Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 29 June 2018

Our reference: 8620-P8-201711630

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

Subject: Request for Information re: Part 1 Application by the Public Interest Advocacy Center (PIAC) in regards to Device Unlocking

Dear Sir or Madam,

On December 6 2017, PIAC submitted a Part 1 application asking that the Commission clarify elements of the Wireless Code related to the unlocking of mobile wireless devices. Specifically, PIAC asked the Commission to clarify rule F.1.(ii) such that ALL devices purchased prior to 1 December 2017 that are locked to a given WSP’s network should be unlocked upon request by that WSP, at no cost, regardless of whether the device owner currently has, previously had or never had an active account with the WSP.

In its application, PIAC expressed concern that wireless service providers (WSPs) refusing, for various reasons, to unlock phones locked to their network might result in, among other things, a reduction in market dynamism and a decrease in second-hand device options.

Commission staff has reviewed the application, interventions and reply, and considers that additional information is required on the record of the proceeding, including from WSPs who have not yet participated in the proceeding.

As a result, the WSPs listed in the distribution list attached are required to provide the information requested below. Companies that operate flanker brandsFootnote1 must file separate responses on behalf of these brands in addition to their primary brandsFootnote2:

Responses to the request for information are to be filed with the Commission, and served on all parties to this proceeding by 30 July 2018. All submissions are to be received, and not merely sent, by that date.

Any WSP required to respond to this letter who has not previously participated in the proceeding will be considered a party to this proceeding going forward.

Accordingly, Commission staff considers it appropriate to provide all parties to the proceeding an additional opportunity to comment in a second phase of interventions, as well as to provide PIAC with the opportunity to file a final reply. Parties may file their comments by no later than 9 August 2018. PIAC may file its final reply by no later than 20 August 2018. The purpose of this additional comment period is to allow parties to comment on the new data filed in response to this request for information. If a party wishes to comment on something beyond this new data, it should provide clear rationale as to why this is required.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

If you have any questions, please contact Rémi Savard, Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at 819 997-4439 or remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

 [Original signed by]

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy 

c.c.: remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca, mattsul.ml@gmail.com, michael_j_fu@msn.com, camjsmoeller@gmail.com, m_nanni@hushmail.com, j.r@bell.net, abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca, whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com, regulatory@tacitlaw.com, execdir@frpc.net, geoff.white@ccts-cprst.ca, kim.barrington@rci.rogers.com

Att.

Distribution List:
Bell, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom, geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, regulatory@brucetelecom.com; tom.sullivan@brucetelecom.com
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink, martha.facey@execulink.com
Freedom Mobile, Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Hay Communications, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Ice Wireless, regulatory@iristel.com
Mornington Communications, lhallahan@mornington.ca
Petro-Canada Mobility, amazza@suncor.com; kyakimishyn@suncor.com
Quadro, regulatory@quadro.net
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
SaskTel, document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel, richard.biron@sogetel.com
SSi Micro, regulatory@ssimicro.com  
TbayTel, stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com
Telus, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications, regulatory@tccmail.ca
Videotron, dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Wightman, asiefert@wightman.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 29 juin 2018

Notre numéro de dossier : 8620-P8-201711630

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements relativement à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 déposée par le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) concernant le déverrouillage des appareils

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 6 décembre 2017, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) a présenté une demande en vertu de la partie 1 au Conseil pour obtenir des précisions sur les éléments du Code sur les services sans fil liés au déverrouillage des appareils mobiles sans fil. Plus précisément, le CDIP a demandé au Conseil de préciser la règle F.1.(ii), selon laquelle TOUS les appareils achetés avant le 1er décembre 2017 qui sont verrouillés à un réseau d’un fournisseur de services sans fil (FSSF) doivent, sur demande et sans frais, être déverrouillés par ce FSSF, peu importe si le propriétaire de l’appareil détient, a déjà détenu ou n’a jamais détenu un compte actif auprès du FSSF.

Dans sa demande, le CDIP s’est dit préoccupé par le fait que des fournisseurs de services sans fil (FSSF) refusent, pour diverses raisons, de déverrouiller des appareils verrouillés à leur réseau, et a dit craindre que cette situation entraîne, entre autres, une réduction des dynamiques de marché et une diminution des téléphones usagés offerts.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné la demande, les interventions et la réponse, et estime que des renseignements additionnels doivent être inclus au dossier de l’instance, y compris de la part des FSSF qui n’ont pas encore participé à l’instance.

Par conséquent, les FSSF nommés dans la liste de distribution ci-jointe sont tenus de fournir les renseignements demandés ci­dessous. Les compagnies qui exploitent des marques complémentairesNote de bas de page1 doivent déposer des réponses distinctes au nom de ces marques, en plus des réponses pour leurs marques principalesNote de bas de page2.

Les réponses à la demande de renseignements doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil et être signifiées à toutes les parties à la présente instance au plus tard le 30 juillet 2018. Toutes les réponses doivent être reçues, et non simplement avoir été envoyées, à cette date.

Tout FSSF tenu de répondre à la présente lettre qui n’a pas précédemment participé à la présente instance sera désormais considéré comme une partie à la présente instance.

Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il convient de fournir à toutes les parties à l’instance une occasion supplémentaire de formuler des observations dans le cadre d’une deuxième phase des interventions, et de fournir au CDIP l’occasion de déposer une réponse finale. Les parties doivent déposer leurs observations au plus tard le 9 août 2018. Le CDIP doit déposer sa réponse finale au plus tard le 20 août 2018. Cette période d’observations additionnelle vise à permettre aux parties de formuler des observations sur les nouvelles données déposées en réponse à la présente demande de renseignements. Si une partie souhaite formuler des observations ne portant pas sur ces nouvelles données, elle doit fournir une justification claire.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Rémi Savard, analyste, Politique sociale et des consommateurs, au numéro 819­997­4439 ou à l’adresse remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

 [Original signé]

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique 

c. c remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca, mattsul.ml@gmail.com, michael_j_fu@msn.com, camjsmoeller@gmail.com, m_nanni@hushmail.com, j.r@bell.net, abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca,whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com,
regulatory@tacitlaw.com, execdir@frpc.net,geoff.white@ccts-cprst.ca, kim.barrington@rci.rogers.com

P. j.

Liste de distribution :
Bell, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom, geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, regulatory@brucetelecom.com; tom.sullivan@brucetelecom.com
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink, martha.facey@execulink.com
Freedom Mobile, Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Hay Communications, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Ice Wireless, regulatory@iristel.com
Mornington Communications, lhallahan@mornington.ca
Petro­Canada Mobilité, amazza@suncor.com; kyakimishyn@suncor.com
Quadro, regulatory@quadro.net
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
SaskTel, document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel, richard.biron@sogetel.com
SSi Micro, regulatory@ssimicro.com
Tbaytel, stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com
Telus, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications, regulatory@tccmail.ca
Vidéotron, dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Wightman, asiefert@wightman.ca

Date de modification :