Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 28 November 2018

Our reference: 8663-A182-201800467

BY EMAIL

RE: Apportioning of costs between the FairPlay Coalition and other telecommunications service providers

Dear Madam, Sir,

On 29 January 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited filed an application on behalf of itself and a number of other persons (collectively, the FairPlay Coalition) seeking the establishment of a regime that would serve to identify websites and services that are “blatantly, overwhelmingly, or structurally engaged” in copyright piracy and result in a requirement on Internet service providers to block access to such identified sites and services.

On 2 October 2018, the Commission determined it does not have the jurisdiction under the Telecommunications Act to implement the proposed regime and denied the FairPlay Coalition application.

Throughout the proceeding, the Commission received costs applications from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, the Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic, the Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, and the Union des consommateurs.

Commission staff notes that the Commission’s general practice is to apportion costs based on the telecommunications operating revenues of the parties to the proceeding as well as considering the usual costs award practices and procedures set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-963.
Commission staff notes that, as the Applicant, the FairPlay Coalition included telecommunications service providers along with other interested parties such as broadcasters and industry groups

To obtain the parties’ views on possible costs apportionment, Commission staff has attached requests for information. Parties copied on this correspondence are to provide responses to the requests for information, to be filed and served on the parties copied on this correspondence by 10 December 2018.  The responses will be available for all parties on the Commission’s website. Parties copied on this correspondence may file comments on the responses to the requests for information, to be filed and served on the parties copied on this correspondence by 17 December 2018.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by
William Abbott
Legal Counsel

CC:

Public Interest Advocacy Centre – dbrady@piac.ca
Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic – tisrael@cippic.ca
Asian Television Network International Limited for the FairPlay Coalition –atn@asiantelevision.com
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications – execdir@frpc.net
Union des consommateurs – abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
TELUS Communications Company – ann.mainville-neeson@telus.com
Shaw Communications Inc. – dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca
Teksavvy Solutions Inc. – akaplanmyrth@teksavvy.ca
Xplornet Communications Inc. – james.maunder@corp.xplornet.com
Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink – regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca  
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. – regulatory@cnoc.ca  
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc. – cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca
British Columbia Broadband Association – regulatory@bcba.ca

Appendix

Question 1

If the Commission decided to award costs in this proceeding, should the costs be apportioned solely among the participating telecommunications service providers (TSPs) in proportion to each TSPs’ telecommunications operating revenues (TOR), in accordance with the Commission’s usual practices and procedures for determining cost awards under the Telecommunications Act?

Indicate, with supporting rationale, whether or not you support this approach to apportionment of costs in this proceeding.

Question 2

If the Commission decided to award costs in this proceeding, should the costs be apportioned in the following manner?

Indicate, with supporting rationale, whether or not you support this approach to apportionment of costs in this proceeding.

Question 3

If you do not support the appropriation models contemplated in questions 1 and 2, which appropriation model would you propose and why?

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 28 novembre 2018

Notre référence : 8663-A182-201800467

PAR COURRIEL : rey.sonico@abccomm.com

Objet : Répartition des frais entre Franc-Jeu Canada et les autres fournisseurs de services de télécommunication

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 29 janvier 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited a déposé, en son nom et au nom de plusieurs autres personnes (Franc-Jeu Canada), une demande sollicitant la mise en place d’un régime servant à repérer les sites Web et les services impliqués « de façon manifeste, évidente ou structurelle » dans le piratage de droits d’auteur, et obligeant les fournisseurs de services Internet à bloquer l’accès aux sites et services ainsi repérés.

Le 2 octobre 2018, le Conseil a déterminé qu’il n’a pas compétence aux termes de la Loi sur les télécommunications pour mettre en œuvre le régime proposé et a rejeté la demande de Franc-Jeu Canada.

Tout au long de l’instance, le Conseil a reçu des demandes d’attribution de frais du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, de la Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’Internet du Canada, du Forum for Research and Policy in Communications et de l’Union des consommateurs.

Le personnel du Conseil note que la pratique usuelle du Conseil est de répartir les frais en fonction des revenus d’exploitation provenant d’activités de télécommunication des parties de l’instance et de considérer les pratiques et les procédures habituelles d’attribution de frais établies dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2010-963.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’à titre de demandeur, Franc-Jeu Canada comprenait des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication et d’autres parties intéressées, comme des radiodiffuseurs et des groupes de l’industrie.

Pour obtenir l’opinion des parties sur la répartition possible des frais, le personnel du Conseil a joint des demandes de renseignements. Les parties mises en copie dans la présente lettre doivent répondre à ces demandes, les réponses doivent être déposées et signifiées aux parties mises en copie dans la présente lettre au plus tard le 10 décembre 2018. Toutes les parties auront accès aux réponses sur le site Web du Conseil. Les parties mises en copie dans la présente lettre peuvent déposer des commentaires sur les réponses aux demandes de renseignements, les commentaires doivent être déposées et signifiées aux parties mises en copie dans la présente lettre au plus tard le 17 décembre 2018.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi ces renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public qu’ils soient divulgués, en précisant pourquoi leur divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct plus important que l’intérêt qu’elle présenterait pour le public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par
William Abbott
Avocat

c. c.
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, dbrady@piac.ca
Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’Internet du Canada, tisrael@cippic.ca
Asian Television Network International Limited au nom de Franc-Jeu Canada, atn@asiantelevision.com
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net
Union des consommateurs, abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
Société TELUS Communications, ann.mainville-neeson@telus.com
Shaw Communications Inc., dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., akaplanmyrth@teksavvy.ca
Xplornet Communications Inc., james.maunder@corp.xplornet.com
Bragg Communications Inc., faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca  
Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca  
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca
British Columbia Broadband Association, regulatory@bcba.ca

Annexe

Question 1

Si le Conseil décidait d’attribuer des frais dans le cadre de l’instance en question, ceux-ci devraient-ils être répartis seulement entre les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) participants, proportionnellement à leurs revenus d’exploitation provenant d’activités de télécommunication (RET), conformément aux pratiques et aux procédures habituelles du Conseil pour déterminer les attributions de frais en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications?

Indiquez, justification à l’appui, si vous soutenez ou non cette approche de répartition des frais dans le cadre de l’instance en question.

Question 2

Si le Conseil décidait d’attribuer des frais dans le cadre de l’instance en question, ceux-ci devraient-ils être répartis de la manière suivante?

Indiquez, justification à l’appui, si vous soutenez ou non cette approche de répartition des frais dans le cadre de l’instance en question.

Question 3

Advenant que vous ne supportez pas les modèles de répartition contemplés dans les questions 1 et 2, quel modèle de répartition proposeriez-vous et pourquoi?

Date de modification :