Telecom and Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 18 September 2018

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers, Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246 – Organization and conduct of the public hearing.

Dear Madam/Sir:

The Commission is scheduled to hold a public hearing in connection with the above-noted proceeding commencing on Monday, 22 October 2018 at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, Outaouais Room, 140 Promenade du Portage, in Gatineau, Quebec.

The purpose of this letter is to provide participants with information on the organization and conduct of the public hearing.

Sitting Schedule

The hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, 22 October 2018 and is expected to last no more than 5 days.

The order and estimated date of appearance of parties making an oral presentation at the hearing are set out in the attached document (Agenda). The Commission will not amend the order of appearance, barring exceptional circumstances.

Please note that the order of appearance of the public hearing will also be available on the Commission’s website at the following link: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/Telecom/eng/HEARINGS/2018/ag22_10.htm and will be updated, if necessary, prior to the hearing.

All other persons interested in the proceeding and members of the public are invited to attend as audience members.

Participants are responsible for monitoring the progress of the hearing so that they are aware of any Commission directives and are ready to make their presentation on the day scheduled or, if necessary, the day before or after their scheduled date of appearance, depending on the progress of the hearing. Please be advised that an audio link will be available throughout the hearing on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca.

Transcripts

The Commission has made arrangements with International Reporting Inc. to provide stenography services for the hearing. Please note that the transcript of each day will be posted on the Commission’s website the following business day.

Presentations

Your allotted presentation time is indicated in the email accompanying this letter.

Participants may use the time allotted to them in order to discuss any aspect of their submissions or respond to any aspect of the written submissions made by other parties to this proceeding.

Presentations may be followed by questioning from members of the Commission panel and by Commission legal counsel where appropriate.

Participants may make use of audio-visual aids in their presentations (the duration of which must be included in participants’ allocated presentation time). Participants who wish to employ an audio-visual aid are to contact Jade Roy, Hearing Secretary, by e-mail at jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tel: 819-953-7927) by no later than Noon on 26 September 2018, since those participants will be required to make arrangements to rent technical equipment as required. To facilitate the interpretation of these audio-visual presentations, the Commission requests that participants provide, prior to their presentations, a transcript (2 copies) for the interpreters at the hearing. Please note that this transcript will not be added to the public record as it is solely for the use of the interpreters.

Persons requiring communications support during their presentation at the hearing, such as assistive listening devices and sign language interpretation, are requested to confirm with Jade Roy, Hearing Secretary, by e-mail at jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tel: 819-953-7927) at least 20 days before the commencement of the public hearing so that the necessary arrangements can be made.

Responsibility of the participants

Participants are required to have all relevant documentation accessible to them at the hearing and to be accompanied by individuals, including any relevant experts, who can fully address their arguments and answer questions. Failure to do so could result in the Commission making an adverse inference.

Participants are reminded that, in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure, only evidence in support of statements already on the record is admissible at the public hearing. Should a participant wish to bring forward new evidence, including proposed exhibits or attachments to the oral presentation, the party must notify the Hearing Secretary of its intention in advance of the oral presentation and must request permission to do so from the Commission panel at the beginning of their oral presentation.

For ease of translation and transcription, and to assist the Commission panel members and Commission staff, you are requested to bring 30 copies of:

Participants are requested to provide an electronic version of their remarks to the Hearing Secretary (jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca) and the stenographer prior to their oral presentation.

Notification of attendance and further inquiries

In order to assist the Commission, participants must file the following via e-mail at hearing@crtc.gc.ca, by Noon on 26 September 2018:

Please note that this information will not be posted on the Commission’s website.

 Undertakings

Should a participant be unable to respond to a question by the Commission panel or legal counsel at the hearing, the participant may be asked to undertake to file the information requested at a later date.

Participants’ undertakings must be filed by 1 November 2018 unless otherwise determined by the Commission panel. Undertakings will not be confirmed on the record at the end of the presentation. Any party who wishes to confirm the content of its undertakings may speak with Commission Legal Counsel.

Post-public hearing written submissions

As set out in the Notice of Consultation, parties may file final submissions in reply to submissions made by other parties on any matter within the scope of this proceeding by 9 November 2018. Final submissions, including an executive summary, are not to exceed 10 pages.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by
Claude Doucet
Secretary General

CRTC Regional Offices:

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road, Suite 1410

Montreal, Quebec
205-505, de Maisonneuve West

Regina, Saskatchewan
403-1975 Scarth Street

Vancouver, British Columbia
300-450 West Georgia Street

Attachments (2)

Date modified:

Télécom et Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 18 septembre 2018

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes, Avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246 – Organisation et déroulement de l’audience publique

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre de l’instance susmentionnée à compter du lundi 22 octobre 2018, au Centre de conférences, 140 promenade du Portage, Phase IV, Gatineau (Québec).

La présente lettre vise à informer les participants de diverses questions concernant l’organisation et le déroulement de l’audience publique.

Horaire

L’audience débutera à 9 h 00, le lundi 22 octobre 2018 et devrait durer 5 jours au plus.

L’ordre et la date prévue de comparution des parties qui ont indiqué au Conseil leur intention de comparaître sont indiqués dans le document ci-joint (Ordre du jour). Le Conseil ne modifiera pas l’ordre de comparution, sauf pour circonstance exceptionnelle.

Vous pouvez consulter l’ordre de comparution à l’audience publique sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse suivante: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/Telecom/fra/HEARINGS/2018/ag22_10.htm. L’information sera mise à jour avant l’audience, s’il y a lieu.

Les autres parties à l’instance et le public sont invités à faire partie de l’auditoire.

Les participants doivent surveiller le déroulement de l’audience afin d’être au courant des directives du Conseil et d’être prêts à faire leur exposé le jour prévu ou, le cas échéant, le jour précédant ou suivant la date de comparution prévue, selon la rapidité à laquelle se déroule l’audience. Pendant toute la durée de l’audience, une liaison audio sera offerte à partir du site Web du Conseil, à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca.

Transcriptions

Le Conseil a pris des dispositions avec International Reporting Inc. en vue de fournir des services de sténographie pour l’audience. Veuillez prendre note que la transcription de chaque jour sera affichée sur le site Web du Conseil le jour ouvrable suivant.

Présentations

Votre temps de présentation alloué est identifié dans le courriel accompagnant cette lettre.

Les participants peuvent profiter du temps alloué pour leur présentation pour discuter tout aspect de leurs commentaires ou pour répondre aux commentaires écrits faits par les autres parties lors du processus.

Les exposés pourraient être suivis de questions posées par les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil et par les conseillers juridiques, si nécessaire.

Les participants peuvent utiliser des supports audio-visuels dans le cadre de leurs  présentations (la durée de celles-ci doit être incluse dans le temps alloué à la présentation du participant). Ceux qui désirent le faire doivent envoyer un courriel à Jade Roy, secrétaire de l’audience, à l’adresse jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tél. : 819-953-7927) au plus tard à midi le 26 septembre 2018, puisque les participants doivent prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour louer le matériel technique, au besoin. Pour faciliter l’interprétation simultanée de ces présentations audiovisuelles, le Conseil demande aux participants de fournir, avant leur présentation, une transcription (en deux exemplaires) destinée aux interprètes de l’audience. Veuillez noter que cette transcription ne sera pas ajoutée au dossier public et qu’elle est destinée à l’usage exclusif des interprètes.

Les personnes qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communication lors de leur présentation à l’audience tels que les dispositifs techniques pour malentendants et l’interprétation gestuelle doivent en aviser Jade Roy, secrétaire de l’audience, à l’adresse jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tél. : 819-953-7927) au moins 20 jours avant le début de l’audience publique afin de permettre de prendre les dispositions nécessaires.

Responsabilité des participants

Les participants sont tenus d’avoir en leur possession toute la documentation pertinente lors de l’audience et d’être accompagnés des personnes capables de formuler leurs arguments et de répondre aux questions, y compris des témoins experts nécessaires. Votre défaut de ce faire pourrait conduire à une inférence défavorable du Conseil.

Le Conseil rappelle aux participants que, en vertu des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la seule preuve admissible lors d’une audience publique est celle faite à l’appui d’une allégation figurant déjà au dossier. Si un participant souhaite fournir un nouvel élément de preuve, y compris des pièces à l’appui ou des pièces jointes à ses observations orales, elle doit en informer la secrétaire de l’audience avant son exposé et demander au comité d’audition du Conseil l’autorisation de déposer ces documents au début de son exposé.

Afin de faciliter la traduction et la transcription, et pour aider les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil et le personnel du Conseil, vous êtes priés d’apporter 30 exemplaires des documents comme suit :

Le Conseil invite les participants à remettre à la secrétaire de l’audience (jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca) et au sténographe, avant leur exposé, une version électronique de leurs observations.

Notification de présence et demandes de renseignements complémentaires

Afin d’aider le Conseil, chaque participant doit déposer les renseignements ci-après par courriel à l’adresse audience@crtc.gc.ca, au plus tard à midi le 26 septembre 2018:

Veuillez noter que ces renseignements ne seront pas affichés sur le site Web du Conseil.

Engagements

Si un participant n’est pas en mesure de répondre à une question posée par le Comité d’audition ou le conseiller juridique à l’audience, il est possible que ceux-ci lui demande de s’engager à fournir l’information demandée à une date ultérieure.

Les engagements des participants doivent être déposés au plus tard le 1 novembre 2018, sauf indication contraire de la part du comité d’audition du Conseil. Les engagements ne seront pas confirmés au dossier à la fin de la présentation. Tout participant qui souhaite confirmer le contenu de ses engagements peut communiquer avec le conseiller juridique du Conseil.

Présentation d’observations écrites après l’audience publique

Tel qu’énoncé dans l’Avis de consultation, les parties peuvent déposer des observations finales en réplique aux commentaires faits à l’audience publique, et ce, sur toute question s’inscrivant dans le cadre de la présente instance, au plus tard le 9 novembre 2018. Les observations finales, y compris son sommaire exécutif, ne doit pas dépasser 10 pages.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.à

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Bureaux régionaux du CRTC :

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) Place Metropolitan,
99, chemin Wyse, suite 1410

Montréal (Québec)
505, boulevard De Maisonneuve ouest, bureau 205

Regina (Saskatchewan)
1975, rue Scarth, suite 403

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
300-450, rue West Georgia

Pièces jointes (2)

Date de modification :