Telecom Decision CRTC 2021-2

PDF version

Reference: 2020-89

Ottawa, 11 January 2021

Public record: 1011-NOC2020-0089

Telecommunications service providers that have failed to become participants in the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services Inc.

The Commission finds that Rafiki Technologies Inc. committed a violation of the Telecommunications Act by failing to become a participant in the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services Inc. (CCTS). However, since the company has now become a participant in the CCTS, the Commission will not take further compliance and enforcement action against it in relation to the violation.

The Commission also finds that since SkyNet Data Networks Inc. / SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc. / SkyNet Canada Inc. were officially dissolved before the date of the complaint filed with the CCTS, no further compliance and enforcement action against them is required.

Background

  1. The Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services Inc. (CCTS)Footnote 1 is an independent body that assists Canadians who have been unable to resolve disputes regarding forborne telecommunications services with their telecommunications service providers (TSPs). The CCTS is an integral component of a deregulated telecommunications market, and it provides a valuable service to Canadian consumers.
  2. To ensure that Canadian consumers have recourse when they are unable to resolve complaints with their TSPs, the Commission has required since 2011 that all TSPs that provide services within the scope of the CCTS’s mandate be participants in the CCTS (the CCTS participation requirement).
  3. The CCTS participation requirement was established pursuant to sections 24 (regarding carriers) and 24.1 (regarding non-carriers) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) as a condition of offering or providing telecommunication services. The CCTS participation requirement is triggered 30 calendar days after the date on which the CCTS informs the person that the CCTS has received a complaint related to telecommunications services that the person provides and that falls within the scope of the CCTS’s mandate (in-scope complaint).
  4. To become a participant in the CCTS, a TSP signs the CCTS Participation Agreement, a contract in which the participant agrees to, among other things, abide by the Participation Agreement and the CCTS’s By-laws, be bound by and observe the CCTS’s Procedural Code, submit to and honour remedies levied by the CCTS, and co-operate in good faith with any investigation conducted by the CCTS.
  5. The Commission takes seriously any non-compliance with the regulatory obligations it imposes on TSPs and uses the measures at its disposal that are most appropriate in the circumstances to promote compliance.

Administrative monetary penalties regime

  1. Since 2014, the Act has included a general administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) regime,Footnote 2under which the Commission is empowered to impose AMPs on persons who contravene the Act or regulations or decisions made by the Commission under the Act. The purpose of a penalty imposed under this regime is to promote compliance with the Act, regulations, and Commission decisions.
  2. The Commission has set out its general approach under the general AMPs regime in Compliance and Enforcement and Telecom Information Bulletin 2015-111.

Show cause proceeding

  1. Between March 2017 and August 2018, the CCTS referred to the Commission the names of various TSPs (all of which are non-carrier resellers of telecommunications services) that had failed to become participants in the CCTS after being notified of an in-scope complaint.  
  2. In Telecom Notice of Consultation 2020-89, the Commission launched a show cause proceeding because the following TSPs had still not become CCTS participants as of the date of the notice: Rafiki Technologies Inc. (Rafiki) and SkyNet Data Networks Inc. (SkyNet Data) / SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc. / SkyNet Canada Inc. (collectively, SkyNet Data et al.).
  3. In particular, the Commission called for Rafiki and SkyNet Data et al. to each show cause why the Commission should not find that they committed a violation under section 72.001 of the ActFootnote 3 during the relevant time period by contravening the CCTS participation requirement. The Commission also required the TSPs’ respective Directors to each show cause why they should not be liable for any violation found to have been committed by the company/companies that they direct.
  4. The Commission further directed Rafiki and SkyNet Data et al. to each show cause why, if they are found to have committed a violation of the Act related to the CCTS participation requirement, the Commission should not impose an AMP against them in the amount of $50,000. The Commission also required the Director of each of the TSPs to show cause why, if they are found liable for a violation of the Act related to the CCTS participation requirement in respect of the company/companies that they direct, the Commission should not impose an AMP against them in the amount of $15,000.
  5. The Commission also addressed an additional potential enforcement measure in the form of a Mandatory Order. The Commission directed Rafiki and SkyNet Data et al. to each show cause why, if they are found to have committed a violation, the Commission should not impose a Mandatory Order requiring them to take all steps necessary to participate in the CCTS within 60 days of the date of the Order. The Commission also required the Director of each of the TSPs to show cause why, if they are found liable for any violations committed by the company/companies that they direct, they should not be named in the Mandatory Orders, which would hold them further accountable for ensuring that the company takes the necessary steps to participate in the CCTS.
  6. The Commission did not receive any interventions regarding the notice.

Issues

  1. The Commission has identified the following issues to be addressed in this decision:
    • Did Rafiki commit a violation of the Act?
    • If so, should the Commission (i) impose AMPs of $50,000 and issue a Mandatory Order against Rafiki, and (ii) find Rafiki’s Director personally liable for the violations, impose AMPs of $15,000 against them, and name them in the Mandatory Order?
    • Did SkyNet Data et al. commit a violation of the Act?
    • If so, should the Commission (i) impose AMPs of $50,000 and issue a Mandatory Order against SkyNet Data et al., and (ii) find SkyNet Data et al.’s Director personally liable for the violations, impose AMPs of $15,000 against them, and name them in the Mandatory Order?

Did Rafiki commit a violation of the Act?

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The CCTS informed the Commission on 3 October 2018 that Rafiki was in non-compliance with the participation requirement. The CCTS later informed the Commission that Rafiki had become a participant as of 14 August 2020, bringing itself into compliance.
  2. Commission staff contacted Rafiki to provide the company with information on its obligation to participate in the CCTS if it planned to continue providing telecommunications services, as well as explanations of the process for becoming a participant in the CCTS, and of the show cause proceeding.
  3. The Commission finds that, between 3 October 2018 and 13 August 2020, Rafiki (i) appeared to continue providing telecommunications services that were within the scope of the CCTS’s mandate, and received one or more complaints that triggered the CCTS participation requirement; and (ii) appeared to be in contravention of the CCTS participation requirement by failing to become a participant after being notified that the CCTS had received an in-scope complaint.
  4. Rafiki did not provide any evidence to show cause that it should not be found in contravention of the CCTS participation requirement for the time period of 3 October 2018 to 13 August 2020.
  5. In light of the above, the Commission finds that Rafiki committed a violation of section 72.001 of the Act by failing to comply with the CCTS participation requirement between 3 October 2018 and 13 August 2020.

Should the Commission (i) impose AMPs of $50,000 and issue a Mandatory Order against Rafiki, and (ii) find Rafiki’s Director personally liable for the violations, impose an AMP of $15,000 against them, and name them in the Mandatory Order?

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. Although Rafiki was in contravention of the CCTS participation requirement, it is now a participant in the CCTS. Accordingly, it is unnecessary for the Commission to issue a Mandatory Order requiring Rafiki or its Director to take the necessary steps for the company to become a participant in the CCTS.
  2. Pursuant to subsection 72.002(2) of the Act, the purpose of an AMP is to promote compliance and not to punish. The Commission is of the view that the compliance objective has been achieved in this case, and that the imposition of AMPs would involve additional administrative effort with minimal incremental benefit to promoting compliance.
  3. Since the Commission commenced show cause proceedings to enforce the CCTS participation requirement, there has been improved compliance with the CCTS participation requirement and the number of referrals from the CCTS has decreased. The Commission considers that general compliance in the industry has also been achieved. 
  4. In light of the above, the Commission determines that it will not take any further enforcement action against Rafiki or its Director, including the imposition of AMPs.
  5. The compliance and enforcement process, which included education and the show cause proceeding, should serve to prevent any future non-compliance by Rafiki.
  6. However, in the event of future non-compliance, the Commission may take past violations into account and may impose larger AMPs than the ones proposed in this show cause proceeding. The Commission’s AMP guidelines set out in Compliance and Enforcement and Telecom Information Bulletin 2015-111 specifically indicate that “[m]ore strict responses may be appropriate, depending on the context, to bring a person into compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm.”

Did SkyNet Data et al. commit a violation of the Act?

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The referral from the CCTS to the Commission referred specifically to SkyNet Data. Corporate record searches revealed two other companies, SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc. and SkyNet Canada Inc., both with an owner whose last name matched the name of a senior contact at SkyNet Data Networks Inc. Further corporate record searches revealed that all three companies had been dissolved.
  2. At the time that the complaint against SkyNet Data was filed with the CCTS in May 2018, none of the three SkyNet Data et al. companies were in operation. Since none of them had been providing services within the scope of the CCTS’s mandate at the time the complaint was filed, the CCTS participation requirement with respect to SkyNet Data et al. was not triggered. Accordingly, the Commission finds that SkyNet Data et al. did not commit a violation of the Act by contravening the participation requirement.

Should the Commission (i) impose AMPs of $50,000 and issue a Mandatory Order against SkyNet Data et al., and (ii) find SkyNet Data et al.’s Director personally liable for the violations, impose AMPs of $15,000 against them, and name them in the Mandatory Order?

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. In light of the Commission’s finding that SkyNet Data et al. did not commit a violation of the Act, no further compliance and enforcement action is required against SkyNet Data et al.

Policy Directions

  1. The 2006 Policy DirectionFootnote 4 and the 2019 Policy DirectionFootnote 5 (collectively, the Policy Directions) state that the Commission, in exercising its powers and performing its duties under the Act, shall implement the telecommunications policy objectives set out in section 7 of the Act, in accordance with the considerations set out in the Policy Directions, and should specify how its decisions can, as applicable, promote competition, affordability, consumer interests, and innovation.
  2. The Commission reviewed the record of this proceeding in light of the Policy Directions and considered their aspects to the extent necessary, using measures that are efficient and proportionate to their purpose. The Commission considers that its determinations in this decision are compliant with the 2019 Policy Direction, since they promote consumer interests by ensuring that TSPs participate in the CCTS to resolve complaints from individual and small business retail customers. This dispute resolution process, which is an integral component of a deregulated telecommunications market, enhances and protects the rights of consumers in their relationships with TSPs.
  3. Further, the Commission considers that the requirement that all TSPs participate in the CCTS, and enforcement of that requirement, is consistent with the 2006 Policy Direction. The participation requirement is competitively neutral and symmetrical because it applies to all TSPs that offer in-scope services. Moreover, the Commission reiterates its determination from paragraph 46 of Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy 2016-102 that market forces are not sufficient to sustain a critical mass of participation in the CCTS for it to operate effectively.
  4. Accordingly, in compliance with paragraph 1(b)(i) of the 2006 Policy Direction, this decision advances the telecommunications policy objectives set out in paragraphs 7(a), (b), and (h) of the Act.Footnote 6

Secretary General

Related documents

Date modified:

Décision de télécom CRTC 2021-2

Version PDF

Référence : 2020-89

Ottawa, le 11 janvier 2021

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2020-0089

Fournisseurs de services de télécommunication qui n’ont pas obtenu le statut de participant de la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision inc.

Le Conseil conclut que Rafiki Technologies Inc. a contrevenu à la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi) en n’obtenant pas le statut de participante de la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision inc. (CPRST). Toutefois, étant donné que cette entreprise a maintenant obtenu le statut de participante de la CPRST, le Conseil ne prendra pas d’autres mesures de conformité et d’application de la Loi à son encontre à l’égard de ces violations.

Le Conseil conclut également que, puisque SkyNet Data Networks Inc./SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc./SkyNet Canada Inc. ont été officiellement dissoutes avant la date de dépôt de la plainte auprès de la CPRST, aucune autre mesure de conformité et d’application de la Loi n’est requise à leur encontre.

Contexte

  1. La Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision inc. (CPRST)Note de bas de page 1 est un organisme indépendant qui aide les Canadiens qui n’ont pas été en mesure de résoudre leurs différends avec leur fournisseur de services de télécommunication (FST) concernant les services de télécommunication faisant l’objet d’une abstention. La CPRST fait partie intégrante du marché des services de télécommunication déréglementé et offre un service précieux aux consommateurs canadiens.
  2. Afin de s’assurer que les consommateurs canadiens ont un recours lorsqu’ils ne peuvent régler une plainte avec leur FST, le Conseil exige, depuis 2011, que tous les FST qui offrent des services qui relèvent du mandat de la CPRST participent aux activités de la CPRST (obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST).
  3. L’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST a été établie conformément aux articles 24 (dans le cas des entreprises de services de télécommunication) et 24.1 (dans le cas des entreprises autres que les entreprises de services de télécommunication) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi), comme condition pour offrir ou fournir des services de télécommunication. L’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST est déclenchée 30 jours civils après la date à laquelle la CPRST informe la personne qu’elle a reçu une plainte relative aux services de télécommunication que cette dernière fournit et qui sont visés par le mandat de la CPRST (plainte visée par son mandat).
  4. Pour devenir un participant de la CPRST, le FST doit signer la Convention de participation de la CPRST, un contrat par lequel le participant s’engage notamment à respecter la Convention de participation ainsi que les règlements administratifs et le Code de procédure de la CPRST, à accorder et à honorer toutes les réparations que la CPRST lui impose, et à coopérer de bonne foi à toute enquête menée par la CPRST.
  5. Le Conseil prend au sérieux la non-conformité aux exigences réglementaires qu’il impose aux FST et il prend les mesures à sa disposition qu’il juge les plus appropriées dans les circonstances pour favoriser la conformité.

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires

  1. Depuis 2014, la Loi prévoit un régime général de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP)Note de bas de page 2 qui permet au Conseil d’imposer des SAP aux personnes qui contreviennent à la Loi, ou à un règlement ou à une décision prise par le Conseil en vertu de la Loi. L’objectif d’une pénalité aux termes de ce régime est de promouvoir le respect de la Loi, des règlements et des décisions du Conseil.
  2. Le Conseil a énoncé son approche globale dans le cadre du régime général des SAP dans le bulletin d’information de Conformité et Enquêtes et de Télécom 2015-111.

Instance de justification

  1. Entre mars 2017 et août 2018, la CPRST a transmis au Conseil les noms de différents FST (qui étaient tous des entreprises autres que des revendeurs de services de télécommunication) qui n’étaient pas devenus des participants après avoir été avisés par la CPRST d’une plainte visée par son mandat.
  2. Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2020-89, le Conseil a amorcé une instance de justification parce que les FST suivants n’étaient toujours pas devenus des participants de la CPRST en date de l’avis : Rafiki Technologies Inc. (Rafiki) et SkyNet Data Networks Inc. (SkyNet Data)/SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc./SkyNet Canada Inc. (collectivement SkyNet Data et autres).
  3. Plus particulièrement, le Conseil a demandé à Rafiki et à SkyNet Data et autres de justifier pourquoi il ne devrait pas conclure qu’ils avaient commis une violation, aux termes de l’article 72.001 de la LoiNote de bas de page 3, en ne respectant pas, au cours de la période visée, l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST. Le Conseil a également ordonné aux directeurs de chacun des FST de justifier pourquoi ils ne devraient pas être tenus responsables de toute violation commise par l’entreprise ou les entreprises qu’ils dirigent.
  4. Le Conseil a également ordonné à Rafiki et à SkyNet Data et autres de justifier pourquoi, s’il conclut qu’elles ont commis une violation de la Loi en ne respectant pas l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST, il ne devrait pas leur imposer une SAP de 50 000 $. Le Conseil a également demandé aux directeurs de chacun des FST de justifier pourquoi, s’il conclut qu’ils doivent être tenus responsables d’une violation de la Loi commise par l’entreprise ou les entreprises qu’ils dirigent en ne respectant pas l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST, il ne devrait pas leur imposer une SAP de 15 000 $.
  5. Le Conseil a également abordé une éventuelle mesure d’application supplémentaire sous forme d’ordonnance exécutoire. Le Conseil a ordonné à Rafiki et à SkyNet Data et autres de justifier pourquoi, s’il conclut qu’elles ont commis une violation, il ne devrait pas émettre des ordonnances exécutoires exigeant qu’ils prennent les mesures qui s’imposent pour participer aux activités de la CPRST dans les 60 jours suivant la date de l’ordonnance. Le Conseil a également demandé à chacun des directeurs de justifier pourquoi, s’ils sont déclarés responsables des violations commises par l’entreprise ou les entreprises qu’ils dirigent, ils ne devraient pas être nommés dans les ordonnances exécutoires, ce qui les rendrait également responsables de s’assurer que l’entreprise ou les entreprises qu’ils dirigent prennent les mesures qui s’imposent pour participer aux activités de la CPRST.
  6. Le Conseil n’a reçu aucune intervention à l’égard de l’avis.

Questions

  1. Le Conseil a déterminé qu’il devait examiner les questions suivantes dans la présente décision :
    • Rafiki a-t-elle commis une violation de la Loi?
    • Le cas échéant, le Conseil devrait-il : i) imposer des SAP de 50 000 $ et émettre une ordonnance exécutoire contre Rafiki; ii) conclure que le directeur de Rafiki est personnellement responsable des violations, lui imposer des SAP de 15 000 $ et le nommer dans l’ordonnance exécutoire?
    • SkyNet Data et autres ont-elles commis une violation de la Loi?
    • Le cas échéant, le Conseil devrait-il : i) imposer des SAP de 50 000 $ et émettre une ordonnance exécutoire contre SkyNet Data et autres; ii) conclure que le directeur de SkyNet Data et autres est personnellement responsable des violations, lui imposer des SAP de 15 000 $ et les nommer dans l’ordonnance exécutoire?

Rafiki a-t-elle commis une violation de la Loi?

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le 3 octobre 2018, la CPRST a informé le Conseil que Rafiki ne respectait pas l’obligation de participation. La CPRST a ensuite informé le Conseil que Rafiki était devenue participante à partir du 14 août 2020, se mettant ainsi en conformité.
  2. Le personnel du Conseil a communiqué avec Rafiki pour lui fournir des renseignements sur son obligation de participer à la CPRST si elle prévoyait de continuer à fournir des services de télécommunication, ainsi que des explications sur le processus à suivre pour devenir participante de la CPRST et sur l’instance de justification.
  3. Le Conseil conclut que, entre le 3 octobre 2018 et le 13 août 2020 : Rafiki i) semblait fournir des services de télécommunication qui s’inscrivaient dans la portée du mandat de la CPRST et avait reçu une ou plusieurs plaintes ayant entraîné l’imposition de l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST; ii) semblait avoir manqué à l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST en négligeant de devenir participante après avoir été avisé que la CPRST avait reçu une plainte visée par son mandat.
  4. Rafiki n’a pas fourni de preuves pour démontrer qu’elle ne devrait pas être considérée comme contrevenant à l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST pour la période du 3 octobre 2018 au 13 août 2020.
  5. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil estime que Rafiki a commis une violation de l’article 72.001 de la Loi en ne respectant pas l’obligation de participation aux activités de la CPRST entre le 3 octobre 2018 et le 13 août 2020.

Le Conseil devrait-il : i) imposer des SAP de 50 000 $ et émettre une ordonnance exécutoire contre Rafiki; ii) conclure que le directeur de Rafiki est personnellement responsable des violations, lui imposer des SAP de 15 000 $ et le nommer dans l’ordonnance exécutoire?

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Bien que Rafiki ait contrevenu à l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST, elle est maintenant une participante aux activités de la CPRST. Par conséquent, il est inutile que le Conseil émette des ordonnances exécutoires exigeant de Rafiki ou de son directeur de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour devenir participante de la CPRST.
  2. Conformément au paragraphe 72.002(2) de la Loi, l’objectif d’une SAP est de promouvoir la conformité et non de punir. Le Conseil est d’avis que l’objectif de conformité a été atteint dans ce cas et que l’imposition d’une SAP en vue de promouvoir la conformité ne ferait qu’entraîner un effort administratif supplémentaire pourvu de peu de bénéfice.
  3. Depuis que le Conseil a entamé des instances de justification pour faire respecter l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST, le respect de cette exigence s’est amélioré et le nombre de renvois à la CPRST a diminué. Le Conseil estime que le secteur a également atteint une conformité générale.
  4. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil détermine qu’il ne prendra pas d’autre mesure d’application contre Rafiki et son directeur, y compris l’imposition de SAP.
  5. Le processus de conformité et d’application, qui comprend la sensibilisation et l’instance de justification, devrait servir à prévenir tout futur non-respect par Rafiki.
  6. Cependant, dans l’éventualité d’une conduite non conforme ultérieure, le Conseil peut tenir compte des violations précédentes et imposer des SAP plus importantes que celles proposées dans la présente instance de justification. Les lignes directrices relatives aux SAP du Conseil énoncées dans le bulletin d’information de Conformité et Enquêtes et de Télécom 2015-111 indiquent précisément que « [s]elon le contexte, une intervention plus rigoureuse peut s’imposer si le Conseil veut forcer la personne à se conformer aux règles, décourager la répétition d’une conduite non conforme et prévenir tout préjudice ».

SkyNet Data et autres ont-elles commis une violation de la Loi?

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. La renvoi à la CPRST auprès du Conseil portait précisément sur SkyNet Data. Les recherches dans les dossiers des entreprises ont révélé que deux autres entreprises, SkyNet Wireless Networks Inc. et SkyNet Canada Inc., avaient un propriétaire dont le nom de famille correspondait au nom d’une personne-ressource principale de SkyNet Data Networks Inc. D’autres recherches dans les dossiers des entreprises ont révélé que les trois entreprises avaient été dissoutes.
  2. Au moment où la plainte contre SkyNet Data a été déposée auprès de la CPRST en mai 2018, aucune des trois entreprises de SkyNet Data et autres n’était en activité. Étant donné qu’aucune d’entre elles n’avait fourni de services relevant du mandat de la CPRST au moment du dépôt de la plainte, l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST en ce qui concerne SkyNet Data et autres n’a pas été déclenchée. Par conséquent, le Conseil conclut que SkyNet Data et autres n’a pas commis de violation de la Loi en contrevenant à l’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST.

Le Conseil devrait-il : i) imposer des SAP de 50 000 $ et émettre une ordonnance exécutoire contre SkyNet Data et autres; ii) conclure que le directeur de SkyNet Data et autres est personnellement responsable des violations, lui imposer des SAP de 15 000 $ et les nommer dans l’ordonnance exécutoire?

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil ayant conclu que SkyNet Data et autres n’ont pas commis de violation de la Loi, aucune autre mesure de conformité et d’application de la Loi n’est requise à l’encontre de SkyNet Data et autres.

Instructions

  1. Les Instructions de 2006Note de bas de page 4 et de 2019Note de bas de page 5 (collectivement les Instructions) précisent que le Conseil, dans l’exercice de ses pouvoirs et de ses fonctions en vertu de la Loi, doit mettre en œuvre les objectifs de la politique de télécommunication énoncés à l’article 7 de la Loi, conformément aux considérations énoncées dans les Instructions, et doit préciser comment ses décisions peuvent, le cas échéant, promouvoir la concurrence, l’abordabilité, les intérêts des consommateurs et l’innovation.
  2. Le Conseil a examiné le dossier de la présente instance en tenant compte des Instructions et a étudié ses aspects dans la mesure nécessaire, en utilisant des mesures qui sont efficaces et proportionnelles à son objectif. Le Conseil estime que les conclusions qu’il a prises dans la présente décision sont conformes aux Instructions de 2019, car elles favorisent les intérêts des consommateurs en veillant à ce que les FST participent à la CPRST pour résoudre les plaintes des particuliers et des petites entreprises de détail. Ce processus de règlement des différends, qui fait partie intégrante du marché des services de télécommunication déréglementé, renforce et protège les droits des consommateurs dans leurs relations avec les FST.
  3. En outre, le Conseil estime que l’exigence selon laquelle tous les FST doivent participer à la CPRST et l’application de cette exigence sont conformes aux Instructions de 2006. L’obligation de participer aux activités de la CPRST est neutre et symétrique sur le plan de la concurrence, car elle s’applique à tous les FST qui offrent des services visés par le mandat de la CPRST. En outre, le Conseil réitère sa conclusion en vertu de l’article 46 de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications 2016-102 selon laquelle le libre jeu du marché ne suffit pas à soutenir la masse critique de participation à la CPRST pour qu’elle fonctionne efficacement.
  4. Par conséquent, conformément au sous-alinéa 1b)(i) des Instructions de 2006, la présente décision fait progresser les objectifs de la politique de télécommunication énoncés aux alinéas 7a), 7b) et 7h) de la LoiNote de bas de page 6.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

Date de modification :