Notice of Violation: Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc.

Ottawa, 1 October 2018

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

File Number: PDR 9174-2466

To: Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc.
Mr. Edward Bronizer

Address:
30 MacIntosh Blvd.
Vaughan, ON L4K 4P1

Date of Notice and Payment: 1 October 2018

Penalty: $25,000

Pursuant to section 72.07 of the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 1993, c. 38(the Act), the undersigned has issued this Notice of Violation finding Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc. to have committed the following violations contrary to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s (CRTC’s) Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (the Rules) made under section 41 of the Act:

On and between 20 August 2015 and 20 June 2018, telemarketing telecommunications were made on behalf of Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc., resulting in violations of Part II, section 4 of the Rules, for initiating telemarketing telecommunications to telephone numbers registered on the National Do Not Call List (DNCL), Part II, section 7 of the Rules, for failing to purchase a subscription to the National DNCL, and Part III, section 23 of the Rules, for initiating telemarketing telecomminucations outside of the permissible calling hours.

Pursuant to section 72.16 of the Act, a person is liable for a violation that is committed by an employee of the person acting in the course of the employee’s employment, or by an agent or mandatary of the person acting within the scope of the agent’s or mandatary’s authority, whether or not the employee or agent or mandatary who actually committed the violation is identified or proceeded against.

Pursuant to section 72.01 of the Act, the undersigned has determined that the penalty for the violations identified above is $25,000.

The penalty of $25,000 must be paid by Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc. to “The Receiver General for Canada” in accordance with subsection 72.09(3) of the Act.

Alain Garneau
Director – Telecommunications Enforcement
Compliance and Enforcement Sector

Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation : Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc.

Ottawa, le 1 octobre 2018

PROCÈS-VERBAL DE VIOLATION

No de dossier : EPR 9174-2466

À : Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc.
M. Edward Bronizer

Adresse :
30 boul. MacIntosh
Vaughan (ON) L4K 4P1

Date du procès verbal et paiement : le 1 octobre 2018

Pénalité : 25 000 $

En vertu de l'article 72.07 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 1993, ch. 38 (la Loi), le soussigné a émis le présent procès-verbal de violation, car, selon lui, Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc. a commis les violations suivantes des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (les Règles) du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) instituées en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi :

Le et entre le 20 août 2015 et le 20 juin 2018, des télécommunications de télémarketing ont été faites au nom de Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc., résultant en violations du paragraphe II, sous-alinéa 4 des Règles, pour avoir fait des télécommunications à des fins de télémarketing aux numéros de télécommunication des consommateurs qui figurent sur la LNNTE, du paragraphe II, sous-alinéa 7 des Règles, alors qu’elle avait échouée à s’abonner à la LNNTE, et du paragraphe III, sous-alinéa 23 des Règles, pour avoir initié des télécommunications à des fins de télémarketing en dehors des heures permises par les Régles.

Conformément à l'article 72.16 de la Loi, l’employeur ou le mandant est responsable de la violation commise par son employé ou son mandataire dans le cadre de son emploi ou de son mandat, selon le cas, que l’auteur de la violation fasse ou non l’objet de procédure en violation.

Conformément à l'article 72.01 de la Loi, le soussigné a déterminé que la pénalité totale pour les violations identifiées ci-dessus est de 25 000 $.

La pénalité de 25 000 $ doit être versée au  « receveur général du Canada », par Weather Pro Windows and Doors Inc., conformément au paragraphe 72.09(3) de la Loi.

Alain Garneau
Directeur – Mise en application – télécommunications
Secteur de la Conformité et Enquêtes

Date de modification :