Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 31 May 2018

Our reference: 8740-T66-201711250

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

RE:   TELUS Communications Inc. Tariff Notice 532B - Introduction of Service Entrance Conduit Charge – Additional Commission Staff Interrogatories

Further to Commission staff letter of 14 May 2018, please find attached additional staff interrogatories to TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI) related to the TN 532B application filed by TCI on 17 April 2018.

TCI is hereby requested to provide responses to these interrogatories, serving copies on all parties, by 22 June 2018. The information provided in response to the interrogatories should be disclosed in accordance with the guidelines established in Confidentiality of Information used to establish wholesale service rates – Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592 (TRP 2012-592), dated 26 October 2012.

After the interrogatory process is complete, Commission staff will establish further process to ensure that all parties have sufficient opportunity to comment on TCI’s application.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunication sector
c.c.: Lloyd, William, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Krishnan, Trichur, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list:

TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tom Woo, TELUS Communications Company, tom.woo@telus.com
Paul Cowling, Shaw Cable systems G.P., regulatory@sjrb.ca
Christopher J. Edwards, info@ccsa.cable.ca

Attach. (2)

  1. Interrogatories below
  2. Excel document attached in the email

TCI TN 532B – Service Entrance Conduit Interrogatories

  1. Refer to TCI’s response to interrogatory TELUS (CRTC)13March18-5, where the company stated the following:
  2. The ‘Engineering labour cost / Material cost’ as well as the ‘Installation labour cost / Material cost’ ratios “are calculated based upon detailed analysis of the cost transactions within TELUS asset management system. In this regard, TELUS uses five years of rolling historical data. Each transaction is assigned a cost element, which is in turn assigned to one or more cost types, e.g., engineering, material, etc. Since the five year historical data would result in an average ratio that is at least 2.5 years old, TELUS applies an overall trend in the corporate LMR to restate each estimate to the start of the study period.

  1. In the attached Excel spreadsheet ‘TCI TN 532B cost transaction summary - Interrogatory Attachment 2’, based on the company’s actual historical cost transaction data, fill in the Table provided with actual historical cost totals (i.e., total of all cost transactions), summarized by each cost component, for each of the five historical years, identifying the vintage year of the data. The cost data should be inputted at the lowest level it is available.  If the data for a particular cell is not available, mark it as ‘N/A’. 
  2. Provide the company’s rationale if the requested cost information in (i) above is not available at the lowest level required as shown in the spreadsheet.
  3. Explain whether the ‘five years of rolling historical data’ used by TCI is the same as the actual historical data for each of the five years provided in answer to interrogatory 1.(i) above, or is the actual historical data for each of the five years processed further to estimate the ‘five years of rolling historical data’? If the latter, explain clearly how the actual historical data is transformed into rolling historical data for each of the five years.  Further, provide the company’s rationale for using rolling averages instead of actuals.
  4. Based on the response to interrogatory 1.(i) above, explain in detail how TCI calculated an average ratio for each of ‘Engineering labour cost / Material cost’ and ‘Installation labour cost / Material cost’, resulting in a ratio that is 2.5 years old. Further, provide the sources, data (including vintage) and formula used by TCI to convert this ratio to the start of the study period.
  1. Refer to paragraph 29 of TCI’s submission on 4 May 2018 related to the company’s TN 532B application, where the company stated that it has assumed equal weighting of “internal” and “contract” engineering labour costs to allocate engineering costs uniformly between mainline and SEC.  Provide the company’s rationale and evidence to substantiate this assumption.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à la liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2018

Notre référence : 8740-T66-201711250

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :  Avis de modification tarifaire 532B de la Société TELUS Communications inc. – Instauration de frais liés aux conduits d’entrée de service – Demandes de renseignements supplémentaires du personnel du Conseil

Comme suite à la lettre du Conseil du 14 mai 2018, veuillez trouver ci-joint les demandes de renseignements du personnel supplémentaires à la Société TELUS Communications inc. (STC) liées à la demande d’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 532B déposée par la STC le 17 avril 2018.

Par la présente, on demande à la STC de répondre à ces demandes de renseignements et de signifier une copie à l’ensemble des parties d’ici le 22 juin 2018. Les renseignements fournis en réponse aux demandes de renseignements doivent être divulgués conformément aux lignes directrices établies dans le document Traitement confidentiel des renseignements utilisés pour établir les tarifs des services de gros – de la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592 (PRT 2012-592), daté du 26 octobre 2012.

Une fois le processus relatif aux demandes de renseignements terminé, le personnel du Conseil établira un autre processus pour s’assurer que toutes les parties ont eu la possibilité suffisante de formuler des commentaires relativement à la demande de la STC.

Lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été effectivement reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

Veuillez agréer, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.: Lloyd, William, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Krishnan, Trichur, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tom Woo, Société TELUS Communications, tom.woo@telus.com
Paul Cowling, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., regulatory@sjrb.ca
Christopher J. Edwards, info@ccsa.cable.ca

Pièces jointes (2)

  1. Demandes de renseignements ci-dessous
  2. Document Excel joint au courriel

AMT 532B de la STC – Conduit d’entrée de service demandes de renseignements

  1. Veuillez consulter la réponse de la STC à la demande de renseignements STC (CRTC) 13 mars 2018-5, où la société a précisé ce qui suit :
    Les rapports « coûts de main-d’œuvre en génie/coût des matériaux » ainsi que « coûts de main-d’œuvre pour l’installation/coût des matériaux » « sont calculés en fonction de l’analyse détaillée des transactions liées aux coûts au sein du système de gestion des biens de la STC. À cet égard, la STC utilise cinq ans de données historiques consécutives. Chaque transaction se voit attribuer un élément de coûts qui en retour est attribué à un ou plusieurs types de coûts, p. ex. ingénierie, matériaux, etc. Étant donné que les données historiques sur cinq ans donneraient lieu à un rapport moyen d’au moins 2,5 ans, la STC s’appuierait sur une tendance globale dans le cadre de la LMR d’entreprise pour recalculer chaque estimation à compter du début de la période visée par l’étude. » [traduction]
  1. Dans la feuille de travail Excel jointe intitulée « résumé des transactions liées aux coûts de l’AMT 532B de la STC – demande de renseignements – pièce jointe no 2 », axée sur les données historiques réelles sur les transactions liées aux coûts de la société, remplissez le tableau fourni en indiquant les totaux historiques réels relatifs aux coûts (c.­à­d. le total de l’ensemble des transactions liées aux coûts), résumés par composante pour chacune des cinq années historiques, en indiquant l’année de référence des données. Les données sur les coûts doivent être saisies pour le niveau le plus bas disponible. Si les données pour une cellule en particulier ne sont pas disponibles, saisissez « S.O. ».
  2. Fournissez la justification de la société si les renseignements sur les coûts demandés au point (i) ci-dessus ne sont pas disponibles au niveau le plus bas requis, tel que cela est indiqué sur la feuille de travail.
  3. Expliquez si l’expression « cinq ans de données historiques consécutives », utilisée par la STC, correspond aux données historiques réelles pour chacune des cinq années fournies en réponse à la demande de renseignements 1.(i) ci-dessus, ou si les données historiques réelles pour chacune des cinq années sont traitées ultérieurement pour estimer les « cinq ans de données historiques consécutives »? Si cette dernière solution est retenue, expliquez précisément de quelle manière les données historiques réelles sont transformées en données historiques réelles consécutives pour chacune des cinq années. En outre, indiquez la justification de la société concernant l’utilisation de moyennes mobiles plutôt que de données réelles.
  4. Selon la réponse à la demande de renseignements 1.(i) ci­dessus, expliquez en détail comment la STC a calculé un rapport moyen pour chacun des rapports « coûts de main­d’œuvre en génie/coût des matériaux » et « coûts de main-d’œuvre pour l’installation/coût des matériaux », donnant lieu à un rapport de 2,5 ans. De plus, fournissez les sources, les données (y compris les données de référence) et la formule utilisée par la STC pour convertir ce rapport à compter du début de la période d’étude.
  1. Reportez-vous au paragraphe 29 des observations de la STC du 4 mai 2018 sur la demande d’AMT 532B de la société dans lequel la société a indiqué qu’elle avait supposé une pondération égale pour les coûts de main-d’œuvre en génie « internes » et « contractuels » pour allouer les coûts d’ingénierie de manière uniforme entre le conduit principal et le conduit d’entrée de service. Fournissez la justification de la société ainsi que des éléments de preuve pour étayer cette supposition.
Date de modification :