Telecom and Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 16 July 2018

BY E-MAIL

Distribution list 

Subject: Request for Information - Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers   

Dear Madam or Sir:

The Governor in Council issued Order in Council P.C. 2018-0685 (the OIC), dated 6 June 2018, requesting that the Commission make a report by no later than 28 February 2019, on the following matters:

  1. whether the large telecommunications carriers offer their telecommunications services for sale by engaging, either through their employees or third parties, in misleading or aggressive sales practices, such as providing consumers with incomplete, unclear or misleading information regarding service terms and conditions or selling them telecommunications services that are unsuitable for them, and, if so, the prevalence of those practices;
  2. the measures or controls that those carriers have in place to monitor, identify and mitigate the risks that consumers are subject to misleading or aggressive sales practices;
  3. the consumer protections respecting retail sales practices and contracts for telecommunications services that are currently in place to empower consumers to make informed decisions with respect to their telecommunications services and promote the fair treatment of consumers in their relationships with telecommunications carriers;
  4. the most feasible and effective ways to strengthen or expand the scope of existing consumer protections such as those contained in the Commission’s codes of conduct, or to create new consumer protections, including codes of conduct relating to new subjects, in order to further empower consumers to make informed decisions with respect to their telecommunications services and to further promote the fair treatment of consumers in their relationships with telecommunications carriers.

On 16 July 2018, the Commission published Telecom and Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-246, Report regarding the retail sales practices of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers, to examine the matters identified in the OIC.

Request for information

The OIC noted that the views of Canadians, the current and former employees of Canada’s large telecommunications carriers and the third parties who offer the telecommunications services of those carriers for sale, as well as the sales guidelines set by those carriers, are among the important sources of information to be considered in evaluating the retail sales practices of those carriers.

As stated in the Notice, and pursuant to the Telecommunications Act and Broadcasting Act and regulations issued thereunder, you are required to file, by no later 23 August 2018, the answers to the questions set out in Appendix A.

This letter and all subsequent correspondence form part of a public record. As set out in the Telecommunications Act, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (Rules of Procedure), and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential. Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by reasons, as well as any supporting documents, why the disclosure of the designated information would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest.

In responding to the questions set out in Appendix A, you are directed to provide supporting rationale and all the evidence, including documents, upon which the responses are based. Consistent with Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-959, Guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, you are also directed to make efforts to provide, to the greatest extent possible, information on the public record to allow other parties to comment on this information and to support the Commission in creating a better, more informed report.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.

Should you have any questions concerning this Request for information, please contact Guillaume Leclerc by e-mail at guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Shortliffe
Chief Consumer Officer and Executive Director
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

cc:       Distribution list
Bell Canada
Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
Northwestel Inc.
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Shaw Communications Inc.
TBayTel
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TELUS Communications Inc.
Videotron Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.


Appendix A: Requests for information

Please provide the requested information and RecordsFootnote1 below for your companyFootnote2 for the Relevant ProductFootnote3 including bundles for the Relevant time Period.Footnote4 If Records are outside the Relevant Period on their face but nevertheless are related to the Relevant Period, please provide these Records as well.

Where reference is made to “misleading or aggressive” retail sales practices herein, this means “misleading or aggressive” retail sales practices as described in the OIC. This includes providing consumers with incomplete, unclear or misleading information regarding service terms and conditions or selling them telecommunications services that are unsuitable for them.

General

  1. Describe the Company’s methods of selling the Relevant Products or offering the Relevant Products for sale (e.g.: in person, on the phone, online chat, etc.), whether by employees of the Company or third parties.
  2. Describe if and how those methods may differ when selling to Canadians who are vulnerable due to age, a disability, or a language barrier.
  3. Identify the geographic area(s) (city, province or Canada-wide) in which your company employs each of these methods identified in response to Question 1.
  4. Identify the languages, including those other than French or English, in which the Company sells or offers for sale the Relevant Products, and the geographic area(s) in which the Company employs these languages during sales interactions.
  5. Describe how a consumer may request and receive communications with the Company in a language other than French and English.
  6. Describe if and how the Company ensures that employees and third parties are selling or offering for sale your Relevant Products in a way that is complete, clear, timely, accurate and uses plain language .
  7. Describe if and how the Company ensures that employees and third parties engaged in selling or offering for sale provide consumers with Relevant Products, standalone or in bundles, that are suitable for each consumer’s needs. 

Consumer complaints to Company

  1. Describe the process(es), if any, by which consumers may make formal complaints to the Company relating to:
    1. The retail sales practices of employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products;
    2. The methods by which the Company makes the retail sales practices accessible to Canadians who are vulnerable including those who are vulnerable due to a disability, age, or a language barrier;
    3. The clarity or completeness of the information provided to consumers by employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products; and
    4. Misleading or aggressive retail sales practices.
  2. Describe how the complaints referred to in Question 8 are received, processed, addressed, and resolved by the Company.
  3. Describe if and how the Company tracks the resolution of the complaints referred to in Question 8.
  4. Describe if and how the Company maintains internal and/or public reports regarding the complaints, resolutions and tracking referred to in Question 8.
  5. Describe the methods by which the Company publicly informs consumers of and/or promotes the avenues by which consumers may make complaints about retail sales practices of the Company’s employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products, including in respect of misleading or aggressive retail sales practices.
  6. Provide all Records relevant to the responses in Questions 8 – 12, including copies of the complaints received, communications with the complainant, resolutions achieved, reports used or made, and guidelines, best practices and procedures for handling complaints which were used or made in the Relevant Time Period.
  7. In respect of well-founded complaints, identify all actions taken by the Company to prevent a recurrence of the issue underlying the complaint and provide all Records relevant to such actions.
  8. If a complaint received identified in response to Question 13 was not or could not be resolved by the Company, explain the reason why it was not or could not be resolved by the Company and provide all relevant Records.

Internal Complaints

  1. Describe if and how the Company’s employees, personnel, directors, officers, managers, agents or third parties may make internal complaints relating to: 
    1. The retail sales practices of employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products;
    2. The methods by which the Company makes the retail sales practices accessible to Canadians who are vulnerable including those who are vulnerable due to a disability, age, or a language barrier;
    3. The clarity or completeness of the information provided to consumers by employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products; and
    4. Misleading or aggressive retail sales practices.
  2. Describe how the complaints referred to in Question 16 are received, processed, addressed, tracked, resolved and reported on (whether internally or publicly) by the Company.
  3. Provide all Records relevant to the responses in Questions 16-17, including copies of all the internal complaints received, communications with the complainant, resolutions achieved, reports used or made, and guidelines, best practices and procedures for handling complaints which were used or made in the Relevant Time Period.
  4. In respect of well-founded internal complaints, identify all actions taken by the Company to prevent a recurrence of the issue underlying the complaint and provide all Records relevant to such actions.
  5. What controls, if any, do you have in place to mitigate any risks of employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products engaging in misleading or aggressive retail sales practices?

Other complaints

  1. Have misleading or aggressive retail sales practices, as described above, been the topic of a complaint against either the Company, its employees or third parties selling or offering for sale the Relevant Products submitted to any municipal, provincial or federal regulatory or law enforcement agencies (including the CRTC and the Competition Bureau), or the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-Television Services (CCTS) during the Relevant Period? If so, describe those complaints, their resolution if any (formal or informal), and any remedial actions undertaken by the Company, if any.
  2. If a complaint discussed in response to Question 21 was not or could not be resolved by the applicable entity listed to which it was submitted, explain the reason why it was not or could not be resolved.
  3. In respect of well-founded complaints to any municipal, provincial or federal regulatory or law enforcement agencies or the CCTS, identify all actions taken by the Company to prevent a recurrence of the issue underlying the complaint and provide all Records relevant to such actions.
  4. Provide all Records relating to those complaints, the resolution (formal or informal), and any remedial actions undertaken by the Company, if any, discussed in response to Question 21.

Employee training, guidance and monitoring

  1. Identify and describe if and how the Company’s training material (Training Material) used by the Company for or in use by employees or third parties selling or offering the Relevant Products for sale relate to retail sales practices on the following issues:
    1. use of languages other than French or English in retail sales interactions;
    2. accommodation of Canadians who are vulnerable including those who are vulnerable due to a disability, age, or a language barrier in retail sales interactions;
    3. understanding consumers’ specific needs for the use of the Relevant Products and providing choices which reflect these stated needs;
    4. ensuring consumers can make informed decisions about the Relevant Products, whether standalone or in bundles;
    5. use of plain language, providing clear and complete information, in retail sales interactions;
    6. consumer complaint process related to retail sales practices;
    7. internal complaint processes related to retail sales practices;
    8. measures and controls put in place to monitor, identify and mitigate any risks that consumers are subject to misleading or aggressive retail sales practices, including disciplinary actions for staff or management;
    9. ensuring a balance between the employee’s or third parties’ incentive to sell and the actual needs of customers; and,
    10. monitoring of compliance with Training Materials in respect of items (a) – (i).
  2. Identify and describe how the Company’s retail sales materials (Sales Material), including, but not limited to, guidelines, contracts or codes of conduct, sales scripts or pitches, rebuttal scripts, reports or marketing or sales strategies used by employees or third parties selling or offering the Relevant Products for sale address the issues referred to in Question 25 (a) – (j).
  3. Describe if and how the Training Material and Sales Material have meaningfully changed in respect of the issues referred to in Question 25 (a) – (j) during the Relevant Period, and if so, to what effect and what triggered the change.
  4. Identify and describe any formal or informal targets, rewards (monetary or other), recognitions, external or internal influences, promotions, or other incentives or programs that the Company offers in order to encourage performance by employees or third parties who sell or offer for sale Relevant Products (Incentive Materials).
  5. Provide all Records of the Company’s Training Materials, Sales Materials, and Incentive Materials used by or provided to employees or third parties selling or offering the Relevant Products for sale, including copies of the Training Materials, Sales Materials, and Incentive Materials.
  6. Provide all Records relating to company reports, policies, procedures and practices in respect of retail sales practices which are to the benefit or assistance of in retail sales interactions, to Canadians who are vulnerable including those who are vulnerable due to a disability, age, or a language barriers.
  7. Provide all Records relating to the compliance, oversight and review of employees who may sell to consumers and third parties with respect to:
    1. company policies and procedures, including disciplinary procedures relating to breaching these policies and procedures;
    2. Training Materials, Sales Materials, and Incentive Materials;
    3. federal and provincial laws and codes of conduct relating to retail sales practices.

Agreements and Contracts

  1. In hiring employees to sell or offer to sell the Relevant Products, what consideration is given to retail sales experience or practices of the prospective employees?
  2. In establishing agreements and contracts with third parties who sell or offer to sell the Relevant Products, what consideration is given to retail sales experience or practices of the third parties?
  3. Provide all Records relating to financial payments, salaries, remuneration, commissions, bonuses or other benefits for employees and third parties who sell or offer to sell the Relevant Products, and any other marketing and sales personnel related directly or indirectly to the sale of the Relevant Products.
Date modified:

Télécom et Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 16 juillet 2018

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements – Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de télécommunications du Canada

Madame, Monsieur,

Le gouverneur en conseil a publié le décret C.P. 2018-0685 (le décret), daté du 6 juin 2018, demandant que le Conseil lui fasse rapport, au plus tard le 28 février 2019, sur les questions suivantes :

  1. est-ce que les grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication offrent leurs services de télécommunication en se livrant, par l’entremise de leurs employés ou de tiers, à des pratiques de vente trompeuses ou agressives, par exemple en fournissant aux consommateurs des renseignements incomplets, imprécis ou trompeurs au sujet des modalités des services, ou en leur vendant des services de télécommunication qui ne leur conviennent pas, et, le cas échéant, quelle est la fréquence de ces pratiques;
  2. quelles sont les mesures ou dispositions mises en place par ces entreprises pour surveiller, cerner et mitiger les risques que les consommateurs puissent être exposés à des pratiques de vente trompeuses ou agressives;
  3. quelles sont les mesures de protection des consommateurs relatives aux pratiques de vente au détail et aux contrats pour les services de télécommunication actuellement mises en place afin, d’une part, de permettre aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions éclairées quant à leurs services de télécommunication et, d’autre part, de favoriser le traitement équitable des consommateurs dans leurs relations avec les entreprises de services de télécommunication;
  4. quelles sont les façons les plus réalisables et les plus efficaces de renforcer et d’élargir la portée des mesures de protection des consommateurs existantes, comme celles prévues dans les codes de conduite établis par le Conseil, ou créer de nouvelles mesures de protection des consommateurs, notamment par l’élaboration de codes de conduite portant sur de nouveaux sujets, afin, d’une part, de permettre aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions éclairées quant à leurs services de télécommunication et, d’autre part, de favoriser le traitement équitable des consommateurs dans leur relation avec les entreprises de services de télécommunication.

Le 16 juillet 2018, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom et de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-246, Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail des grandes entreprises de services de télécommunication canadiennes, afin d’examiner les questions ciblées dans le décret.

Demande de renseignements

Le décret indiquait que les opinions des Canadiens, des employés actuels et anciens des grandes entreprises de télécommunications du Canada et des tiers qui offrent en vente les services de télécommunication de ces entreprises font partie des sources d’information importantes à prendre en considération pour évaluer les pratiques de vente au détail de ces entreprises.

Comme il est indiqué dans l’avis, et conformément à la Loi sur les télécommunications et à la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, ainsi qu’aux règlements y afférents, vous êtes tenu de présenter, au plus tard le 23 août 2018, les réponses aux questions énoncées à l’annexe A.

La présente lettre et toute correspondance ultérieure font partie d’un dossier public. Tel qu’il est établi dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure), et le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Les parties doivent fournir une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée des raisons, ainsi que de tout document à l’appui, indiquant pourquoi la communication de ce renseignement désigné comme étant confidentiel ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris pourquoi le préjudice direct qui pourrait découler de la divulgation de ce renseignement l’emporte sur l’intérêt public.

Vos réponses aux questions énoncées à l’annexe A doivent être accompagnées d’une justification à l’appui ainsi que tous les éléments de preuve, y compris des documents, sur lesquels elles se fondent. Conformément au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-959, Lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC, vous devez également déployer tous les efforts possibles pour fournir cette information dans le dossier public pour permettre aux autres parties de formuler des observations sur cette information et appuyer le Conseil afin qu’il produise un meilleur rapport éclairé.

Tous les documents doivent être présentés conformément aux Règles de procédure.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la présente Demande d’informations, veuillez communiquer avec par courriel à l’adresse guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca.

Cordialement,

Scott Shortliffe
Dirigeant principal de la consommation et directeur exécutif
Consommation et politique stratégique

cc:       Liste de distribution
Bell Canada
Rogers Communications Canada inc.
TELUS Communications inc.
Shaw Communications Inc.
Videotron ltée.
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Cogeco Connexion inc.
Bragg Communications Incorporated, qui exerce ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink
Xplornet Communications inc.
TekSavvy Solutions inc.
TBayTel
Norouestel Inc.


Annexe A : Demandes de renseignements

Veuillez fournir les renseignements et les documents Note de bas de page1 demandés ci-dessous pour votre entreprise Note de bas de page2 pour les produits en question Note de bas de page3, incluant les forfaits, pour la période ciblée Note de bas de page4. Si des documents ne font pas partie, à première vue, de la période ciblée, mais qu’ils y sont liés, veuillez également les fournir.

Lorsqu’on fait référence à des pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives, il s’agit des pratiques de détail « trompeuses ou agressives » telles que décrites dans le décret. Cela inclut l’offre aux consommateurs d’information incomplète, imprécise ou trompeuse sur les modalités de service ou la vente de services de télécommunication qui ne lui conviennent pas.

Généralités

  1. Décrivez les méthodes utilisées, tant par les employés de l’entreprise que par les tiers, pour la vente ou l’offre en vente des produits en question (p. ex. en personne, au téléphone, en ligne, par clavardage),
  2. Décrivez en quoi ces approches diffèrent, le cas échéant, lorsque la clientèle visée est des Canadiens vulnérables en raison de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique.
  3. Indiquez la ou les régions géographiques (ville, province ou à travers le Canada) où votre entreprise utilise chacune des méthodes décrites dans la réponse à la question 1.
  4. Indiquez les langues, y compris les langues autres que le français et l’anglais, dans lesquelles l’entreprise vend ou offre en vente les produits en question et la ou les régions géographiques où l’entreprise utilise ces langues dans ses interactions de vente.
  5. Décrivez comment un consommateur peut demander et recevoir des communications de l’entreprise dans une langue autre que le français et l’anglais.
  6. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment l’entreprise s’assure que les employés et les tiers vendent et offrent en vente les produits en question de façon complète, claire, opportune, exacte et en utilisant un langage simple.
  7. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment l’entreprise s’assure que les employés et les tiers vendent ou offrent en vente aux consommateurs les produits en question, seuls ou dans des forfaits, qui conviennent à leurs besoins individuels.

Plaintes de consommateurs formulées à l’entreprise

  1. Décrivez le ou les processus, le cas échéant, que les consommateurs peuvent suivre pour formuler des plaintes officielles à l’entreprise concernant :
    1. les pratiques de vente au détail des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question;
    2. les méthodes utilisées par l’entreprise pour rendre les pratiques de vente au détail accessibles aux Canadiens vulnérables en raison, entre autres, de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique;
    3. la clarté ou l’exhaustivité de l’information donnée aux consommateurs par des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question;
    4. les pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives.
  2. Décrivez comment les plaintes mentionnées à la question 8 sont reçues, traitées, abordées et réglées par l’entreprise.
  3. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment l’entreprise effectue un suivi de la résolution des plaintes mentionnées à la question 8.
  4. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment l’entreprise conserve des rapports internes ou publics faisant état des plaintes, des résolutions et du suivi mentionnés à la question 8.
  5. Décrivez les méthodes utilisées par l’entreprise pour aviser les consommateurs des moyens par lesquels ils peuvent formuler des plaintes sur les pratiques de vente au détail des employés de l’entreprise ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question et pour en faire la promotion, notamment en ce qui concerne les pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives.
  6. Fournissez tous les documents pertinents aux réponses aux questions 8 à 12, y compris les copies de plaintes reçues, les communications avec le plaignant, les résolutions, les rapports utilisés ou produits, ainsi que les lignes directrices, les pratiques exemplaires et les procédures qui ont été suivies ou créées pour traiter les plaintes au cours de la période ciblée.
  7. En ce qui concerne les plaintes bien fondées, indiquez toutes les mesures prises par l’entreprise pour éviter que le problème qui a mené à la plainte ne se reproduise et fournissez tous les documents pertinents à ces mesures.
  8. Si une plainte reçue indiquée dans la réponse à la question 13 n’a pas été résolue ou n’a pas pu être résolue par l’entreprise, expliquez pourquoi et fournissez tous les documents pertinents.

Plaintes internes

  1. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment les employés, le personnel, les directeurs, les agents et les gestionnaires de l’entreprise ou les tiers formulent leurs plaintes internes concernant :
    1. les pratiques de vente au détail des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question;
    2. les méthodes utilisées par l’entreprise pour rendre les pratiques de vente au détail accessibles aux Canadiens vulnérables en raison, entre autres, de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique;
    3. la clarté ou l’exhaustivité de l’information donnée aux consommateurs par des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question;
    4. les pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives.
  2. Décrivez comment les plaintes mentionnées à la question 16 sont reçues, traitées, abordées, suivies, réglées et consignées dans des rapports (à l’interne ou publiquement) par l’entreprise.
  3. Fournissez tous les documents pertinents aux réponses aux questions 16 et 17, y compris les copies de toutes les plaintes internes reçues, les communications avec le plaignant, les résolutions, les rapports utilisés ou produits, ainsi que les lignes directrices, les pratiques exemplaires et les procédures qui ont été suivies ou créées pour traiter les plaintes au cours de la période ciblée.
  4. En ce qui concerne les plaintes internes bien fondées, indiquez toutes les mesures prises par l’entreprise pour éviter que le problème qui a mené à la plainte ne se reproduise et fournissez tous les documents pertinents à ces mesures.
  5. S’il y a lieu, indiquez les mesures en place pour atténuer les risques liés aux employés ou aux tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question et qui prennent part à des pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives.

Autres plaintes

  1. Est-ce que des plaintes contre l’entreprise, ses employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question ont été formulées à des organismes d’application de la loi et de la réglementation municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux (y compris le CRTC et le Bureau de la concurrence) ou à la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision (CPRST) au cours de la période ciblée au sujet de pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives, tel qu’elles sont décrites ci-dessus? Le cas échéant, veuillez décrire ces plaintes, leur résolution (officielle ou non officielle) et toute mesure corrective prise par l’entreprise, s’il y a lieu.
  2. Si une plainte mentionnée dans la réponse à la question 21 n’a pas été résolue ou n’a pas pu être résolue par l’entité pertinente qui a reçu la plainte, expliquez pourquoi.
  3. En ce qui concerne les plaintes bien fondées, qui ont été formulées à des organismes d’application de la loi et de la réglementation municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux ou à la CPRST, indiquez toutes les mesures prises par l’entreprise pour éviter que le problème qui a mené à la plainte ne se reproduise et fournissez tous les documents pertinents à ces mesures.
  4. Fournissez tous les documents liés à ces plaintes, la résolution (officielle ou non officielle) et toute mesure corrective prise par l’entreprise, s’il y a lieu, mentionnée dans la réponse à la question 21.

Formation, orientation et suivi offerts aux employés

  1. S’il y a lieu, indiquez et décrivez comment les documents de formation de l’entreprise (les documents de formation) utilisés par les employés ou les tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question traitent des pratiques de vente au détail pour les questions suivantes :
    1. l’utilisation de langues autres que le français et l’anglais dans les interactions de vente au détail;
    2. les mesures d’adaptation prises lors d’interactions de vente au détail avec des Canadiens vulnérables en raison, entre autres, de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique;
    3. la compréhension des besoins d’utilisation précis des consommateurs pour les produits en question et l’offre de choix qui reflètent ces besoins;
    4. la garantie que les consommateurs peuvent prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet des produits en question, peu importe s’ils sont offerts seuls ou dans des forfaits;
    5. l’utilisation de langage simple pour fournir une information claire et complète au cours des interactions de vente au détail;
    6. les processus pour les plaintes de consommateurs relatives aux pratiques de vente au détail;
    7. les processus à suivre pour les plaintes internes relatives aux pratiques de vente au détail;
    8. les mesures de contrôle en place pour surveiller, cerner et atténuer les risques que des consommateurs soient victimes de pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives, incluant les mesures disciplinaires pour les employés ou les gestionnaires;
    9. l’équilibre à viser entre les incitatifs à la vente pour l’employé ou les tiers et les besoins réels du client; et
    10. la surveillance de la conformité aux documents de formation pour les points a) à i).
  2. Indiquez et décrivez comment les documents de vente au détail de l’entreprise (les documents de vente), y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, les lignes directrices, les contrats ou les codes de conduite, les scripts ou présentations de vente, les scripts de réfutation, et les rapports sur les stratégies de vente ou de marketing utilisés par des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question traitent des problèmes mentionnés aux points a) à j) de la question 25.
  3. S’il y a lieu, décrivez comment les documents de formation et les documents de vente ont changé considérablement en ce qui concerne les problèmes mentionnés aux points a) à j) de la question 25 au cours de la période ciblée, la portée des changements et ce qui a poussé les changements.
  4. Indiquez et décrivez les objectifs officiels et non officiels, les récompenses (monétaires ou autres), les reconnaissances, les influences externes ou internes, les promotions, ou les autres incitatifs ou programmes qui sont offerts par l’entreprise pour améliorer le rendement des employés ou des tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question (documents sur les incitatifs).
  5. Fournissez tous les documents de formation, les documents de vente et les documents sur les incitatifs de l’entreprise qui sont utilisés par les employés ou les tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question ou qui ont été fournis à ces derniers, y compris leurs copies.
  6. Fournissez tous les documents liés aux rapports, aux politiques, aux procédures et aux pratiques de l’entreprise en ce qui concerne les pratiques de vente au détail qui favorisent ou aident les interactions de vente au détail avec les Canadiens vulnérables en raison, entre autres, de leur âge, d’un handicap ou d’une barrière linguistique.
  7. Fournissez tous les documents portant sur l’observation, la surveillance et l’évaluation des employés qui peuvent vendre aux consommateurs et des tiers de ce qui suit :
    1. les politiques et les procédures de l’entreprise, incluant les procédures disciplinaires prévues lors d’entrave à ces politiques et procédures;
    2. les documents de formation, les documents de vente et les documents sur les incitatifs;
    3. les lois fédérales et provinciales et les codes de conduite liés aux pratiques de vente au détail.

Ententes et contrats

  1. Lorsque vous embauchez des employés pour vendre ou offrir en vente les produits en question, quelle attention accordez-vous à l’expérience ou aux pratiques de vente au détail des candidats?
  2. Lorsque vous signez des ententes et des contrats avec des tiers pour vendre ou offrir en vente les produits en question, quelle attention accordez-vous à l’expérience ou aux pratiques de vente au détail des tiers?
  3. Fournissez tous les documents liés aux paiements, aux salaires, à la rémunération, aux commissions, aux primes et aux autres avantages offerts aux employés et aux tiers qui vendent ou offrent en vente les produits en question et aux membres de l’équipe de marketing et des ventes qui participent directement ou indirectement à la vente des produits en question.
Date de modification :