Telecom and Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Janet Lo (TekSavvy Solutions Inc.)

Ottawa, 9 October 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0246

BY EMAIL

Janet Lo
Vice President, Privacy & Consumer Legal Affairs
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
800 Richmond Street
Chatham ON, N7M 5J5
jlo@teksavvy.ca

Subject: Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246 - Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers (Notice), TekSavvy’s Procedural Request: Requests for information on issues related to the wholesale relationship

Dear Ms. Lo:

In its 30 August 2018 intervention in the above-referenced proceeding, TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (“TekSavvy”) requested that the Commission issue further requests for information (RFIs) from underlying wholesale providers, in order to gather more information on certain behaviour on the record of this proceeding.

In their 14 September 2018 replies, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Cogeco Communications Inc. on behalf of its subsidiary Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco), and Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink) argued that TekSavvy’s requests are outside the scope of this proceeding as they relate to the wholesale regime between TekSavvy and its wholesale service providers and not to retail sales practices within the scope of this proceeding.

However, Shaw supported other concerns raised by TekSavvy, including alleged misrepresentations by certain incumbent agents about the quality and characteristics of competitor services or their own services. The Canadian Network Operators Consortium (CNOC) broadly supported the requests. Shaw and CNOC argued that these issues do not only affect TekSavvy or wholesale carriers.

The Commission has recently made determinations on some aspects of the wholesale relationship. For example, in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2018-123, the Commission determined that additional regulatory oversight was necessary for all providers of both aggregated and disaggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services, and that these services should be included in a competitor quality of service (Q of S) regime.

The Commission notes that the purpose of this proceeding is to examine issues related specifically to misleading and aggressive retail sales practices and to present this information, along with the most feasible and effective ways to strengthen or expand the scope of existing consumer protections, as directed in Order in Council P.C. 2018-0685. The Commission has sufficient information on the record to consider this issue for the purposes of preparing the report to government.

Therefore, the Commission denies TekSavvy’s procedural requests regarding the issuance of further RFIs by the Commission on issues relating to the wholesale relationship.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General


cc: Distribution list

Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
CNOC
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.

Date modified:

Télécom et Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Janet Lo (TekSavvy Solutions Inc.)

Ottawa, le 9 octobre 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0246

PAR COURRIEL

Janet Lo
Vice President, Privacy & Consumer Legal Affairs
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
800 Richmond Street
Chatham ON, N7M 5J5
jlo@teksavvy.ca

Objet: Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes : Avis de onsultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246 – Demandes procédurales de TekSavvy au sujet de demandes de renseignement relatif aux relations à l'égard de la vente en gros

Madame Lo,

Dans son intervention du 30 août 2018 du dossier ci-mentionné, TekSavvy Solutions inc. (“TekSavvy”) a demandé que le Conseil émette d’autres demandes de renseignements aux fournisseurs de gros, de manière à cumuler plus d’information sur certains comportements au dossier public de cette instance.

Dans leur réponse du 14 septembre 2018, Shaw Communications inc. (Shaw), Rogers Communications Canada inc. (Rogers), Cogeco Communications Inc. on behalf of its subsidiary Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco) et Bragg Communications inc., faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink) ont soumis que les demandes de TekSavvy dépassent la portée de cette instance puisqu’elles relèvent du régime de gros entre TekSavvy et ses fournisseurs de service de gros et non des pratiques de vente au détail.

Cependant, Shaw a supporté d’autres préoccupations soulevées par TekSavvy, incluant des présumées fausses représentations de la part d’agents de certaines titulaires quant à la qualité ou aux caractéristiques des services de concurrents ou des leurs. Le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc. (CORC) ont largement supporté les demandes de TekSavvy. Shaw et CORC ont soumis que ces préoccupations n’affectent pas uniquement TekSavvy ou les fournisseurs de gros.

Le Conseil a récemment fait certaines déterminations sur certains aspects des relations à l'égard de la vente en gros. Par exemple, dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2018-123, le Conseil a déterminé qu’il est nécessaire d’exercer une surveillance réglementaire supplémentaire à l’égard de tous les fournisseurs de services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros groupés et dégroupés, et que ces services doivent être visés par un régime de qualité du service (QS) aux concurrents.

Le Conseil note que l’objectif de cette instance est d’examiner les enjeux reliés spécifiquement aux pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives et de présenter cette information, ainsi que les façons les plus réalisables et les plus efficaces de renforcer et d’élargir la portée des mesures de protection des consommateurs existante, tel que dirigé par le décret C.P. 2018-0685. Le Conseil a suffisamment d’information au dossier public sur l’enjeu soulevé par TekSavvy afin de produire le rapport au gouvernement.

Le Conseil rejette donc les demandes procédurales de TekSavvy quant à l’envoi d’autres demandes de renseignements par le Conseil au sujet des relations à l'égard de la vente en gros.

Veuillez agréer, Madame Lo, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général


c.c. : Liste de distribution

Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink
CORC
Cogeco Connexion inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TELUS Communications inc.
Videotron Ltée.
Xplornet Communications inc.

Date de modification :