Undertaking: 1395804 Ontario Ltd (dba. Blacklock’s Reporter)

File No.: 9094-2018-00502

Date of undertaking (signed by all the parties): 28 September 2018

Under section 21 of the Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 2010, C. 23 (CASL, or the Act)

Person entering into an undertaking

1395804 Ontario Limited doing business as Blacklock’s Reporter (Blacklock’s Reporter).

Acts and omissions covered by the undertaking and provisions at issue

Blacklock’s Reporter has voluntarily entered into an undertaking with a designated person of the Commission (Commission staff) concerning alleged violations of paragraphs 6(1)(a), 6(1)(b), 6(2)(b), 6(2)(c), subsection 11(1) of the Act, as well as non-compliance with paragraph 2(1)(d), subsection 2(2), and section 3 of the Electronic Commerce Protection Regulations (CRTC) SOR/2012-36 (CRTC Regulations).

Following an investigation, Commission staff alleged that commercial electronic messages (CEMs) sent by Blacklock’s Reporter between 22 December 2017 and 21 March 2018 to market and promote its subscription-based news service were sent without the recipients’ consent. In addition, Commission staff alleged that CEMs sent between 16 August 2017 and 21 March 2018 did not contain appropriate sender identification and a readily-performed unsubscribe mechanism as required by sections 6 and 11 of the Act.

Summary of conditions

Blacklock’s Reporter has agreed to put in place a compliance program to ensure that all parties sending commercial electronic messages on its behalf comply with the Act and Regulations.

The compliance program includes the review of current compliance practices, the development, and implementation of corporate policies and procedures to ensure compliance with the Act, the tracking of commercial electronic message complaints and subsequent resolution, as well as audit measures for reporting the program’s implementation to Commission staff.

Commission staff determined that there would be no incremental benefit to promote compliance by imposing a monetary payment on Blacklock’s Reporter. Instead, given the size and scope of the business, Commission staff have encouraged Blacklock’s Reporter to invest funds in developing a compliance program, including technical tools and staff training that will ensure full compliance with section 6 of CASL.

This undertaking fully settles all alleged or potential responsibility of Blacklock’s Reporter regarding all commercial electronic messages sent by the company during the period between 16 August 2017 and the date of this undertaking.

Date modified:

Engagement : 1395804 Ontario Limited (Blacklock’s Reporter)

No de dossier : 9094-2018-00502

Date de l’engagement (signée par toutes les parties) : 28 septembre 2018

En vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 2010, ch. 23 (la Loi).

Personne contractant un engagement

1395804 Ontario Limited, faisant affaire sous le nom de Blacklock’s Reporter.

Actes et omissions sur lesquels porte l’engagement et dispositions en cause

Blacklock’s Reporter a volontairement contracter un engagement avec une personne désignée du Conseil (le personnel du Conseil) concernant des violations présumées des alinéas 6(1)a), 6(1)b), 6(2)b) et 6(2)c) et du paragraphe 11(1) de la Loi, ainsi qu’une situation de non-conformité à l’alinéa 2(1)d), au paragraphe 2(2) et à l’article 3 du Règlement sur la protection du commerce électronique, DORS/2012-36 (le Règlement).

Après enquête, le personnel du Conseil a affirmé que des messages électroniques commerciaux envoyés par Blacklock’s Reporter entre le 22 décembre 2017 et le 21 mars 2018 dans le but de commercialiser et de promouvoir son service de nouvelles par abonnement ont été envoyés sans le consentement des destinataires. De plus, le personnel du Conseil a affirmé que les messages électroniques commerciaux envoyés entre le 16 août 2017 et le 21 mars 2018 ne comportaient pas les renseignements adéquats sur l’expéditeur ni le mécanisme d’exclusion facilement applicable exigés en vertu des articles 6 et 11 de la Loi.

Résumé des conditions

Blacklock’s Reporter a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité pour veiller à ce que toutes les parties envoyant des messages électroniques commerciaux en son nom respectent la Loi et le Règlement.

La programme de conformité comprend l’examen des pratiques de conformité actuelles, l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de politiques et de procédures pour assurer l’observation de la Loi, le suivi des plaintes liées aux messages électroniques commerciaux et de leur résolution subséquente, ainsi que des mesures de vérification pour rendre compte de la mise en œuvre du programme au personnel du Conseil.

Le personnel du Conseil a déterminé que l’imposition d’une sanction administrative pécuniaire à Blacklock’s Reporter n’aurait aucun avantage supplémentaire pour la promotion de l’observation. Étant donné la taille et la portée de l’entreprise, le personnel du Conseil a plutôt encouragé Blacklock’s Reporter à investir des fonds dans l’élaboration d’un programme d’observation comprenant des outils techniques et de la formation du personnel qui permettront de garantir l’entière conformité à l’article 6 de la Loi.

Le présent engagement règle entièrement toutes les responsabilités alléguées ou potentielles de Blacklock’s Reporter concernant tous les messages électroniques commerciaux envoyés durant la période allant du 16 août 2017 à la date du présent engagement.

Date de modification :