Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Donna Robertson (Novus Entertainment Inc.)

Ottawa, 25 October 2018

Our reference: 8622-N68-201801176

BY E-MAIL

Ms. Donna Robertson
Co-President & Chief Legal Officer
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 - 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver British Columbia V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Re: Request to maintain suspension of the application filed by Novus to obtain access to the multi-dwelling unit developments of Ledingham McAllister

Dear Ms. Robertson,

On 23 August 2018, by way of letter to Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus), Commission staff informed the parties that the above-mentioned file remained suspended upon request of the applicant Novus due to the continuation of negotiations with Ledingham McAllister Developments Ltd. (Ledingham McAllister).

On 3 October 2018, the Commission received a letter from Novus informing on the progress of the negotiations with Ledingham McAllister. In its letter, Novus requested that its application continue to be suspended until 31 October 2018 to allow both parties to have a fully signed installation agreement.

Novus indicated that, on 12 July 2018, it provided Ledingham McAllister with a signed copy of the installation agreement which included the changes to the agreement that had been requested by Ledingham McAllister. Novus also indicated that it had yet to receive back the agreement signed by Ledingham McAllister which is necessary to confirm ownership of Novus’ facilities and continued right of access after the development is transferred by the developer to the strata (condominium) corporation.

In Telecom Decision 2003-45 Footnote1, the Commission established that the provision of telecommunications service by a local exchange carrier (LEC) in a multi-dwelling unit (MDU) is subject to the condition that all LECs wishing to serve end-users in that MDU are able to access end-users in that MDU on a timely basis, by means of resale, leased facilities, or their own facilities, at their choice, under reasonable terms and conditions. Commission staff notes that, in the current situation, the absence of an installation agreement signed by both parties more than three months after the agreement signed by Novus and amended as requested by Ledingham McAllister was provided to Ledingham McAllister calls into question whether Novus is being granted access to end-users in the MDU on a timely basis and under reasonable terms and conditions as contemplated by the Commission in Telecom Decision 2003-45.

Commission staff notes that in the past, the Commission has used it power to prevent the LECs already installed in an MDU from providing services to residents of the MDU if a competitor was not granted access to end-users on a timely basis and under reasonable terms and conditions. In light of this, and given the situation in the current case, Commission staff expect that both parties come to a mutual and signed installation agreement in a timely manner.

In light of the above, the above-mentioned file remains suspended. Novus is requested to inform the Commission, serving copies on all other parties, no later than 9 November 2018, as to whether Ledingham McAllister and Novus came to a mutual and signed installation agreement. Upon receipt of Novus’ report on 9 November 2018, parties will be informed as to whether the file remains suspended or is re-opened to allow for a Commission determination.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Steve Jedreicich, Ledingham McAllister, stevejed@ledmac.com
John Lawford, Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Donna Robertson (Novus Entertainment Inc.)

Ottawa, le 25 octobre 2018

Notre référence : 8622-N68-201801176

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Donna Robertson
Coprésidente et directrice des Services juridiques
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 - 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Objet : Requête en maintien de la suspension de la demande déposée par Novus en vue d’obtenir l’accès aux développements d’immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples de Ledingham McAllister

Madame,

Le 23 août 2018, le personnel du Conseil a informé les parties par voie de lettre à Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) que le dossier susmentionné demeurait suspendu à la demande du demandeur, Novus, en raison de la poursuite des négociations avec Ledingham McAllister Developments Ltd. (Ledingham McAllister).

Le 3 octobre 2018, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de la part de Novus l’informant de l’avancement des négociations avec Ledingham McAllister. Dans sa lettre, Novus demande la prorogation du délai de suspension de sa demande jusqu’au 31 octobre 2018 afin de permettre aux deux parties de procéder à la signature entière d’une entente sur l’installation.

Novus indique qu’elle a remis à Ledingham McAllister, le 12 juillet 2018, une copie signée de l’entente sur l’installation, qui comprenait les modifications à l’entente demandées par Ledingham McAllister. Novus indique également que Ledingham McAllister ne lui a pas encore renvoyé l’entente signée nécessaire pour confirmer la propriété des installations de Novus ainsi que le maintien des droits d’accès après le transfert de l’aménagement immobilier du promoteur à l’association de copropriétaires (condominium).
Dans la Décision de télécom 2003-45Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a établi que la fourniture d’un service de télécommunication par une entreprise de services locaux (ESL) dans un immeuble à logements multiples (ILM) est assujettie à la condition que les ESL qui souhaitent desservir des utilisateurs finals dans cet ILM puissent y avoir accès rapidement au moyen d’une revente, d’installations louées ou de leurs propres installations, selon leur choix, et selon des modalités raisonnables. Le personnel du Conseil note que, dans la situation actuelle, étant donné l’absence d’une entente sur l’installation signée par les deux parties plus de trois après la signature par Novus et l’envoi à Ledingham McAllister de l’entente modifiée à la demande de Ledingham McAllister, il se demande si Novus se voit accorder l’accès aux utilisateurs finals de l’ILM en temps opportun et selon des modalités raisonnables telles qu’elles ont été envisagées par le Conseil dans sa Décision de télécom 2003-45.

Le personnel du Conseil note que par le passé, le Conseil s’est servi de son pouvoir pour empêcher les ESL déjà installées dans un ILM de fournir des services aux résidents de l’ILM si un concurrent n’obtenait pas l’accès aux utilisateurs finals en temps opportun et selon des modalités raisonnables. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, et étant donné la situation dans le cas présent, le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce que les deux parties concluent et signent rapidement une entente mutuelle sur l’installation.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le dossier susmentionné demeure suspendu. Novus doit indiquer au Conseil, en envoyant des copies à l’ensemble des parties au plus tard le 9 novembre 2018, si Ledingham McAllister et elles ont conclu et signé une entente mutuelle sur l’installation. Le 9 novembre 2018, suivant la réception du rapport de Novus, le Conseil indiquera aux parties si le dossier demeure suspendu ou s’il est rouvert en vue d’une décision du Conseil.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Steve Jedreicich, Ledingham McAllister, stevejed@ledmac.com
John Lawford, Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, jlawford@piac.ca
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :