Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Steve Jedreicich (Ledingham McAllister Ltd.)

Ottawa, 7 June 2018

Our reference: 8622-N68-201801176

BY EMAIL

Mr. Steve Jedreicich
Senior Vice President of Development.
3rd Floor, 1285 West Pender Street
Vancouver, British Columbia  V6E 4B1
stevejed@ledmac.com

RE: Application filed by Novus to obtain access to the multi dwelling units developments of Ledingham McAllister – status of negotiations progress

Dear Mr. Jedreicich,

On 28 February 2018, the Commission received an application from Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) filed under Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure. In its application, the company requested the Commission’s intervention to obtain access to three multi dwelling unit- developments of Ledingham McAllister Developments Ltd. (Ledingham McAllister) in Burnaby, British Columbia.Footnote1

On 18 April 2018, by way of letter to Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus), Commission staff informed the parties that the above-mentioned file was suspended upon request of the applicant Novus, in light of the beginning of negotiations between Ledingham McAllister and Novus. In its letter, Commission staff requested Novus to inform the Commission on the progress of the negotiations no later than 1 June 2018.

On 1 June 2018, the Commission received a letter from Novus informing on the progress of the negotiations. In its letter, Novus reported a lack of constructive discussions and submitted that this matter will require a formal Commission proceeding.

Ledingham McAllister is requested to file a response to Novus’ 1 June 2018 letter with the Commission, serving copies on all other parties, no later than 13 June 2018. The company’s response should address, among other matters, Novus’ concerns with respect to being able to install its network during construction at the Escala project in Burnaby as well as any other matters that may limit Novus’ access to the Escala, Cameron and Southgate projects during construction.

The parties are reminded that, in Telecom Decision 2003-45Footnote2 , the Commission established principles for the provision of telecommunications services by local exchange carriers (LECs) to end-users in multi-dwelling units (MDUs) which stipulate, among other things, that LECs must have access to MDUs during the construction phase. This was set to allow LECs to have service available upon occupancy, to minimize disruption and to avoid the additional costs associated with the installation of facilities after completion of the MDU. Further, the Commission established that the provision of telecommunications service by a LEC in an MDU is subject to the condition that all LECs wishing to serve end-users in that MDU are able to access end-users in that MDU on a timely basis, by means of resale, leased facilities, or their own facilities, at their choice, under reasonable terms and conditions.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
John Lawford, Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Steve Jedreicich (Ledingham McAllister Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 7 juin 2018

Notre référence : 8622-N68-201801176


PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Steve Jedreicich
Vice-président principal du développement
Ledingham McAllister Ltd.
3e étage, 1285 West Pender Street
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V6E 4B1
stevejed@ledmac.com

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus en vue d’obtenir l’accès aux immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples en construction de Ledingham McAllister – XXX

Monsieur,

Le 28 février 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) en application de la Partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Dans sa demande, la société sollicitait l’intervention du Conseil pour obtenir l’accès à trois immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples en construction de Ledingham McAllister Developments Ltd. (Ledingham McAllister), à Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique). Footnote1

Le 18 avril 2018, le personnel du Conseil a informé les parties par voie de lettre à Novus que le dossier mentionné ci-dessus était suspendu à la demande du demandeur, Novus, à la lumière des négociations qu’il venait d’entamer avec Ledingham McAllister. Dans cette lettre, le personnel du Conseil demandait à Novus de le tenir informé de l’avancement des négociations au plus tard le 1er juin 2018.

Le 1er juin 2018, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de la part de Novus l’informant de l’avancement des négociations. Dans cette lettre, Novus lui indiquait l’absence de discussions constructives et suggérait que la situation fasse l’objet d’une instance officielle du Conseil.

Ledingham McAllister doit présenter une réponse à la lettre de Novus reçue par le Conseil le 1er juin 2018, en envoyant des copies à l’ensemble des parties, au plus tard le 13 juin 2018. Cette réponse de l’entreprise devrait répondre aux préoccupations de Novus en ce qui a trait à sa capacité d’installer son réseau pendant les travaux de construction du projet Escala à Burnaby. Il devrait aussi y être question de tout ce qui pourrait limiter l’accès de Novus aux projets Escala, Cameron et Southgate pendant leurs phases de construction.

Nous rappelons aux parties que dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2003-45Footnote2 , le Conseil a établi les principes de la fourniture de services de télécommunication aux clients d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) par des entreprises de services locaux (ESL), parmi lesquels le fait que les ESL doivent avoir accès aux ILM pendant leur construction. Ce principe existe pour que les services des ESL soient disponibles dès l’arrivée des résidents, pour minimiser les interruptions et pour éviter les coûts additionnels associés à la mise en place des installations une fois la construction des ILM achevée. En outre, le Conseil a établi que la fourniture d’un service de télécommunication par une ESL dans un ILM est assujettie à la condition voulant que les ESL qui souhaitent desservir des utilisateurs finals dans cet ILM puissent y avoir accès rapidement au moyen d’une revente, d’installations louées ou de leurs propres installations, selon leur choix, et selon des modalités et des conditions raisonnables.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
John Lawford, Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, jlawford@piac.ca
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :