Telecom Procedural Letter adressed to Ms. Sue Decker (Canadian Administrator of Video Relay Service (CAV), Inc.)

Ottawa, 23 August 2018

Our reference: 8698-C209-201805657

BY EMAIL

Ms. Sue Decker
Executive Director
Canadian Administrator of Video Relay Service (CAV), Inc.
1102-200 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1L5
sdecker@cav-acs.ca   

Subject:  Filing of Canadian Administrator of VRS (CAV), Inc. 2019 Annual Budget

Dear Ms. Decker:

This correspondence is further to the Part 1 Application that CAV filed on 25 July 2018 requesting funding from the National Contribution Fund, in order to operate Video Relay Service (VRS) in Canada during the 2019 operating year.

After reviewing the Part 1 Application, Commission staff would like to develop a better understanding of CAV’s operations. Accordingly, staff requests that CAV respond to the attached requests for information. CAV is to file its responses with the Commission by 7 September 2018.

To allow interveners an opportunity to comment on CAV’s responses, Commission staff is extending the date for filing submissions in relation to the Part 1 Application to 14 September 2018.

Procedural information

This letter and all subsequent correspondence form part of a public record. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person claiming confidentiality with respect to information submitted must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Bradley Gaudet at Bradley.Gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

Enclosure

c.c. Bradley Gaudet, CRTC, Bradley.Gaudet@crtc.gc.ca


Requests for Information

Q1. Paragraph 2 of the Part 1 Application indicates that, during the period April to June 2018, the system handled 116,425 calls where the average call length was 5.2 minutes, for a total of 1,940 hours of calls. Staff requests confirmation as to whether a mathematical error has occurred, as 116,425 X 5.2 / 60 = 10,091 rather than 1,940.

Q2. The Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on the SRV Canada VRS website indicates that it is not yet possible to register a business, organization, government or school for an account and a 10-digit number. However, effective July 18, 2018, CAV has begun allowing customers to register for a 2nd account and get a 10-digit VRS number for their business use.

  1. Can you confirm that CAV has begun allowing customers to register for a second account for their business use? 
  2. How many customers have registered for a second number?
  3. What are CAV’s future plans to allow businesses, organizations, governments or schools to register for an account?
  4. In forecasting 6,600 users by 2018 year-end, would customers signing up for a second account be recorded as one user or two users?

Q3. Paragraph 12(b) of the Part 1 Application indicates that, for other expenses, the net surplus of $741,490 exceeds the 2018 contingencies, which were $1,432,848 in the 2018 budget, by $550,000. Explain how CAV arrived at $550,000.

Q4. Paragraph 48 of the Part 1 Application indicates that CAV anticipates a total of five full time staff (four employees and one contractor) in 2018. The paragraph also suggests that salaries of four of the staff members are reported as wage expense while the salary for the COO/CFO is reported as professional services.

Are there any other positions, part-time or term, whose salaries are reported as wage expense? If so, what are these positions?

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Madame Sue Decker (Administrateur canadien du service de relais vidéo inc. (ACS))

Ottawa, le 23 août 2018

Notre référence : 8698-C209-201805657

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Sue Decker
Directrice exécutive
Administrateur canadien du service de relais vidéo inc. (ACS)
1102-200, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 1L5
sdecker@cav-acs.ca 

Objet : Dépôt du budget annuel pour 2019 de l’Administrateur canadien du service de relais vidéo inc. (ACS)

Madame Decker,

La présente correspondance fait suite à la demande Partie 1 soumise par l’ACS le 25 juillet 2018 pour obtenir un financement provenant du Fonds de contribution national afin d’exploiter le service de relais vidéo (SRV) au Canada au cours de l’année d’exploitation 2019.

Après avoir examiné la demande Partie 1, les membres du Conseil souhaitent mieux comprendre comment l’ACS sera exploité. Par conséquent, ils demandent à l’ACS de répondre aux demandes de renseignements ci­jointes. L’ACS doit déposer ses réponses auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 7 septembre 2018.

Afin de donner aux intervenants l’occasion de formuler des commentaires sur les réponses de l’ACS, les membres du Conseil reportent la date limite pour déposer les mémoires liés à la demande Partie 1 au 14 septembre 2018.

Renseignements sur la procédure

La présente lettre et toute correspondance ultérieure font partie d’un dossier public. Comme le précise le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010­961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Les personnes qui présentent une demande de traitement confidentiel en ce qui a trait aux renseignements fournis doivent soumettre une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une justification expliquant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.
Toutes les soumissions doivent être effectuées conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (DORS/2010­277).

Si vous avez des questions concernant la présente lettre, veuillez communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet à l’adresse Bradley.Gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, mes salutations distinguées.

Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique

Nanao Kachi

Pièce jointe

c.c. Bradley Gaudet, CRTC, Bradley.Gaudet@crtc.gc.ca


Demandes de renseignements

Q1. Le paragraphe 2 de la demande Partie 1 indique que d’avril à juin 2018, le système a traité 116 425 appels et que la durée moyenne des appels était de 5,2 minutes, soit un total de 1 940 heures d’appel. Les membres du Conseil demandent que l’on confirme si une erreur mathématique est survenue, car 116 425 X 5,2 / 60 = 10 091 au lieu de 1 940.

Q2. La foire aux questions (FAQ) sur le site Web de SRV Canada VRS indique qu’il n’est pas encore possible d’inscrire une entreprise, une organisation ou une école pour obtenir un compte et un numéro à dix chiffres. Cependant, à compter du 18 juillet 2018, l’ACS a commencé à permettre aux clients de s’inscrire pour obtenir un deuxième compte et avoir un numéro SRV à dix chiffres pour leur usage professionnel.

  1. Pouvez-vous confirmer que l’ACS a commencé à permettre aux clients de s’inscrire pour obtenir un deuxième compte pour leur usage professionnel?
  2. Combien de clients se sont inscrits?
  3. Quels sont les plans futurs de l’ACS pour permettre aux clients, aux organisations, aux gouvernements ou aux écoles de s’inscrire pour obtenir un compte?
  4. Si l’on prévoit 6 600 utilisateurs d’ici la fin de l’année 2018, les clients qui s’inscrivent pour obtenir un deuxième compte seraient-ils enregistrés à titre d’un ou de deux utilisateurs?

Q3. Le paragraphe 12(b) de la demande Partie 1 indique que pour les autres dépenses, l’excédent net de 741 490 $ dépasse de 550 000 $ les réserves pour éventualités pour 2018, qui étaient de 1 432 848 $ dans le budget de 2018. Expliquez comment l’ACS est arrivé au chiffre de 550 000 $.

Q4. Le paragraphe 48 de la demande Partie 1 indique que l’ACS prévoit embaucher cinq employés à temps plein (quatre employés et un entrepreneur) au total en 2018. Le paragraphe suggère également que les salaires des employés seront déclarés comme une dépense de salaire tandis que le salaire du chef de l’exploitation et dirigeant principal des finances sera déclaré comme des services professionnels.

Y a-t-il d’autres postes (employés nommés pour une période déterminée ou à temps partiel) dont les salaires sont déclarés comme des dépenses de salaire? Dans l’affirmative, quels sont ces postes?

Date de modification :