Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution list

Ottawa, 6 July 2018

Our reference: 8638-C12-201509663


BY EMAIL

Distribution list

Re: Follow-up process to consider implementation of disaggregated wholesale HSA services, including over FTTP access facilities, in other regions

This letter addresses follow-up process to consider the implementation of disaggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services, including over fibre-to-the-premises (FTTP) access facilities, across Canada.

In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326 (TRP 2015-326), the Commission mandated the provision of disaggregated wholesale HSA services, including over FTTP access facilities, for the large incumbent local exchange carriers and the large cable companies (collectively, the large incumbent carriers).

As a first phase of service implementation, the Commission directed Bell Aliant, Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications on behalf of Cogeco Connexion Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), and Quebecor Media Inc. on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron to file configurations for their respective disaggregated wholesale HSA services in Ontario and Quebec. The Commission approved the configurations in Telecom Decision 2016-379, and initiated a tariffing process. The affected large incumbent carriers have submitted proposed tariffs that are currently being assessed by the Commission.

The Commission stated in TRP 2015-326 that large incumbent carriers operating in other regions will be expected to identify appropriate configurations and implementation plans for their respective disaggregated wholesale HSA services at a later date, depending on demand considerations.

As the next step in the implementation of disaggregated wholesale HSA services across Canada, the Commission directs Bell MTS, Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw), and TELUS Communications Inc.

(TCI) to submit proposed configurations, along with supporting rationale, for their disaggregated wholesale HSA services in their respective incumbent serving areas.

The Commission also directs Bell Canada and RCCI to submit proposed configurations, along with supporting rationale, for their respective incumbent serving areas outside of Ontario and Quebec, as these companies have already been required to implement disaggregated wholesale HSA services in these provinces.

All large incumbent carriers submitting configurations to the Commission will be expected to make proposals regarding any configuration-related implementation issues concurrently with the filing of their proposed configurations for their respective disaggregated HSA services.

The Commission sets out the following process for the filing of proposed configurations:

The Commission will continue to monitor demand conditions, which will be taken into consideration before ultimately deciding to implement the disaggregated wholesale HSA services in any given region.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Distribution List
nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; regulatory@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.cadocument.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; curtis.eagan@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 6 juillet 2018

Notre référence : 8638-C12-201509663


PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution


Objet : Instance de suivi visant à examiner la mise en œuvre des services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés, y compris par l’intermédiaire d’installations de fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné, dans d’autres régions

Mesdames, Messieurs,

La présente lettre porte sur l’instance de suivi visant à examiner la mise en œuvre des services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros dégroupés, y compris des installations de fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné (FTTP), dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326, le Conseil a prescrit la fourniture des services AHV de gros dégroupés, y compris des installations d’accès FTTP, pour les grandes entreprises de services locaux titulaires et les grandes entreprises de câblodistribution (collectivement les grandes entreprises titulaires).

Comme première phase de mise en œuvre du service, le Conseil a ordonné à Bell Aliant, à Bell Canada, à Cogeco Communications au nom de Cogeco Connexion Inc., à Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et à Québecor Média Inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron de déposer les configurations pour leurs services AHV de gros dégroupés respectifs au Québec et en Ontario. Le Conseil a approuvé les configurations dans la décision de télécom 2016-379 et entamé le processus de tarification. Les grandes entreprises titulaires concernées ont soumis les tarifs proposés qui font présentement l’objet d’une évaluation par le Conseil.

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326, le Conseil a déclaré qu’il s’attend à ce que les grandes entreprises titulaires exerçant des activités dans d’autres régions établissent des configurations et des plans de mise en œuvre adéquats pour leurs services AHV de gros dégroupés respectifs à une date ultérieure, en fonction de la demande.

Comme prochaine étape de la mise en œuvre des services AHV de gros dégroupés dans l’ensemble du Canada, le Conseil ordonne que Bell MTS, Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) et TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI) soumettent des configurations proposées, accompagnées d’une justification à l’appui, pour leurs services AHV de gros dégroupés dans leurs zones de desserte titulaires respectives.

Le Conseil ordonne aussi que Bell Canada et RCCI soumettent des configurations proposées, accompagnées d’une justification à l’appui, pour leurs zones de desserte titulaires respectives à l’extérieur de l’Ontario et du Québec, puisqu’elles sont déjà tenues de mettre en œuvre les services AHV de gros dégroupés dans ces deux provinces.

Le Conseil s’attend à ce que toutes les grandes entreprises titulaires qui lui soumettent des configurations formulent des propositions sur toute question de mise en œuvre des configurations au moment où elles déposent leurs configurations proposées pour leurs services AHV dégroupés respectifs.

Le Conseil établit le processus suivant pour le dépôt des configurations proposées :

Le Conseil continuera de surveiller les conditions de la demande, qui seront prises en compte avant de décider définitivement de mettre en œuvre les services AHV de gros dégroupés dans une région donnée.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Liste de distribution
nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; regulatory@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.cadocument.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; curtis.eagan@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :