoit que le Conseil peut exiger qu’une personne, y compris les propriétaires et les gestionnaires de biens immobiliers, dépose les renseignements ou les documents que le Conseil estime nécessaires à l’application de la Loi. Afin d’aider le Conseil à faire appliquer la décision, nous vous demandons de répondre aux questions ci-jointes d’ici le 18 août 2022.
Votre réponse à cette demande de renseignements doit être signifiée à toutes les parties à cette demande, y compris les intervenants, avant la date limite spécifiéeNote de bas de page4.
Nous rappelons à Lixo que si elle ne fournit aucune réponse ou ne fournit pas de réponses complètes à chaque question de la présente demande de renseignements, cela constitue une infraction à la Loi, et le Conseil peut envisager des mesures d’application, y compris l’imposition de sanctions administratives pécuniairesNote de bas de page5
De plus, en vertu de l’article 72.16 de la Loi, nous rappelons à Lixo qu’elle est responsable d’une violation commise par un employé de la personne agissant dans le cadre de son emploi, ou par un agent ou un mandataire de la personne agissant dans le cadre des pouvoirs de l’agent ou du mandataire.
Tel qu’il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Une explication détaillée des raisons pour lesquelles ceux-ci sont désignés comme étant confidentiels et pourquoi leur divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris les raisons pour lesquelles le préjudice direct et spécifique qui résulterait probablement de la divulgation l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation, doit être fournie. En plus de la version confidentielle, une version abrégée du document supprimant uniquement les renseignements confidentiels doit être déposée ou les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être déposée doivent être fournies.
Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Original signé par
Phil Charron pour

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

 

c. c. : Lixo Investments Limited, 70, avenue Yorkville, suite 33, Toronto (Ontario)  M5R 1B9
Peter Kovacs, RCCI, Peter.Kovacs@rci.rogers.com
Zack Ozani, RCCI, Zack.Ozani@rci.rogers.com
Pam Dinsmore, RCCI, Pam.Dinsmore@rci.rogers.com
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, Bell.Regulatory@bell.ca
Christopher Hickey, Distributel Communications Limited, Christopher.Hickey@distributel.ca
Michel Murray, CRTC, Michel.Murray@CRTC.gc.ca
Jane ven der Buhs, CRTC, Jane.venderBuhs@CRTC.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

 

 

 

Demande de renseignements
Le fait de ne pas répondre ou de ne pas fournir de réponses complètes à chacune des questions suivantes vous placera en infraction à l’égard de la Loi, ce qui pourrait entraîner des mesures d’application, y compris des sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

  1. Veuillez fournir les noms de toutes les personnes autorisées par Lixo à répondre au Conseil concernant la décision de télécom 2022-148. Indiquez le titre de leur poste, leurs adresses postales, leurs numéros de téléphone et leurs adresses électroniques.

 

  1. Veuillez fournir les noms de tous les propriétaires, directeurs et membres de l’équipe de gestion de Lixo, y compris les titres de poste, les adresses postales, les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques.
  1. Veuillez fournir une liste complète des numéros d’unités du 70, avenue Yorkville, Toronto (Ontario) [l’immeuble] en indiquant les renseignements suivants pour chacune d’elles :
  1. Veuillez indiquer les numéros d’unités et les autres pièces de l’immeuble qui sont utilisées par Lixo, l’une de ses sociétés affiliées ou ses employés et directeurs, y compris les espaces de bureaux et autres zones de travail utilisés par les employés et les sociétés affiliées. .
  1. Veuillez indiquer les numéros d’unités et les autres pièces de l’immeuble qui sont utilisées par l’équipe de gestion de la propriété du 70, avenue Yorkville, y compris les bureaux et autres zones de travail.
  1. Conformément aux procédures de dépôt de renseignements confidentiels, veuillez fournir des détails concernant les services Internet, téléphoniques, sans fil et les systèmes de sécurité fournis à Lixo au 70, avenue Yorkville, ou utilisés dans l’immeuble par les employés, les directeurs ou l’équipe de gestion immobilière de Lixo. Veuillez inclure les détails suivants :
  1. À part Bell Canada, Distributel Communications Ltd. et RCCI, savez-vous si d’autres fournisseurs de services de télécommunication offrent des services aux occupants du 70, avenue Yorkville? Si oui, quels sont les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication qui offrent des services aux occupants de l’immeuble?
  1. Le Conseil a ordonné à RCCI, au paragraphe 66 de la décision de télécom 2022-148, d’informer le Conseil de l’état de ses négociations avec Lixo, les rapports devant être déposés 30 et 45 jours suivant la date de la décision.

RCCI a fourni ses rapports le 8 et le 22 juillet 2022, en signifiant des copies à Lixo. Des copies des rapports sont également accessibles au moyen du lien suivant : https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/DocWebBroker/OpenDocument.aspx?Key=57159&Type=Application

  1. Si Lixo n’a pas fourni l’accès à RCCI  à son immeuble du 70, avenue Yorkville conformément à la décision de télécom 2022-148, a-t-elle l’intention de lui donner accès? À quelle date l’accès lui sera-t-il donné?
Date de modification :