Telecom Procedural Letter adressed to Mr. Harpreet Randhawa (VOIS Inc.)

Ottawa, 9 August 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0117

BY EMAIL

Mr. Harpreet Randhawa
Director
VOIS Inc.
628 12 Avenue SW, Suite 210
Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0H6
vcc@vois.biz

Dear Mr. Randhawa:

Subject: Further information required regarding VOIS Inc. and Server Center Limited

On 27 April 2017, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC or the Commission) published Telecom Decision 2017-115 and Telecom Order 2017-116 in which it found VOIS Inc. (VOIS) to have committed a violation of the Telecommunications Act (the Act). Specifically, the Commission found that VOIS was in contravention of the requirement, imposed under section 24.1 of the Act, that VOIS be a participant in the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-Television Services (CCTS). 

The CRTC ordered VOIS to take the necessary steps to restore its participation in the CCTS and to file proof with the Commission that it had done so.

In the time that has elapsed since those determinations were made, additional information has come to the Commission’s attention regarding an apparently related corporation, Server Center Limited (Server Center). It appears to the Commission that Server Center may also be providing retail telecommunications services while not participating in the CCTS.

In light of the above, the Commission requires that VOIS, Server Center, and Mr. Randhawa, in his capacity as sole director of both Server Center and VOIS, provide the following information, pursuant to subsection 37(2) of the Act:

  1. Does VOIS continue to offer or provide retail telecommunications services to residential or small business customers, including Internet service and/or telephone service?
  2. If so, provide the following:
    1. The number of subscribers to VOIS’s retail telecommunications services that fall within the scope of the CCTS’ mandate, for the past three fiscal years.
    2. The list of officers and directors of the company.
  3. If VOIS does not continue to offer or provide the above services to such customers, explain the steps taken by VOIS leading to the cessation of the services, including how customers were notified. If customers were transferred to another service provider, provide information about that transfer, including which service providers acquired the customers.
  4. Explain, with supporting documentation as appropriate, the relationship between VOIS and Server Center and describe the ownership structure of each company. For greater clarity, also provide a list of the shareholders of both corporations as part of your response to this question.
  5. What is Mr. Randhawa’s relationship with Server Center?
  6. Does VOIS or Mr. Randhawa have any ownership interest in Server Center? If so, describe the ownership interest and provide evidence of this interest.
  7. Does Server Center offer or provide retail telecommunications services to residential or small business customers, including Internet service and/or telephone service?
  8. If so, provide the following:
    1. The number of subscribers to Server Center’s retail telecommunications services that fall within the scope of the CCTS’ mandate, for the past three fiscal years.
    2. The list of officers and directors of the company.

This information is to be provided no later than 31 August 2018.

VOIS, Server Center, or Mr. Randhawa may designate information filed as confidential in accordance with section 39 of the Act and sections 30 – 34 of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Finally, the Commission reminds the recipient of this letter that failure by any party to provide the required information may result in a contravention of subsection 37(2) of the Act, which may constitute a violation under section 72.001 of the Act and could result in enforcement action against that party by the CRTC.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Monsieur Harpreet Randhawa (VOIS Inc.)

Ottawa, le 9 août 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0117

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Harpreet Randhawa
Directeur
VOIS Inc.
628, Avenue 12 Sud-Ouest, bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0H6
vcc@vois.biz

Objet : De plus amples renseignements sont requis concernant VOIS Inc. et Server Center Limited

Monsieur,

Le 27 avril 2017, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (le « CRTC » ou le « Conseil ») a publié la Décision de télécom 2017-115 et l’ordonnance de télécom 2017-116 dans lesquels il a conclu que VOIS Inc. (VOIS) a contrevenu à la Loi sur les télécommunications (la « Loi »). Plus précisément, le Conseil a conclu que VOIS a contrevenu à l’exigence, imposée en vertu de l’article 24.1 de la Loi, voulant que VOIS participe à la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision (CPRST).

Le CRTC a ordonné à VOIS de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour rétablir sa participation au CPRST et de fournir au Conseil la preuve qu’il les a prises.

Depuis que ces conclusions ont été tirées, des renseignements supplémentaires ont été portés à l’attention du Conseil concernant une société apparemment liée, Server Center Limited (Server Center). Il semble au Conseil que Server Center pourrait également fournir des services de télécommunications de détail alors qu’elle ne participe pas à la CPRST.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil exige que VOIS, Server Center et M. Randhawa, en sa qualité de seul directeur de Server Center et de VOIS, fournissent les renseignements suivants, conformément au paragraphe 37(2) de la Loi :

  1. VOIS continue-t-elle à fournir des services de télécommunications de détail aux clients résidentiels et aux petites entreprises, y compris un service Internet ou un service téléphonique?
  2. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :
    1. Le nombre d’abonnés aux services de télécommunications de détail fournis par VOIS qui sont visés par le mandat de la CPRST pour les trois derniers exercices financiers.
    2. La liste d’agents et de directeurs de l’entreprise.
  3. Si VOIS ne continue pas d’offrir et de fournir les services ci-dessus à de tels clients, veuillez expliquer les mesures prises par VOIS qui ont mené à la cessation des services, y compris la façon dont les clients ont été informés. En cas de transfert de la clientèle vers un autre fournisseur de services, veuillez fournir des renseignements sur ce transfert, y compris le nom des fournisseurs de services qui ont acquis ces clients.
  4. Veuillez expliquer, en fournissant des documents à l’appui (le cas échéant), la relation entre VOIS et Server Center et décrivez la structure de propriété de chaque entreprise. Pour plus de clarté, veuillez aussi fournir une liste des actionnaires des deux sociétés dans votre réponse à cette question.
  5. Quelle est la relation ente M. Randhawa et Server Center?
  6. VOIS ou M. Randhawa ont-ils une participation dans Server Center? Dans l’affirmative, veuillez décrire la participation et fournir des preuves démontrant cette participation.
  7. Server Center fournit-elle des services de télécommunications de détail aux clients résidentiels et aux petites entreprises, y compris un service Internet ou un service téléphonique?
  8. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :
    1. Le nombre d’abonnés aux services de télécommunications de détail fournis par Server Center qui sont visés par le mandat de la CPRST pour les trois derniers exercices financiers.
    2. La liste d’agents et de directeurs de l’entreprise.

Ces renseignements doivent être fournis au plus tard le 31 août 2018.

VOIS, Server Center ou M. Randhawa peuvent désigner confidentiels les renseignements fournis conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi et les articles 30 à 34 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC.

Enfin, le Conseil rappelle au destinataire de cette lettre que le défaut de l’une des parties de fournir les renseignements demandés pourrait contrevenir au paragraphe 37(2) de la Loi et représenter une violation aux termes de l’article 72.001 de la Loi, auquel cas le CRTC pourrait prendre des mesures d’application à l’encontre de cette partie.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :