Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 11 May 2018

Our reference: 8690-V81-201703231

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

Re:   Request to extend the comment period in the application filed under Part 1 by the City of Gatineau for a Municipal Access Agreement – Procedural letter

Dear Madams/Sirs:

Following a letter from Commission staff dated April 16, 2018, Bell Canada, Quebecor Média Inc. on behalf of its affiliate Vidéotron G.P., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. and Cogeco Connexion Inc. (collectively the Carriers), filed on May 7, 2018, a request to extend the comment period in connection with the documents filed by the City of Gatineau (the City) on May 2, 2018, as part of the Part 1 application filed on April 13, 2017, by the City of Gatineau for approval of a Municipal Access Agreement (MAA), namely:

  1. The report on casual costs prepared in 2011 for the Union des municipalités du Québec by KPMG; and
  2. The financial data establishing the licensing fees for 2018 based on the Excel file attached as Appendix 3 to the City of Gatineau’s MAA application.

The Carriers have indicated that their respective cost study teams are currently drafting responses to the Commission’s requests for information issued on March 2, 2018, as part of follow-up proceedings on wholesale high-speed access services (follow‑up to Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396 and CRTC 2016-448 and follow-up to Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379).

The Carriers noted that the requests for information in question are very complex. Indeed, they require an extensive analysis of the Carriers’ high-speed networks under two distinct architectures (aggregated and disaggregated), as well as generating new data for a large number of cost items.

The Carriers also added that the analysis of the documents filed by the City and preparing the related comments will require more time than what was granted by the Commission in its procedural letter on April 16, 2018 (ten days). The Carriers asked the Commission to extend the deadline for filing comments as follows:

  1. Carriers to file their comments by May 31, 2018; and
  2. City of Gatineau to file its reply by June 11, 2018.

On May 8, 2018, the Commission received a letter from the City opposing the Carriers’ request for an extension. The City indicated, among other things, that the Carriers have already read the report on casual costs prepared for the Union des municipalités by KPMG since at least February 11, 2016. The City added that the Carriers teams responsible for files before the Commission must be able to handle more than one file at a time. 

After reading the Carriers’ request for an extension and the opposition letter from the City, staff is of the view that an extension of the deadline for Carriers to file their comments until May 28, 2018, would be appropriate. In light of this extension, the City will now have until June 4, 2018, to file its reply.

As part of this additional process, the Carriers are required to limit the scope of their comments to the new documents filed by the City, and the City must stick to the comments that will be filed by the Carriers.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé Avocats LLP
Representative, City of Gatineau
5 Place Ville Marie, Suite 900
Montreal, Quebec  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Caroline Dignard
Vice-President, Legal Affairs
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com

Michael E Piaskoski
Director, Municipal Relations
Institutional and Regulatory Affairs
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust avocats
Representing the Carriers
20845 chemin de la Côte du Nord, Suite 500
Boisbriand, Quebec  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Advisor
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Dennis Béland
Vice-President, Telecommunications Regulatory Affairs
Québecor Média Inc.
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Bruna Nardi
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Access Policy Management
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 11 mai 2018

Notre référence : 8690-V81-201703231

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de prolongation de la période de commentaires dans la demande déposée en vertu de la Partie I de la Ville de Gatineau pour un Accord d’accès municipal – Lettre procédurale

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Suite à la lettre du personnel du Conseil en date du 16 avril 2018, Bell Canada, Quebecor Média Inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron ltée, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. et Cogeco Connexion Inc. (collectivement les Entreprises), ont déposé le 7 mai 2018 une demande de prolongation de la période des commentaires en lien avec les documents déposés par la ville de Gatineau (la Ville) le 2 mai 2018, dans le cadre de la demande en vertu de la partie I déposée le 13 avril 2017 par la Ville de Gatineau pour l’approbation d’un Accord d’accès municipal (AAM), à savoir :

  1. Le rapport sur les coûts causals préparé en 2011 pour l’Union des municipalités du Québec par la firme KPMG ; et
  2. les données financières établissant les frais de délivrance de permis pour l’année 2018 sur la base du fichier Excel joint comme annexe 3 à la demande d’AAM de la Ville de Gatineau.

Les Entreprises ont indiqué que leurs équipes respectives responsables de la préparation d’études de coûts travaillent présentement à la rédaction de réponses aux demandes de renseignements émises par le Conseil le 2 mars 2018 dans le cadre des instances de suivi en matière de services d’accès haute vitesse de gros (suivi des Ordonnances de télécom CRTC 2016-396 et CRTC 2016-448 et suivi de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-379).

Les Entreprises ont noté que les demandes de renseignements en question revêtent une très grande complexité.  En effet, elles nécessitent une analyse exhaustive des réseaux haute vitesse des Entreprises sous deux architectures distinctes (groupée et dégroupée), ainsi que la production de nouvelles données quant à un grand nombre d’éléments de coûts.

Les Entreprises ont également ajouté que l’analyse des documents déposés par la Ville ainsi que la préparation de commentaires afférents requerront une période de temps plus longue que celle accordée par le Conseil dans sa lettre procédurale du 16 avril 2018 (dix jours). Les Entreprises ont demandé au Conseil une prolongation de la période de dépôt des commentaires comme suit :

  1. dépôt par les Entreprises de leurs commentaires au plus tard le 31 mai 2018 ; et
  2. dépôt par la Ville de Gatineau de sa réplique au plus tard le 11 juin 2018.

Le 8 mai 2018, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de la Ville s’s’opposant à la demande de prolongation des Entreprises. La Ville a indiqué, entre autres, que les Entreprises ont déjà pris connaissance du rapport sur les coûts causals préparé pour l’Union des municipalités par la firme KPMG depuis au moins le 11 février 2016. La Ville a ajouté que les équipes des Entreprises responsables des dossiers devant le Conseil doivent être en mesure de traiter plus d’un dossier à la fois.

Après lecture de de la demande de prolongation des Entreprises et la lettre d’opposition de la Ville, le personnel est d’avis qu’une prolongation du délai pour le dépôt des commentaires des Entreprises jusqu’au 28 mai 2018 serait appropriée. Vu cette prolongation, la Ville aura maintenant jusqu’au 4 juin 2018 pour déposer une réplique.

Dans le cadre de ce processus supplémentaire, les Entreprises sont tenues de limiter la portée de leurs commentaires aux nouveaux documents déposés par la Ville et la Ville doit s’en tenir aux propos qui seront déposés par les Entreprises.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.  Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

Me Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé avocats s.e.n.c.r.l.
Représentant la Ville de Gatineau
5, Place Ville Marie, Bureau 900
Montréal (Québec)  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Madame Caroline Dignard
Vice-présidente, Affaires juridiques
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com

Monsieur Michael E Piaskoski
Directeur, Relations municipales
Affaires institutionnelles et réglementaires
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Monsieur Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust avocats
Représentant les Entreprises
20845, chemin de la Côte du Nord, bureau 500
Boisbriand (Québec)  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires télécommunications
Québecor Média inc.
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Madame Bruna Nardi
Directrice, Affaires réglementaires
Gestion des politiques d'accès
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date de modification :