Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 4 June 2018

Our reference:  8640-T66-201800251

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy & Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Inc.
Floor 8, 215 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

RE:  Application for forbearance from the regulation of unbundled local loops – Request for disclosure of information designated as confidential

Dear Mr. Schmidt:

This letter addresses a request for disclosure of information designated as confidential made in the proceeding associated with CRTC file number 8640-T66-201800251.

On 9 May 2018, the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) filed a request for disclosure of information for which confidentiality had been claimed pursuant to TELUS Communications Inc.’s (TCI’s) response to a request for information that was filed on 27 April 2018.

TCI responded to the above request.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

In the circumstances of this case, Commission staff considered, among other relevant considerations, whether disclosure of the information would meaningfully benefit public participation, the degree to which the information had been aggregated, and the competitive sensitivity of the information itself.
Having regard to the above, TCI is to disclose on the public record the information identified in the appendix no later than June 6th, 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition & Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
John MacKenzie, TELUS Communications Inc., john.mackenzie@telus.com
Douglas Denney, Allstream Business Inc., doug.denney@allstream.com
Christopher Hickey, CNOC, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Paul Cowling, Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca

Attach. (1)


TELUS(CRTC)28 March18-1

TCI is to disclose on the public record the total number of unbundled local loops (ULLs) leased by wholesale customers as of December 31, 2017.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 4 juin 2018

Notre référence : 8640-T66-201800251

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président – Politique de télécommunications et conseiller principal en réglementation
Politique de télécommunications et Affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications inc.
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario  K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Demande en vue d’obtenir l’abstention de la réglementation concernant les lignes locales dégroupées – Demande de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Monsieur,

Cette lettre répond à une demande de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels formulée dans le cadre de l’instance associée au dossier 8640-T66-201800251 du CRTC.

Le 9 mai 2018, le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. a rempli une demande de divulgation de renseignements dont la confidentialité avait été réclamée à la suite de la réponse de Société TELUS Communications inc. (STC) à une demande de renseignements datée du 27 avril 2018.

La STC a répondu à la demande évoquée ci-dessus.

On répond aux demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels à la lumière des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure). Quand on évalue une demande, une évaluation est faite pour savoir si les renseignements tombent sous la catégorie des renseignements susceptibles d’être désignés comme confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. Une évaluation est ensuite faite pour déterminer si la communication des renseignements en question est susceptible d’entraîner un tort direct précis, et si un tel tort l’emporte sur l’intérêt public. Lors de cette évaluation, un certain nombre de facteurs sont pris en considération, y compris le degré de concurrence et l’importance de l’information fournie dans le but d’obtenir un dossier plus complet. Les facteurs à considérer sont abordés plus en détail dans la Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

En l’espèce, le personnel du Conseil a vérifié si, entre autres considérations pertinentes, la divulgation des renseignements serait vraiment avantageuse pour la participation du public; il a vérifié le degré de regroupement des renseignements et il a tenu compte du caractère délicat des renseignements sur le plan de la concurrence.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, la STC versera au dossier public les renseignements précisés dans l’annexe au plus tard le 6 juin 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes plus sincères salutations.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
John MacKenzie, Société TELUS Communications inc., john.mackenzie@telus.com
Douglas Denney, Allstream Business Inc., doug.denney@allstream.com
Christopher Hickey, CORC, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Paul Cowling, Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca

Pièce jointe (1)


STC (CRTC) 28 mars 2018-1

La STC versera au dossier public le nombre total de lignes locales dégroupées (LLD) louées par des clients de gros en date du 31 décembre 2017.

Date de modification :