Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 11 September 2018

Our references:  1011-NOC2018-0246

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE: Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers: Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246 - Procedural Request: Survey for Accessibility Groups

On 30 August 2018, the Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee, Canadian Association of the Deaf, Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind, and Deafness Access Advocacy Nova Scotia (collectively “DWCC et al.”) requested an extension of time to conduct a quadrilingual survey in English, French, ASL and LSQ  to obtain the views and stories of Deaf, Deaf-Blind and Hard of Hearing (DDBHH) Canadians about misleading sales practices that are related to accessibility and language barriers. DWCC et al. submitted that the Commission’s survey used complicated language and argued that this justified their proposal to create a simplified French and English survey to run alongside their ASL and LSQ survey.

DWCC et al. proposed to file their survey on 12 October 2018, 10 days before the start of the hearing. DWCC et al. also sought the Commission’s input on the wording and methodology of its proposed survey.

The Commission grants DWCC et al.’s request for an extension to file a report relating to the ASL and LSQ survey by no later than 12 October 2018.

However, the Commission is of the view that DWCC et al.’s proposal to conduct a simplified form of the Commission’s English and French survey duplicates existing efforts and would not materially contribute to the Commission’s understanding of the issues. The Commission provides no other comment on the content or methodology of the DWCC et al.’s proposed survey, including the draft survey questions submitted with their procedural request.

The Commission notes that all parties may address this report during their hearing presentation or in their final written replies.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

cc: Distribution list

Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Chair, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
Frank Folino, President, Canadian Association of the Deaf - Association des Sourds du Canada

Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 11 septembre 2018

Nos références : 1011-NOC2018-0246

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes : Avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246 – Demande procédurale de CSSC et coll. : Sondage pour les groupes d’accessibilité

Madame Anderson-Kellett, Monsieur Folino,

Le 30 août 2018, le Comité pour les Services Sans fil des Sourds du Canada (CSSSC), l’Association des Sourds du Canada, Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind, et Deafness Access Advocacy Nova Scotia (collectivement CSSSC et coll.) ont demandé une prolongation du délai leur permettant de déposer au dossier public les résultats d’un sondage quadrilingue en français, anglais, LSQ et ASL  afin d’obtenir les opinions et histoires de Canadiens sourds, sourd-aveugles, ou malentendant au sujet des pratiques de vente trompeuse reliées à l’accessibilité ou à des barrières linguistiques. CSSSC et coll. ont soumis que le sondage du Conseil utilise un niveau de langage trop complexe et ont exprimé l’avis que cela justifie leur proposition de créer un sondage en français et anglais simplifié en plus d’un sondage en LS et ASL.

CSSSC et coll. ont proposé de déposer ce rapport le 12 octobre 2018, 10 jours avant le début de l’audience. CSSSC et coll. ont aussi demandé au Conseil un avis sur la formulation et la méthodologie du sondage proposé.

Le Conseil accorde la demande de prolongation de CSSSC et coll. en vue  du dépôt du sondage en LSQ et ASL au plus tard le 12 octobre 2018.

Le Conseil est d’avis que la proposition de CSSSC et coll. de mener une version du sondage du Conseil en français et anglais simplifiés dédouble les efforts existants et ne contribuerait pas matériellement à la compréhension des enjeux par le Conseil. Le Conseil ne prend pas position quant au contenu ou à la méthodologie du sondage proposé par CSSSC et coll., incluant l’ébauche de questions soumise avec leurs requêtes procédurales.

Le Conseil note que toutes les parties pourront adresser ce rapport lors de leur présentation dans le cadre de l’audience ou dans leurs répliques finales.

Veuillez agréer, Madame Anderson-Kellett, Monsieur Folino, mes salutations distinguées.

L’original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c.c. :    Liste de distribution

Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Chair, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
Frank Folino, President, Canadian Association of the Deaf - Association des Sourds du Canada

Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.

Date de modification :