Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel)

Ottawa, 20 June 2018

Our reference: 8661-N1-201800863


BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca


Re: Part 1 application requesting ratification of Special Services Tariff (SST) rates

Dear Sir:

On 6 June 2018, the Commission received responses to a Request for Information (RFI) from Northwestel pertaining to the Part 1 application noted above.

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Northwestel is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 25 June 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Attachment (1)


Requests for information

Commission staff note that in response to the 30 May RFI to confirm the total amount for which ratification is requested for the combination of the nine SSTs covered by the company’s Part 1 application, on 6 June 2018 Northwestel filed a table identifying the following: a) the total actual revenues billed per customer; b) the portion of billing per tariff/previously ratified, and; c) the remaining amount to be ratified. The totals were ##, respectively.

Pursuant to subsection 25(4) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), the Commission may ratify the charging of a rate by a Canadian carrier otherwise than in accordance with a tariff approved by the Commission if it is satisfied that the rate was charged because of an error or other circumstance that warrants the ratification. A ratification request must include all amounts charged where the services or rates were not reflected in an approved tariff at that time.

  1. Northwestel is directed to refile its answer and request rate ratification for the total actual revenues billed per customer, which represent the rates charged otherwise than in accordance with an approved tariff as set out in subsection 25(4) of the Act.

# CONFIDENTIAL

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à M. Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel Inc.)


Ottawa, le 20 juin 2018


Notre référence : 8661-N1-201800863


PAR COURRIEL

M. Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel Inc.
C. P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca


Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 afin d’entériner la perception du tarif des services spéciaux

Monsieur,

Le 6 juin 2018, le Conseil a reçu des réponses à une demande de renseignements de Norouestel en lien avec la demande en vertu de la partie 1 susmentionnée.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Nous demandons à Norouestel de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui, d’ici au 25 juin 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)


Demandes de renseignements

Le personnel du Conseil note que Norouestel, dans sa réponse à la demande de renseignements du 30 mai pour confirmer le montant global visé par la demande d’entérinement pour l’ensemble des neuf tarifs des services spéciaux couverts par la demande de la compagnie en vertu de la partie 1, a déposé le 6 juin 2018 un tableau présentant : a) les revenus totaux réels facturés par client; b) la portion de la facturation par tarif/précédemment entérinée; et c) le montant restant devant être entériné. Les totaux étaient ##, respectivement.

En vertu du paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), le Conseil peut entériner l’imposition ou la perception par une entreprise canadienne de tarifs qui ne figurent dans aucune tarification approuvée par lui s’il est convaincu qu’il s’agit là d’un cas particulier, ou d’une erreur, le justifiant. Une demande d’entérinement doit inclure tous les montants exigés lorsque les services ou les tarifs n’ont pas été intégrés dans un tarif approuvé à ce moment-là.

  1. On ordonne à Norouestel de déposer de nouveau sa réponse et sa demande d’entérinement de tarifs pour les revenus totaux réels facturés par client, qui représentent les tarifs facturés autrement que sur la base d’un tarif approuvé, conformément au paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi.

# CONFIDENTIEL

Date de modification :