Telecom and Broadcasting Commission letter addressed to John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, 27 July 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0246

BY EMAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
jlawford@piac.ca

Re: Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246, Notice of Hearing, Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large   telecommunications carriers, Procedural Request of the Public Interest Advocacy Centre to clarify privilege for current and former employees of Major TSPs – Response to Procedural Request

Dear Mr. Lawford:

On 6 June 2018, the Governor in Council issued an Order in Council pursuant to the Telecommunications Act (the Act) directing the Commission to make a report on the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers. The Order in Council stated that the employees of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers and the third parties who offer the telecommunications services of those carriers for sale (collectively, the service providers) are to be among the important sources of information to be considered in evaluating the retail sales practices of those carriers.

On 16 July 2018, the Commission issued Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246 (the Notice), which launched a public consultation seeking comments on any misleading or aggressive retail sales practices by the service providers and potential solutions to address these practices. The public consultation uses a variety of means to obtain input from Canadians, including from consumers, employees of the service providers, and persons who may be vulnerable due to their age, a disability or a language barrier.

On 17 July 2018, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) filed a procedural request asking that the Commission amend the procedures in the Notice, citing potential confidentiality concerns regarding current and former employees of the service providers who may wish to provide evidence in the context of this proceeding. On 24 July 2018, Telus responded to PIAC’s procedural request by asking that the Commission deny PIAC’s request as Parliament had provided a remedy under the Act and because PIAC’s proposals would unlawfully fetter the Commission’s discretion.

Commission staff notes that Commission proceedings allow parties, including members of the public, to provide input so that the Commission can make better, more informed decisions. To ensure an open and transparent process, information submitted to the Commission in its proceedings is generally made public.

Submissions in response to the Notice are being reviewed on an ongoing basis by Commission staff in order to identify confidentiality or related issues facing those employees who wish to participate in this proceeding. Other measures are also available to the Commission, such as ordering that a public hearing be held in part in camera. These measures are available, if required, to address any party’s specific concern arising from submitting information on the public record of this proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY Noah Moser for/

Scott Shortliffe
Chief Consumer Officer and Executive Director
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

cc: Distribution list
Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.
The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

Date modified:

Télécom et Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à John Lawford (Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public)

Ottawa, le 27 juillet 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0246

PAR COURRIEL

M. John Lawford
Directeur exécutif et avocat général
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public
jlawford@piac.ca

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246, Avis   d’audience, Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes, Requête procédurale du Centre de la défense de l’intérêt public visant à clarifier le privilège pour les employés actuels et anciens des FST majeurs – Réponse à la requête procédurale

Monsieur Lawford,

Le 6 juin 2018, la gouverneure en conseil a publié un décret en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi) exigeant que le Conseil lui fasse rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes. Le décret stipulait que les employés des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes et des tiers qui offrent les services de télécommunication de ces entreprises (collectivement les fournisseurs de service) figurent parmi les sources d’information importantes pour l’analyse des pratiques de vente au détail de ces entreprises.

Le 16 juillet 2018, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246 (l’Avis), qui a amorcé une consultation publique sollicitant des observations sur les pratiques de ventes des fournisseurs de service et des solutions potentielles pour remédier à ces pratiques. Cette consultation publique utilise plusieurs moyens pour obtenir l’avis des Canadiens, incluant ceux des consommateurs, des employés des fournisseurs de service ainsi que des personnes qui pourraient être vulnérables en raison de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique.

Le 17 juillet 2018, le Centre de la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) a déposé une requête procédurale demandant au Conseil de modifier les procédures dans l’Avis, citant des préoccupations potentielles au sujet de la confidentialité d’employés anciens ou actuels des fournisseurs de service qui pourraient désirer fournir des preuves dans le contexte de cette instance. Le 24 juillet 2018, Telus a répondu à la demande procédurale du CDIP en demandant de rejeter cette demande étant donné que le Parlement a prévu des recours en vertu de la Loi et parce que la demande du CDIP entraverait illicitement le pouvoir discrétionnaire du Conseil.

Le personnel du Conseil note que les instances du Conseil permettent aux parties, incluant de particuliers, pour fournir l’information permettant au Conseil de prendre de meilleures décisions éclairées. Pour assurer un processus ouvert et transparent, l’information soumise dans le cadre d’instances du Conseil est généralement rendue publique.

Les soumissions en réponse à l’Avis sont examinées de manière continue par le personnel du Conseil afin d’identifier des enjeux liés à la confidentialité ou enjeux connexes auxquels ces employés désirant participer à cette instance pourraient faire face. D’autres mesures sont à la disposition du Conseil, tel qu’ordonner qu’une audience publique soit en partie tenue in camera. Ces mesures sont disponibles, si requises, pour remédier aux préoccupations spécifiques d’une partie quant à la soumission d’information au dossier public de cette instance.

Cordialement,

L’ORIGINAL SIGNÉ PAR Noah Moser pour/

Scott Shortliffe
Dirigeant principal de la consommation et directeur exécutif
Consommation et politique stratégique

cc:       Liste de distribution

Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, qui exerce ses activités sous le nom Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Norouestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltée.
Xplornet Communications Inc.

L’honorable Navdeep Bains, Ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique

Date de modification :