Telecom and Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, 7 November 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0246

BY E-MAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
jlawford@piac.ca

Subject: Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers, Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246– Request for disclosure relating to an undertaking filed by Bell Canada

Dear Mr. Lawford:

On 2 November 2018, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, the Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now Canada, National Pensioners Federation and CARP, collectively the Fair Communications Sales Coalition (FCSC) filed a request for disclosure relating to an undertaking filed by Bell Canada (Bell).

FCSC requested that Bell disclose the percentage of pay attributable to base salary for sales agents in each sales method or channel, noting that Bell revealed only that “the majority of their compensation results generally from their base salary”. FCSC argued that such disclosure would help interveners identify which sales channels are potentially a greater risk for consumers, given the levels of incentives to sales agents, and whether the level of pay and the incentive structure may encourage inappropriate, misleading or aggressive sales generally at Bell.

In its response dated 5 November 2018, Bell submitted that this information is competitively sensitive and that its release would provide existing or potential competitors with invaluable competitively sensitive information that would not otherwise be available to them. In addition, Bell submitted that interveners do not require data on specific compensation rates in order to participate meaningfully in this proceeding. Bell noted that this information directly mirrors their response to the Commission’s request for information Bell et al.(CRTC)16Aug18-28, that FCSC made a similar request regarding this information, and that the Commission upheld the confidentiality of this information.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act(the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure).In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. The factors to be considered are set out in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

The Commission has reviewed the request filed by FCSC, as well as Bell’s response. The Commission determines that Bell has established that the likelihood of specific and direct harm outweighs the public interest in the disclosure of the designated information. The Commission therefore denies FCSC’s request.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

cc: Distribution list
Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.
The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

Date modified:

Télécom et Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à M. John Lawford (Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public)

Ottawa, le 7 novembre 2018

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2018-0246

PAR COURRIEL

M. John Lawford
Directeur exécutif et avocat général
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public
jlawford@piac.ca

Objet : Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes : Avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246 – Demande de divulgation en lien avec un engagement déposé par Bell Canada

Monsieur Lawford,

Le 2 novembre 2018, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, l’ « Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now Canada », la Fédération nationale des retraités et l’Association canadienne des individus retraités, collectivement la « Fair Communications Sales Coalition » (FCSC), ont déposé une demande de divulgation relative à un engagement soumis par Bell.

Le FCSC a demandé que Bell divulgue l’information relative au pourcentage du salaire attribuable au salaire de base des agents de vente pour chaque canal ou méthode de vente, notant que Bell a seulement divulgué que « la majorité de la compensation provenait du salaire de base ». Le FCSC a affirmé que cette divulgation permettrait à d’autres intervenants d’identifier quels canaux de vente seraient plus à risque, étant donné les incitatifs offerts aux agents des ventes et, le cas échéant, si le niveau général de paie et la structure d’incitatifs pourraient en effet encourager des comportements inappropriés, trompeurs ou agressifs chez Bell.

Dans sa réponse du 5 novembre 2018, Bell a affirmé que cette information était de nature compétitive et que sa divulgation pourrait fournir à tout compétiteur actuel ou futur de l’information compétitive qui ne leur serait pas autrement disponible. De plus, Bell a affirmé que les intervenants n’ont pas besoin d’information spécifique  au sujet des taux de rémunération pour participer de manière productive à cette instance. Bell a aussi noté que cette information est une reproduction de l’information contenue dans leur réponse à une demande de renseignement du Conseil Bell et al.(CRTC)16Aug18-28, que les FCSC a fait une demande similaire au sujet de cette information et que le Conseil avait maintenu la désignation de cette information.

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles subséquents des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il traite une demande, le Conseil évalue si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il évalue ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation de ces renseignements. Les facteurs à évaluer sont énoncés dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Le Conseil a examiné la demande déposée par le FCSC, ainsi que la réponse de Bell. Le Conseil détermine que Bell a établi la probabilité d’un préjudice direct particulier qui l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation des renseignements désignés. Par conséquent, le Conseil refuse la demande du FCSC.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c.c. : Liste de distribution
Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Norouestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron ltée
Xplornet Communications Inc.
L’honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique

Date de modification :