Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 31 July 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0098

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE: Lower-cost data-only plans for mobile wireless services, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-98 – Request for extension

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 26 July 2018, the Commission received a letter from Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell Mobility) in which the company requested a one-month extension to the deadlines for all procedural steps set out in Commission staff letter dated 20 July 2018 requesting additional information regarding Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-98.Footnote1

Bell Mobility submitted that they have resources constraints due to summer vacations as well as the several regulatory proceedingsFootnote2 and Government initiativesFootnote3 currently underway. Bell Mobility also submitted that the requests for information (RFIs) contain a significant number of questions, that their scope is extremely broad, and that additional time is required to develop thoughtful and fulsome responses. It further submitted that they were not aware of any external requirement for the Commission to issue its decision in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-98 by a specific date, and that no party would be harmed by the requested delay.
The Public Interest Advocacy Centre and Rogers Communications Canada Inc. supported Bell Mobility’s extension request. They submitted that they are working on the same regulatory proceedings, face similar resources constraints, and that no party would be prejudiced by the requested extension.

Under the circumstances, Commission staff does not consider that an extension would prejudice any parties to the proceeding, and is satisfied that an extension would give parties sufficient time to gather the information requested and to provide more fulsome responses on the record. Therefore, Commission staff considers it appropriate to provide parties with additional time to prepare their answers to the RFIs set out in the 20 July 2018 Commission staff letter and to extend the subsequent deadlines accordingly. As such, the filing dates set out in the 20 July 2018 Commission staff letter are modified as follow:  

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819- 997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List
bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory@icewireless.ca; cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; jlawford@piac.ca; execdir@frpc.net; gloria@cacmanitoba.ca; bywil@pilc.mb.ca; tisrael@cippic.ca; regulatory@openmedia.org; lisa@deafwireless.ca; Vicky.Eatrides@canada.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 31 juillet 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0098

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Forfaits de données seulement à moindre coût pour les services sans fil mobiles, avis de consultation de télécom 2018-98 – Demande de prolongation

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 26 juillet 2018, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Bell Mobilité Inc. (Bell Mobilité) dans laquelle l’entreprise a demandé qu’un délai supplémentaire d’un mois s’applique à toutes les étapes procédurales énoncées dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil du 20 juillet 2018 qui demandait des renseignements supplémentaires concernant l'avis de consultation de télécom 2018-98Note de bas de page1.

Bell Mobilité a fait valoir que ses ressources étaient limitées en raison des vacances estivales ainsi que de plusieurs instances réglementairesNote de bas de page2 et initiatives gouvernementalesNote de bas de page3 présentement en cours. Bell Mobilité a également fait valoir que les demandes de renseignements contiennent un nombre important de questions, que leur portée est extrêmement vaste et qu'il faut plus de temps pour élaborer des réponses réfléchies et complètes. Elle a ajouté qu'elle n'était au courant d'aucune exigence externe obligeant le Conseil à rendre sa décision dans l'avis de consultation de télécom 2018-98 à une date précise, et qu'aucune partie ne serait lésée par le délai demandé.

Le Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public et Rogers Communications Canada Inc. ont appuyé la demande de prolongation de Bell Mobilité. Ils ont fait valoir qu'ils travaillent sur les mêmes instances réglementaires, qu'ils font face à des contraintes de ressources similaires et qu'aucune partie ne serait lésée par la prolongation demandée.

Dans les circonstances, le personnel du Conseil ne considère pas qu'une prolongation porterait préjudice aux parties à l'instance et est persuadé qu’elle donnerait aux parties suffisamment de temps pour recueillir les renseignements demandés et fournir des réponses plus complètes au dossier. Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil estime qu'il convient de donner plus de temps aux parties pour préparer leurs réponses aux demandes de renseignements figurant dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil du 20 juillet 2018 et de prolonger les délais subséquents en conséquence. Ainsi, les dates de dépôt indiquées dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil du 20 juillet 2018 sont modifiées comme suit :

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations les plus distinguées.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c.  Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819- 997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution

bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory@icewireless.ca; cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; jlawford@piac.ca; execdir@frpc.net; gloria@cacmanitoba.ca; bywil@pilc.mb.ca; tisrael@cippic.ca; regulatory@openmedia.org; lisa@deafwireless.ca; Vicky.Eatrides@canada.ca.

Date de modification :