Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to TNW Wireless Inc.

Ottawa, 30 August 2018

Our reference: 8620-R63-201705675

BY EMAIL

Mr. Lawry Trevor-Deutsch
President
TNW Wireless Inc.
468 Pleasant Park Road
Ottawa, ON  K1H 5N1
lawry.trevor@tnwcorp.com

Re:   Part 1 application by TNW Wireless Inc. relating to wholesale roaming agreements required under Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-177Footnote1 - Procedural matter

Dear Mr. Trevor-Deutsch:

On 27 August 2018, TNW Wireless Inc. (TNW Wireless) filed responses to Commission staff requests for information issued on 13 July 2018. In filing its response, TNW Wireless indicated that it was providing responses to questions 1 to 11 under separate cover and to the Commission on a confidential basis. The company claimed that the information was either company confidential in nature, or involved information and/or correspondence about or with third parties covered under confidentiality agreements.

In accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961,Footnote2 at the time a party files information that it designates as confidential, it must provide 1) an abridged version of the document along with an explanation of how the information falls into a category of information listed in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and 2) a detailed rationale as to why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest, whether the disclosure would result in specific, direct harm to TNW Wireless, and why the harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. Please note that generic statements such as “the release of this information to competitors would result in specific, direct harm to the company” are not sufficient. However, the Commission will generally accept as reasons a statement that the information is of a type listed in the appendix to Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961.

Accordingly, TNW Wireless is required to file with the Commission by 4 September 2018, sending a copy to all parties to this proceeding, a version of its responses to questions 1 to 11 for the public record. In addition, in filing the abridged version, TNW Wireless must provide an explanation of how the information falls into the categories listed in section 39 as well as a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Christine Brock for

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Julie Boisvert, CRTC, (819) 953-2421, julie.boisvert@crtc.gc.ca
Christine Brock, CRTC, (819) 997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor Média inc. dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), jlawford@piac.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à TNW Wireless Inc.

Ottawa, le 30 août 2018

Notre référence : 8620-R63-201705675

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Lawry Trevor-Deutsch
Président
TNW Wireless Inc.
468, chemin Pleasant Park
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 5N1
lawry.trevor@tnwcorp.com

Objet :  Demande aux termes de la partie 1 présentée par TNW Wireless Inc. concernant les ententes d’itinérance de gros exigées par la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-177Note de bas de page1 – Question de procédure

Monsieur,

Le 27 août 2018, TNW Wireless Inc. (TNW Wireless) a déposé des réponses aux demandes de renseignements publiées par le personnel du Conseil le 13 juillet 2018. Dans sa réponse, TNW Wireless a indiqué qu’elle fournissait les réponses aux questions 1 à 11 sous pli séparé, et qu’elle les fournissait au Conseil à titre confidentiel. La compagnie a affirmé que les renseignements étaient des renseignements de nature confidentielle de la compagnie ou qu’ils comprenaient des renseignements ou de la correspondance sur ou avec des parties tierces qui font l’objet d’entente de confidentialité.

Conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes et au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961Note de bas de page2, en déposant un renseignement qu’elle désigne comme confidentiel, une partie à une instance doit 1) fournir une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une note qui explique en quoi le renseignement qui a été éliminé correspond à l’une des catégories énumérées à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications; et 2) exposer les raisons pour lesquelles la communication de ce renseignement ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, si la divulgation du renseignement risque de causer directement un préjudice précis à TNW Wireless, et en quoi ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public. Veuillez noter que les généralités du type « la divulgation de ces renseignements occasionnerait un préjudice direct à la compagnie » sont inadéquates. Toutefois, le Conseil consentira généralement à accepter une déclaration selon laquelle le renseignement s’apparente à l’un de ceux qui sont énumérés dans la liste annexée au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961.

En conséquence, TNW Wireless est tenue de déposer auprès du Conseil une version de ses réponses aux questions 1 à 11 pour le dossier public, en envoyant un exemplaire à toutes les parties à cette instance, et ce, au plus tard le 4 septembre 2018. De plus, en déposant la version abrégée, TNW Wireless doit fournir une note qui explique en quoi le renseignement qui a été éliminé correspond à l’une des catégories énumérées à l’article 39 et exposer les raisons pour lesquelles la communication de ce renseignement ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par Christine Brock pour

John Macri
Directeur, Cadre de politiques
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Julie Boisvert, CRTC, 819-953-2421, julie.boisvert@crtc.gc.ca
Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor Média inc. dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP), jlawford@piac.ca

Date de modification :