Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 21 September 2018

Our reference:  1011-NOC2018-0242

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

RE: Request for information related to an appropriate quality of service metric for jitter to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service – NoC 2018-242

In Telecom Decision 2018-241, CISC Network Working Group – Non-consensus report on quality of service metrics to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service (Telecom Decision 2018-241), the Commission determined that a fixed broadband Internet access service is defined as a high-quality service if it provides the subscriber with a smooth experience when using real-time QoS critical applications. Consequently, the Commission determined that latency of 50 milliseconds and a packet loss of 0.25% are the thresholds that define a high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service.

In Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-242, Call for comments – Establishment of an appropriate quality of service metric for jitter to define high-quality fixed broadband service (NoC 2018-242), the Commission initiated a proceeding to establish an appropriate threshold for jitter that defines high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service.

The jitter thresholds proposed were to be consistent with the thresholds for latency and packet loss established in Telecom Decision 2018-241, and based on measurement, during peak times (i.e. from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. local time on weekdays), from the modem at the customer premises to an Internet exchange point (IXP)Footnote1 in a Canadian Tier 1cityFootnote2 .

Commission staff is requesting information from intervenors and ISPs as set out in Appendix 1. The responses to these questions must be filed via My CRTC Account by: 28 September 2018.  Parties may file reply comments by: 5 October 2018.

Responses are to be submitted in a single document in order to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing.  Parties may choose to coordinate, organize, and file their responses in conjunction with other parties who share their positions. These responses will be published on the Commission’s website under the file number identified above.

As set out in section 39 of the Act, and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation as to why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure.

Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Should any questions related to these requests arise, please contact Bhagvat Joshi by email at Bhagvat.Joshi@crtc.gc.ca

Sincerely,

Ian Baggley,
Director General, Strategic Planning, Broadband Fund & Networks
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Bhagvat Joshi, CRTC, (819) 635 8291, bhagvat.joshi@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, (819) 997 3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca  

Attachment (1)

Distribution List

hglustein@rtscanada.com; fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca; davemsp@gmail.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Regulatory@sjrb.ca ; regulatory@cnoc.ca ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com ;  regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca; xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.comdocument.control@sasktel.com; regulatory@mts.ca 

Appendix 1:

In answering the following questions, please justify your responses with the appropriate supporting evidence and rationale.

Questions to Bell Canada, Quebecor, Shaw, TELUS, Xplornet and CNOC

  1. In your intervention, you proposed a maximum jitter threshold for QoS sensitive applications, instead of a maximum jitter threshold for QoS critical applications as was requested in NoC 2018-242. Identify the maximum threshold for jitter in a high-quality fixed broadband network required to support QoS critical applicationsFootnote3 , such as massive multiplayer online gaming, virtual private networks, or remote surgery. Identify the QoS critical applications that form the basis for your response.
  2. Questions to all intervenersFootnote4

  3. In its interventionFootnote5 , Bell Canada states that “Although efforts are made to minimize jitter, some jitter is normal in telecommunications and is typically handled through jitter buffering by receiving applications.  There is a limit to how much buffering can be done for quality of service (QoS) sensitive and critical applications, however, as buffering adds delay to the communication.”
    1. What is the minimum jitter threshold for QoS critical applications for which buffering is not required? Identify the QoS critical applications that form the basis for your response.
    2. What is the minimum jitter threshold for QoS critical applications for which the delay caused by jitter buffering starts affecting the smooth experience of a subscriber? Identify the QoS critical applications that form the basis for your response.
    3. Provide a list of real-time QoS critical applications where a high level of jitter could prevent a subscriber from receiving a smooth experience.

    Question to Bell Canada, Bell Aliant, Cogeco, Eastlink, Bell MTS, Northwestel, Rogers, Shaw, TELUS and Videotron

  4. As your company participated in the Commission’s Broadband Measurement ProjectFootnote6 , please provide in the table below, as appropriate, the average jitter values based on measurements in your network during peak times (7pm-11pm on weekdays) between 15th March 2016 and 14th April 2016 as part of that project.
  5. Speeds (Mbps) 5-9 10-15 16-39 40+ 50+
    Jitter for DSL networks (ms)          
    Jitter for FTTH networks (ms)          
    Jitter for Cable/HFC networks (ms)          

    Question to SaskTel

  6. If you have carried out measurements of jitter in your fixed broadband Internet access network, provide the results of these measurements during peak-times (7pm-11pm on weekdays) as appropriate for individual ISPs. Provide details of the measurement methodology and equipment used.
Speeds (Mbps) 5-9 10-15 16-39 40+ 50+
Jitter for DSL networks (ms)          
Jitter for FTTH networks (ms)          
Jitter for Cable/HFC networks (ms)          
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 21 septembre 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0242

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements sur les paramètres relatifs à la gigue permettant de définir la qualité du service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe – avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-242

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2018-241, Groupe de travail Réseau du CDCI – Rapport de non-consensus concernant les paramètres de la qualité du service pour définir le service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe de grande qualité (décision de télécom CRTC 2018-241), le Conseil a établi qu’un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe est de grande qualité s’il fournit à l’abonné une expérience agréable lorsqu’il utilise des applications en temps réel pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle. Par conséquent, le Conseil a établi à 50 millisecondes le seuil de latence et à 0,25 % le seuil de perte de paquets en dessous desquels un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe est dit de grande qualité.

Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-242, Appel aux observations – Établissement d’un paramètre de qualité du service approprié pour la gigue pour définir le service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe de grande qualité (avis de consultation 2018-242), le Conseil a amorcé une instance afin d’établir un seuil approprié pour la gigue permettant d’établir qu’un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe est de grande qualité.

Les seuils pour la gigue devaient être cohérents avec les seuils pour la latence et la perte de paquets établis dans la décision de télécom 2018-241 et fondés sur des mesures effectuées durant les périodes de pointe (c.-à-d. de 19 h à 23 h [heure locale] les jours de semaine), depuis le modem situé dans les installations du client jusqu’à un point d’échange Internet dans Note de bas de page1une ville canadienne de premier niveauNote de bas de page2.

Le personnel du Conseil demande aux intervenants et aux FSI les renseignements se trouvant à l’annexe 1. Les réponses aux questions doivent être déposées au moyen du service Mon compte CRTC au plus tard le 28 septembre 2018.  Les parties peuvent déposer des observations en réplique jusqu’au 5 octobre 2018.

Les réponses doivent être soumises dans un seul document afin d’en faciliter l’accès et le traitement administratif. Les parties peuvent choisir de coordonner, d’organiser et de déposer leurs réponses avec d’autres parties qui partagent leur opinion. Ces réponses seront affichées sur le site Web du Conseil sous le numéro de dossier indiqué ci-dessus.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi et dans le bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi ces renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public qu’ils soient divulgués, en précisant pourquoi leur divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct plus important que l’intérêt qu’elle présenterait pour le public.

De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Si vous avez des questions concernant ces demandes, veuillez communiquer avec Bhagvat Joshi par courrier à l’adresse bhagvat.Joshi@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes salutations distinguées.

L’original signé par

Ian Baggley
Directeur général, Planification stratégique, fonds pour large bande et réseaux
Télécommunications

C.c. : Bhagvat Joshi, CRTC, 819-635-8291, bhagvat.joshi@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

Liste de distribution

hglustein@rtscanada.com; fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca; davemsp@gmail.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Regulatory@sjrb.ca ; regulatory@cnoc.ca ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.comregulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca; xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.comdocument.control@sasktel.com; regulatory@mts.ca 

Annexe 1

Veuillez répondre aux questions suivantes en justifiant vos réponses avec des preuves à l’appui.

Questions à Bell Canada, Québecor, Shaw, TELUS, Xplornet et le CNOC

  1. Dans votre intervention, vous proposez un seuil maximal pour la gigue pour les applications sensibles quant à la QS (qualité de service), plutôt qu’un seuil pour les applications pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle, comme il est demandé dans l’avis de consultation 2018-242. Veuillez déterminer quel est, dans un réseau fixe à large bande de grande qualité, le seuil relatif à la gigue à ne pas dépasser pour assurer le bon fonctionnement des applications pour lesquelles la QS est essentielleNote de bas de page3, comme les jeux en ligne massivement multijoueurs, les réseaux privés virtuels ou les interventions chirurgicales à distance. Dites sur lesquelles de ces applications vous avez basé votre réponse.
    Questions à tous les intervenantsNote de bas de page4
  2. Dans son interventionNote de bas de page5, Bell Canada explique que des efforts sont déployés pour minimiser la gigue, mais qu’il s’agit d’un phénomène normal dans les télécommunications, lequel est généralement pris en charge par les applications au moyen de tampons de gigue. Et d’ajouter qu’il y a des limites quant à la mise en tampon pour les applications pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle ou sensible, car celle-ci entraîne des délais de communication.
    1. Concernant la gigue, quel est le seuil sous lequel les applications pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle n’ont pas besoin de mise en tampon? Dites sur lesquelles de ces applications vous avez basé votre réponse.
    2. Concernant la gigue, quel est le seuil au-dessus duquel les délais causés par la mise en tampon pour les applications pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle commencent à avoir un effet sur la qualité de l’expérience d’un abonné? Dites sur lesquelles de ces applications vous avez basé votre réponse.
    3. Veuillez fournir une liste d’applications en temps réel pour lesquelles la QS est essentielle pour lesquels une importante mise en tampon pourrait nuire à la qualité de l’expérience d’un abonné.

    Question à Bell Canada, Bell Aliant, Cogeco, Eastlink, MTS, Northwestel, Rogers, Shaw, TELUS et Vidéotron

  3. Étant donné que votre entreprise a participé au Projet d’évaluation de la performance des services Internet à large bande du ConseilNote de bas de page6, veuillez compléter le tableau ci-dessous comme il convient avec les valeurs moyennes de gigue obtenues sur votre réseau d’après les mesures réalisées en période de pointe (de 19 h à 23 h en semaine) entre le 15 mars et le 14 avril 2016 dans le cadre du projet.
    Vitesse (Mbps) 5-9 10-15 16-39 40 et plus 50 et plus
    Gigue pour les réseaux LAN (ms)          
    Gigue pour les réseaux FTTH (ms)          
    Gigue pour les réseaux câble/HFC (ms)          

    Question à SaskTel

  4. Si vous avez réalisé des mesures de gigue sur votre réseau fixe d’accès Internet à large bande, veuillez fournir les résultats obtenus en période de pointe (de 19 h à 23 h en semaine), pour les FSI individuels, comme il convient. Veuillez décrire la méthode de mesure et l’équipement utilisé.
Vitesse (Mbps) 5-9 10-15 16-39 40 et plus 50 et plus
Gigue pour les réseaux LAN (ms)          
Gigue pour les réseaux FTTH (ms)          
Gigue pour les réseaux câble/HFC (ms)          
Date de modification :