Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 25 September 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0105

BY E-MAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: Extension request regarding request for information related to Next-generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) network design efficiencies

Dear Madam/Sir:

In Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-105, Next-generation 9-1-1 network design efficiencies, dated 26 March 2018, the Commission initiated a proceeding to examine matters related to next-generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) network design efficiencies, including roles and responsibilities related to the provisioning of location information servers and customer information databases, NG9-1-1 network components that could be shared, and efficient interconnection arrangements.

On 17 August 2018, Commission staff requested information from all large and small incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs), as well as from other telecommunication service providers who provide 9-1-1 services (TSPs) and have intervened in this proceeding, either directly or through an association (collectively, the TSP intervenors). Responses to these questions were filed by 17 September 2018.  Parties were to file reply comments by 1 October 2018. Footnote1  

In correspondence dated 11 September 2018, TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS) requested that the date for reply comments be extended to 19 October 2018, stating that a key resource is unavailable, resulting in TELUS being unable to provide meaningful comments.

In correspondence dated 12 September 2018 and 13 September 2018, Bell Canada (Bell) and Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), respectively, supported TELUS’ extension request, stating that they also require more time to provide meaningful reply comments.

Commission staff has reviewed the request and considers this request to be reasonable. Commission staff expects that, with the additional time provided, both ILEC and TSP intervenors will provide a more fulsome and robust set of responses which the Commission will take into consideration for its determinations.  Commission staff further considers that this extension will provide the parties to this proceeding with an opportunity to further collectively discuss the NG9-1-1 interconnection matters being examined with a view to reaching mutually agreeable solutions.

Furthermore, Commission staff notes that CNOC’s member TSPs failed to respond to the requests for information that were issued to them.  In light of this, these TSPs are to provide written responses to the relevant requests for information set out in the above-referenced 17 August 2018 letter by 5 October 2018.

Accordingly, the following revised timelines apply:

Finally, commission staff expects that the revised timelines will not impact the NG9-1-1 trial and implementation deadlines as defined in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2017-182.

Should any questions arise, please contact Mylène Germain by email at mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Mylène Germain, CRTC, 819-635-4538, mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca;
James Ndirangu, CRTC 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca.

Distribution List

cedwards@ccsaonline.ca; Regulatory@sjrb.ca; regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; patrick.desy@quebecor.com; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; simon.desrochers@cogeco.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 25 septembre 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0105

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de prolongation aux répliques - demande de renseignements sur les gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG)

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-105, Gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération, 26 mars 2018, le Conseil a amorcé une instance en vue d’effectuer un examen des questions concernant les gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG), y compris les rôles et les responsabilités liés à la fourniture de serveurs de données de localisation et de bases de données sur les clients, les composantes des réseaux 9-1-1 PG qui pourraient être partagées et les accords d’interconnexion efficaces.

Le 17 août 2018, le personnel du Conseil a demandé à toutes les grandes entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT) et petites ESLT ainsi qu’aux fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) qui offrent des services 9-1-1 et qui sont intervenus dans cette instance, directement ou par l’entremise d’une association, (collectivement les intervenants FST) de fournir des renseignements. Des réponses à ces questions ont été déposées le 17 septembre 2018. Les parties peuvent déposer leurs observations en réplique avant le 1er octobre 2018. Note de bas de page1 

Dans une lettre en date du 11 septembre 2018, TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS) a demandé que la date pour faire parvenir les observations en réplique soit repoussée au 19 octobre 2018, affirmant que l’indisponibilité d’une ressource essentielle empêchait TELUS de formuler des commentaires pertinents.
Dans des lettres en date des 12 et 13 septembre 2018, Bell Canada (Bell) et Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), respectivement, se sont déclarées favorables à la demande de prolongation de TELUS, affirmant qu’elles avaient également besoin de plus de temps pour formuler des observations en réplique pertinentes.

Le personnel a examiné la demande et estime qu’elle est raisonnable. Le personnel du Conseil prévoit qu’avec le temps supplémentaire accordé, les intervenants des ESLT et des FST pourront fournir un ensemble de réponses plus complètes et plus fermes dont le Conseil pourra tenir compte pour prendre ses décisions. Le personnel estime également que cette prolongation du délai donnera aux parties à l’instance la possibilité de poursuivre, de façon collective, les discussions sur les questions d’interconnexion du réseau 9-1-1 PG qui sont à l’étude, en vue de parvenir à des solutions mutuellement acceptables.

De plus, le personnel note que les FST membres du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens (CORC) ont omis de répondre aux demandes de renseignements qui leur avaient été formulées.  Compte tenu de ceci, ces FST sont demandés de répondre aux demandes de renseignements pertinentes et figurant dans la lettre du 17 août 2018 susmentionnée, et ce, par le 5 octobre 2018.

Ainsi, les échéanciers qui suivent sont d’application :

Enfin, le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce que les échéanciers révisés n’aient pas d’incidence sur les délais de mise en œuvre des services 9-1-1 PG établis dans la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2017-182.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Mylène Germain par courrier à l’adresse mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincères salutations.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Mylène Germain, CRTC, 819-635-4538, mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca;
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca.

Liste de distribution

cedwards@ccsaonline.ca; Regulatory@sjrb.ca; regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; patrick.desy@quebecor.com; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; simon.desrochers@cogeco.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date de modification :