Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 17 August 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0105

BY E-MAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: Request for information related to Next-generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) network design efficiencies

Dear Madam/Sir:

In Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-105, Next-generation 9-1-1 network design efficiencies, dated 26 March 2018, the Commission initiated a proceeding to examine matters related to Next-Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) network design efficiencies, including roles and responsibilities related to the provision of location information servers and customer information databases, NG9-1-1 network components that could be shared, and efficient interconnection arrangements.

In order to assist the Commission in its consideration of the issues set out in the Notice of Consultation, information is being requested from all large incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs) and small ILECs, as well as from other telecommunication service providers who provide 9-1-1 services (TSPs) and have intervened in this proceeding, either directly or through an association (collectively, the TSP intervenors). To support a common understanding, background information is provided in Appendix 1. The questions are then set out in Appendix 2. The responses to these questions must be filed via My CRTC Account by 17 September 2018.  Parties may file reply comments by 1 October 2018. Footnote1

It is Commission staff’s understanding that the location (e.g. city/town) of the existing 9-1-1 points of interconnection (POIs), as well as the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, are not publicly disclosed by the 9-1-1 network operators for security reasons.  Notwithstanding the sensitivity of this information, Commission staff is of the view that knowledge of the location of these POIs could greatly assist parties in providing their responses. 

As such, it is requested that this information be appropriately shared with TSP intervenors upon request.

Responses are to be submitted in a single document in order to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing.  Parties may choose to coordinate, organize, and file, their responses in conjunction with other parties who share their positions.  These responses will be published on the Commission’s website under the file number identified above.

As set out in section 39 of the Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential.  A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation as to why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure.  Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Should any questions related to these requests arise, please contact Mylène Germain by email at mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Mylène Germain, CRTC, 819-635-4538, mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca;
James Ndirangu, CRTC 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca.

Attach.

Distribution List

cedwards@ccsaonline.ca; Regulatory@sjrb.ca; regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; patrick.desy@quebecor.com; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; simon.desrochers@cogeco.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Appendix 1: Background information

When Canadians request 9-1-1 emergency assistance, in order for their request to reach the Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) which serves the area where the call originates, a number of networks must be interconnected, at various POIs.

The networks on which all 9-1-1 emergency requests originate are known as the originating networks, and are operated by TSPsFootnote2 who provide 9-1-1 services.  These TSPs, including ILECs and small ILECs, will have the obligation to provide their end users with access to NG9-1-1 network(s) in their operating territories (herein referred to as the NG9-1-1 retail obligation).  This access will be provided by transiting the TSP’s NG9-1-1 traffic to NG9-1-1 POIs where the TSP’s originating network is interconnected with the NG9-1-1 network(s), which is in turn connected to the PSAP(s) serving the originating network’s footprint.  

As set out TRP 2017-182, and amended in TD 2018-188, the Commission defined the boundaries of the NG9-1-1 network as beginning at and including the POIs between the originating networks and the NG9-1-1 networks, and ending at the demarcation points between the NG9-1-1 networks and the primary and secondary PSAPs.  The main purpose of the NG9-1-1 network is to route the 9-1-1 emergency requests from the TSP’s originating network to the appropriate PSAP, that is, the PSAP which serves the area from which the emergency request originates. 

In TRP 2017-182, the Commission mandated ILECs, including small ILECs, to provide NG9-1-1 networks in their serving territories, in order to offer TSPs who operate within their incumbent territory wholesale access to their NG9-1-1 networks wherever provincial, territorial, and/or municipal governments have established PSAPs (herein referred to as the NG9-1-1 wholesale obligation). All ILECs, regardless of whether they outsource some or all of their NG9-1-1 network functionality, are considered to be NG9-1-1 network providers.

Further, in TRP 2017-182, the Commission determined that NG9-1-1 networks were to be interconnected to form a national network of networks.  In TD 2018-217, the Commission also approved recommendations from the CRTC Interconnection Steering Committee (CISC) relating to these interconnections, where each NG9-1-1 network (ESInet) is connected to every other ESInet, (herein referred to as the as ESInet-to-ESInet interconnection obligation), using geo-redundant POIs with a physical separation of at least 100 km. 

ILECs can meet their obligations to provide an NG9-1-1 network either directly, by building their own NG9-1-1 network and POIs (self-provisioning), or indirectly, by outsourcing NG9-1-1 functionality to another ILEC (outsourcing).  

Appendix 2: Questions for TSP intervenors

In answering the following questions, justify your response with supporting evidence and rationale.

To large and small ILECs

  1. Submit the number and location (e.g. city/town) of all current 9-1-1 POIs. For each POI, indicate which are used to interconnect with TSPs’ originating networks, and which are used to interconnect with other ILECs. In the case of POIs that are used to interconnect with other small or large ILECs, indicate the name of the ILEC(s).
  2. Submit the annual cost to transit 9-1-1 traffic (i.e. 9-1-1 voice trunks) from the small ILECs’ territory to the current 9-1-1 POIs, on a per small ILEC basis.
  3. In applying the NG9-1-1 regulatory framework in conjunction with the large ILEC’s proposed interconnection framework, small ILECs would be required to:
    1. provide their end users access to their NG9-1-1 network in order to route 9-1-1 emergency requests to the appropriate PSAP, using a minimum of two geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIsFootnote3 designated to interconnect their originating network with their NG9-1-1 network;
    2. provide TSPs who operate within their territory with wholesale access to their NG9-1-1 network and using a minimum of two geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIs designated for the TSP’s originating network to interconnect with their NG9-1-1 network, in order to route 9-1-1 emergency requests to the appropriate PSAP;
    3. determine whether additional POIs are to be provided and determine the location of the these POIs;
    4. connect their NG9-1-1 ESInets with all the other ESInets in a geo-redundant fashion, using NG9-1-1 POIs designated for this interconnection; and
    5. assume the cost to transit their retail and wholesale NG9-1-1 traffic to the NG9-1-1 POIs.

    As part of their outsourcing arrangement with a large ILEC, a small ILEC may opt to designate its NG9-1-1 POIs as their neighboring large ILEC’s NG9-1-1 POIs for the above-mentioned interconnections.

    The large ILECs submitted that POIs represent a significant portion of the upfront and ongoing costs for NG9-1-1 networks and that significantly reducing the number of POIs will increase their network efficiency thereby reducing NG9-1-1 costs, for themselves and for the interconnecting parties. Conversely, small ILECs submitted that because the proposed geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIs would, in most cases, be located further away than their current POIs, their cost to transit their 9-1-1 traffic to these POIs would increase, and their network efficiency would decrease. In addition, the small ILECs submitted that they have a smaller retail and wholesale base from which to recover the increased NG9-1-1 transit costs, which would results in higher rates for their retail and wholesale customers. Further, the small ILECs’ NG9-1-1 networks must be interconnected with the neighboring large ILEC’s NG9-1-1 network in order to meet their (i) retail and wholesale obligations, given that most small ILECs’ end users are served by PSAPs located outside of their territory and therefore connected to the large ILEC’s NG9-1-1 network, and (ii) ESInet-to ESI-net interconnection obligations. For these reasons, the small ILECs submitted that it is appropriate to maintain a shared-cost transit agreement, with the neighboring large ILEC, as is the case in Enhanced 9-1-1. 

    1. Submit the estimated annual cost for small ILECs to transit their NG9-1-1 traffic (i.e. NG9-1-1 i3-compliant IP trunks) from their territory to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, on a per small ILEC basis.
    2. Should the Commission see fit to balance network efficiencies and costs between small and large ILECs, and if a small ILEC was to interconnect with its neighboring large ILEC at the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, comment on the appropriateness of using a shared-cost transit model.  In this model, the cost for the facilities used to transit the NG9-1-1 traffic to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs would be shared, where the small ILEC would be responsible for the cost to transit their NG9-1-1 traffic to the border of their serving territory or a mutually agreed upon point, and their neighboring large ILECs would be responsible for the cost to transit the traffic from this point to their proposed NG9-1-1 POIs.
    3. Assuming that the model identified in (b) was adopted, should all small ILECs be eligible or should only certain small ILECs qualify for cost sharing? If the latter, what criteria should be used to determine whether a small ILEC qualifies (e.g. based on telecommunications operating revenues, based on subscriber counts, based on transit distance to NG9-1-1 POIs, based on costs, etc.). If so, what should those threshold values be?  
    4. Assuming that the model identified in (b) was adopted, comment on whether some form of transition regime is required to deal with situations where a small ILEC no longer meets the criteria proposed in c) above and, if so, how that transition regime should be structured.
    5. Assuming that the model identified in (b) was adopted, comment on whether the boundary to the small ILEC’s territory, a mutually agreed point, or another delineation should be used.
    6. Assuming that the model identified in (b) was adopted, submit the estimated annual cost for which the small and large ILECs would be responsible, respectively, for the transit of the small ILEC’s NG9-1-1 traffic (i.e. NG9-1-1 i3-compliant IP trunks) from their territory to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, on a per small ILEC basis.

    To TSPs

  4. Submit the annual cost to transit your 9-1-1 traffic (i.e. 9-1-1 voice trunks) from your territory to the existing 9-1-1 POIs, on a per large ILEC basis.
  5. Submit the estimated annual cost to transit your NG9-1-1 traffic (i.e. NG9-1-1 i3-compliant IP trunks) from your territory to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, for each large ILEC.

  6. To large ILECs and TSPs

  7. In their joint intervention to this proceeding, the large ILECsFootnote4 proposed an interconnection framework between the TSPs’ originating networks and the NG9-1-1 networks, whereby:
    1. NG9-1-1 network providers provide a minimum of two geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIs, determine whether additional POIs are to be provided and determine the location of the these POIs within their serving territory;
    2. geo-redundant POIs are defined as having a physical separation of at least 100 km;
    3. TSPs interconnect with each NG9-1-1 network that they must interconnect with at a minimum of two geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIs using diverse paths to reach the POIs;
    4. NG9-1-1 traffic is delivered in a localized fashion;Footnote5 and
    5. TSPs are responsible for the cost to transit their NG9-1-1 traffic to the POIs, as is the case for E9-1-1.

    The large ILECs submitted that these POIs represent a significant portion of the upfront and ongoing costs for NG9-1-1 networks and that significantly reducing the number of POIs will increase their network efficiency thereby reducing NG9-1-1 costs for themselves and the interconnecting parties. Conversely, some TSPs submitted that because there are fewer geo-redundant NG9-1-1 POIs to choose from, and because these POIs would, in most cases, be located further away than their current POIs, that their cost to transit their NG9-1-1 traffic to these POIs will increase, which decreases their network’s efficiency.

    1. Should the Commission see fit to balance network efficiencies and costs between NG9-1-1 network providers and smaller TSPs, comment on the appropriateness of using a shared-cost transit model. In this model, the cost for the facilities used to transit the NG9-1-1 traffic to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs would be shared, where TSPs would be responsible for the cost to transit their NG9-1-1 traffic to the border of their territory or a mutually agreed upon point, and the large ILEC would be responsible for the cost to transit the traffic from this point to their proposed NG9-1-1 POI(s).
    2. Assuming that the model identified in (a) was adopted, should all TSPs be eligible or should only certain TSPs qualify for cost sharing? If the latter, what criteria should be used to determine whether a TSP qualifies (e.g. based on telecommunications operating revenues, based on subscriber counts, based on transit distance to NG9-1-1 POIs, based on costs, etc.). If so what should those threshold values be?  
    3. Assuming that the model identified in (a) was adopted, comment on whether some form of transition regime is required to deal with situations where a TSP no longer meets the criteria proposed in (b) above and, if so how that transition regime should be structured.
    4. Assuming that the model identified in (a) was adopted, comment on how to define a TSP’s boundary as TSPs’ serving territories may not be contiguous and may evolve over time.  If the serving territory boundary is not a practical delineation, propose other solutions.
    5. Assuming that the model identified in (a) was adopted, submit the estimated annual cost for which the eligible TSPs and the large ILECs would be responsible, respectively, for the transit of the TSP’s NG9-1-1 traffic (i.e. NG9-1-1 i3-compliant IP trunks) from their territory to the proposed NG9-1-1 POIs, on a per large ILEC basis.

    To TSP intervenors

  8. In order to balance NG9-1-1 network efficiencies and cost effectiveness for TSPs and small and large ILECs, another solution could be requiring the large ILECs to establish additional NG9-1-1 POIs for the interconnection of TSPs and small ILECs.
    1. Comment on whether it would be appropriate to establish POIs, in addition to those proposed by the large ILECs, for interconnection with either TSPs or small ILECs, as an alternative to the shared-cost transit model contemplated in the questions 3 and 6 above;
    2. Propose the number and location (e.g. city/town) of additional POIs that would likely balance the costs from large ILECs, TSPs and small ILECs, as an alternative to the shared cost approach. Please provide supporting evidence and rationale for each POI proposed.

    To large ILECs

  9. Submit the estimated costs for a typical NG9-1-1 POI and for any additional NG9-1-1 POI(s) which you propose in 7(b). 
  10. In your reply to the parties’ responses, submit the estimated cost for each additional NG9-1-1 POI proposed by parties in 7.b.

  11. To small ILECs

  12. Small ILECs have indicated that CityWest and TBaytel have PSAPs within their territory.  In TD 2018-188, the Commission defined a secondary PSAP as being a PSAP to which NG9-1-1 calls are transferred from a primary PSAP and which is directly interconnected to an NG9-1-1 network allowing for the receipt and display of NG9-1-1 call data.  In light of this definition, indicate whether there are any secondary PSAPs within each of the small ILECs’ incumbent territory, and if so, provide a list them and indicate in which small ILECs’ incumbent territory they are located. 
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 17 août 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0105

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements sur les gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG)

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-105, Gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération, 26 mars 2018, le Conseil a amorcé une instance en vue d’effectuer un examen des questions concernant les gains d’efficacité liés à la conception des réseaux 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG), y compris les rôles et les responsabilités liés à la fourniture de serveurs de données de localisation et de bases de données sur les clients, les composantes des réseaux 9-1-1 PG qui pourraient être partagées et les accords d’interconnexion efficaces.

Afin d’aider le Conseil à examiner les questions énoncées dans l’avis de consultation, on demande à toutes les grandes entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT) et petites ESLT ainsi qu’aux fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) qui offrent des services 9-1-1 et qui sont intervenus dans cette instance, directement ou par l’entremise d’une association, (collectivement les intervenants FST) de fournir des renseignements. Afin de supporter une compréhension commune, des renseignements généraux sont présentés à l’annexe 1, tandis que les questions sont énoncées à l’annexe 2. Les réponses à ces questions doivent être déposées au moyen du service Mon compte CRTC au plus tard le 17 septembre 2018. Les parties peuvent déposer des observations en réplique jusqu’au 1er octobre 2018. Note de bas de page1

Le personnel du Conseil comprend que l’emplacement (p. ex. ville/village) des points d’interconnexion (PI) 9-1-1 existants, ainsi que les PI 9-1-1 PG proposés, ne sont pas divulgués au public par les opérateurs du réseau 9-1-1 pour des raisons de sécurité. Cela dit, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la divulgation de l’emplacement de ces PI pourrait aider grandement les parties à fournir leurs réponses. Il est donc demandé que cette information soit transmise, sur demande et de façon appropriée, aux intervenants FST.

Les réponses doivent être soumises dans un seul document afin de faciliter l’accès et le traitement administratif. Les parties peuvent choisir de coordonner, d’organiser et de déposer leurs réponses avec d’autres parties qui partagent leur opinion. Ces réponses seront affichées sur le site Web du Conseil au moyen du numéro de dossier indiqué ci-dessus.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi et dans le bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi ces renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public qu’ils soient divulgués, en précisant pourquoi leur divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct plus important que l’intérêt qu’elle présenterait pour le public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Si vous avez des questions concernant ces demandes, veuillez communiquer avec Mylène Germain par courrier à l’adresse mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincères salutations.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Mylène Germain, CRTC, 819-635-4538, mylene.germain@crtc.gc.ca;
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca.

Pièce jointe

Liste de distribution

cedwards@ccsaonline.ca; Regulatory@sjrb.ca; regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; patrick.desy@quebecor.com; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; simon.desrochers@cogeco.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Annexe 1 : Renseignements généraux

Lorsque les Canadiens demandent de l’aide d’urgence 9-1-1, un certain nombre de réseaux doivent être interconnectés, à divers PI, afin que leur demande parvienne au centre d’appels de la sécurité publique (CASP) qui dessert la région d’où provient l’appel.

Les réseaux sur lesquels toutes les demandes d’urgence 9-1-1 proviennent sont appelés des réseaux d’origine et sont exploités par les FSTNote de bas de page2 qui offrent des services 9-1-1. Ces FST, y compris les ESLT et les petites ESLT, seront dans l’obligation de fournir à leurs utilisateurs finals un accès au(x) réseau(x) 9-1-1 PG dans leurs territoires d’exploitation (ci-après appelée l’obligation de détail 9-1-1 PG). Cet accès sera fourni en acheminant le trafic des réseaux 9-1-1 PG du FST aux PI 9-1-1 PG où le réseau d’origine du FST est interconnecté avec le ou les réseaux 9-1-1 PG qui, en retour, sont connectés au CASP qui dessert la zone de couverture du réseau d’origine.

Tel qu’il a été établi dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2017-182 et modifié dans la décision de télécom 2018-188, le Conseil a défini que les limites des réseaux 9-1-1 PG commencent aux PI entre les réseaux d’origine et les réseaux 9-1-1 PG (et incluent ces points d’interconnexion), et vont jusqu’aux points de démarcation entre les réseaux 9-1-1 PG et les CASP primaires et secondaires. L’objectif principal du réseau 9-1-1 PG est d’acheminer les demandes d’urgence 9-1-1 du réseau d’origine du FST au CASP approprié, c.-à-d. le CASP qui dessert la région d’où provient la demande d’urgence.

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2017-182, le Conseil a exigé que les ESLT, y compris les petites ESLT, fournissent des réseaux 9-1-1 PG dans leurs territoires de desserte, afin d’offrir aux FST qui exercent leurs activités dans le territoire de desserte de l’entreprise titulaire un accès de gros à ces réseaux où les administrations provinciales, territoriales ou municipales ont établi des CASP (ci-après appelée l’obligation de gros 9-1-1 PG). Toutes les ESLT, peu importe si elles donnent en sous-traitance une partie ou la totalité des fonctions de leurs réseaux 9-1-1 PG, sont considérées comme des fournisseurs de réseaux 9-1-1 PG.

De plus, dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2017-182, le Conseil a déterminé que les réseaux 9-1-1 PG doivent être interconnectés pour former un réseau national de réseaux. Dans la décision de télécom 2018-217, le Conseil a également approuvé les recommandations du Comité directeur du CRTC sur l’interconnexion (CDCI) concernant ces interconnexions, selon lesquelles chaque réseau 9-1-1 PG (ESInet) est connecté à tout autre ESInet, (ci-après appelée l’obligation d’interconnexion ESInet à ESInet) en utilisant des PI géoredondants et à une distance d’au moins 100 km entre eux.

Les ESLT peuvent respecter leurs obligations de fournir un réseau 9-1-1 PG soit directement, en créant leur propre réseau 9-1-1 PG, soit indirectement, en donnant en sous-traitance les fonctions de leurs réseaux 9-1-1 PG à une autre ESLT (impartition).

Annexe 2 : Questions pour les intervenants FST

Veuillez répondre aux questions suivantes en fournissant une justification et des preuves à l’appui.

Aux grandes et petites ESLT

  1. Soumettre le nombre et l’emplacement (p. ex. ville/village) de tous les PI 9-1-1 actuels. Pour chaque PI, indiquer s’il permet l’interconnexion avec les réseaux d’origine du FST ou s’il permet l’interconnexion avec d’autres ESLT. Dans le cas des PI qui permettent l’interconnexion avec d’autres petites ou grandes ESLT, indiquer le nom de cette ou de ces ESLT.
  2. Soumettre le coût annuel pour le transit du trafic 9-1-1 (c.-à-d. les circuits à fréquences vocales 9-1-1) depuis le territoire des petites ESLT jusqu’aux PI 9-1-1 actuels, pour chacune des petites ESLT.
  3. En appliquant le cadre réglementaire 9-1-1 PG en conjonction avec le cadre d’interconnexion proposé par les grandes ESLT, les petites ESLT seraient tenues de faire ce qui suit :
    1. fournir à leur utilisateurs finals un accès à leur réseau 9-1-1 PG afin d’acheminer les demandes d’urgence 9-1-1 au CASP approprié en utilisant un minimum de deux PI 9-1-1 PG géoredondantsNote de bas de page3 désignés à l’interconnexion entre leur réseau d’origine et leur réseau 9-1-1 PG;
    2. offrir aux FST qui exercent leurs activités dans leur territoire de desserte un accès de gros à ces réseaux 9-1-1 PG et utiliser au moins deux PI 9-1-1 PG géoredondants désignés pour l’interconnexion des réseaux d’origine des FST avec leur réseau 9-1-1 PG, afin d’acheminer les demandes d’urgence au CASP approprié; 
    3. déterminent si des PI supplémentaires doivent être fournis et déterminent quel est l’emplacement de ces PI;
    4. connecter leur ESInet 9-1-1 PG avec tous les autres ESInets de manière géoredondante, en utilisant des PI 9-1-1 PG désignés pour cette interconnexion; et
    5. assumer les coûts associé au transit de leur trafic 9-1-1 PG de détail et de gros jusqu’aux PI 9-1-1 PG.

    Dans le cadre de son entente de sous-traitance avec une grande ESLT, une petite ESLT peut choisir de désigner ses PI 9-1-1 PG comme ceux de sa grande ESLT avoisinante pour les interconnexions susmentionnées.

    Les grandes ESLT ont fait valoir que ces PI représentent une bonne partie des coûts initiaux et permanents pour les réseaux 9-1-1 PG et que réduire considérablement le nombre de PI augmentera l’efficacité de leur réseau, contribuant ainsi à réduire les coûts 9-1-1 PG, pour eux-mêmes et pour les parties interconnectées.  Inversement, les petites ESLT ont indiqué qu’étant donné que les PI 9-1-1 PG proposé sont, dans la plupart des cas, situés plus loin que leurs PI actuels, leurs coûts pour transiter leur trafic 9-1-1 PG augmenteraient, et l’efficacité de leur réseau serait réduite.  De plus, les petites ESLT ont indiqué qu’elles ont une plus petite base de détail et de gros de qui recouvrer les coûts accrus, ce qui augmenterait les frais de leurs clients de détail et de gros.  Par ailleurs, les réseaux 9-1-1 PG des petites ESLT doivent être interconnecté avec ceux de la grande ESLT avoisinante, afin qu’elles rencontrent leurs obligations (i) de détail et de gros, étant donné que les utilisateurs finals des petites ESLT sont desservie par des CASP situés à l’extérieur de leur territoire et donc connecté avec le réseau 9-1-1 PG de la grande ESLT avoisinante, et (ii) d’interconnexion ESInet à ESInet.  Pour ces raisons, les petites ESLT ont indiqué qu’il est approprié de maintenir une entente de transit à coûts partagés avec la grande ESLT avoisinante, comme c’est le cas pour le 9-1-1 évolué.

    1. Soumettre le coût annuel pour le transit du trafic 9-1-1 PG (c.-à-d. les circuits IP conforme à la norme i3 9-1-1 PG) par les petites ESLT depuis leur territoire jusqu’aux PI 9-1-1 PG proposés, pour chacune des petites ESLT.
    2. Si le Conseil juge qu’il faut atteindre un équilibre entre les gains d’efficacités et les coûts entre les petites et grandes ESLT, et si les petites ESLT s’interconnectaient avec la grande ESLT avoisinante aux PI 9-1-1 PG tel que proposés, veuillez fournir des commentaires sur la pertinence d’un modèle de transit à coûts partagés.  Dans ce modèle, les coûts des installations utilisés pour le transit du trafic 9-1-1 PG jusqu’au PI 9-1-1 PG proposé serait partagé, de façon à ce que les petites ESLT seraient responsable des coûts de transit de leur trafic 9-1-1 PG jusqu’à la frontière de leur territoire ou jusqu’à un point mutuellement convenu, alors que les grandes ESLT seraient responsables des coûts associés au transit du trafic depuis ce point jusqu’à leurs  PI 9-1-1 PG proposés.
    3. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en b), est-ce que toutes les petites ESLT devraient être admissibles au partage des coûts, ou est-ce que seulement certaines d’entre elles devraient l’être? Dans ce dernier cas, quels critères devrait-on utiliser pour déterminer l’admissibilité d’une petite ESLT (p. ex. revenus d’exploitation provenant d’activités de télécommunication, nombre d’abonnés, distance de transit aux PI 9-1-1 PG ou coûts)? Dans l’affirmative, quels devraient être ces seuils?
    4. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en b), indiquer si un régime de transition quelconque serait nécessaire pour composer avec les situations où une petite ESLT ne répondrait plus aux critères énoncés au point c) susmentionné et, le cas échéant, comment ce régime de transition devrait être structuré.
    5. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en b), indiquer s’il faudrait utiliser la frontière du territoire de la petite ESLT, un point mutuellement convenu ou une autre forme de délimitation.
    6. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en b), soumettre un estimé du coût annuel pour lequel les petites et les grandes ESLT seraient responsable, respectivement, pour le transit du trafic 9-1-1 PG (c.-à-d. les circuits IP conforme à la norme i3 9-1-1 PG) des petites ESLT, depuis leur territoire jusqu’aux PI 9-1-1 PG proposés, pour chacune des petites ESLT.

Aux FST

  1. Soumettre le coût annuel pour le transit de votre trafic 9-1-1 (c.-à-d. les circuits à fréquences vocales 9-1-1) depuis votre territoire jusqu’aux PI 9-1-1 existants, pour chacune des grandes ESLT.
  2. Soumettre le coût annuel estimé pour le transit de votre trafic 9-1-1 PG (c.-à-d. les circuits IP conforme à la norme i3 9-1-1 PG) depuis votre territoire jusqu’aux PI PG proposés, pour chacune des grandes ESLT.

Aux grandes ESLT et aux FST

  1. Dans leur intervention conjointe relative à cette instance, les grandes ESLTNote de bas de page4 ont proposé un cadre d’interconnexion entre les réseaux d’origine des FST et les réseaux 9-1-1 PG, selon lequel :
    1. les fournisseurs de réseaux 9-1-1 PG fournissent au moins deux PI 9-1-1 PG géoredondants, déterminent si des PI supplémentaires doivent être fournis et déterminent quel est l’emplacement de ces PI dans leur territoire de desserte;
    2. les points d’interconnexion situés dans emplacements géoredondants sont définis comme étant situés à une distance d’au moins 100 km entre eux;
    3. les FST doivent établir une connexion avec au moins deux PI 9-1-1 PG géoredondants au moyen de divers chemins pour joindre les PI, et ce, pour chacun des réseaux 9-1-1 PG avec lesquels ils doivent se connecter;
    4. le trafic des réseaux 9-1-1 est acheminé de façon localisée;Note de bas de page5
    5. il incombe aux FST de payer les coûts de transit du trafic de leurs réseaux 9-1-1 PG aux PI, comme c’est le cas pour 9-1-1 évolué.

    Les grandes ESLT ont fait valoir que ces PI représentent une bonne partie des coûts initiaux et permanents pour les réseaux 9-1-1 PG et que réduire considérablement le nombre de PI augmentera l’efficacité de leur réseau, contribuant ainsi à réduire les coûts 9-1-1 PG, pour eux-mêmes et pour les parties interconnectées. Inversement, certains FST ont indiqué qu’en raison du plus petit nombre de PI 9-1-1 PG géoredondants proposés parmi lesquels ils peuvent choisir, et que ces PI sont, dans la plupart des cas, situés plus loin que leurs PI actuels, leurs coûts de transit pour leur trafic d 9-1-1 PG vers ces PI augmentera, ce qui se traduira par une diminution de l’efficacité de leur réseau.

    1. Si le Conseil juge qu’il faut atteindre un équilibre entre les gains d’efficacités et les coûts entre les fournisseurs de réseaux 9-1-1 PG et les plus petits FST, veuillez fournir des commentaires sur la pertinence d’un modèle de transit à coûts partagés.  Dans ce modèle, les coûts des installations utilisés pour le transit du trafic 9-1-1 PG jusqu’au PI 9-1-1 PG proposé serait partagé, de façon à ce que les FST seraient responsables des coûts du transit du trafic 9-1-1 PG jusqu’à la frontière de leur territoire de desserte ou jusqu’à un point mutuellement convenu, alors que la grande ESLT serait responsable des coûts associés au transit du trafic depuis ce point jusqu’à leurs PI 9-1-1 PG proposés.
    2. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en a), est-ce que tous les FST devraient être admissibles au partage des coûts, ou est-ce que seulement certains d’entre eux devraient l’être? Dans ce dernier cas, quels critères devrait-on utiliser pour déterminer l’admissibilité d’un FST (p. ex. selon les revenus d’exploitation provenant d’activités de télécommunication, selon le nombre d’abonnés, selon la distance de transit aux PI 9-1-1 PG ou selon les coûts)? Dans l’affirmative, quels devraient être ces seuils?
    3. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en a), indiquer si un régime de transition quelconque serait nécessaire pour composer avec les situations où un FST ne répondrait plus aux critères énoncés au point b) susmentionné et, le cas échéant, comment ce régime de transition devrait être structuré.
    4. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en a), préciser comment il faut procéder pour définir les limites d’un FST, étant donné qu’il est possible que les territoires de desserte des FST ne soient pas contigu et qu’ils peuvent évoluer au fil du temps. Si les limites du territoire de desserte ne sont pas une façon pratique de procéder à la délimitation, proposer d’autres solutions.
    5. En présumant l’adoption du modèle décrit en a), soumettre le coût annuel estimé pour lequel les FST éligible et les grandes ESLT seraient responsable, respectivement, pour le transit du trafic PG de la FST (c.-à-d. les circuits IP conforme à la norme i3 9-1-1 PG) depuis leur territoire jusqu’aux PI PG proposés, pour chacune des grandes ESLT.

Aux intervenants FST

  1. Avec l’objectif d’équilibrer les gains d’efficacités pour les réseaux 9-1-1 PG et le rapport coût-efficacité entre les FST et petites et grandes ESLT, une solution de rechange pourraient exiger les grandes ESLT d’établir des PI 9-1-1 PG supplémentaires pour l’interconnexion des FST et des petites ESLT.
    1. Indiquer s’il serait approprié d’établir des PI en plus de ceux proposés par les grandes ESLT, pour l’interconnexion des FST ou des petites ESLT, en tant que solution de rechange à un modèle d’acheminement à coûts partagés envisagés dans les questions 3 et 6 susmentionnées.
    2. En guise de solution de rechange à l’approche axée sur le partage des coûts, préciser le nombre de PI supplémentaires qui pourrait compenser les coûts des grandes ESLT, des FST et des petites ESLT, de même que leur emplacement (p. ex. ville/village). Fournir une justification et des preuves à l’appui pour chaque PI proposé.

Aux grandes ESLT

  1. Soumettre le coût estimé pour un PI PG9-1-1 typique et pour chacun des PI 9-1-1 PG que vous proposez ajouter de le cadre de la question 7.b).
  2. Dans votre réplique aux réponses des parties, soumettre le coût estimé pour chaque PI 9-1-1 PG additionnel proposé par les parties en 7.b).

Aux petites ESLT

  1. De petites ESLT ont mentionné que CityWest et TBaytel ont des CASP dans leurs territoires. Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2018-188, le Conseil a défini un CASP secondaire en tant que CASP auquel les appels au 9-1-1 PG sont transférés d’un CASP primaire et qui est interconnecté directement à un réseau 9-1-1 PG, permettant ainsi de recevoir et d’afficher les données sur les appels au 9-1-1 PG. À la lumière de cette définition, indiquer s’il y a des CASP secondaires dans le territoire d’exploitation de chacun des petites ESLT et, le cas échéant, prière de fournir une liste and et indiquer dans quel territoire ils se retrouvent.
Date de modification :