Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Mr. John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, 12 June 2018

Our reference: 8663-A182-201800467

BY E-MAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
jlawford@piac.ca

Re: Application to disable on-line access to piracy websites – Procedural Request

On 29 January 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited filed an application on behalf of itself and a number of other persons (collectively, FairPlay Coalition) seeking the establishment of a regime that would serve to identify websites and services that are “blatantly, overwhelmingly, or structurally engaged” in copyright piracy and result in a requirement on Internet Service Providers to block access to such identified sites and services.

On 16 May 2018, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) filed a letter pertaining to the above-referenced application.  In this letter, PIAC argued that the FairPlay Coalition had adduced significant new evidence in its reply comments which new evidence could not be said to be limited to rebutting new allegations raised by intervenors.

PIAC submitted that this new evidence was therefore out of process and requested that the Commission strike the new evidence or, in the alternative, that all intervenors be provided with a right to reply to this new evidence and a right to adduce new evidence themselves.  PIAC requested a 14 August 2018 deadline for the filing of such reply comments and supporting evidence.

Responses to PIAC’s procedural request were received from the Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic, the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. and the Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, which supported the request, and from the FairPlay Coalition, which opposed the request to strike the impugned materials from the record but did express an openness to providing parties with further process in order to comment on the materials.

In a procedural letter dated 15 February 2018, it was stated that the Commission would determine at a later time whether further process associated with the proceeding initiated by the above-referenced application is warranted and, if so, in what form.  Consistent with this pronouncement, the Commission will determine at a latter point the procedural approach that should be adopted with respect to the evidence referenced by PIAC.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Crystal Hulley-Craig
Senior Legal Counsel
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

Cc: Asian Television Network International Limited, shan@asiantelevision.com
Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic, tisrael@cippic.ca
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à M. John Lawford (Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public)

Ottawa, le 12 juin 2018

Notre référence : 8663-A182-201800467

PAR COURRIEL

M. John Lawford
Directeur exécutif et avocat général
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public
jlawford@piac.ca

Objet : Demande visant le blocage de l’accès en ligne à des sites Web de piratage – Requête procédurale

Monsieur Lawford,

Le 29 janvier 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited a déposé en son nom et au nom d’un certain nombre d’autres parties (collectivement, la coalition FrancJeu Canada) une demande visant l’établissement d’un régime servant à repérer les sites Web et services qui s’adonnent manifestement, majoritairement ou structurellement au piratage de droits d’auteur; régime qui se solderait par l’imposition d’une exigence aux fournisseurs de services Internet les obligeant à bloquer l’accès aux sites Web et services ainsi répertoriés.

Le 16 mai 2018, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) a déposé une lettre concernant la demande susmentionnée. Dans sa lettre, le CDIP fait valoir que la coalition FrancJeu a ajouté dans ses observations en réplique un nombre considérable de nouveaux éléments de preuve qui ne se limitent pas à une réfutation des nouvelles allégations soulevées par les intervenants.

Le CDIP a fait valoir que les nouveaux éléments de preuve sont donc non conformes au processus et a demandé que le Conseil les rayent du dossier ou qu’il accorde à tous les intervenants la possibilité d’y répliquer et le droit de présenter eux aussi de nouveaux éléments de preuve. Le CDIP a demandé que le Conseil fixe au 14 août 2018 la date limite pour le dépôt de telles observations et de preuves à l’appui.

Des réponses à la demande procédurale du CDIP ont été reçues de la part de la Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’internet du Canada, du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. et du Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, qui appuie la demande, et de la coalition FrancJeu, qui s’oppose à la demande visant à rayer les éléments en litige du dossier, mais qui serait prête à accorder aux parties l’occasion de présenter des observations sur ceux-ci.

Dans une lettre procédurale datée du 15 février 2018, il était indiqué que le Conseil établirait ultérieurement si davantage de processus est requis concernant l’instance lancée par la demande susmentionnée  et, si c’est le cas, quelle forme il prendrait. Conformément à cette déclaration, le Conseil décidera à une date ultérieure l’approche procédurale à adopter relativement aux éléments de preuve contestés par le CDIP.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur Lawford, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Crystal Hulley-Craig
Conseillère Juridique Principale
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

c.c: Asian Television Network International Limited, shan@asiantelevision.com
La Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’internet du Canada, tisrael@cippic.ca
Le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net

Date de modification :