Notice of Violation: Gestion David McKinnon Inc.

Ottawa, 11 September 2018

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

File Number: PDR 9174-2378

To: Gestion David McKinnon Inc.
Mr. David McKinnon

Address:
300-615 boul. Pierre-Bertrand
Québec, Québec G1M 3J3

Date of Notice and Payment: 11 September 2018

Penalty: $40,000

Pursuant to section 72.07 of the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 1993, c. 38(the Act), the undersigned has issued this Notice of Violation finding Gestion David McKinnon Inc. to have committed the following violations contrary to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s (CRTC’s) Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (the Rules) made under section 41 of the Act:

On and between 14 October 2015 and 20 June 2018, telemarketing telecommunications were made by Gestion David McKinnon Inc., resulting in violations of Part II, section 4 of the Rules, for initiating telemarketing telecommunications to telephone numbers registered on the National Do Not Call List (DNCL), and Part III, section 2 of the Rules, for failing to register with the National DNCL operator.

In addition,  Gestion David McKinnon Inc. obtained and disclosed contents of the National  DNCL to clients of its service. These actions constituted repeated violations of Part II, section 10 of the Rules, for having disclosed portions of the National DNCL to persons outside of the organization.

Pursuant to section 72.01 of the Act, the undersigned has determined that the penalty for the violations identified above is $40,000.

The penalty of $40,000 must be paid by Gestion David McKinnon Inc. to “The Receiver General for Canada” in accordance with subsection 72.09(3) of the Act.

Alain Garneau
Director – Telecommunications Enforcement
Compliance and Enforcement Sector

Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation : Gestion David McKinnon Inc.

Ottawa, le 11 septembre 2018

PROCÈS-VERBAL DE VIOLATION

No de dossier : EPR 9174-2378

À : Gestion David McKinnon Inc.
M. David McKinnon

Adresse :
300-615 boul. Pierre-Bertrand
Québec (Québec) G1M 3J3

Date du procès verbal et paiement : le 11 septembre 2018

Pénalité : 40 000 $

En vertu de l'article 72.07 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 1993, ch. 38 (la Loi), le soussigné a émis le présent procès-verbal de violation, car, selon lui, Gestion David McKinnon Inc. a commis les violations suivantes des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (les Règles) du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) instituées en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi :

Le et entre le 14 octobre 2015 et le 7 septembre 2016, des télécommunications de télémarketing ont été faites par Gestion David McKinnon Inc., résultant en des violations au paragraphe II, article 4, soit avoir fait des télécommunications de télémarketing aux numéros de téléphone figurant sur la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE), ainsi qu’au paragraphe III, article  2, soit avoir fait ces télécommunications de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE.

Également, durant cette même période, Gestion David McKinnon Inc. a obtenu et divulgué le contenu de la LNNTE aux clients de son service. Ce faisant, Gestion David McKinnon Inc. a commis des violations répétées de l’article 10 de la partie II des Règles pour avoir divulgué, en partie, le contenu de la LNNTE à des personnes extérieures à son organisme.

Conformément à l'article 72.01 de la Loi, le soussigné a déterminé que la pénalité totale pour les violations identifiées ci-dessus est de 40 000 $.

La pénalité de 40 000 $ doit être versée au  « receveur général du Canada », par Gestion David McKinnon Inc., conformément au paragraphe 72.09(3) de la Loi.

Alain Garneau
Directeur – Mise en application – télécommunications
Secteur de la Conformité et Enquêtes

Date de modification :