Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 12 July 2018

Our reference: 8622-N68-201803289

BY EMAIL

Ms. Donna Robertson
Co-President & Chief Legal Officer
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 - 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver, British Columbia  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Mr Rick Ilich
President
Townline Group of Companies
Suite 1212 – 450 SW Marine Drive
Vancouver, British Columbia  V5X 0C3
rick.ilich@townline.ca  

RE: Application filed by Novus to obtain access to the Sussex multi-dwelling unit development of Townline Group of Companies in Burnaby, British Columbia

Dear Madam Robertson and Mister Ilich,

On 14 May 2018, the Commission received an application from Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) filed under Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure. In its application, the company requested the Commission’s intervention to obtain access to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) development of Townline Group of Companies (Townline) known as Sussex and located in Burnaby, British Columbia. Specifically, Novus requested the following:

  1. A declaration from the Commission that Townline is denying timely access to the Sussex development contrary to the Commission’s MDU access framework; and an order from the Commission that Novus be granted timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to this and future developments by Townline for purposes of installing, operating, maintaining and replacing transmission facilities and ancillary telecommunications equipment; and
  2. An order from the Commission that as of the date of the Commission determination of the Novus’ application, no other local exchange carrier, telecommunications service provider, or Broadcast Distribution Undertaking will be permitted to provide telecommunications or broadcasting services in the Sussex development unless Novus has been given timely access under reasonable terms and conditions, by means of resale, leased facilities or by means of Novus’ own facilities, at Novus’ choice.

Commission staff is setting out the following process:

  1. Townline is requested to file an answer to Novus’ application with the Commission, serving copies on Novus, no later than 6 August 2018. The company’s response should address, among other matters, Novus’ concerns with respect to being able to install its network during construction at the Sussex project in Burnaby as well as any other matters that may limit Novus’ access to that project during construction.
  2. Interested parties have until 6 August 2018 to file interventions with the Commission, which interventions must be served on Novus and Townline.
  3. Novus will have until 16 August 2018 to file with the Commission its reply to Townline’s answer and to any intervention, serving copies on Townline and the interveners to whom Novus is replying.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Al Hathaway, Townline Group of Companies, al.hathaway@townline.ca
John L. Sampson, Norton Rose Fulbright, john.sampson@nortonrosefulbright.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses Parties

Ottawa, le 12 juillet 2018

Notre numéro de dossier : 8622-N68-201803289

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Donna Robertson
Coprésidente et directrice des Services juridiques
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 - 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Monsieur Rick Ilich
Président
Townline Group of Companies
Bureau 1212 – 450 SW Marine Drive
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5X 0C3
rick.ilich@townline.ca 

Objet :  Demande déposée par Novus en vue d’obtenir l’accès aux immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples Sussex de Townline Group of Companies à Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique)

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 14 mai 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) en application de la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Dans sa demande, la société a sollicité l’intervention du Conseil pour obtenir l’accès en temps opportun au développement d’immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples de Townline Group of Companies, connus sous le nom de Sussex, à Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique). Précisément, Novus a demandé ce qui suit :

  1. une déclaration du Conseil selon laquelle Townline interdit l’accès au développement Sussex contrairement au cadre d’accès aux ILM du Conseil; une ordonnance du Conseil portant que Novus se voit accorder un accès en temps opportun, selon des conditions raisonnables, à ces développements et à de futurs développements de Townline en vue de permettre l’installation, l’exploitation, l’entretien, la réparation et le remplacement des installations de transmission et l’équipement de télécommunication auxiliaire;
  2. une ordonnance du Conseil portant qu’à compter de la date de décision à l’égard de la demande de Novus, aucune autre entreprise de services locaux, aucun autre fournisseur de services de télécommunication ni aucune autre entreprise de distribution de radiodiffusion n’aura le droit de fournir des services de télécommunications ou de radiodiffusion au développement Sussex à moins que Novus ait obtenu un accès en temps opportun selon des conditions raisonnables, au moyen d’une revente, d’installations louées ou des propres installations de Novus, selon son choix.

Le personnel du Conseil établit le processus suivant :

  1. Townline doit présenter une réponse à la demande de Novus auprès du Conseil en envoyant des copies à Novus au plus tard le 6 août 2018. La réponse de l’entreprise devrait répondre aux préoccupations de Novus en ce qui a trait à sa capacité d’installer son réseau pendant les travaux de construction du projet Sussex à Burnaby. Il devrait aussi y être question de tout ce qui pourrait limiter l’accès de Novus au projet pendant sa phase de construction.
  2. Les parties intéressées auront jusqu’au 6 août 2018 pour déposer des interventions auprès du Conseil. Ces interventions doivent être signifiées à Novus et à Townline.
  3. Novus aura jusqu’au 16 août 2018 pour déposer auprès du Conseil sa réplique à la réponse de Townline et à toute intervention, en envoyant des copies à Townline et aux intervenants à qui Novus réplique.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.  Al Hathaway, Townline Group of Companies, al.hathaway@townline.ca
John L. Sampson, Norton Rose Fulbright, john.sampson@nortonrosefulbright.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :